National League 2020

And worse to come next week but dont fall into the trap of blaming another manager. Ask yourself why our best players won't play, why our players are miles behind s&c compared to the last 2 teams we played. I bet they'll all be back to try and win a div3 medal next Yr against poor teams but don't put in a shift against the better ones. Some lads out there tried hard but too many just going through the motions and simply don't care enough about our great county and our football heritage. I hope the boys that walked away are enjoying watching that wherever they are. (Que the "player x" doesn't owe cavan anything brigade coming on to defend them)

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 24/10/2020 16:13:20    2300780

Replying To blueskies:  "Dire performance.. why do we wait until the game is over to start playing. We wait until the other time drops intensity because they know they are home and hoosed. Time for some lads to show some bottle and do it when it matters .
Now we are back to division 3 to where it all started. 10 years of hard work undone and with very little underage success in recent years the future is dark .
In reality we have been going downhill since Terry left. I actually think we have regressed a lot under graham we look clueless and have become an easy touch once again. Double relegation is not good enough and I am have serious reservations on whether he is the man anymore. It hurts me saying that because I had such high Hope's when he came in. I would stick with him to rebuild in division 3 but he needs to strengthen his background ticket. Otherwise I can see us stagnating in division 3 like we did from 2009 - 2014."
This is nothing to do with the manager to be fair.

There is systemic issues with the standard of club football in the county that Cavan people, whether supporters, players, administrators etc, just refuse to address or even acknowledge.

You could put Jim Gavin in charge with Jim McGuinness as his assistant and Cavan still wouldn't win a thing.

Blaming managers and players is missing the point entirely. I'm sorry to say it, but Cavan are going nowhere at county level until the club game is overhauled. And yes, that means shutting down at least 7 clubs and forcing amalgamations.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 24/10/2020 16:20:16    2300788

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "It's an amazing thing that a county with virtually no rugby, no soccer and no hurling to compete with, cant even produce a decent football team.

Why is that?"
you cannot get consistently when the team is changing so much. Our best players do not want to commit. Same story with cavan.
once read in 10 years cavan had 90 debutant in championship.

bluegeals (Cavan) - Posts: 4 - 24/10/2020 16:51:44    2300813

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "This is nothing to do with the manager to be fair.

There is systemic issues with the standard of club football in the county that Cavan people, whether supporters, players, administrators etc, just refuse to address or even acknowledge.

You could put Jim Gavin in charge with Jim McGuinness as his assistant and Cavan still wouldn't win a thing.

Blaming managers and players is missing the point entirely. I'm sorry to say it, but Cavan are going nowhere at county level until the club game is overhauled. And yes, that means shutting down at least 7 clubs and forcing amalgamations."
You don't blame management. THE BUCK STOPS WITH MANAGEMENT.

I sat over and watched this game live and I am sorry to say Cavan had no game plan what so ever. Roscommon raised their game when ever they needed too. Cavan could not at any stage. I felt sorry for Christopher Conroy missing these simple shots. For he own's this pitch and knows what way the breeze blows ect and should have popped over these frees with his eyes closed. Home nerves I expect. Again Cavan were lucky to finish with 15 men. I hope going forward that if these are still the management that they look at this game and the Kildare game just to pick out those that are an liability for it goes on match after match. Too busy trying to be an idiot than playing the game as it should be. I know management don't send out these players to behave like moron's.

The game plan today I ask was it the players plan or the managements plan either way it was the wrong plan.
Monaghan next try and forget being relegated it's history and concentrate on beating Monaghan for it's an easy route to another Ulster final.

Also with the GAA new plan for next year if Cavan cannot win Ulster they will not be part of it.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 24/10/2020 16:53:01    2300815

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "This is nothing to do with the manager to be fair.

