Senior Championship Match Predictions

So Kells v Ratoath it is - certainly not what I would have predicted at the outset but there it is. Kells put it up to Ratoath last year for the first 30 minutes and then seemed to fade out. Every team that have beaten Kells in the last 5 years has won Keegan - will Ratoath continue that trend.
The first half of the Ratoath Summerhill game was typical of matches at this stage - both teams trying to get the measure of one another - I thought Ratoath looked the better side but were having problems putting scores up. The penalty for Hill put them in a strong position but I think it just spurred on Ratoath and I really felt they were the far better team in the second half - and the scoreboard reflects that! They had some really strong performers - Flynn, Wyer and Gerrard stood out for me!

Kells looked dead and buried after 35 minutes - but Hanlon's goal ran into the water break and Kells were outstanding in the last 15 minutes with the usual suspects really stepping up to the mark. Na Fianna had played really well for the first 35/40 minutes but completely fell off the game especially after the second water break. The game is really a game of 4 quarters now!!

So to the final - well firstly - Brain Farrell will be a nervous spectator at the hurling semi final - Not sure how many dual players Ratoath have but certainly the McGowans, Rogers, Kelly and Brian McMahon have been involved.

Ratoath have dominated the second half of games they have been involved in this year - but I think in Kells they will find a team who are just as fit and probably more physical. In Mattimoe and O'Hanlon they have lads who know where the posts are and I doubt they will be as generous with their wides as Summerhill (Dardis) were. In Ferguson and Courtney they have 2 very hard working wing men and in Oisin Reilly they have a mid fielder in good form - his match up with McGowan will be worth watching alone.

I think if Ratoath come through the hurling week and semi final without injury they will have enough to take Kells but it will be a close run thing and I am expecting a cracker!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 479 - 21/09/2020 12:16:06    2293375

Replying To aghref:  "It is disappointing for sure. Hard to get moving when you're in a rut. Not sure that going Inter would solve the problem either. Meath intermediate is very competitive so no guarantees of an early return to senior. Hopefully we can win the Nobber game and keep the flag flying until the emerging talent at minor level gets a chance to transition."
Why wait for next minor team to emerge? Saw Dunshaughlin twice last year, v O'Mahonys and quarter final v Simonstown. They looked very fit and well drilled in both games, inexperience catching them out in last 15 mins v Simonstown. To go from top 8 to bottom 2 is more than disappointing. Players there that played against my own club in a Div 1 U16/17 final a few years ago, Mitchell, Moyles, Costello, Fildes and probably a few more. The drop in standards from last year to this is mind blowing judging by what I saw on You tube on Friday night. Enough pressure on lads coming up from U17 without expecting them to sort out whatever mess the club have got themselves into. Completely agree though, getting out of Intermediate would be a nightmare for any club.

RaHarp (Meath) - Posts: 11 - 21/09/2020 12:39:57    2293377

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "If we can get a lead like Na Fianna did yesterday, I cannot see us being beaten. Kells were absolutely atrocious for the first 35 minutes of the game. However, if Kells get a lead like they did against Dunboyne (or indeed like Simonstown had against us), then they have the discipline in defence to hold us off while picking off scores on the break. Especially if neither Wallace plays. They were the difference in the semi final. I was impressed with our long range point scoring on Saturday which is a good way of beating a mass defence.
One area that's vital for us to improve is our tackling within the 45. Had Barry Dardis been on form from placed balls, it would have been a much closer game. Neither Mattimoe nor Hanlon would miss some of the frees Dardis missed on Saturday.

I'm cautiously optimistic while also being worried for the final. Lar Wall would have learned a lot from last years semi final defeat. And Ratoath are raging hot favourites so they have nothing to lose. If we're not on it from the start, the game could be gone from us."
I wouldn't say Ratoath are raging hot favourites like you seem to think. They are favourites but Kells are only 5/4 to win it in Paddy Power. A raging hot favourite would be 1/10 to win it

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 21/09/2020 15:42:56    2293412

Replying To RaHarp:  "Why wait for next minor team to emerge? Saw Dunshaughlin twice last year, v O'Mahonys and quarter final v Simonstown. They looked very fit and well drilled in both games, inexperience catching them out in last 15 mins v Simonstown. To go from top 8 to bottom 2 is more than disappointing. Players there that played against my own club in a Div 1 U16/17 final a few years ago, Mitchell, Moyles, Costello, Fildes and probably a few more. The drop in standards from last year to this is mind blowing judging by what I saw on You tube on Friday night. Enough pressure on lads coming up from U17 without expecting them to sort out whatever mess the club have got themselves into. Completely agree though, getting out of Intermediate would be a nightmare for any club."
Anyone know when the relegation game is ?

