Monaghan Forum

Popular Posts from ORIELMAN85

Casement Park - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Ulsterman:  "The main reason for Casement not going ahead is pure sectarianism and anti GAA bigotry nothing less. Let's not kid ourselves. People in the South have no experience or day to day reality of the bigotry and hatred that Gaels in the North face from the Unionist political and media Establishment and the constant attacks and threats from violent Loyalism. It is totally vile."
Nonsense. There was originally enough money promised from GAA, Brits and Irish Govt., but the locals objected and rightly so to the monstrosity that was being built on their doorsteps to facilitate concerts and such like. The games would possibly fill it once a year. There was more than enough money to turn it into a fine venue for Antrim football and hurling but greed took over, while Windsor and Ravenhill got on with the job and got their stadiums upgraded. Of course anti GAA bigotry exists in the North of Ireland but it is not the reason for Casement lying in ruins.

ORIELMAN85 (National) - 17/09/2024 10:34:10

Attendances 2024 - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Fionn:  "Well said... Extra supporters from Kerry, may well have got them over the line at the weekend. It definitely helps a team."
Well said. No doubt extra support on Sat. may have got them oner the line. The lack of support before finals is nothing new in Kerry. There are clowns on this forum that believe in their simple minds that it is the structures the football etc. Total nonsense. The Kerry people are poor supporters. Only an All Ireland Final or a Munster final with Cork will bring them out. This was proven during the reign of their all conquering 70/80s side. Paltry attendances except for the aforementioned games. Delighted to see the true GAA supporters of Armagh and Galway having the chance to cheer on their team in the final. On the matter of change, Jarlath Burns is a smart man and knows a winner when he sees it, so structure changes will be minimal. Kerry/Armagh (1982)- 17,000 attendance, Kerry /Armagh (2024) -55,000 attendance. Gakway/Donegal (1983) - 28,000 attendance, Galway/Donegal (2024) - 65,000 attendance. Only a deluded Cavan man who thinks admission should still be £5, a game should have 60 frees awarded, and that Cavan people like ourselves should be on a ration of 1 Championship game most years,or that the Ulster champions after a ferocious campaign should play a well rested Kerry team in the AI semi final in front of 17 000 fans. The same lad wants us to hold up 30 County's club Championships while we wait on 2 counties to play an All Ireland Final on the last Sunday in September,oh and the replay in the middle of October. Anyone with an ounce of wit can see we are on the right road. Most importantly 100% of our players are supportive.

ORIELMAN85 (National) - 16/07/2024 12:03:01

Monaghan GAA thread - 5 Like(s)

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Before the game he announced that Michael Langan, Jason McGee, Brendan McCole, Niall O'Donnell and Eoghan Ban are "bang average". Three of them have previously been All Star nominated in the last couple of years. They hardly qualify as being in the bang average category. If you have any "bang average" all star nominations, please be sure to let me know who they are so we can debate their merits. I haven't insulted yours, please don't insult ours."
Ah jasus take it easy. You now have 2 morons instead of one in your ear. Most of us here have nothing but the height of respect for all the Donegal lads of the past 12 or 13 years. Always enjoyed the days we beat ye but were never too down when we lost to ye as we knew we had been beaten by a great team who played football and didn't resort to the dark arts. Was delighted to be in Croker in 2012 and felt devastated for ye in 2014 (the one that got away). Great memories of mixing with your supporters in Clones in 13, 14 and 15. And finally a great memory of Murphy and McFadden shaking my then 10 year old son's hand on the field in 2013 after what had to be a crushing defeat. All Stars one and all.

ORIELMAN85 (National) - 15/01/2024 20:34:22

GAA President - Jarlath Burns - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Kew:  "Yes ever since he got some praise after his u20 hurling speech he seems to believe in every speech he needs to make a point about something. He should let the players have the limelight and stop trying to steal it for his own benefit"
Ah go off and join up with your whinger friend Walter Mitty from Cavan. Jarlath's contribution was outstanding. A wonderful spokesman for our great Association. A true and true GAA man. I have also watched him make tea and clean up after a Scór Competition in his home area Silverbridge. Would be nice to see our enjoyable football season end with him presenting the Sam Maguire Cup to the Armagh captain next Sunday as his son looks on. However if it is the Galway captain who receives it,I can assure you it will be handed over with same class and congratulatory words that are the mark of Jarlath Burns.

