Banty Gone

Time to turn the page and start fresh. The County Board has maxed out with Ideas that are some what out dated,,, time for a new generation and style of County Board Management,, we need different set-up with maybe 5 or 6 people involved at the top all working together as a TEAM but with an understanding of thinking of outside the BOX.
Now is Meath's chance to change the Total structure of the County Board Management ...

If we have no faith in the Management of the County Board how can we have on field success with any of our County Teams.
Doesn't take a Rhodes Scholar to work out it comes from the Clubs of the County and the Under Age Structure in place.
With the GAA in competition with Emigration Education, Soccer, Rugby, X Box, Wii, Twitter, Face Book, JedWard and whatever else occupies the minds of our youth these days, this is NO EASY JOB but it has to start and is already started back at the Clubs of the County.
All it needs fine tuning and DIRECTION.
Lets try and get it as right as we can at the start and maybe we may have a chance of making it work.

SO STEP ASIDE COUNTY BOARD TO LET IN THE NEW BLOOD....

BillyButlin (Meath) - Posts: 58 - 03/08/2012 09:56:43    1236929

No surprise to hear that I welcome Banty's departure. He never looked like he had a proper plan and was always playing to the gallery, beit the media or the supporters when we were doing well during games. He was always anonymous when we were losing or when we needed real managerial leadership. The poor use of the last 3 mins against Laois showed how little influence he could actually exert on the players from the line in realtime. I think Evan's arrival papered over the cracks and brought us further through the qualifiers than would have been the case. However, to his credit I applaud Banty for the way he handled himself through the County Board, when he was treated disgracefully, and for his decisiveness this week. I know he's nominated in Monaghan, but I have a suspicion he may turn up in Louth.
In any case, Meath live on and we need a proper Manager for the long term now. I disagree that Gerry Mc is the answer. Wasn't impressed with him when he was involved with the Dublin Minors. He lacked composure on match days and made some crazy selections and substitutions, usually involving his own players from St Brigids. I would like to see Evans retained as coach with Sean Kelly as the Manager. I'd also like to see a declaration from the Exec that they will honour the terms of the next contract / agreement fully and not undermine it halfway through or approaching critical games.

aghref (Meath) - Posts: 153 - 03/08/2012 10:02:23    1236931

Gerry McEntee is a top surgeon in the Mater Private, he is recognised as this on a nationwide basis.
Being an inter county manager requires total dedication to the cause, virtually full time between working with the squad and looking at other squads and games.
Can nobody else see this is impossible? The man works through the clock as it is, there are only 24 hous in the day. dont get me wrong, think he would be super, but it is a non runner.

tackleberry (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 03/08/2012 10:02:44    1236932

id agree with Gerry McEntee just not having the time unless he was planning on a break from his work which I doubt. the managerial process needs to be dealt with immediately and not have a dragged on affair with meeting after meeting.

I would agree that seriuos changes are needed within the county board. We can not have a county board pulling one way and a manager pulling the other.

I would say that if the county board stays the same then we can expect to see sean boylan back in the managers position. From what I hear he is gagging to get back in the limelight.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 03/08/2012 10:26:13    1236949

"Gerry McEntee is a top surgeon in the Mater Private, he is recognised as this on a nationwide basis.
Can nobody else see this is impossible?"
-----------------------------------------------------------------

Tackleberry - read my post above. I already stated that it was virtually impossible for Gerry to take on this role due to time constraints

The_Ripper (Meath) - Posts: 186 - 03/08/2012 11:01:43    1236994

Am I missing the point here ?
All you lads here are bull****** about who and what and selections and who plays CHB and what some manager did or didn't do way back when.
Can't you see it starts from the County Board and works it's way from the decisions they make ??
With Clowns you get a CIRCUS,,
So do you let the Clowns decide who will be the Ringmaster of Meath ?
This has gone on long enough and the true GAA people of the county is fed up with the People at the Top Table making poor judgment calls.

SO my question is,, Do you let County Board decide who is going to be selected as our new manager?

I can see this being same old, same old,,
ITS TIME FOR CHANGE,,,
NOW !!!!

BillyButlin (Meath) - Posts: 58 - 03/08/2012 11:17:41    1237024

BillyButlin

I think you have it fairly right. We need a complete change at County Board level and not just a series of musical chairs. I do not want to see various officers merely switching positions so as to keep some influence at C/B level. However until there is an AGM we can do nothing about the current shambles that is the C/B so we must exert some pressure on them to for God's sake get it right for once. To that extent there should be a manager in place by the end of the month. However will there be one? Not on your life. Come end October or even November we will still be interviewing candidates. Many good potential managers have been mentioned on this site over the last few days and even before. Is it too much to ask a number of them if they would be interested in applying and get those who are into an interview in the next two weeks. To answer my own question - it obviously is as this C/B are not capable of organising a child's party in a smarty factory.

The real Árd Rí (Meath) - Posts: 990 - 03/08/2012 11:33:10    1237044

Delighted to see the vitriol for the County Board as this is the root of the problem.

There are so many problems here that you could spend the day writing a list. From underage set-ups to having to elect a commitee to select the Meath Senior Manager, the whole County Board needs a radical shake up.

We should be challenging for All Irelands every year and not being laughed at in Div3 of the league.