Blaming managers and players is missing the point entirely. I'm sorry to say it, but Cavan are going nowhere at county level until the club game is overhauled. And yes, that means shutting down at least 7 clubs and forcing amalgamations."
I 100% agree with you on the club side of things. Decision needs to be taken away from some clubs I feel in that regard.
At the same time those issues were still there in 2016 when terry got us promoted and matty did in 2018. They don't take away from the fact that we look clueless at the moment and have become extremely easy to beat .
An argument can be made that Matty actually had less players to work with in 2018 and he got us promoted. I remember his first game that year down in Clare there was about 10 or 11 debutants. Some with no underage pedigree . Matty was still slated that year. Imagine if Matty had done what Graham had done , there would be a lot of people calling for his head tonight.
I want to make clear I would stick with Graham for next year but things need to change . Starting with getting a better management ticket behind him.

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 24/10/2020 17:02:52    2300826

Embarrassing stuff it must be said and on live national television. It was a very winnable game but we looked beaten from the start. What is going on with the team selection. I feel sorry for niall Murray, a great footballer but hasn't played all year it was completely unfair to put him out there again. Too many young lads in the panel that aren't ready for inter county football yet some great potential in them for future years but have been thrown in at the deep end too soon. Surely t galligan would start or maybe he hasn't been training. G. Smith, M. Reilly and Conroy are all forwards playing in defence. That was a very winnable game

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 316 - 24/10/2020 17:07:37    2300830

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "You don't blame management. THE BUCK STOPS WITH MANAGEMENT.

I sat over and watched this game live and I am sorry to say Cavan had no game plan what so ever. Roscommon raised their game when ever they needed too. Cavan could not at any stage. I felt sorry for Christopher Conroy missing these simple shots. For he own's this pitch and knows what way the breeze blows ect and should have popped over these frees with his eyes closed. Home nerves I expect. Again Cavan were lucky to finish with 15 men. I hope going forward that if these are still the management that they look at this game and the Kildare game just to pick out those that are an liability for it goes on match after match. Too busy trying to be an idiot than playing the game as it should be. I know management don't send out these players to behave like moron's.

The game plan today I ask was it the players plan or the managements plan either way it was the wrong plan.
Monaghan next try and forget being relegated it's history and concentrate on beating Monaghan for it's an easy route to another Ulster final.

Also with the GAA new plan for next year if Cavan cannot win Ulster they will not be part of it."
I would hold no hope vs Monaghan.
i agree no game plan today.... midfield we so poor against a Roscomm team that have problems at midfield.
kicking supid long balls into a lone forward that never won one, and if he did had no support
the lack of patients and imagination when going forward. the amount of supid long range spots that was taken once they ran out of ideas.
the lack of speed in our attack.. to slow , players walking not busting a gut to get on to the shoulder of the ball player.
There are some serious issues in that cavan team.... and that culture is driven by the Management

bluegeals (Cavan) - Posts: 4 - 24/10/2020 17:11:29    2300834

Great "ideas" out of some wannabe experts on this forum but no plans to back it up.
What 7 clubs in Cavan do your reckon should fold ? 7 junior clubs or a mix of the 3 grades? Would you offer your club up to cease action? What happens to these players when dropout rates skyrocket ? What happens to the communities, the facilities that they have spent a small fortune on ?

culchie123 (Cavan) - Posts: 17 - 24/10/2020 17:17:18    2300838

On the bright side Yous beat us in the championship last year so all the work since Terry left hasn't been for nothing

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 24/10/2020 17:21:51    2300841

I feel for Mickey Graham, he comes accross as a sound fella, loves his County, but if McGleenan had took us from 1 to 2,and then to 3,hed have been bet out the gate.......

CR7 (Cavan) - Posts: 125 - 24/10/2020 17:51:31    2300856

So 10 years on from the 2011 Ulster winning u21 and minor teams we'll be locking horns with Limerick and Wicklow in Division 3.

The Future is Blue indeed.

