Meath V Derry: All Ireland Round 2

Replying To LowerHogan:  "Team sheets don't hold a lot of water these days there's always swapping around before throw in.
Menton played at 6 against Cork and did well but his tendency to drift into midfield left us very exposed at times.
Caulfield played at 12 v Cork aswell and was often one of the 3 men up, he did well around the pitch but much rather see him at 7.
Charlie O'Connor was at sea against Cork, don't think it's the right call to be giving him game time at this crucial stage of the season.
Good to see Adam in, if Menton does play at 6 I really hope Adam is on the money occupying that space around kickouts.
Duke & Jones back on the bench is a boost."
Doesn't Caulfield play most of his club football for Trim at wing forward? I know he played wing forward a bit with the meath minors and 20s.

He has never been a great shooter but he obviously has the pace and power to cause defences a lot of problems. He will need to add a few more scores to his game if he is to play in the forwards.

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 341 - 12/06/2026 12:09:21    2679114

Strange Team

A bit of a dummy selection there i would guess.

I dont see oneill, menton, C oconnor and mcbride all starting at the same time. At least one will be held back. I would be very surprised to see Jones togged( hopefully he does) and even if he does i dont think he can be the sole mid field cover. I would guess menton goes back to midfield and oneill is on the bench, caufield back to 7.

Apart from the midfield cover im not totally against the team selection.

Strange to see only 4 forwards on the team sheet, without flynn chipping in with a 2 pointer i struggle to see scores outside of the 4 lads. caufield was class the last day and does threatne in fairness but he isnt a banker for scores its not his role,menton isnt getting into those scoring positions anymore.
Lynch and banty cant seem to start together so by that logic i think I would have started Joconnor.

1 Seán Brennan;
2 Séamus Lavin,
3 Seán Rafferty,
4 Ronan Ryan;
5 Donal Keogan,
6 Bryan Menton,
7 Seán Coffey;
8 Cian McBride,
9 Adam O'Neill;
10 Charlie O'Connor,
11 Matthew Costello,
12 Ciarán Caulfield;
13 Jordan Morris,
14 James Conlon,
15 Eoghan Frayne.

Subs: Billy Hogan, Brian O'Halloran, Killian Smyth, Cathal Hickey, Jack Flynn, Jack O'Connor, Ronan Jones, Keith Curtis, James McEntee, Conor Duke, Aaron Lynch.

royalcounty1 (Meath) - Posts: 100 - 12/06/2026 14:09:35    2679145

Replying To royalcounty1:  "Whats your thoughts / expectations ?

I think home advantage is potential killer here, I really noticed down in cork meath fans were drowned out and it was dead for us almost that entire second half. Now we had little to cheer about granted. But the way they booed kinsella because they blamed him for the red card and so on, they really drove home their team.

some individuals have good form for us but collectively were just not clicking maybe a bit like monaghan in that regard, we could murder you for 2 x 15 minute spells and then let you do the same."
I'm glad you asked as other posters previously asked that I have more cop on before I post about Meath or give an opinion.

Unfortunately, my views haven't changed since walking out of Tullamore back in April. That was the line in the sand for me in 2026. People didn't like the hard facts then but it was obvious that the players, line and game approach was not good enough.

Tomorrow's game counts for little really. We lose and it just reaffirms that Championship 2026 has been a bitter bitter disappointment going 0 / 3 with a lot of soul searching to be done before a very important 2027. A win, while welcome, would really only prolong the inevitable until we are being exposed to a team with a direct running brand of ball who can push up/overload on kicklouts (thats how you beat Meath).

Derry have the cut of a wounded beast. In saying that at least they have recent provincial honours and a Div 1 league title to justify a place at top table. I'd take your arm for what they won and experienced in the last few seasons. They have just flattened out so fast and its probably more a reflection on internal affairs than anything else.

I don't see it being more than 3-4 points barring one team pulling an exhibition of scoring. Either team can win on the day and have the players to mix it. Despite Meath not learning from their obvious failures they could still produce some magic somewhere. It will come down to heart and attitude as to who wants it more.