I dont know how the system works but like most others I'd love to see the whole County Board system overhauled.

And I'd start by making Sean Boylan in charge of the whole thing.

Laytown Legend (None) - Posts: 424 - 03/08/2012 12:50:47    1237187

A democratic process (in theory) doesn't deliver change, if the majority of grassroot members remain passive in the background. It just results in a tiny minority (senior club delegates) assuming all voting power with the same kind of thinking (or lack of) repeating itself and past mistakes over and over again. County board roles should be appointed based on actual ability (acumen), not seniority (in admin terms) down the years. Otherwise they become an old boys network, listless and dysfunctional. The county board should be populated with enterprising folk, yes with experience but more importantly with fresh/modern ideas and real energy. It shouldn't be a reward for long-service or for certain individuals to obtain/maintain a sense of importance within the association.

It's futile having a rant now and again, if inertia prevents same from taking constructive action. Many no doubt feel powerless and others are probably too apathetic for things to change. But it doesn't have to be this way. If a small few with both a vision for the future and good intentions (particularly ex-players, footballing men, not politicos or committee types; who have a high enough profile to be taken seriously) could organise themselves and formulate a medium term plan, which they could take to the clubs, then ordinary members would demand more of a voice/say in how their delegates vote. Remain servile and nothing changes.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 03/08/2012 12:55:03    1237196

After all the negative comments about banty he has left meath football in a pretty healthy shape. Ok we're in division 3 and left the championship early enough, but the amount of young players he has introduced at the same time deserves serious credit.

meathfan1 (Meath) - Posts: 231 - 03/08/2012 13:16:04    1237228

have to laugh at banty in response to spillane... banty says mcelkennon is top class coach... yes thats why we are in DIV 3 NOW!!!

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 03/08/2012 13:24:22    1237241

sob

Your in Div 3 because you haven't got the players and you had a poor league campaign, not because of a monaghan coach or manager, simple as that.

sandyBeach (Louth) - Posts: 269 - 03/08/2012 14:04:48    1237296

and Sandy..louth have neither.. we had the players to beat Kildare...just seems banty hadnt the skills to motivate in the Spring!

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 03/08/2012 14:24:30    1237318

We don't have the players? well we have better players than Louth, and ultimately did better in the Championship than the rest of division 2 teams Tyrone, Monaghan, Derry, Louth, Westmeath, Galway, apart from Kildare who won the division, but then we bet them in the championship. So that would equate to me that we are not a division 3 team and anyone with half a footballing brain would look at it like that. Meath players just don't seem to do the league, but that is going to have to change. And as for the management they were all over the place in the league and the players didn't know whether they were coming or going in term of styles of football and they also had no motivation. Thats why Evans was brought in. But to say that a team that at the end of the day could have and should have bet the All Ireland champions don't have the players is a bit much, especially coming from a Louth person.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 03/08/2012 14:33:32    1237327

ClassApart

1237327 We don't have the players? well we have better players than Louth, and ultimately did better in the Championship than the rest of division 2 teams Tyrone, Monaghan, Derry, Louth, Westmeath, Galway, apart from Kildare who won the division, but then we bet them in the championship. So that would equate to me that we are not a division 3 team and anyone with half a footballing brain would look at it like that. Meath players just don't seem to do the league, but that is going to have to change. And as for the management they were all over the place in the league and the players didn't know whether they were coming or going in term of styles of football and they also had no motivation. Thats why Evans was brought in. But to say that a team that at the end of the day could have and should have bet the All Ireland champions don't have the players is a bit much, especially coming from a Louth person.

You don't have the players.

The top teams can do both the league and championship.

Meath ain't capable of putting in a good league campaign and good championship campaign in any one year.

Your boys got the chance to show that they were better than Louth this year but they failed dismally.

You're out off the championship, you've won no silverware and you are in division 3...FACT

What happens in the championship has no bearing on a teams league status, Meath are in division 3 and that makes them a division 3 team...live with.

Low division teams like Meath get lucky runs in the championship every so often, look at Leitrim, they led Laois for most of their recent qualifier game and were beaten less than Meath were beaten. Are they a division 2 team aswell ?...

I fully expect Meath to be in division 3 for a considerable while. Also looking forward to seeing Monaghan with Banty as their manager play Meath in Clones next year.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 03/08/2012 15:39:27    1237403

and anyway sandy, Banty just came with a reputation.. never won anything, or likely too..and lets hope we pick a meathman for the job this time!

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 03/08/2012 15:39:45    1237404

Those wanting Sean Kelly,what would he bring to the party?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 03/08/2012 15:44:10    1237409

Does anyone think Boylan will go for the job, there is a lot of talk about that. Also people seem to think O'Rourke may be interested this time around. Interesting few weeks ahead.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 03/08/2012 15:55:27    1237431

20 years from now we will still be listening to bitter wee Louth folk still whinging about 2010....ye lost..FACT..GET OVER IT..

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 03/08/2012 17:24:56    1237512

royalrover
" Mark o reilly - selector bit of a wild card here but he was a tigerish defender who never gave a forward an inch"

Padraig Joyce would probably disagree.

But I do agree you with for the most part. Good post.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 03/08/2012 18:09:26    1237543