Fenton becomes second player to win Footballer of the Year twice

February 20, 2021

Dublin's Brian Fenton celebrates as captain Stephen Cluxton lifts the Sam Maguire Cup

Dublin midfielder Brian Fenton has been crowned Footballer of the Year for the second time in three years.

The Raheny powerhouse now becomes only the second player to win the most coveted individual award in gaelic football twice since its inception in 1995, following in the footsteps of Meath's Trevor Giles (1996 and 1999).

His team-mate Ciaran Kilkenny and Mayo sharpshooter Cillian O'Connor were also in the running for the gong.

Fenton, as always, was ever-present in the engine-room as the Dubs claimed a record six consecutive All-Ireland titles last December.

Remarkably, the 27-year-old has never lost a championship match for Dublin having made his debut against Monaghan in 2015!

Most Read Stories