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 21/09/2020 16:37:24    2293426

Replying To head4dblackspot:  "Anyone know when the relegation game is ?"
Saturday week Pairc Tailteann

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 21/09/2020 21:51:41    2293478

Replying To Talking_Sense:  "Saturday week Pairc Tailteann"
Is that confirmed?

RaHarp (Meath) - Posts: 11 - 22/09/2020 10:43:58    2293525

Have to say thinking about it last night whats going wrong at Dunshaughlin. one of the largest catchment areas and always have div1 underage teams. dont have the drain of the hurling as their footballers tend not to line out for drumree so whats the story or is it just management over the past few years havent been up to it

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 22/09/2020 13:17:51    2293557

Replying To Irish_downunder:  "Have to say thinking about it last night whats going wrong at Dunshaughlin. one of the largest catchment areas and always have div1 underage teams. dont have the drain of the hurling as their footballers tend not to line out for drumree so whats the story or is it just management over the past few years havent been up to it"
Well Dunshaughlin Under age are not always Division 1 , that is the first thing. There Minor team are Div1 Final this year but there underage teams are certainly not always Div1.

Look I just think you get a period like this after a club has a great team like the 3 in a row team. Yes the population is rising, new houses and new families moving in but that takes time to translate to club football at Senior. Yes they have this Minor team which will no doubt improve their Senior team.

The current Management have inherited a very young looking side with some key stalwarts in their late 30's who have been great servants to Dunshaughlin but whose legs and miles on the clock are there for all to see.

Their in transition and the Management need to be given time to improve this team. Folk talk about Dunshaughlin been in last years quarter final. The facts are they got hammered in the end by Simonstown by 9 or 10 points when Ray Maloney and Jack Crimmins went of that day.

And who did they beat last year to get to the quarter final. St Pats for one who look like they are going to Junior, Navan O' Mahonys who are very very poor right now and Seneschalstown who were in relegation dogfight this year again. Did they beat Kells last year In Group stages , NO, Did they beat Skyrne last year in Group stages, NO or Simonstown, answer is NO.

So my point is there form last year under previous management was masked by beating what are poor Senior teams , one of which is arguably a Intermediate/Junior team. People need to have a sense of realism around the Dunshaughlin Senior team. Again the current management have inherited a young and very inexperienced team, especially when the few members of the old guard don't play . They need to be given time. Time not built in a day

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 22/09/2020 14:21:47    2293575

Final will be shown live on TG4 on Sunday week.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 22/09/2020 15:32:56    2293590

Replying To Irish_downunder:  "Have to say thinking about it last night whats going wrong at Dunshaughlin. one of the largest catchment areas and always have div1 underage teams. dont have the drain of the hurling as their footballers tend not to line out for drumree so whats the story or is it just management over the past few years havent been up to it"
Definitely disagree with the underage point. Divison 1 is all well and good but the question is are you competing. Dunshaughlin were divison 2 the last 2 years albeit they won both I think. Then at the 00 age they were a good side until under 16 but fell away weren't really competing. Were a long way off the top 3 at 99, weren't close at 98, 97 or 96 either. So that's lads from 18-24 and they've never been competing for division 1. Albeit they've got the goalkeeper McDermott, Mitchell and Costello so some good players but not enough. Compare this to their neighbours Ratoath and Dunboyne. Ratoath won the 99 and 00 age, very competitive at 01. Dunboyne won the 97, semi finalists and competitive at 97,98,99 and 00. Maybe Dunshaughlin are closing the gap this year at Minor but they are a long way back

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1462 - 22/09/2020 15:37:11    2293592

I see that the final is on TG4

Greengiant99 (Meath) - Posts: 15 - 22/09/2020 16:05:02    2293598

Replying To Greengiant99:  "I see that the final is on TG4"
Really looking forward to this
Haven't seen any live matches only streamed through Meath Gaa
Will be great to watch in 'real telly' and even the Irish commentary will be better then listening to Ciaran Flynn

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 22/09/2020 18:24:05    2293620

Replying To head4dblackspot:  "Really looking forward to this
Will be great to watch in 'real telly' and even the Irish commentary will be better then listening to Ciaran Flynn"
This seems a harsh a comment to make . Those lads worked hard to make sure people could see the games who otherwise would not. I thought they did a great job in the circumstances. And have a level of knowledge about the championship and the players you wont get on tg4.

TobinsBeard (Meath) - Posts: 125 - 22/09/2020 23:17:19    2293663

Will be great to watch in 'real telly' and even the Irish commentary will be better then listening to Ciaran Flynn"
What's wrong with Ciaran Flynn? I don't know the lad only that he has reffed a few matches I've been involved in but I know he has done Trojan work for the county on the PR front, has a bit of education about him (rare in any county boards) and is good craic on his podcast. Seems to dedicate his life to the development of Meath football and likes of him, David Rispin and the lad from Ashbourne whose name escapes me have brought great coverage, professionalism and craic to how meath football is covered in recent times- all voluntarily I think.

