Wexford Forum

Popular Posts from Doylerwex

Non-Gaa Forum - 7 Like(s)

Replying To TheFlaker:  "People are entitled to their beliefs but I find all religions mind boggling. They probably do in some sense keep a certain amount of order in the world but how any sane minded person thinks there is a higher power overseeing everything in the world is beyond me."
I don't think that is what people believe to be honest. I still practice my faith, but it's more the case of some sort of intelligent consciousness that lit the fuse so to speak. I find it equally mind boggling that so many devout atheists (and I understand the irony of that term) seem so sure that it's not possible for there to be a God. Anybody who claims anything they don't know to be absolute truth is arrogant regardless of their belief.

Doylerwex (National) - 03/12/2024 10:18:33

Stories Of Unique GAA Camaraderie? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To yew_tree:  "I agree on GAA but Catholic Church the one true religion? Don't make me laugh. I suppose all the other religions are wrong…fact is it's all fairytale No matter what code you follow."
Probably moving away from the subject matter s bit but I'll bite. All religions contain truth. Only the Catholic faith contains the entire truth. It's also full of hypocrisy but the truth is still preserved. You shouldn't say it's all fairytale. That's disrespectful and mean spirited. By all means say you disagree. You also shouldn't say it's a fact if you don't know it to be true. I'm a believer. I wouldn't dream of saying it's a fact. I believe. I couldn't possibly know.

Doylerwex (National) - 09/12/2024 15:30:07

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2024 - 4 Like(s)
You know for an organisation that's identity is so heavily rooted in tradition I think the new championship calender has ruined it. For more casual supporters half of them don't even realise the championship has started nevermind at semi final stage. Bring back the first Sunday in September please.

Doylerwex (National) - 05/07/2024 09:40:28

Galway Hurling thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To baire:  "Why are all these non-Galway posters spoofing here, on the Galway thread, about their own counties? A bit of manners wouldn't go astray!"
Truthfully it's one of the busier spots for debate. We're playing this weekend so normal to check in for discussion. I didn't realize there was a bouncer on the door.

Doylerwex (National) - 02/05/2024 14:25:50

Stories Of Unique GAA Camaraderie? - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Canuck:  "Good people are good no matter what their religion or if any at all. Or bad are bad. What has always bothered me through history is the amount of people killed and wars fought in the name of God. If he exists that would not make him so nice. Or is it organized religions and political operatives using his name to achieve their aims? Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, Happy Ramada or what ever you associate with spiritual. Or if not at all. You are probably a good person like the majority of people."
It's perfectly reasonable for you to feel that way, but make no mistake, bad people will use whatever tools are available for them to achieve their aims. Even if there was no religion those wars would still have been fought. We're exceptionally talented at killing eachother.

Doylerwex (National) - 18/12/2024 20:37:01

Our Accents And Our Culture - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Why are you telling me this?"
Why are you so snarky?

Doylerwex (National) - 02/09/2024 11:56:36

Non-Gaa Forum - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Breffni40:  "The reality for young trans people is that "the current madness" is more likely to persuade them to take their own lives. "The current madness" is more likely to result in adult trans people being murdered. Statistically this is objectively true. I'll use they/them, if that's what they prefer, in that context but I guess that's my woke agenda"
All statistical data says they are more unhappy post op my friend

Doylerwex (National) - 11/02/2023 08:39:08

Non-Gaa Forum - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Galway9801:  "Could you please explain that post in more detail? Are you suggesting that people who pay their bills and are in gainful employment are the cause of this nations woes? If everyone quit their job tomorrow and decided not to pay their bills the country would get back on its feet? I'm not aware of your family /employment situation, but if you have kids,, I'm to deduce from your post that keeping a roof over their heads is NOT your priority?"
Did you read my post in the context of the one it was in reply to ? I never suggested anyone give up their job. I took exception to the tone of the previous. I'm a senior manager in financial services. I have children. They're obviously a priority. I took issue with somebody using their own family as an excuse not to get involved in global political issues that impact the entire human race. I'd quite like my children to have a world to grow up . A house is no use if moral nations don't put pressure on a terrorist state committing genocide? It's grand lads. Never try to do the right thing. Just make sure you pay your mortgage.