ORIELMAN85 (National) - 22/07/2024 17:10:58

All Ireland Football Final 2024 - Galway V Armagh - 4 Like(s)

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "The writing was on the wall for Galway when our very own prophet "Nonothinadamus" under the alias "Limerick for Liam 24" predicted a Galway win.That poster would nt pick his nose.The positive is in future whoever he tips back the opposite and guarenteed win."
Congrats to McGeeny and Armagh. A thoroughly deserved All Ireland win. Overall the better team, even if at times they reverted to their old ways instead of putting the foot on the neck when they had those 3 point leads. It was a enthralling game. Best atmosphere in Croker since Donegal/Mayo in 2012. To hell with the begrudgers, it has been a good Championship, with the cream coming to the top on the last Sunday in July. Much of it owed to the Championship system that we have happened upon, maybe by design or maybe by accident. It, I am sure will lead to more novel All Ireland pairings in the coming years. Yes Dublin and Kerry will be back but the Round Robin system definitely makes it a much more fair route to the All Ireland Final, than anything we had before. A lot of very close and entertaining games all the way through. On reflection I have no doubt that the powers that be, will be quite happy to continue with the system, preliminary QFs and all. Was privileged to be in Croke Park yesterday with not an empty seat to be seen and to see some of the best points I have ever seen scored in that venue. The game has changed and not for the worse either. No longer a game where two teams kicked the ball back and forward to each other and committed 50+ fouls per game. It is now a game where thought must be put into each play. Contributers like Walter Mitty from Cavan would now probably find it too challenging for their brain to play or understand the game. It is not Hurling and never will be. Two totally different sports that just happen to come under the GAA umbrella. Personally I don't care much for a sport where balls can almost be put over the bar from puck outs. As an enjoyable county season ends I look forward to getting to as many club games as possible over the coming months. Maybe even sneak in a couple of games in the Armagh championship to see their heros back where they belong with their clubs. Thank God for the split season.

ORIELMAN85 (National) - 29/07/2024 20:49:00

Monaghan GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To veterngaa:  "Mick… if we all got a euro every time you referenced the 80s and "miserable failure" , " fergie" "McCurrin" . It goes on and on.. Like a broken record .. another year no Ulster title … I would say you have posted at least 30 posts this year with the references above. I'm not throwing nothing out of the pram. Just calling you out for what you are …"
With your arrogance, you dont cop on that he is correct. The 70s/80s men were a team who did their talking on the field. Men who would die for each other. The also had mentors who were in it for the love of the club. No Monaghan Senior club has ever lay down and surrendered like YOUR heroes did against Kilcoo.

ORIELMAN85 (National) - 27/11/2024 10:46:53

Replying To Blueblood4life:  "Worst Monaghan performance I've ever seen."
You are obviously a "Johney Come Lately" to Monaghan football.

ORIELMAN85 (National) - 05/02/2023 21:23:54

Casement Park - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Saynothing:  "I agree with yourself, and Barney to an extent. We are all taxed in the North but If the Brits won't put money into Casement so be it.I wouldn't be begging any Brit. I'd pool the money they have and see what can be done with Casement, Antrim needs it."
When will Antrim hurlers or footballers ever need anything more than 15 to 20,000 seats. They whole effort was shambolic driven on by bullies with no consideration for the people of the area or the Gaels of Ulster trying to get in our out to games in Anderstown.

ORIELMAN85 (National) - 16/09/2024 11:46:54

Leitrim GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Backheel:  "How many Leitrim games were you at last year Martin Joe? To say it was the best prepared Leitrim team since Johnno is an absolute joke. Moran and Morrison, Dolan, Dugdale and Breen, and Hyland far superior managers than Andy. So take off your green and red tinted glasses."
I reckon you would need to take off the blindfolds. However we are happy down here that you hounded him out. He is doing just fine with our lads.

ORIELMAN85 (National) - 24/02/2025 04:04:05

All Ireland Club Final, Kilmacud V Glen (Derry) - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Well done Glen. Made a point and kept their dignity and self respect in a wave of partitionist, anti-Northern bigotry from other so called Gaels. This was the right move by withdrawing their appeal. Kilmacud won the game on the pitch but rules were broken. They forced Croke Park to make a decision that should have done over a week ago. Many Glen players weren't happy at making Kilmacud play again, the game was won by the Leinster Champions but the Derry team has been vindicated. Take a bow."
What nonsense. 75 % of the support for Glen came from outside your self imposed "partitioned six". Time you copped on, there are actually nine counties in Ulster.

ORIELMAN85 (National) - 04/02/2023 11:07:56

Replying To veterngaa:  "Sure we can't help if a lad lives in the parish …"
Ah jazus, Ballygawley part of the "The Parish" now.

ORIELMAN85 (National) - 21/07/2024 17:43:30

Casement Park - 3 Like(s)

Replying To SaffronDon:  "It was a practical solution for the future of Ulster GAA. Then it was hijacked and used as political point scoring and people like yourself were more interested in being 'right' that you were happy enough to believe the unionist lies about Casement while you ridicule political parties for "doing what the Brits tell them" at the same time. The irony."
It was never a "practical" solution for the future of Ulster GAA. Dreamers like yourself in Antrim need to get their act together and look after Gaels there, by providing a centre for Antrim hurling and football and stop waffling on about Ulster GAA. Ulster has a perfectly good centre in Clones, that with the injection of a fraction of the money needed for Casement can become a 40,000 capacity stadium. Not a venue for concerts, rugby or soccer but a venue for GAA games.

