Meath v Kildare - 1st July

bobjaffacake

1201258 its hard to believe all mayo had to do today was beat leitrim and there into a provincial final.same with cork and kerry every year one handy game and then its the munster final.compare that to meaths route,3 hard games already and still dublin and kildare in our way.in the name of fair play i think its time for a open draw

BOB i agree with you leinster is the most difficult provence to get out of i even put up a thread about this last year and a lot of posters didnt seem to think that a change is needed But I defo for one think there is.

lillymadfan (Kildare) - Posts: 1085 - 25/06/2012 10:54:34    1201466

It has its pros and cons.

Smaller provinces (in terms of number of counties): When a team is beaten in their provincial championship they often advance to a later round of the qualifiers. But you could argue they aren't as well prepared if the team they meet have had more matches up to then. Equally the winners of some provincial championships have long gaps between games and the All-Ireland QF's which can leave them vunerable to a county that has built up momentum in the playoffs.

While you could argue that it is easier to win one provincial crown than another, it has always been this way and nobody really complained. I suppose it is more in terms of the All-Ireland championships where some have issues, fair enough. But I think the more games you play (within reason) throughout the championship, the more battle hardened you are and the better your chances (injuries aside).

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 25/06/2012 11:18:58    1201494

I always said if kerry played in leinster they wouldnt have half as many all irelands

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 25/06/2012 11:21:15    1201495

True enough given there was no second chances (qualifiers) until more recent times. But they still beat two provincial champions to win those All-Irelands, so we will not begrudge them that.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 25/06/2012 11:49:34    1201529

i hear michael collins is the ref on sunday. if he is, thats that then.

The.Rock (Meath) - Posts: 582 - 25/06/2012 15:05:15    1201811

hopefully having michael collins as the ref wont make a difference, i believe he was the ref last year when we played galway and i cant remember any major bad decisions he made in that game against us, i dont think he is as bad towards us as he used to be.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 25/06/2012 16:32:27    1201910

Michael Collins needs to be the best any ref can hope
and thats not to be mentioned after the match, i wish him well, he should know the mistakes he has made against meath lets hope he does not do it again

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/06/2012 16:40:12    1201925

i hear michael collins is the ref on sunday. if he is, thats that then.
The.Rock , 25/06/2012 at 15:05

Typical Meath. if we win wer great, we loose its the referees fault. If we win wel win because we are good enough. if we dont win its because we are/were not good enough on the day. this talk of blaming referees before the game is on is nonsense.

db9 (Meath) - Posts: 283 - 25/06/2012 17:42:59    1201992

db9 typical meath is it, well if you've ever read my posts you'd know that i'm pretty much straight down the middle with my comments and ive never blamed refs for our results, meath lose because we are not good enough, and if we do win on sunday, i will indeed say we put in a great perfprmance because kildare are one of the top 4 teams in the country.

My comment on mr collins i feel is not nonsense, as royal dunne has said above, his mistakes in meath games in the past is there for all (including yourself) to see, but i'm sure he'll have a fine game on sunday.

The.Rock (Meath) - Posts: 582 - 25/06/2012 18:27:15    1202042

Provincial championships are a joke. I enjoy big games against Kildare and Dublin in Croke Park but if we had sensible structures in place we would be guaranteed marquee clashes like this every year. Scrap the leagues and go with regional conferences/round robins. Same number of games for every team, no whingeing, no moaning, no replays - one closed season of intercounty football with windows fixed in advance to cater for the club championships.

Ollie99 (Meath) - Posts: 442 - 25/06/2012 18:33:16    1202050

You're right Ollie99 it's about time that there was a level playing field for all in terms of games.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3070 - 25/06/2012 18:39:32    1202054

Any word on team, injuries etc. Training tonight?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/06/2012 09:52:29    1202261

I was talking to a curragha clubman the other day and he informed me that they are getting a new player called Patrick Calvey from st Bridget's in Dublin. They said he is good enough to play on the Navan O Mahonys seniors this year. Hope to see him playing.

Cliveplatt (Meath) - Posts: 6 - 26/06/2012 14:01:42    1202578

Meath are gonna need a big game from gillespie at midfield. he's looked very good for summerhill over the last 2 years but this is a big step up and from what ive heard from a few meath folk recently he has been poor against carlow and wicklow so far this year

sashman (Kildare) - Posts: 465 - 26/06/2012 15:03:37    1202688

Cliveplatt

irrelevant

rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 26/06/2012 15:22:25    1202715

whats ur team looking like 4 sunday lads?

brianfitzsimons (Kildare) - Posts: 223 - 26/06/2012 16:08:46    1202780

bfitz....

Thats another thread - here ya go - don't be goin round now sayin Meathmen don't give ye anything , excepting the trots when our forwards start Sunda;)
[url=]http://hoganstand.com/Meath/MessagePage.aspx?PageNumber=2&TopicID=75737

RoyalSt.Pat (Meath) - Posts: 333 - 26/06/2012 16:50:59    1202832

meath should win lads

brianfitzsimons (Kildare) - Posts: 223 - 26/06/2012 17:07:11    1202859

sashman

that is nonsense absolutely lies, he has been greatly improved for meath this year

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 26/06/2012 17:31:18    1202912

Hge game for Meath needless to say , will potentially break their season and will certainly make their season if they win it
Team I'd go with
1 Gallagher
2 Keoghan
3 Reilly
4 Menton
5 Burke
6 McAnarney
7 Tobin
8 Gillsepie
9 Reilly
10 Meade
11 Carroll/Bray
12 Byrne
13 Farrell
14 Sheridan
15 Ward
Hopefully Kevin Reilly will be fit as nobody likes to see the best players not playing

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 26/06/2012 18:23:05    1202981