Gun to head, I say Derry win on the basis of having home advantage, late throw in on a Saturday evening and our brutal record across the border.

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 846 - 12/06/2026 23:45:16    2679200

Replying To Royalio11:  "I'm glad you asked as other posters previously asked that I have more cop on before I post about Meath or give an opinion.

Unfortunately, my views haven't changed since walking out of Tullamore back in April. That was the line in the sand for me in 2026. People didn't like the hard facts then but it was obvious that the players, line and game approach was not good enough.

Tomorrow's game counts for little really. We lose and it just reaffirms that Championship 2026 has been a bitter bitter disappointment going 0 / 3 with a lot of soul searching to be done before a very important 2027. A win, while welcome, would really only prolong the inevitable until we are being exposed to a team with a direct running brand of ball who can push up/overload on kicklouts (thats how you beat Meath).

Derry have the cut of a wounded beast. In saying that at least they have recent provincial honours and a Div 1 league title to justify a place at top table. I'd take your arm for what they won and experienced in the last few seasons. They have just flattened out so fast and its probably more a reflection on internal affairs than anything else.

I don't see it being more than 3-4 points barring one team pulling an exhibition of scoring. Either team can win on the day and have the players to mix it. Despite Meath not learning from their obvious failures they could still produce some magic somewhere. It will come down to heart and attitude as to who wants it more.

Gun to head, I say Derry win on the basis of having home advantage, late throw in on a Saturday evening and our brutal record across the border."
Disagree that a win counts for nothing. Tullamore was a sliding doors moment - we got caught on the hop by a team who was well prepared and it turns out are much better than anyone predicted having gone unbeaten since. That led to having to play Cork away which is always a tough fixture and now another tough away fixture. I think a win today would show that this team still has serious ambitions albeit by no means the finished article. There is a lot of work to be done before next season and I think the reality is that it might take 2-3 years before we can expect to challenge the top 3/4 teams.

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 191 - 13/06/2026 08:45:50    2679209

Replying To Royalio11:  "I'm glad you asked as other posters previously asked that I have more cop on before I post about Meath or give an opinion.

Gun to head, I say Derry win on the basis of having home advantage, late throw in on a Saturday evening and our brutal record across the border."
I'll use polarising this time instead of extreme.

Were you at the Cork game, or is your view based mainly on the Westmeath game? I thought there were definitely some corrections against Cork, and you could see attempts at tactical changes. They worked for periods, just not for the full 70 minutes. They're still too open at the back though and we are currently working with a limited deck for defenders( price you pay for targeting promotion I think)

I honestly think we were peaking during the league, which maybe gave a false sense that we'd really pushed on from last year. As a collective, I'm not sure we have. Individually, though, I think there have been improvements. The goalkeeper looks better, and midfield and attack had definitely improved.( On a slide now)

The biggest difference I see compared to last year is that the forwards and midfielders aren't winning turnovers at the same rate. Costello, Menton, Kinsella and Duke were excellent at getting the ball back around the midfield and half-back areas, and we're not seeing that same impact this year. Is that complacency with being favourites for games?

I agree that if we're drawn against one of the top Division 1 teams, it could be a long night.

But I'd disagree that today's game counts for nothing. We're not a county that can be like "win it all or don't bother"

royalcounty1 (Meath) - Posts: 100 - 13/06/2026 09:38:49    2679214

Replying To royalcounty1:  "I'll use polarising this time instead of extreme.

Were you at the Cork game, or is your view based mainly on the Westmeath game? I thought there were definitely some corrections against Cork, and you could see attempts at tactical changes. They worked for periods, just not for the full 70 minutes. They're still too open at the back though and we are currently working with a limited deck for defenders( price you pay for targeting promotion I think)

I honestly think we were peaking during the league, which maybe gave a false sense that we'd really pushed on from last year. As a collective, I'm not sure we have. Individually, though, I think there have been improvements. The goalkeeper looks better, and midfield and attack had definitely improved.( On a slide now)

The biggest difference I see compared to last year is that the forwards and midfielders aren't winning turnovers at the same rate. Costello, Menton, Kinsella and Duke were excellent at getting the ball back around the midfield and half-back areas, and we're not seeing that same impact this year. Is that complacency with being favourites for games?

