Ulster club SFC: Kilcoo oust Magherafelt for last four berth

November 03, 2019

Burren's Gerard McGovern with Kilcoo's Jerome Johnston

Kilcoo (Down) 1-11

Magherafelt (Derry) 0-9

Jerome Johnston’s 37th minute goal proved crucial as Kilcoo saw off Magherafelt’s challenge in Newry to move into the Ulster club SFC semi-finals against Derrygonnelly.

Down champions for seven of the last eight seasons, the Magpies made an impressive start against their Derry counterparts by knocking over the first three points via Aaron Branagan, Ryan McEvoy and Darryl Branagan.

The visitors responded in kind however, with Emmet McGuckian fisting over prior to Cormac Murphy and Conor Kearns stringing together back-to-back points come the 17th minute.

Two Paul Devlin frees edged Kilcoo into a 0-5 to 0-4 lead for the break and after seven minutes of the restart they’d hit the jackpot when Johnston blasted to the net, opening up a five-point gap.

That margin would prove just too much for the Oak Leaf County champions to try and even up, as they saw Simon McErlain’s goal disallowed in injury-time.

Kilcoo - M McCourt; N Branagan, Aidan Branagan, N McEvoy; M Rooney, Aaron Branagan (0-1), A Morgan (0-1); D Branagan (0-1), D Ward; R McEvoy (0-1), P Devlin (0-2f), R Johnston; E Branagan (0-2), J Johnston (1-1), C Laverty (0-2). Subs: J Clarke for R Johnston, S Johnston for M Rooney.

Magherafelt - O Lynch; S McErlain, G Lupari, D O'Neill; C McCluskey, F Duffin, C Kearns (0-2); D Heavron, E McGuckian (0-3, 1f); P McLarnon, S Heavron (0-1f), J Young; J Monaghan (0-1), C Murphy (0-2), A McElhone. Subs: M Lynch for P McLarnon, D Martin for P McElhone, C Rafferty for J Young, P O'Kane for C Kearns (BC), J Keenan for G Lupari, M Higgins for S Heavron.

Referee - J McQuillan.

Most Read Stories