Don't see why you'd needlessly knock a lad like that. But then you seemingly don't speak a word of Irish despite having presumably grown up and gone to school here- I find people like that thick as s**t tbh.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 23/09/2020 09:37:00    2293692

Replying To Talking_Sense:  "Well Dunshaughlin Under age are not always Division 1 , that is the first thing. There Minor team are Div1 Final this year but there underage teams are certainly not always Div1.

Look I just think you get a period like this after a club has a great team like the 3 in a row team. Yes the population is rising, new houses and new families moving in but that takes time to translate to club football at Senior. Yes they have this Minor team which will no doubt improve their Senior team.

The current Management have inherited a very young looking side with some key stalwarts in their late 30's who have been great servants to Dunshaughlin but whose legs and miles on the clock are there for all to see.

Their in transition and the Management need to be given time to improve this team. Folk talk about Dunshaughlin been in last years quarter final. The facts are they got hammered in the end by Simonstown by 9 or 10 points when Ray Maloney and Jack Crimmins went of that day.

And who did they beat last year to get to the quarter final. St Pats for one who look like they are going to Junior, Navan O' Mahonys who are very very poor right now and Seneschalstown who were in relegation dogfight this year again. Did they beat Kells last year In Group stages , NO, Did they beat Skyrne last year in Group stages, NO or Simonstown, answer is NO.

So my point is there form last year under previous management was masked by beating what are poor Senior teams , one of which is arguably a Intermediate/Junior team. People need to have a sense of realism around the Dunshaughlin Senior team. Again the current management have inherited a young and very inexperienced team, especially when the few members of the old guard don't play . They need to be given time. Time not built in a day"
First off, I agree completely that Div1 is vital for underage teams. I will bow to your knowledge on how often this is the case in Dunshaughlin as I would not be familiar with all their teams through the years.
I think the 3 in a row agreement is long gone, its almost 20 years ago so no longer relevant.
Team in transition can be used to cover over many things and transition normally means improvement which is clearly not the case here. Mentioning the qualities of the 3 teams they beat last year is on rocky ground considering they lost all 4 games themselves so far this year. They would take a single win against any quality of opposition at this stage. If you take a line through their form this year compared with games versus same opposition in Championship over the last 2 years you get the following:
Dunboyne - Drew with them in 2018 when Dunboyne won the championship. Lost by 15 points this year, so a 15-point swing to Dunboyne. Remember Costello and Mitchell (A scoring machine) were not available in 2018
Gael Colmcille - Lost by last minute point last year, lost by 3 points this year in a dead rubber.
Seneschalstown - Won by 2 points last year, lost by 9 points this year. 11-point swing here. A team as you mention have been in difficulties themselves over the last few years.

Dunshaughlin are the only team would did not draw or win a single game in the Senior Championship this year so far. I didn't get a chance to look at the scoring rate and points difference, but I doubt any positives can be taken there.
They were competitive for 45/50 mins last year against Simonstown, leading at half time. I do not think they have led a game at half time this year, but I could be wrong. They were competitive for 15 mins max v Seneschalstown.
This is the first time in many years that Dunshaughlin are in the relegation play offs with arguably a stronger squad than they had 2/3 years ago. I commend you fully on your backing of this year's group as any good club person would. You row in behind management/squad every year as most of us do in our own clubs, however realism must kick in at some stage. Rome wasn't built in a day but a city can easy burn down over night.
I hope Dunshaughlin stay senior as I would miss the local rivalry for one thing, also would not like to see 2/3 future county players playing at a lower level.

RaHarp (Meath) - Posts: 11 - 23/09/2020 10:29:51    2293703

Replying To Crinigan:  "What's wrong with Ciaran Flynn? I don't know the lad only that he has reffed a few matches I've been involved in but I know he has done Trojan work for the county on the PR front, has a bit of education about him (rare in any county boards) and is good craic on his podcast. Seems to dedicate his life to the development of Meath football and likes of him, David Rispin and the lad from Ashbourne whose name escapes me have brought great coverage, professionalism and craic to how meath football is covered in recent times- all voluntarily I think.