Doylerwex (National) - 25/05/2024 21:50:36

Galway Hurling thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To galway19:  "Yes that it right. Wexford are 1/28 with PP and 1/25 with Boyles to be relegated which is basically an absolute certainty. Will come down to Clare or Galway to finish in bottom two also."
Beat Kilkenny like and that all changes. Bookies aren't clairvoyant. They generate odds based on what people are betting on. That's it.

Doylerwex (National) - 03/02/2025 17:11:10

Replying To yew_tree:  "Have enough equipment and personal to be able at least know who's fishing in or off our waters. We should have sonar/radar and more ships. An air force is coming in 2027 with the air corp to be disbanded and not before time. People give out about the Americans and British but we are in effect sheltered by them and the EU. We should be pulling our weight. It's not about confronting anyone. That's childish."
You're Ireland's answer to Trump. A European army is the worst thing we could possibly be part of. A significant increase in focus on defence is akin to a declaration of war. Absolute madness.

Doylerwex (National) - 21/11/2024 19:08:25

Replying To Lockjaw:  "The ordinary decent folk of the North Inner City are as genuine a people as you could meet mo chara. There is no doubt that there is a sinister right-wing element festering away, not just in Ireland. They have a big problem with it in the UK, and unfortunately in other EU countries rightwing parties have made grounds in Italy, Holland and Slovakia. But it's not just that. As you say last night's events can't solely be blamed on the far right though. A good proportion of them would also appear to adhere to the ideology of just being a ****."
Why is that happening though? There's serious unrest because legitimate concerns have been ignored for 20 years. People can't get a gp, a school place or a home and the government is completely ignoring it. What happened in Dublin was inexcusable. Opportunistic criminals jumping on a chance to cause havoc. However, we need to have a serious conversation about the social problems that created these people. I believe we should help where we can, but we cannot ignore the fact that our society is crumbling in front of our eyes. Immigrants aren't the issue. A lack of controls is part of it. But it's very easy to win disillusioned people over by offering a simple solution to their problems. What we're seeing is exactly the kind of thing that happened all across Europe in the 30s. We need to undertake massive social housing and infrastructure projects on a scale we've never seen before it's too late.

Doylerwex (National) - 26/11/2023 00:07:14

Páirc Uí Chaoimh - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Square_B:  "The naming of / renaming of a stadium hardly has any grear effect on the sporting tradition you're talking about. And let's be perfectly truthful about the names of some GAA clubs and so forth... the forefathers of the GAA I doubt would be impressed about celebrating terrorists and the like. There will come a time where a line in the sand may need to be drawn and if that day comes, we'll all have to face it. Our friends in the IRFU have worn this path long before us and they're getting on just fine. Not in anyway suggesting that I am in favour of professionalism but the GAA operates in a competitive environment and whether you like it or not, it has to be funded."
That terrorist remark sums up your view nicely. How did a fella like you end up in Connaught of all places

Doylerwex (National) - 19/01/2024 13:14:09

Is GAA, Or More Specifically It's Prominence, A Bad Thing For Irish Sport? - 3 Like(s)
Are you just talking about soccer? Boxers, golfers and jockeys all seem to doing just fine. Rugby aren't too bad either. We're pretty small and can't do everything. Our own sports are just better.

Doylerwex (National) - 22/09/2023 16:12:33

Replying To Cuhullain:  "82,300 packed into croke park yesterday to see leinster play northampton saints in the champions league semi- final, had the 11 year old with me, huge amount of youngsters around the same age there, tickets sold out in about 35 minutes and the deny that there is a big swing to the oval ball game, without the small ball game the gaa would be in big trouble. 82,300 packed into croke park yesterday to see leinster play northampton saints in the champions league semi- final, had the 11 year old with me huge amount of youngsters around the same age there, tickets sold out in about 35 minutes and the deny that there is a big swing to the oval ball game, without the small ball game the gaa would be in big trouble."
Not so sure about that. A big occasion but in my experience the rugby bandwagon is made up of people that don't play sports.

Doylerwex (National) - 05/05/2024 16:37:38

2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To bloodyban:  "GAA fans can be as big a sickeners as football or rugby supporters. This big all able to mix together is just navel gazing. Some GAA supporters think they are gods gift to sport like the Irish football supporters think of themselves as a cut above the rest of the soccer countries. Its typical Irish rubbish..ego stuff. In my experience Iv always liked Cork supporters most...very magnanimous in victory and defeat. Iv liked Tipperary supporters the least. That's my experience..Im always open to having my mind changed. The best supporters of them all are Limerick city rugby supporters who go to the hurling in the summer. Fine bunch"
For real? GAA is God's gift to sport. Particularly hurling. It's managed to remain authentic, honest and community based in a world where everything else is corrupted. As an organisation, the GAA isn't perfect, but they're excellent at investing in grass roots and have never lost touch with their role in the birth of our nation and nurturing our identity when we needed it most. It's so much more than sport. Irish soccer fans are a cut above most.