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 24/10/2020 17:54:06    2300859

Unfortunately the manager has to go.
The same problems we had last year are the same ones we have now.
Players looked clueless all over the place.

We don't have the best players in the squad.
Only 3 players from the two County finalists
1 from castlerahan who have done two doubles
And none from ramor the favourites for this year's championship.

What changes did he make from last year.?
What personal changes from last year
What is the game plan

Two many players who just tick a box
Will train all day run forever but just haven't the quality
We need a serious rethink of we want
We have better players than today but we need to get them on the field

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 24/10/2020 18:24:38    2300884

Replying To tom84:  "Unfortunately the manager has to go.
The same problems we had last year are the same ones we have now.
Players looked clueless all over the place.

We don't have the best players in the squad.
Only 3 players from the two County finalists
1 from castlerahan who have done two doubles
And none from ramor the favourites for this year's championship.

What changes did he make from last year.?
What personal changes from last year
What is the game plan

Two many players who just tick a box
Will train all day run forever but just haven't the quality
We need a serious rethink of we want
We have better players than today but we need to get them on the field"
There was no player from our county champions played today and one 1 player from their opponents and he came on as a sub. I am just saying players from the best clubs aren't always the answer but saying that having watched the drawn county final in Cavan there was quite a few very good players.
Taught Cavan were very poor today against a weakened side for us. Ye are in hard luck to go down and I hope ye bounce straight back up. Two of the better players I have seen from cavan in last few years were missing in McVeety and Barry Reilly I think it who has a wand of a left peg. Ye need to try get those lads back to reach yer potential.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 24/10/2020 18:53:29    2300898

Replying To sourmilk93:  "There was no player from our county champions played today and one 1 player from their opponents and he came on as a sub. I am just saying players from the best clubs aren't always the answer but saying that having watched the drawn county final in Cavan there was quite a few very good players.
Taught Cavan were very poor today against a weakened side for us. Ye are in hard luck to go down and I hope ye bounce straight back up. Two of the better players I have seen from cavan in last few years were missing in McVeety and Barry Reilly I think it who has a wand of a left peg. Ye need to try get those lads back to reach yer potential."
The top senior clubs are the teams with the best players that is why they are the top clubs.
twice as many players from killygarry on the county panel than Xlough the county champions and killygarry couldn't win a game in the championship

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 24/10/2020 19:12:00    2300912

Ugghh! Sick tonight for sure. Today was the worst outing in the league since losing to Waterford on the last day a few years ago (sorry to remind you of that if had forgotten).

What worries me most after today is the apparent lack of mobility and fitness from some key players up the middle. Conroy is never going to win the 100m sprint but he is trying hard at 6 and deserves credit for it. A pacy centre forward will cause him big problems however. Martin Reilly a great servant but the attack loses its momentum too often when he picks up possession. Niall Murray looked disgusted at being taken off early.

Faulkner will have to stay at full back next week and hold the thing together, He looked at sea when out the field at times today and didn't have the legs to track back some times. Starting the man bun was an insult to the lads who stuck around for the year. It ended as expected- fitness and judgement lacking in the corner. Rossies put a runner on Gearoid and it kept him quiet too easily. Him and young Smith have a hard week ahead to sort out the kickouts with Galligan. You could not be optimistic about primary possession against the Monaghan midfield.

It will be very difficult to rally the team now. The only thing in Cavan's favour now is that all expectation has evaporated. That has always been the best way to be going into a Monaghan clash, because they always, and I mean always , mess it up when cast as favourites against Cavan. Will that be enough? It will have to be

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 24/10/2020 19:19:19    2300916

Replying To culchie123:  "Great "ideas" out of some wannabe experts on this forum but no plans to back it up.
What 7 clubs in Cavan do your reckon should fold ? 7 junior clubs or a mix of the 3 grades? Would you offer your club up to cease action? What happens to these players when dropout rates skyrocket ? What happens to the communities, the facilities that they have spent a small fortune on ?"
I'm no wannabe expert. I've been proven right again and again in my assessments on Cavan football. They have a solitary title to show for half a centuries worth of effort. But lads like yourself will defend that.

