Intermediate championship 2013

Id say thelutch is fairly sick now after yet another very impressive win for Castletown. Right them off at your peril and put your 1000 euro towards the team holiday fund when the Town lift the IFC title

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 16/09/2013 18:24:28    1483187

the Castletown lads deserve their place again ... in the semi's they are the most consistent team in the intermediate for the past 2 years .
this is not my opinion it is their second semi in 2 seasons fact ..
anyone that tries to discredit them here clearly knows nothing about intermediate football in our county .
with that said the lutch is from Offaly anyways .
Fair play castletown hopefully ye might make the final this year and who knows after that .

RogerRabbit (Meath) - Posts: 46 - 16/09/2013 20:53:52    1483294

Who won yesterday in Pairc Tailteann between Gael Colmcilles and Ratoath?

Growtown (Meath) - Posts: 50 - 16/09/2013 20:54:41    1483295

Ratoath Royal I thought Ratoath were weak in places against B'brackey but have some very talented players. Anyway, didn't know ye were without Wallace yesterday. I agree it's a big ask for any club at that level to win a game without your inter county player.

Your day will come. I say you are serious contenders for the u21 championships coming up shortly. A good run in that could provide a spring board for a stronger challenge for honours next year.

PortInFaithful (Offaly) - Posts: 472 - 16/09/2013 21:08:46    1483303

Castletown brave Castletown, remember whoever beats them (if anyone) will win it, the most constistant Intermediate team for the past 5 or 6 years.

The Daddies of them All.

Hurrah, North Meath once more again the laurels come this way,
Last Sunday in Simonstown Dunderry were held at bay,
And Curtis's men have won again,brave Donal still holds the crown
And the green and gold flag's waving on the heights round Castletown
They ne'er were bet on the Showgrounds yet, can they be bet at all
OH Castletown brave Castletown, you're the Daddies of them all

the 1st verse of a poem from 1906, (with a few minor alterations)

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1119 - 17/09/2013 09:38:01    1483378

Up the faithful ;)

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1146 - 17/09/2013 12:30:48    1483523

If the lutch is who I think he is he's not from Offaly. Granted damn near it in castlejordan but not a biffo. Its a area that often gets thrown in with Offaly Kildare or Westmeath as the parish is in Meath but borders all 3 counties and even takes in part of Offaly. But its die hard Royal county territory around those bad lands.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/09/2013 13:03:18    1483558

Up the C-town massive

ShinyFender (Meath) - Posts: 2 - 17/09/2013 13:30:52    1483602

Us border men are the true meath fans.

Hon Castletown ;)

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1146 - 17/09/2013 15:53:01    1483693

Steady displays from the boys in Green and Gold..despite a difficult time in Div 1 of the league this year, though they were not far off the mark in a number of big games , anyway it's probably been a good training ground for the real gaels . Lets see who has the fortitude to string the consistent performances together to claim the title. With a driven team like Curtis , Young behind them . the sky could be the limit. Its wont be for lack of trying anyway . Castletown have something that's needed to compete in the knockout stages , that's heart , St Michaels have it as well . Lets see how it goes. It will be an interesting ending. To an interesting Championship. And some will say the best Championship of the three ( Senior, Inter, Junior )

Chaisleain_Abu (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 17/09/2013 16:27:14    1483728

I know league and championship are completely different but I cant help but notice that Castletown are going into a semi final on the back of three easy victories in the championship, and while I feel that you can only beat whats in front of you, I just feel that Ballivor (3rd from bottom in Div3) Ballinlough (2ndh from bottom in Div2) and Dunderry (4th from bottom in Div2)are hardly three great teams. Castletown have yet to be tested and have several weaknesses and are heavily relying on Kenneth Smith, K Ross and Gerry Farrelly to keep them afloat. I feel Kells will be too fit and quick for a Castletown team that have had it too easy of late and are spending too much time boasting about themselves on this forum.

RampantEddie (Meath) - Posts: 12 - 17/09/2013 19:10:45    1483906

glenny

Castletown brave Castletown, remember whoever beats them (if anyone) will win it, the most constistant Intermediate team for the past 5 or 6 years.

The Daddies of them All.

