Meath Minors in 2013

Injured dessie as far as I know

shldrs2thewheel (Meath) - Posts: 200 - 12/02/2013 20:28:38    1333078

thats unfortunate! who do meath play in the semi of the league?

dessie90 (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 12/02/2013 20:44:14    1333087

Any word on the Cull?

RoyalDiehard (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 17/02/2013 11:03:20    1335099

Shocked to hear Crawley from St. Vincents didn't make the final panel. Huge man for his age and seems to be developing very quickly.

Prolad (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 21/02/2013 11:56:06    1337103

just looking at the team for saturday looks a bit weak minus the st pats lads. if kildare are any good we could be in trouble.

parneller (Meath) - Posts: 32 - 21/02/2013 13:11:01    1337182

parneller you could be right there. Will Kildare be without any due to schools football?

Meath team for Sat:

1. Andy Markey, St. Peter's, Dunboyne
2. Seamus Lavin, St. Peter's, Dunboyne
3. Charlie Bird, Boardsmill
4. Thomas Mc Govern, Donaghmore/Ashbourne
5. Kevin Traynor, Syddan
6. Gavin Mc Gowan, Ratoath
7. Anthony Neary, Na Fianna
8. Robbie Bourke, Trim
9. Ruairí O' Grady, St. Colmcille's
10. Harry Purcell, Trim
11. Ben Duggan, Dunshaughlin
12. Kyle Dixon, Boardsmill
13. Joey Wallace, Ratoath
14. Sean Mc Grath, St. Peter's, Dunboyne
15. Daire Rowe, Syddan

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 21/02/2013 14:19:26    1337229

Is Joey a brother to Eamonn?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 21/02/2013 15:31:37    1337305

Yes there brothers.

Junior_Baesht (Meath) - Posts: 69 - 21/02/2013 15:59:52    1337340

are ye missing many off the team for sat match lads?. we are down 3 i think, lining out for edenderry school. should be a good workout all the same.

mickmoore (Kildare) - Posts: 326 - 22/02/2013 15:09:03    1337886

Missing a lot of key players playing for St.Pat's! Should be a good game all the same.

Handontheback (Meath) - Posts: 44 - 22/02/2013 15:39:14    1337913

its great to see lads from so called weaker teams getting a chance at this level. only noticed that all the clubs on the starting 15 come from intermediate or senior adult teams. except for the 2 lads from Boardsmill who are Junior B. Again i think that Mr McEntee deserves great credit in his choice of players. its not where your from and that can only be good for Meath teams. Also there are 5 lads starting that i can make out that are still underage for minor next year (correct me if i am wrong) these younger lads at the moment are holding down main spots at full and center back, both wing forwards and in corner forward.

butterfly (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 23/02/2013 17:18:37    1338250

Anyone know the result???

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/02/2013 19:06:59    1338292

Poor game Kildare 0-8 Meath 0-6. Meath had plenty possession but Kicked at least 12 wides while Kildare only had a few but had a softish penalty saved. Only Charly Bird, Thomas McGovern Kevin Trainor and Brian Harnan played well with forwards well marshalled by Kildare. Still not too bad with St Pats lads to come back

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1119 - 23/02/2013 19:18:41    1338296

Ahhh glenny! giving no credit to Andy Markey who saved a penalty and 2 other goal chances. Probably not at the game, ho0w about showing some real support glenny!

Handontheback (Meath) - Posts: 44 - 24/02/2013 13:27:57    1338440

Yes forget about that.... justice was done as it was not a penalty and markey got well down to his left and saved well. I taught another save he made was equally as good and has now in my mind (not that it matters) propelled himself to No 1 for the year to come.

I was there my friend I was there.

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1119 - 24/02/2013 13:45:01    1338448

For the amount of possession Meath had they should have scored a lot more. Thought backs did well enough McGovern was very good as was goalie Markey. Lots of work needed on forward play though. Still, not so bad with the Pats lads and a few others to come back in.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 24/02/2013 14:03:47    1338451

Both teams were very defensive made it tough for forwards

meathlad11 (Meath) - Posts: 54 - 24/02/2013 17:36:34    1338545

can't be too disappointed due to no st pat's players but from what ive been told (wasn't at it myself) it was a poor game, still plenty of positive when we get back to full strength

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/02/2013 19:35:13    1338616

poor enough game lads, meath forward shooting in the first half was very weak, kildare went very defensive in the 2nd half and it nearly cost them as the fussy ref gave meath alot of frees in the 2nd half to bring them closer, agree that it was a soft peno and an equally fab save. i know ye were missing the pats lads, but we were also mabye short 6 or 7 of what will be our championship team starting. have to say great facilities at ashbourne lads. hopefully we can beat the dubs now.

mickmoore (Kildare) - Posts: 326 - 25/02/2013 11:23:45    1338804

cant belief martin grundy didnt make the cut for the meath minors plays superb for Ballivor and is the captain for Ballivor aswell

SeanR0716 (Meath) - Posts: 65 - 26/02/2013 13:56:46    1339375