Don't see why you'd needlessly knock a lad like that. But then you seemingly don't speak a word of Irish despite having presumably grown up and gone to school here- I find people like that thick as s**t tbh."
I agree 100% Lads giving up savage time and putting in huge commitment for Meath GAA do not need to belittled like that. Myabe he is not as good as a professional commentator from RTE or Sky who are being paid to do it but I would argue having him do it is way better than having nobody at all. I would imagine it is a lot harder than it looks as well so cut him and the other lads some slack.

printerjet1996 (Meath) - Posts: 3 - 23/09/2020 10:41:31    2293707

Replying To RaHarp:  "First off, I agree completely that Div1 is vital for underage teams. I will bow to your knowledge on how often this is the case in Dunshaughlin as I would not be familiar with all their teams through the years.
I think the 3 in a row agreement is long gone, its almost 20 years ago so no longer relevant.
Team in transition can be used to cover over many things and transition normally means improvement which is clearly not the case here. Mentioning the qualities of the 3 teams they beat last year is on rocky ground considering they lost all 4 games themselves so far this year. They would take a single win against any quality of opposition at this stage. If you take a line through their form this year compared with games versus same opposition in Championship over the last 2 years you get the following:
Dunboyne - Drew with them in 2018 when Dunboyne won the championship. Lost by 15 points this year, so a 15-point swing to Dunboyne. Remember Costello and Mitchell (A scoring machine) were not available in 2018
Gael Colmcille - Lost by last minute point last year, lost by 3 points this year in a dead rubber.
Seneschalstown - Won by 2 points last year, lost by 9 points this year. 11-point swing here. A team as you mention have been in difficulties themselves over the last few years.

Dunshaughlin are the only team would did not draw or win a single game in the Senior Championship this year so far. I didn't get a chance to look at the scoring rate and points difference, but I doubt any positives can be taken there.
They were competitive for 45/50 mins last year against Simonstown, leading at half time. I do not think they have led a game at half time this year, but I could be wrong. They were competitive for 15 mins max v Seneschalstown.
This is the first time in many years that Dunshaughlin are in the relegation play offs with arguably a stronger squad than they had 2/3 years ago. I commend you fully on your backing of this year's group as any good club person would. You row in behind management/squad every year as most of us do in our own clubs, however realism must kick in at some stage. Rome wasn't built in a day but a city can easy burn down over night.
I hope Dunshaughlin stay senior as I would miss the local rivalry for one thing, also would not like to see 2/3 future county players playing at a lower level."
I would agree with most of what RaHarp says here but there are a few other considerations. Firstly there is an absence of quality players at peak playing age( mid to late 20s - not an absolute measure but a good rule of thumb)Two of those players (Ormsby and Duggan) are away for two years and are badly missed The last time Dunshaughlin won Division 1 minor was in 2009 Of that team Niall Murphy and Fergus Tolan are the only survivors begging the question where did they all go?
Crimmins Moloney and King are club legends and deserve colossal respect for trying to prop things up but they should not be taking the major burden A burden shared by Mitchell and Costello the two youngest players on the team
When you look at other clubs developing players the established players lead the way allowing younger players time and space to develop at their own speed Examples would be Jack Flynn in Ratoath , David Bell in Colmcilles
Dunshaughlin are suffering from years of having no transition from minor to senior and poor retention
This has been addressed two years ago with appointment of a ( partial soon to be full time hopefully) GDO The teams that won Div 2 minor in 2018/19 are all still playing bar one or two There are 4 male adult teams playing football where a second team couldn't field two years ago Going in the right direction but hopefully it's not too late
Saturday week will tell

ABK67 (Meath) - Posts: 62 - 23/09/2020 11:10:07    2293716

Replying To printerjet1996:  "I agree 100% Lads giving up savage time and putting in huge commitment for Meath GAA do not need to belittled like that. Myabe he is not as good as a professional commentator from RTE or Sky who are being paid to do it but I would argue having him do it is way better than having nobody at all. I would imagine it is a lot harder than it looks as well so cut him and the other lads some slack."
I agree , knocking Ciaran Flynn is bad form. Does massive work for Meath football alongside David Rispin and yer man Kelly from Seneschalstown. Flynn is actually good on commentary and Rispin's interviews are always very good.

Armchair generals giving out should take a look at themselves.

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 23/09/2020 11:24:52    2293720

Please withdraw this comment. Offensive is a mild way of putting it. Everybody will think the better of you.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 23/09/2020 11:46:14    2293727

Replying To MillerX:  "Please withdraw this comment. Offensive is a mild way of putting it. Everybody will think the better of you."
People here would be offended by their own shadow!! All he has said is that he thinks the TG4 commentator will be better than Ciaran which he's personally entitled to do. It's not a vicious attack or deeply personal jibe at him, just that he doesn't think he's the best commentator. It's also not in any way knocking the man for the work he does within the county to promote the games at all. Personally I like Ciaran and think he does a grand job on commentary but he's not going to be everyone's cup of tea and slating someone for saying that is just sad!!

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 23/09/2020 12:33:21    2293743