Hurrah, North Meath once more again the laurels come this way,
Last Sunday in Simonstown Dunderry were held at bay,
And Curtis's men have won again,brave Donal still holds the crown
And the green and gold flag's waving on the heights round Castletown
They ne'er were bet on the Showgrounds yet, can they be bet at all
OH Castletown brave Castletown, you're the Daddies of them all

the 1st verse of a poem from 1906, (with a few minor alterations)

Nonsense, glenny. They are now, undoubtedly, one of the strongest teams in the intermediate and fairplay to them for achieving that but before 2011 Castletown had gone 3 years straight without a win in the group stages of the intermediate having appeared in the final in 2007. How, therefore, can they be described as the most consistent team in the inter over the last 5/6 years? If anything they have been the most inconsistent team in that period!

Hank_Scorpio (Meath) - Posts: 60 - 17/09/2013 19:44:55    1483943

"the most consistent team in the intermediate championship over the past 5 or 6 years"
Now just think of that statement!!!!
Is that really something to be bragging about
If you are consistent at something it means you are getting the same results all the time.
So why are they still playing intermediate???

huff and puff

royalfan1 (Meath) - Posts: 82 - 17/09/2013 21:46:23    1484066

Hon the town!

barmatt92 (Meath) - Posts: 19 - 18/09/2013 12:45:19    1484298

Oh an Excellant team ok They might look a bit shabby running out on the field but its then they shine Gerry Farrelly is the best player in North Meath, Joey Carry as good a corner back add in Ross, Finney, Finnerty and Tommy Smith will test any backs, Yes very constistant Bet in IFC Final in 2007 by Don/Ash poor in 2008 but in 2011 and 2012 did well and again this year Only Intermediate Club in Div 1 in 2012 and 13 write them off at your peril............... whoever beats them will win it.

Verse 2
The Colmcille Gaels came down the rails, each lad looked stern and well,
Determined for to win fresh fame for the ancient town of Kells,
Arkins, Lynch and Hanlon swore they would not yeild,
That they'd win the Royal accolades that day upon the field,
A finer lot of athletes could not come to Devine's call,
But Castletown, brave Castletown, you'r the daddies of them all.

"Now" Curtis cries, Look out me boys, I know we will not fail,
and ere the Sun goes down tonight we'll beat the Colmcille Gael,
See brilliant Gerry Farrelly as he rushes down the line,
Sure you would not get his equal, either north or south the Boyne,
And dashing Kevin Ross, he never missed the ball,
Oh, Castletown brave Castletown, you'r the daddies of them all.

Up the Cas

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1119 - 18/09/2013 19:08:30    1484677

So, just to clarify, Glenny, a final appearance followed by three years without a group stage win followed by two good years constitutes
consistency over a 5/6 year period in your book?

Hank_Scorpio (Meath) - Posts: 60 - 18/09/2013 19:26:52    1484688

Ok who is then
Ballinlough hardly
Carnaross defo not
Michaels eh no not really
Cills you must be joking
Ultans no
Clann naGael nope
Syddan naw
Ballivor not a chance
Kells well maybe but no dont think so
Longwood no
Ratoath only 1 year so we cant count them
Don/Ash same as
Dunderry not for me
Ballinabrackey close but no cigar

Castletown Yes Yeah Ye Aye Yea.

Hear ye Hear Ye by order of the Great Glenny Castletown are awarded the Most Constistant Team in IFC .................

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1119 - 18/09/2013 19:52:13    1484702

Jesus Glenny give it a rest.

Sincerely,

Everybody from Castletown

boeder (Meath) - Posts: 59 - 18/09/2013 19:58:16    1484706

Why I'm having great crack

Yours most sincerely G. Glenny Eqs.

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1119 - 18/09/2013 20:05:39    1484709

Good lad...

Anyway, think Kells should win it. Ratoath were always gonna be their biggest challenge and they dealt with them impressively despite not playing as well as they can.

Castletown are the next best of the semi-finalists but they will probably struggle with Kells' pace like they struggled with Ratoath in the group.

Athboy and St. Michaels are in bonus territory and even if they do win inter they won't survive in senior.

As a neutral, I would like to see Castletown or the Michaels do it, but my money would be on Kells.

Hank_Scorpio (Meath) - Posts: 60 - 18/09/2013 21:51:59    1484777