Murphy honoured with Ulster Footballer of the Year accolade

November 30, 2019

Donegal's Michael Murphy encourages his teammates during the Ulster SFC final clash against Cavan at St Tiernach's Park, Clones. ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson.

The annual O’Neills Ulster GAA President’s Awards took place at the Canal Court Hotel Newry last night and Donegal’s talisman Michael Murphy was named “Player of the Year” in football.

GAA volunteers from across the Province were also recognised by Ulster GAA for their hard work in the areas of Club Coaching and Games, Refereeing and Education throughout the year.

The awards are a way of highlighting the achievements of some of the special and significant contributors to the Association in Ulster.

Winners on the night included:

O’Neills Ulster GAA Lifetime Service to the GAA Award

Brian Armitage

Player of the Year Football

Michael Murphy

Player of the Year Hurling

Conal Cunning

Service to the GAA through Education

Paddy Hardy

Recognition of All Ireland winning teams

St Michael’s Enniskillen – Hogan Cup

St Colman’s Newry – Paul McGirr Cup

Slaughtneil – All Ireland Senior Camogie Club Championship

Clonduff – All Ireland Intermediate Camogie Club Championship

Michael McGibney – All Ireland Scór Sinsir Aithriseoireacht

Club Coaching Awards

Sean McManus – Aontroim

Mairtin McConville – Ard Mhacha

Ciaran Tierney – An Cabhán

Sean McGoldrick – Doire

Pauric Harvey and Rory O’Donnell – Dún na nGall

Brendan Birt – An Dún

Declan Deazley – Fear Manach

Matthew McArdle – Muineachán

Des Doherty – Tír Eoghain

Overall Winner Club Coaching Awards 

Sean McGoldrick – Doire

Special Recognition Awards

John Morrison, RIP

Aontroim 1969 U21 All Ireland winners

Raymond McSherry, Services to the GAA

Ulster GAA Wheelchair Hurling Team

Paul Brady, Handball

Mary Connolly, Ulster Ladies Football

Marion McStay, Ulster Camogie

Recognition of Referees

Noel Mooney, All Ireland Minor Championship Football Final Referee

James Connors, Nicky Rackard Final

Colum Cunning, Joe McDonagh Final

Barry Cassidy, All Ireland Senior Football Club Final

Paul Faloon, All Ireland Junior Football Club Final

The McGlinchey Cup for Referee of the Year

Noel Mooney, An Cabhán

Most Read Stories