Doylerwex (National) - 07/05/2022 09:08:02

Will Rugby World Cup Harm Gaa. - 3 Like(s)
I think not to be honest. Very very different demographics for the most part. GAA is not just sport. It is culture. Everything will have peaks and troughs but the gaa is too engrained in every community. Nothing will ever challenge it.

Doylerwex (National) - 13/10/2023 14:14:31

How Do We Take Hurling On From Here - 3 Like(s)

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "There is no doubt yesterday was one of the greatest hurling spectacles in the history of the game. A phenomenal game and credit to all. But how can the GAA take the game in to counties outside the top handful of counties? I don't for a second believe you can get hurling taken seriously in every county in Ireland (and when I say seriously, I mean by county boards and on equal footing to football) but the biggest travesty in the GAA is that there were children in Uganda who had played more hurling than children in 20 counties in the country. Jarlath Burns has talked about hurling and extending its reach, but he is from a club with no hurling himself. Not an easy answer and GAA can gloat about the game yesterday all they want, the lack of hurling in so many counties is a stain on their administration. I grew up in a county with unfashionable hurling and now live in a county where it is fashionable with limited success but it is not down to a lack of effort on the part of GAA administrators in the county. Donal Og has long talked fanciful notions about hurling but is there any way the gospel can be spread? The GAA has no new hurling winner in 43 years and likely goes another 43 with no new hurling winner. I do not have the answer, but no harm to start a discussion."
The likes of the all Stars and tsg team of the year don't help. Silly to only chose from 3 teams and totally dominated by the final. There was a time the likes of laois got all stars for league games which probably kept them going. Literally no carrots for developing counties. Why even bother?

Doylerwex (National) - 22/07/2024 11:15:58

Replying To cavanman47:  ""Prepared to live in town" "Probably a rough enough area" "Most require renovation" You are proving my point. I don't live in a detached house on half an acre btw. Would I like to? Yes. Can I afford to? Only if I move location which i don't want to do. I've cut my cloth to suit. I would expect others to do likewise."
That's the thing. I life in a terraced house built by the council in 1955. I love the area. It's where a grew up but it's wrong that this is the best I could afford when I've two college degrees, a career in financial services and have worked since I was 15. I'm also aware of how fortunate I am by comparison to others my age, but the point is this, we have a super wealthy elite here who keep getting richer. A vulnerable class dependant on welfare who get state of the art homes with solar panels and electric car charging ports in the driveway. Then the famous squeezed middle who are the only ones forced to cut they're cloth as you put it. These people deserve a better deal. Not everything for nothing, but a market that serves them better than right now.

Doylerwex (National) - 14/11/2024 15:14:21

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "The most laughable aspect of all this is that lads who are all "Oh, let us welcome everyone from everywhere" would have a fit if 300 lads from Dublin or their own county town rocked up to their local hotel and decided they were going to stay there."
I often find the people who are most liberal about this issue are the ones it will never effect.

Doylerwex (National) - 25/11/2024 10:45:10

Replying To Galway9801:  "Okay well that seems to be a total contradiction. You justify banks unreasonable policies by saying that their purpose is to make money. It is their mantra etc. Not customer satisfaction or loyalty. Yet landlords could say the exact same thing about rental properties. Their purpose is to make money, not customer satisfaction or loyalty. Yet you apply two completely different outlooks on both entities."
They are different though. Banking is unfortunately a necessary evil. Landlords are not. Not all, but many are white collar criminals rubbing their hands while everyone becomes more and more hopelessly miserable. That sarcastic post is over the top but honestly the lack of empathy you've shown has shocked me. I don't know you. You might be a lovely fella, but I cannot wrap my head around how anyone could try to justify the state of our housing market. There's no rationale. It's the darkest period in modern history and we're destroying our society. By and large we're a really charitable people, but we're turning into greedy monsters. What our own elites are doing to people now is a thousand times worse than 800 years of oppression we suffered.

Doylerwex (National) - 27/03/2024 19:51:58