ORIELMAN85 (National) - 29/09/2024 18:52:23

Football Provincial Championships 2025 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To yew_tree:  "When have Mayo heads swelled by reaching a Connacht final? Come on provide examples…same aul nonsense."
Every year that they get there.

ORIELMAN85 (National) - 04/04/2025 02:13:06

Attendances 2024 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Onion_Sack:  "What was the last Cavan game you were at ForeverBlue2?"
The man is a total looper. Doubt he has ever been to a GAA game 12,000 in Clones today. Not bad on a June Holiday weekend.

ORIELMAN85 (National) - 02/06/2024 21:01:07

Attendances 2024 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To macca999:  "Yes thinking that, id doubt any of the games went about the 1500 mark. This weekend be a good barometer of the interest with the quarter finals, though still wouldnt expect bigger than 2,500 at any of the game, Kildare v Laois possibly get the biggest crowd given counties and closeness travel wise. Not sure what the attendance for the semi double header was last year in Croke Park, could do well to top 10-12k in few weeks. If i hear the word jeopardy once more, its not TV gameshow we want, if championship structure was exactly that then the term would never be used as concept of championship should be knockout football meaning every game counts,do or die, which generates interest and helps engage more supporters to attend"
A "championship" is a contest for the position of champion in a sport or game. It can be organised in any form.

ORIELMAN85 (National) - 10/06/2024 13:18:45

Football Format Changes Discussion - 2 Like(s)
Don't think Jarlath or the GAA will be rushing to make any changes. 8 games at the weekend and not a dead rubber among them. All games so far have consequences down the road. Only a half witted clown could believe that we don't have a good system now. Looking forward to a great weekend of football.will make 4 games this weekend,with a club game on Friday and a Juvenile final on Saturday morning and 2 Sam Maguire Round 3 games on Saturday and Sunday. All for the price of a steak dinner. Thank God for the GAA and to hell with the begrudgers and cry baby's.

ORIELMAN85 (National) - 14/06/2024 02:57:20

All Ireland Football Final 2024 - Galway V Armagh - 2 Like(s)

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "It pains me to say this but I actually agree with you for once !"
Just where would you put the 20,000 that showed up for last years Minor Final, or the 15,000 that were at this year"s Minor Hurling Final. The Minors their families and supporters have a right to their own day out. Some lads on here engage tongue before brains.

ORIELMAN85 (National) - 28/07/2024 11:21:07

Football Provincial Championships 2025 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "We were promised edge of the seat stuff with the new rules couldn't take your eyes off the game etc. That hasn't happened in any of the championship games I've watched. Galway v Roscommon was one of the most dull championship games I've seen between the two. The last time the two fared off in Pearse Stadium 2-19 to 2-16 and while that result was never in doubt either it was a fair more entertaining contest."
Well lad I guess you are not a GAA fan, just a one County man. You obviously didn't throw an eye on the Kerry/Cork, Down/Fermanagh, or Donegal/Monaghan games. I was in Enniskillen and Clones and both were edge of the seat stuff. Under the old rules they both would have petered out early. Also saw the rerun of the Mayo/Leitrim game and it was a good watch in difficult conditions. My advice to the whingers on these forums is to maybe relocate to Munster. They play a game down there with sticks and a small ball,of no relation to Gaelic Football,more like 15 man tennis and good for the neck muscles. Ye would enjoy it and it would give us football fans head's peace.

ORIELMAN85 (National) - 22/04/2025 13:35:26

Monaghan GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To veterngaa:  "Is there another inniskeen we dont know about ?"
Well let me tell you Inniskeen is miles ahead of the kip that they keep putting the Co. Junior Finals in. A couple of people in wheelchairs having to stretch their necks to try to look out through a rain covered window. Inniskeen may not have the titles but they have a facility for games that puts your bog standard field to shame.

ORIELMAN85 (National) - 23/02/2025 01:04:07

Monaghan GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To veterngaa:  "Are you really not able to differentiate a village and a parish?"
Funny lad, it seems like your are the dunce on this occasion. Scotstown is a village but the draw their players from the United Parishes, Currin and Donegal, with previous raids on Roslea and Kilmore/Drumsnatt. You would need to cop on and realises no one on here falls for your childish defence of the indefensible. Scotstown is a village. The football team is the United Parishes.

ORIELMAN85 (National) - 22/10/2024 16:28:42