Year after year our club champions go into Ulster and more often than not, they are beaten, with a fair few thrashings thrown in. For the most part, Cavan people just want to bury their heads in the sand and pretend it isn't happening. There are none so blind etc etc.

As for what clubs we should retire, what is needed there is for a committee to look at existing club boundaries and do a population analysis attaching to each area, and carve up new boundaries accordingly. It's really not that difficult, but then when you're so entrenched in your ways, thinking outside the box is difficult.

Would I like to see my club fold if it meant increased success at county level? Unequivocally yes. Always been a county over club man. Always will be.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 24/10/2020 19:22:29    2300917

Replying To MadgeKing:  "Ugghh! Sick tonight for sure. Today was the worst outing in the league since losing to Waterford on the last day a few years ago (sorry to remind you of that if had forgotten).

What worries me most after today is the apparent lack of mobility and fitness from some key players up the middle. Conroy is never going to win the 100m sprint but he is trying hard at 6 and deserves credit for it. A pacy centre forward will cause him big problems however. Martin Reilly a great servant but the attack loses its momentum too often when he picks up possession. Niall Murray looked disgusted at being taken off early.

Faulkner will have to stay at full back next week and hold the thing together, He looked at sea when out the field at times today and didn't have the legs to track back some times. Starting the man bun was an insult to the lads who stuck around for the year. It ended as expected- fitness and judgement lacking in the corner. Rossies put a runner on Gearoid and it kept him quiet too easily. Him and young Smith have a hard week ahead to sort out the kickouts with Galligan. You could not be optimistic about primary possession against the Monaghan midfield.

It will be very difficult to rally the team now. The only thing in Cavan's favour now is that all expectation has evaporated. That has always been the best way to be going into a Monaghan clash, because they always, and I mean always , mess it up when cast as favourites against Cavan. Will that be enough? It will have to be"
Do they? Up until last year, monaghan didn't lose to us in a meaningful game since the 2013 league. Kudos on the "man bun" line though, I enjoyed that one.

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 24/10/2020 19:25:29    2300919

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "I'm no wannabe expert. I've been proven right again and again in my assessments on Cavan football. They have a solitary title to show for half a centuries worth of effort. But lads like yourself will defend that.

Year after year our club champions go into Ulster and more often than not, they are beaten, with a fair few thrashings thrown in. For the most part, Cavan people just want to bury their heads in the sand and pretend it isn't happening. There are none so blind etc etc.

As for what clubs we should retire, what is needed there is for a committee to look at existing club boundaries and do a population analysis attaching to each area, and carve up new boundaries accordingly. It's really not that difficult, but then when you're so entrenched in your ways, thinking outside the box is difficult.

Would I like to see my club fold if it meant increased success at county level? Unequivocally yes. Always been a county over club man. Always will be."
Well then you are not really a true GAA man. Clubs are the roots of the GAA.

seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 24/10/2020 19:31:17    2300924

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "I'm no wannabe expert. I've been proven right again and again in my assessments on Cavan football. They have a solitary title to show for half a centuries worth of effort. But lads like yourself will defend that.

Would I like to see my club fold if it meant increased success at county level? Unequivocally yes. Always been a county over club man. Always will be."
Well then you are not really a true GAA man. Clubs are the roots of the GAA.

seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 24/10/2020 19:31:33    2300926

There was nothing wrong with the standard of the Cavan Championship this year. It was one of the better championships in a while.
The lack of players from the finalists another matter

The set up and fitness of the team is because of the management and not club championship. Cavan conceded the most in Division 2,that because of a lack of defensive plan, attack was laboured

Niall Murray starting his first game since Armagh in McKenna Cup

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 24/10/2020 19:37:17    2300928