I agree that if we're drawn against one of the top Division 1 teams, it could be a long night.

But I'd disagree that today's game counts for nothing. We're not a county that can be like "win it all or don't bother""
A lot of very good summations from lads here that are definitely knowledgeable about Meath football. I just fear we will mentally suffer from the loss of Kinsella as he's been our best player this year bar none. Although we've lost big, big players before and recovered so do have hope. Costello and the lads around the middle be it Mento, Flynn, McBride or ONeill need to have monumental games. Will Derrys slow style suit us? Might help our defense but can see Morris getting bottled up as when he plays against organized defenses he runs out of ideas.

NYRoyal (USA) - Posts: 157 - 13/06/2026 12:00:22    2679224

Delighted with that. 1st half was sloppy but Jesus did they make up for it with the 2nd half. They handled the chaotic 13 aside period quite well. Keoghan and Conlon were the clear standouts, both unbelievable. Menton and mcbride excellent too. Think we only had 2 wides in the 2nd half. We dominated the kickouts throughout. Killian Smyth was everywhere when he came on. Roll on next week!

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 341 - 13/06/2026 21:12:02    2679364

What a win! The lads really stood up when needed in the second half - Keogan & Conlan in particular obviously but other lads showed glimpses too of their best form. Think that game will bring them all on too.
Kickouts were great, clear that a lot of work had been done on it. All things considered, with Kinsella out and having the backs to the wall - that really is a statement win and I hope earlier posters will reflect on the negativity and give the team and management the credit they deserve. This is a team with a big future.

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 191 - 13/06/2026 21:18:13    2679370

Replying To Sheridan2010louth:  "Delighted with that. 1st half was sloppy but Jesus did they make up for it with the 2nd half. They handled the chaotic 13 aside period quite well. Keoghan and Conlon were the clear standouts, both unbelievable. Menton and mcbride excellent too. Think we only had 2 wides in the 2nd half. We dominated the kickouts throughout. Killian Smyth was everywhere when he came on. Roll on next week!"
Said it before, Smyth should be a starter - clearly at the right level and is an athlete. Other observations - Jones must not be ready for it, togged out but saw no action.
Also surprised O'Neill only got a few mins as a blood sub - management obviously rate Charlie O'Connor. Credit to all involved - they got most things right.

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 191 - 13/06/2026 21:40:46    2679378

Replying To gwanyagudthing:  "Said it before, Smyth should be a starter - clearly at the right level and is an athlete. Other observations - Jones must not be ready for it, togged out but saw no action.
Also surprised O'Neill only got a few mins as a blood sub - management obviously rate Charlie O'Connor. Credit to all involved - they got most things right."
Thought Smyth was top class. The catch when the Garryowen landed in front of our goal was crucial and great point too.

This is massive. We'll be playing a team who lose this weekend on a downer, suddenly we'll be very confident again going into that. We learned from Cork and we managed the game when ahead.

NYRoyal (USA) - Posts: 157 - 13/06/2026 23:59:03    2679423

Replying To NYRoyal:  "Thought Smyth was top class. The catch when the Garryowen landed in front of our goal was crucial and great point too.

This is massive. We'll be playing a team who lose this weekend on a downer, suddenly we'll be very confident again going into that. We learned from Cork and we managed the game when ahead."
Bringing on Cillian and moving Donal back worked wonders. Derry forwards getting scores withoutvavhand being laid on them but not when DK moved in. Cassidy missed a fairly straight forward point attempt by his standrards but it was the first time he was hit by a Meath defender shooting which put him off . Sure enough it was DK who got the tackle on him at the opportune time. The frrry supporters around us were impressed with James Collon. One must give praise to the Derry supporters. Gracious in defeat and very sporting compared to what I witnessed in cork a few weeks ago.

