Intermediate championship 2013

The way i see it Ballivor only really put the effort in for a year or 2 after the Kildalkey players came back because they knew there was a handy junior championship up for grabs. Once they went up and knew they'd have to work hard for possibly no reward in intermediate they took the foot off the pedal and (especially the Kildalkey lads) went back to concentrating on hurling.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1741 - 18/05/2013 16:23:57    1386237

to foley91 how have ballivor knifed in killyon in the back the rule is soley underage and how have killyon benefited ballivor there is only one killyon man playing adult football for ballivor where as ballivor supply nearly half of the killyon team and all killyons young lads are going to play wit clonard not ballivor

themasiah (Meath) - Posts: 20 - 19/05/2013 19:51:04    1386794

Apparently ratoath wer down at a training camp in limerick. Must be taking this intermediate very seriously, team bonding is only done at county level but it looks like ratoath are stepping it up

shotgunwilly (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 20/05/2013 11:58:32    1387129

Is that true about underage Ballivor players only being allowed to hurl with Kildalkey? I tend to treat anything posted on this site with a pinch of salt, but maybe someone with a bit of credibility around here can confirm if that is the case.
I can't understand such a ruling. My understanding was that if you played football with a football only club, then you could play hurling with any club that was hurling only. What is the parish structure there. Are Ballivor and Kildalkey in the same parish? If so then fair enough - anyone in that parish should play football with Ballivor and hurling with Kildalkey. Which Parish are Killyon in? Does that parish have a football team and if so, why would Killyon hurlers want to cross parish boundaries to play football with Ballivor. Maybe someone could explain the situation without needlessly slagging off the clubs involved.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 20/05/2013 18:02:43    1387633

Kildlkey and Ballivor now are 1 parish, Killyon is I think in the Parish of Longwood, It seems some Killyon players play with Ballivor more would play with Clonard who are the Meath part of the Kinnegad Parish. No one attached to Killyon seem to play with Longwood probaly as they are a dual club. Dont know the full ins and outs but it seems stange that if there is a parish rule why anyone from Ballivor can play with Killyon but it appears thats how it is, I think I heard once that Kildalkey where there own parish at one stage. Its a bit of a maze really as Boardsmill might have claim on more.

I give up maybe some one give the full story

Havoc (Meath) - Posts: 296 - 20/05/2013 18:32:51    1387661

correct me if i'm wrong shotgunwilly but from my understanding E.Barry does'nt do any of that craic

Red_madzerbyrne (Meath) - Posts: 21 - 20/05/2013 18:43:42    1387669

not sure eamonn barry had too much knowledge of that trip to adare. he missed a super weekend by all accounts

brownstownlad (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 20/05/2013 19:06:21    1387699

Thanks for that Havoc. Its all a bit confusing. If what you say is true, then my understanding of the rules is that someone who hurls with Killyon couldn't play football with Longwood even though it is the same parish, because Longwood are a dual club. So they could then play football for any football-only club like Ballivor or Clonard. What I am not sure of is what is the status of Ballivor footballers. Do they have to hurl with Kildalkey because they are from the same parish? or can they hurl with any hurling-only club?
To me the rules are unnecessarily complicated. It should be simple: if you want to play football, play with any club in your parish that you want. if you want to play hurling, play with any club in the parish that has a hurling club. Forget this dual club and football/hurling only club nonsense.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 20/05/2013 19:40:46    1387754

Don't think you'll get too many lads in killyon wanting
to play for Longwood. Sure they are arch rivals and have been for
Generations. There is a very long tradition of players
From ballivor hurling with killyon and I don't think any parish
Rule is going to be enforceable. Would u expect a chap who hurled
All his life with killyon to bring his son down to Kildalkey to play
underage. More chance of finding Gerry Adams in an orange sash.

Going by recent years Kildalkey obviously didn't
Want to play football for ballivor so started their
Own team.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 20/05/2013 19:59:44    1387773

can anybody confirm this report of ratoath going to limerick. I think its a good idea and it will stand to them in the latter stages of the champo along with the 4 night training and the monday morning session they are doing

shotgunwilly (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 20/05/2013 20:10:27    1387788

Firstly ballivor and kildalkey have always bein the 1 parish. S gecondly it has bein agreed by the clubs that a son of a former killyon player will not be made play wi t kildalley and can play wit killyon wish people would know whatsoever going on before talkin dirt

themasiah (Meath) - Posts: 20 - 21/05/2013 08:06:50    1387947

nice try there shotgun, nobody took the bait first time, so give it a rest

dubsout (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 21/05/2013 09:00:21    1387962

shotgun you talk some amount of baloney in fairness its amazing how stories can spin. the real thruth was ratoath had a challenge match organised for sunday morning against st vincents 2nd team in dublin but it got canceled so they went to pudding hill for that assault course instead. and NOT LIMERICK

themadzerbyrne (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 21/05/2013 10:34:18    1388002

That's why I asked the question as I was unsure. I'd have alot more respect on the field of play if ratoath were down ye country. I can't see anybody gettin past them now. Have them backed. #MoneyForJam

shotgunwilly (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 21/05/2013 12:39:46    1388116

themasiah - Thanks for that bit of info. Agree completely that lads tend tomouth off about this sort of thing either without knowing the facts, or just to stir things up and get a rise out of people.
The lads that are play football with Ballivor but hurl with Killyon - are they living in the Ballivor parish? if so do they need to be signed over to Killyon or can they just play for them regardless? And what of the players living in Killyons parish? Which football team is in their parish and does that club need to sign them over to Ballivor in order to play for them?

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 22/05/2013 12:56:57    1388891

Off all the lads that play for killyon and ballivor only 1 is not from ballivor. No transfer needed you can choose which hurling club to play for at adult level ballivor and kildalkey only joined together at under age. Killyon and longwood parish were joined years ago but because longwood have a hurling team killyon lads can not play for them i know some killyon lads play for clonard but dont think they are joined together

themasiah (Meath) - Posts: 20 - 22/05/2013 13:56:22    1388963

dunderry for the intermediate championship

tonsey (Meath) - Posts: 10 - 22/05/2013 14:42:46    1389011

Tonsey, you obviously didn't read what I wrote. The book is closed, with the reports of what ratoath are doing off the pitch they'll be challenging senior next year.

shotgunwilly (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 22/05/2013 17:22:28    1389193

tonsey, lets be honest dunderry have played two games against poor opposition, and it general group a is not the strongest group.in my view the winners of the championship will out of the other groups, i know alot is being said about rathoth but kells or colmcilles might have a say

umpireview (Meath) - Posts: 55 - 22/05/2013 18:48:50    1389306

Young lads should be allowed to hurl with whichever club they want.
Its getting harder to get young lads to stay involved without forcing them to play with one club over another which there Father or Grandfather might have played with.
Cant see it working if there after making an exception for one young lad already.
Let Kildalkey and Killyon stick to the hurling, Ballivor to the football and let the young lads pick whichever club they want to hurl with.
Seems to me if clubs stuck to there own games there would be no problems.

hound (Meath) - Posts: 234 - 22/05/2013 20:30:17    1389371