21 Oisin Pierson
22 Conor Smith
23 Evan Doughty
24 James Smith
25 Liam Buchanan
26 Ryan Connolly

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 24/01/2020 00:57:56    2261869

How does that team grab yis? At first glance it looks light on physicality around midfield. Maybe Buchanan will feature and that would make a big difference. Gerry Smith fit? Him and Magee off the bench would add more power too. It will be needed as this Armagh team that will be ready to go. On the plus side the half back line looks mobile, hopefully it spends most of its time being mobile in the right direction! Half forwards will be working hard up and down too. MG has lined his veterans inside. You'd expect the ball to be played in early with runners backing up from deep if it starts like this, I hope it does. Maybe this lineup will suit the mark. Saturday night in the Athletic grounds, a great prospect to start the season. Best of luck to this young team.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 24/01/2020 15:49:22    2261949

Best of luck to the lads tomorrow. 33 lads who are giving their all for the jersey and I hope those who travel get behind them whatever the result.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 24/01/2020 19:09:21    2261982

Best of luck to the lads tomorrow night. it may not be our strongest panel of the last few years but once everyone involved is prepared to die for that jersey who knows what can happen.
Fair play to the likes of G mac Martin Reilly, Faulkener , McGloughlin etc boys who come back year after year and not only when it suits them.
Stephen King played for 20 years and won nothing but got his reward in 97.
Your day will come.

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 24/01/2020 23:37:05    2262046

I can only echo those comments of the earlier contributors in wishing all those in the Cavan set up the best of luck in the weeks ahead. In some senses it is a fresh start and hopefully come July we will see definite signs of improvement.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 25/01/2020 12:08:52    2262107

Best of luck to Mickey and the team this evening. It is a tough opener with all the defections. But I like what Mickey is trying to do, at least we have a group of lads who are all committed to the cause and that can only be positive. Here's hoping we have good support in Armagh.

Cavanalaugh (Cavan) - Posts: 3 - 25/01/2020 12:31:24    2262114

Replying To blueskies:  "Best of luck to the lads tomorrow night. it may not be our strongest panel of the last few years but once everyone involved is prepared to die for that jersey who knows what can happen.
Fair play to the likes of G mac Martin Reilly, Faulkener , McGloughlin etc boys who come back year after year and not only when it suits them.
Stephen King played for 20 years and won nothing but got his reward in 97.
Your day will come."
That is a lovely galvanising comment.

Lets all get behind the lads for the year.

asdfg (Cavan) - Posts: 316 - 25/01/2020 12:41:42    2262115

Name one reason to be positive about the future of Cavan football.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 25/01/2020 20:31:24    2262251

Wow. Hard to believe it's barely 6 months since cavan fans descended on Clones with hope for an Ulster final. Could be more opt-outs after that horror show.

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 25/01/2020 20:34:25    2262253

Hate to say I was right.
We'll be doing well to avoid relegation.
Disgraceful!!!!

Virginia (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 25/01/2020 22:07:28    2262310

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Name one reason to be positive about the future of Cavan football."
Were you at the game? We were in it at half time and hadn't played that badly when against the wind. The second half started, a ball was fumbled, Armagh got a goal. Then Faulkner and James Smith get black cards and we were down to 13 men at exactly the wrong time.

We're a Division 2 team. That puts us above 16 other teams in the country.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 25/01/2020 22:35:50    2262326

Scary result
We are missing as many as ye
2 murtaghs
Harney hussey
Fintan cregg
MC inerney
Colin Compton
Conor Daly, o malley Conor cox,
glennon
Makes me wonder about the future of gaa being outside top 3 or 4 is just a waste of time and preparing lads for the states.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 25/01/2020 23:04:08    2262340

Ah this crap got to stop ,, every year same old, Cavan has to build a new team because our good players leave . We find good players next thing there gone . I think it's time to ask questions of the County Board, is it time to clear out the old establishment and the businesses men club

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 25/01/2020 23:24:40    2262349

With only 7 or 8 of last years starting championship side I honestly didn't expect we were going to win this one. I thought we let the game escape from us without a fight but I think the lack of experience showed through in a good few positions. The new lads were thrown in against a toughened Armagh side that retained their players from last year. They will give Ulster a good shot this year.
I Cannot blame the manager or the players for tonight, its going to take time to get things sorted, this is a NEW team and a team that clearly has to gel yet. As I see Mickey is between a rock and a hard place and must keep going with the panel he has. As regards the players you learn most about yourself in times of adversity let's hope...it's only one game so let's keep some perspective on things, staying in div 2 is still there to be achieved !

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 25/01/2020 23:46:24    2262354

Replying To Virginia:  "Hate to say I was right.
We'll be doing well to avoid relegation.
Disgraceful!!!!"
It's sad to think from the guys that left if we put them together they would hammer the current Cavan team

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 25/01/2020 23:56:50    2262359

While disappointing the result was not surprising, however, the margin of victory was greater than i expected. Lets hope that things improve as the year goes on.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 26/01/2020 09:52:25    2262398

Replying To goonie:  "It's sad to think from the guys that left if we put them together they would hammer the current Cavan team"
Maybe they would, maybe they wouldn't. After all, those so called stars were all on the pitch for Cavan's last 2 championship matches, destroyed in both. The current lads are the ones training hard and giving it a go. Support is needed most after results like last night. We knew it was coming. So stop dreaming about the 'great' crop of players that never was and thrown in with the lads brave enough to stick around.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 26/01/2020 10:01:37    2262402

Staying up could be a struggle if without Murray and Madden for a few games. Not much punch in attack

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 26/01/2020 10:23:15    2262412

Replying To BreffniGuide:  "Were you at the game? We were in it at half time and hadn't played that badly when against the wind. The second half started, a ball was fumbled, Armagh got a goal. Then Faulkner and James Smith get black cards and we were down to 13 men at exactly the wrong time.

We're a Division 2 team. That puts us above 16 other teams in the country."
We're in the teams considered also rans, and we're not in the teams considered to be knocking on the door. It doesn't really matter that we're in division 2, we have the same chance of winning our province as Leitrim or Longford have of winning theirs. That's our level.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 26/01/2020 11:32:34    2262433

Replying To facer4home:  "With only 7 or 8 of last years starting championship side I honestly didn't expect we were going to win this one. I thought we let the game escape from us without a fight but I think the lack of experience showed through in a good few positions. The new lads were thrown in against a toughened Armagh side that retained their players from last year. They will give Ulster a good shot this year.
I Cannot blame the manager or the players for tonight, its going to take time to get things sorted, this is a NEW team and a team that clearly has to gel yet. As I see Mickey is between a rock and a hard place and must keep going with the panel he has. As regards the players you learn most about yourself in times of adversity let's hope...it's only one game so let's keep some perspective on things, staying in div 2 is still there to be achieved !"
Trouble is Cavan has had times of adversity for 60 years.
We'll soon have state of the art facilities and no team.
Underage don't seem up to much but then again we did feck all with the last good crop of players.
Not one decent forward came out of the under21s who won four Ulster titles.
Something lacking badly in the set up.
County board need to take a long look at what's going on.

Virginia (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 26/01/2020 12:17:16    2262446