Fitzgerald's Waterford to take on TG4 Underdogs next Saturday

October 22, 2022

Davy Fitzgerald. ©INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan.

Davy Fitzgerald's second spell as Waterford manager will begin next Saturday, 29 October, when the Deise take on the TG4 Underdogs underlights at the SETU Arena in Waterford.

The Clare All-Ireland winning goalkeeper is back in charge of the Waterford senior hurlers, twelve years after he guided the county to their last Munster SHC title. Fitzgerald was previously at the helm for four campaigns between 2008 and 2011, also leading the Deise to an All-Ireland final appearance for the first time in 45 years.

Following six months of trials, the selectors, All-Ireland SHC winning Cork manager John Allen, four-time All-Ireland camogie champion Claire O’Connor and Fitzgibbon Cup winning boss Jamie Wall, have put together a 31-man Underdogs squad made up of club hurlers who have never played at Liam MacCarthy Cup level.

The game will throw-in at 8pm, live on TG4.

2022 Underdogs squad - Aaron Smiley (St Brigid's, Cloughmills, Antrim), Cian Moore (Clarinbridge, Galway), Cian O’Rourke (Wolfe Tones Na Sionna, Clare), Cillian O Fionngusha (Clonlara, Clare), Colin Palmer (Camross, Laois), Conor Floyd (Newport, Tipperary), Dan Cunnane (Ogonnelloe, Clare), Darren Kelly (Uibh Laoire, Cork), Dave Ryan Rose (Ballinahinch, Tipperary), Eric Finn (Round Towers, Clondalkin, Dublin), Evan McMahon (Feakle, Clare), Jack Kenny (Kilnadeema-Leitrim, Galway), Joe Millerick (Fr O'Neill's, Cork), John Casey (Setanta, Ballymun, Dublin), Karl Murray (Longford Slashers, Longford), Martin Kelly (Blacks and Whites, Kilkenny), Naoise De Bhaldraithe (Cuala, Dublin), Oisín Ó Dúnaigh (CLG na Rinne, Waterford), Paul Fagan (Kildalkey, Meath), Philip O’Brien (St. Patrick’s, Stamullen, Meath), Reece Gavin (Moorefield, Kildare), Robert O’Donnell (Pallasgreen, Limerick), Seamus Barry (Passage East, Waterford), Seamus Hoctor (Southern Gaels, Westmeath), Sean Buggy (Erin's Own, Kilkenny), Shane Lawler (Rathnure, Wexford), Shane Phelan (Castletown, Laois), Stephen Guilfoyle (Edenderry, Offaly), Tom Stafford (Naomh Éanna, Wexford), Tommy Barry (Kilmaley, Clare), Tommy Foley (Raparees-Starlights, Wexford).

Most Read Stories