Meath Minors in 2013

anmhi99

'u have to be from the east of the county'

So Dunboyne, Kilbride, Ashbourne, St. Vincents, Duleek/ Bellewstown, St. Mary's, Pats, Comcilles, Slane, Rathkenny, Sydan and Drumconrath and Meath Hill lads will only be considered for minor this year? When did that come to pass?

You must be very good at Geography?!

rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 30/01/2013 19:09:36    1325945

Well if panel is not cut and hes still involved thats fair enough.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 30/01/2013 19:26:31    1325953

My apologies, maybe the panel is not picked yet so. But I have seen this guy starring with St Michaels U21 winning a championship. I couldnt believe it when someone told me what age he was. They played Dunderry and he was far better than he opposing Coogan and Kennelly. Also, excellent with the VEC, St Michaels first team and U21 captain. I simply will lose faith in meath underage if this guys is not worth his salt at this level.
I am a firm believer that if Meath football is to delevop, we need to start from U14 the whole way up. After all, most of these guys need to be getting senior county football at the age of 20 or before to develop. We have the talent, no doubt about it. What we also have, are mentors picking unfair and bias panels the whole way up the underage, which is crucially destroying the confidence of budding stars at the worst possible time in their career. (17/21)

tackleberry (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 31/01/2013 09:49:15    1326051

Tackleberry we got to an All Ireland final last year do you really think the mentors are doing that bad of a job? The best footballers will be picked as was done last year with lads from all over the county on the panel. There was no geographical or divisional bias and there'll be none this year.

shldrs2thewheel (Meath) - Posts: 200 - 31/01/2013 14:17:14    1326231

I am not just talking about minor football, nor am I knocking back last years amazing achievement. I am concerned with the overall structures and fairness throughout the underage intercounty teams, where clubs and reputations have taken the place of natural talent. Which has been the case over the last number of years. Our trophy cabinet doesnt lie.

tackleberry (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 31/01/2013 15:47:20    1326283

tackleberry Fully agree, average players from bigger clubs are getting a chance over players from weaker clubs, and a lot of these players are more naturally talented but need to be doing county training from underage where they can improve by getting a higher standard of training.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 31/01/2013 17:25:50    1326343

yes agree with u class apart but as i said earlier east meath the place to be when it comes to football north meath dosent get a chance

anmhi99 (Meath) - Posts: 151 - 31/01/2013 18:14:25    1326373

If there was a squad for whining, well that would be a different story. I can tell you last year DA, Ratoath and DBoyne who dominated the grade all felt very aggrieved that they didn't have more representatives last year. They have hundreds of players and are actually underrepresented pro rata. Massive work is being done in those clubs so to pick a one off player who you happen to know is nonsense. You can be sure if he stood out in trials and gave the commitment asked he would be there

Goldback (Meath) - Posts: 62 - 31/01/2013 18:52:46    1326395

it was his brother that was michaels u-21 captain

noelpconnon (Cavan) - Posts: 219 - 01/02/2013 09:09:23    1326513

Sorry, you are right, it is his brother that was captain. He also got dropped from the U21 panel recently. He was named on the Hoganstand website a few weeks ago as been one of the best u21 players this year, played excellently in trials, but was overseen for some reason. Can anybody explain this one?

tackleberry (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 01/02/2013 09:23:54    1326519

Team announced today what do you think ?? Personally I think James mcentee is a waste in full forward and should be out the field ! Anybody else yous think should be starting

meathman20 (Meath) - Posts: 83 - 01/02/2013 11:07:48    1326588

What is going on at underage football, how can co minor team be dominated by so few clubs, i have very dissappointed with Andy McEntee both in style of play and direction hes taking the team. Are we saying not one player from Navan to Oldcastle is good enough to play minor in the last few years. I dont care if Dunboyne Rataoth have hundreds of players it's quality not quantity.

For a Nobber man Im dissappointed he hasnt uneathed talent in more rural clubs, please dont tell me Kells, Athboy, Oldcastle, St Michaels , Carnaross, Nobber etc etc dont have talented underage players.

When I was minor, the best underage teams were Kells, Moynalvey, Kwood, Simontown yet only one from each club would play county, McEntee is completely biased towards clubs from Dunboyne area and for a fella from North Meath this is quite sad. I'm all for picking the best players but there's no explaination behind was is a total South Meath minor team and has been for ages.

Might explain why we are winning nothing. The future of Meath football needs young guys from all parts of the county, based on some logic here, future Meath teams should be picked from Towns with most players.. Lucky this policy was about in the 80s & 90s.
Going down this road actully makes the rural teams weaker and co teams weaker.

Northmeathman (Meath) - Posts: 284 - 01/02/2013 14:12:56    1326738

As I suspected, not one North Meath player on the team and I for one do not believe that its because nobody in north Meath is good enough to make the team. However, best of luck to the minors at weekend.

tackleberry (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 01/02/2013 14:31:59    1326753

as i said before this is not final cut collage players not included for sunday so still a chance for the mecca of meath gaa in north meath

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 01/02/2013 15:30:06    1326794

Men/Whingers from North Meath and those giving about whether there should be one from Ratoath or the whole team from Ratotath, will ye cop yourselves on. I'm pretty sure that the management team pick lads based on ability and potential and would not be as shortsighted and petty as to not include players because of where they are from. I honestly don't know where some of ye come up with your mad theories and would question your knowledge of the game and of Meath football. Either that or ye can't see past your biased views.

mawmouther (Meath) - Posts: 109 - 01/02/2013 15:49:19    1326812

What players are on the panel that are in college??

meathman20 (Meath) - Posts: 83 - 01/02/2013 16:09:55    1326828

Believe it or not, who you know and who you are goes a long way in Meath underage. It is the prime reason Meath underage has sufffered over the last few years. Whether or not you choose to see what is obvious to everybody else is your perogative. The Meath VEC which did very well this year,where are all these players now?

tackleberry (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 01/02/2013 16:18:40    1326836

mawmouther Its a good job Boylan didn't know about this rule or there would have been no PJ Gillic, Martin O'Connell, Gerry Mc, Brian Staff, no Ollie Murphy, no Jody Devine and probably no All Irelands. Its also good that Mick O'Dowd doesn't know about it or there would be no Keogan, Harrington, Gilsenan, Crosbie,
Farrell starting Sunday.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 01/02/2013 16:36:27    1326849

How can you criticise mcentee? Considering he brought Meath to an all Ireland final last year. He needs players who are playing at the highest standard of football week in, week out. It's being made out that all 15 of the provisional panel are from the DB area when intact there is only 1 from RT and 3 from DB

meath_ (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 01/02/2013 16:41:33    1326854

best players are in div.1/2 which is exactly what the squad should be made up of, quality of football simply isn't good enough which is why a lot of average players stand out there

mclovin96 (Meath) - Posts: 40 - 01/02/2013 17:27:21    1326886