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1211 - 14/06/2026 08:45:24    2679445

Replying To NYRoyal:  "Thought Smyth was top class. The catch when the Garryowen landed in front of our goal was crucial and great point too.

This is massive. We'll be playing a team who lose this weekend on a downer, suddenly we'll be very confident again going into that. We learned from Cork and we managed the game when ahead."
Massive away win for us and much needed. Conlon had a great game and all the subs that came on did a good job. The only negative is we need to tighten up in the backline both halfbacks and fullback line. The Derry goal was a terrible one to give away. If we do get this sorted we could go places.

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 183 - 14/06/2026 09:03:52    2679451

Great second half, that's the type of performance we've been crying out for all year, no relying on a 10min purple patch to build up scores we just kept the same intensity for the 35mins and never took our foot off the gas. Driving home of course delighted but I couldn't escape the fact that Derry were very poor, yet still kept in touching distance with us the whole time.

We'll not dwell on it though, really good win and great to have another game to look forward to next weekend!

Special mention to Killian, he was excellent when he came on, did everything right, his pressure on the Derry forwards when shooting is exactly what we've been needing

LowerHogan (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 14/06/2026 09:06:55    2679452

While I agree Meath have massive problems in defense. I think thats something that can be worked on as I think we have the players to compete. Before the game I would have kinda agreed, But dont forget we are now in Div1 something to build on and look forward to. So even if we where knocked out its still not the pits.

After watching the game Meath worked very hard the nature on the win pleasing it was,nt 10 point win, the game was in the balance right to the end, And now that we have come thought a knockout game away to a northern game means we are battle harden. And confidence is up now finally.

And although it was it was very disappointing to lose to Cork them with 14, Cork have now produced a major upset.away to Donegal, Also Westmeath have done very well also with winning leinster, and coming though a strong test against Cavan. Westmeath have beaten Kildare meath Dublin Cavan.

The only thing I would say Derry where not great by times I think the rode the luck to keep in the games by times and they did lose Conno Glas at half time,a big loss to them especially in the middle where they were struggling.

I dont expect Meath to win the All-Ireland, But I am alot happier that yesterday morning, they gave it everything thats all i would ask.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1289 - 14/06/2026 09:59:14    2679459

Replying To LowerHogan:  "Great second half, that's the type of performance we've been crying out for all year, no relying on a 10min purple patch to build up scores we just kept the same intensity for the 35mins and never took our foot off the gas. Driving home of course delighted but I couldn't escape the fact that Derry were very poor, yet still kept in touching distance with us the whole time.

We'll not dwell on it though, really good win and great to have another game to look forward to next weekend!

Special mention to Killian, he was excellent when he came on, did everything right, his pressure on the Derry forwards when shooting is exactly what we've been needing"
You could clearly see the difference with Smyth - body shape made it hard for the Derry forward to get past.
Some of our other defenders make it too easy to ghost past them. Brennan said after the game that Smyth could be the next Keogan - high praise. Was great to see Raff make that barnstorming run, need to see more of that from him. Big difference in second half is that we took the right options, didn't force the pass when it wasn't on and we recycled when we needed to.
Kick out strategy and game management was much better compared to the Cork game. Shows me that the management and players have the ability to fix issues which is a good sign. Still a bit porous at the back but I think starting Smyth will help there. Hopefully uncover another back or two over the next couple of years and then I think we're in really great shape. We shouldn't fear anyone in the next round, people talking about it being tough going week to week - I think our lads will be feeling fresh as that win has given us a massive reset and we've played a lot less football than some of the other teams over the last couple of months.

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 191 - 14/06/2026 10:14:25    2679461

Bit of bad news coming from the Meath camp yesterday, Jack Kinlough has torn his ACL again, the same one as last time. Heartbreaking news for him. Really wish himself and Ruairi Kinsella well on their recoveries, both class players. Interesting to see Michael Mcivor in the warm ups yesterday wearing number 27.

