i agree bobjaffacake! Ya'd swear Kildare have won a handful of Leinsters, made it to All-Ireland finals and semi finals. all they have in the past few years is 2 O'Byrne cups and a division 2 title(which they actually came 2nd in the league but won the final). At least Dublin fans have a reason to be cocky! But the difference is with Dublin fans you have the craic with but with kildare all ya get is arrogance and sh**e! RoyalBob (Meath) - Posts: 13 - 20/06/2012 11:22:04 1198313 Link 0 |
Yeh completely agree RoyalBob and Bobjaffacake, you wouldn't hear the Dubs boasting about trivial things, in fairness to them they just get on with things. There is no point in Kildare reeling off facts that they have been the highest scorers etc. The fact is they have failed to produce when it really matters, to win a Leinster or even to get into an All-Ireland Final. Nobody is going to be saying in twenty years time, 'that was some Kildare team being highest scorers in the league, and winning the O'Byrne Cup'. Wow. Everyone is laughing at you with some of the stuff you are saying. You just seem to be more interested in talking about how great you are, do yee have any interest in the football at all or is it just about bragging rights and reeling off statistics. ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 20/06/2012 11:40:02 1198332 Link 0 |
Who is bragging? I'm laughing at all you Meath fans thinking you are world beaters after beating Carlow in a replay. suncroft_abu (Kildare) - Posts: 298 - 20/06/2012 12:31:44 1198385 Link 0 |
Royalbob, I swear to God, I've never talked to a single Dublin fan who didn't hate your guts. We're well aware of what we have and have not achieved, under this management and others, but you seem to feel the need to go on and on and on about it. You seem more concerned with what this Kildare team may or may not achieve than the state of your own team; at this stage it seems that for many Meath supporters a scuccesful summer would be to see Kildare beaten, by a team other than yourselves most of you seem to fee by the way. Dingus (Kildare) - Posts: 271 - 20/06/2012 12:36:22 1198389 Link 0 |
bobjaffacakes, yes, Banty was at the Offaly game. Dingus (Kildare) - Posts: 271 - 20/06/2012 12:39:48 1198393 Link 0 |
Ha thats a laugh I have never said we are going to win the game and we are far from world beaters after beating Carlow. I'm saying we have a good chance of winning and its not impossible. If you knew this Meath team well enough as I said you would know we could go out and bag 5 goals against you but then again we could flop completely! Thats the reality and I'm not shying away from that. You seem to like reeling off these fabulous statistics, but you have failed to mention that this very inconsistent Meath team is the probably the best team that Kildare have beaten in the Championship. If you win the game next week best of luck to you because then you have a chance to show that you can beat the All Ireland Champs. Meath are a longer term project at the minute, but we the fans just want to see the lads performing as best they can next week, thats all. Then we can see what the outcome is. ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 20/06/2012 12:52:24 1198403 Link 0 |
ClassApart, I agree with what you say, about the threat this Meath team poses. On top of that, they always up thier game against Kildare. I don't think they'll flop. At the same time, I think it's fair to say that when Kildare beat this team way back in 2010 they, meaning Meath, were in a much better place mentally and as a team, and, had a better manager I think. Remember that was the game we lost Early in after two or three minutes and a whole slew of injuries to key players was to preceed or follow that one. On top of that, not leaving out our own shortcomings, we were screwed by refereeing decisions against Down and Dublin and Donegal; in the Down match we lost Daryl Flynn after about twenty five minutes and had no first midfield, though admittedly we should have been sharper against Dublin and less cynical against Donegal. Who knows what the future holds, but with all those players returning from injury, with all the hurt turned into motivation, with all the experience and training, this Kildare team is a good deal stronger than it was when McGeeny first took over. Having said all that, I for one will most likely have my heart in my throat in two weeks time. Dingus (Kildare) - Posts: 271 - 20/06/2012 13:20:10 1198436 Link 0 |
it would take some forward line to be ten times better than graham reilly, bray, sheridan, cian ward, brian farrell and paddy gilsenan Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 20/06/2012 15:29:34 1198587 Link 0 |
Thejoeshow, apart from maybe being dragged into slagging matches, I've never said anything different about the current Meath team, nor for that matter has any other kildare supporter I've spoken to. We didn't take Offaly for granted and certainly won't be taking Meath for granted. Dingus (Kildare) - Posts: 271 - 20/06/2012 16:18:18 1198634 Link 0 |
Dingus , how were the in a better place mentally in 2010 playing kildare ? after being slaughtered in the media and everyone around for what happened in the leinster final philipb323 (Meath) - Posts: 146 - 20/06/2012 17:35:41 1198704 Link 0 |
Philip323, they showed absolutely no signs of a hang-up from all that fallout in the opening stages of that game with Kildare; it was after they lost that EOB got fired and the team began on the slippery slope they seem to be continueing on, mosty of it not of thier own making admittedly. By the way, on the Sunday Game Pat Spillaine said Meath won that Leinster, having said the very opposite in 2010. Dingus (Kildare) - Posts: 271 - 20/06/2012 19:20:04 1198770 Link 0 |
Micheal collins has been named as referee royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 20/06/2012 21:36:42 1198890 Link 0 |
Michael collins doesnt like meath, does he? flyer (Meath) - Posts: 815 - 20/06/2012 21:51:09 1198909 Link 0 |
Mother of God Id rather let McGeeney ref it himself. Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 21/06/2012 09:10:48 1198953 Link 0 |
Does anyone know if clubs have got or are getting upper deck tickets. I prefer a panoramic view and protection from the elements, given our Irish summers. ATM Tickets.ie and Ticketmaster just have lower deck ones in a very limited number of places. They close the upper decks for some matches but surely with these two games, it will not be the case. GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 21/06/2012 10:12:21 1198987 Link 0 |
We'd have a better chance if Éamon de Valera was the referee! meathlondon (Meath) - Posts: 23 - 21/06/2012 10:22:46 1198996 Link 0 |
Michael Collins that's a disaster - I remember what Ollie Murphy said to him :) AthboyGael (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 21/06/2012 10:55:46 1199010 Link 0 |
GlasagusOr Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 21/06/2012 11:10:49 1199021 Link 0 |
I'd keep checking Ticketmaster. Upper tier tickets will probably become available when their lower tier allocation is more or less sold. MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 526 - 21/06/2012 11:52:46 1199047 Link 0 |
MarkMyWords Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 21/06/2012 13:03:30 1199109 Link 0 |