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 429 - 14/06/2026 10:28:39    2679462

Replying To gwanyagudthing:  "You could clearly see the difference with Smyth - body shape made it hard for the Derry forward to get past.
Some of our other defenders make it too easy to ghost past them. Brennan said after the game that Smyth could be the next Keogan - high praise. Was great to see Raff make that barnstorming run, need to see more of that from him. Big difference in second half is that we took the right options, didn't force the pass when it wasn't on and we recycled when we needed to.
Kick out strategy and game management was much better compared to the Cork game. Shows me that the management and players have the ability to fix issues which is a good sign. Still a bit porous at the back but I think starting Smyth will help there. Hopefully uncover another back or two over the next couple of years and then I think we're in really great shape. We shouldn't fear anyone in the next round, people talking about it being tough going week to week - I think our lads will be feeling fresh as that win has given us a massive reset and we've played a lot less football than some of the other teams over the last couple of months."
Killian has that real aggression in the tackle so will be a big asset going forward, great to see Raff starting getting that confidence back in his game and making those runs, did it loads last year and was a huge asset in games.

Certainly an improvement in kickouts, a lot more players making runs and Brennan was pulling the trigger quicker, definitely helped by the fact that Derry were non existent in midfield.

I'm glad that we're going straight into a game next weekend with all this momentum, don't care who we get in the draw, if we play with that same intensity as the 2nd half and the defenders up their aggression we've the beating of any of them.

LowerHogan (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 14/06/2026 10:54:14    2679468

Yes ....it seems after a good bit of wheel spin in the last few matches ...we have some traction again. Defence improved with Smyth a very good prospect as a natural defender. Workrate up also. It seems training is showing rewards in mending needs. This team may be coming up to the top table in terms of attitude and intensity. More of the same preparation as in the last 3 weeks, and a little bit of luck and we can compete with the best.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1312 - 14/06/2026 12:01:04    2679480

Well done to all the Meath players on a deserved result away in Derry last night led by the fantastic Donal Keogan- what a MEATH player (when you need a performance). Big effort put in by them.
Menton also did very well ,had his best game in a long time.
Keeper Brennan's saves were crucial and his kick out strategy improved.
Caulfield ran and ran and ran for 70+ minutes, incredible effort/output.
Cian McBride won everything in midfield first half, great performance.
Great to see Flynn back flying too with his 2point bombs.
Costello is back big time and contributed so much yesterday in the absence of playmaker/scorer Ruairi Kinsella. Wishing him a full recovery.
And Banty-wow- was just fabulous- his accurate finishing was needed with Frayne & Morris not at their peak.
Overall big statement win against Derry.
btw loved Smyth's play and attitude when introduced.

Monday morning will decide the next step for this exciting developing proud Meath team.

meath1967 (Meath) - Posts: 62 - 14/06/2026 12:38:28    2679487

Replying To gwanyagudthing:  "You could clearly see the difference with Smyth - body shape made it hard for the Derry forward to get past.
Kick out strategy and game management was much better compared to the Cork game. Shows me that the management and players have the ability to fix issues which is a good sign. Still a bit porous at the back but I think starting Smyth will help there. Hopefully uncover another back or two over the next couple of years and then I think we're in really great shape. We shouldn't fear anyone in the next round, people talking about it being tough going week to week - I think our lads will be feeling fresh as that win has given us a massive reset and we've played a lot less football than some of the other teams over the last couple of months."
Killian has that real aggression in the tackle so will be a big asset going forward, great to see Raff starting getting that confidence back in his game and making those runs, did it loads last year and was a huge asset in games.

Certainly an improvement in kickouts, a lot more players making runs and Brennan was pulling the trigger quicker, definitely helped by the fact that Derry were non existent in midfield.

I'm glad that we're going straight into a game next weekend with all this momentum, don't care who we get in the draw, if we play with that same intensity as the 2nd half and the defenders up their aggression we've the beating of any of them.

LowerHogan (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 14/06/2026 13:43:21    2679501