Lilymadfan ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 18/06/2012 15:18:18 1196981 Link 0 |
Classapart ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 18/06/2012 15:21:56 1196986 Link 0 |
Ok lads was I at a different game on sat? How can anyone say joe should be dropped? Yes his pace is not up to level of rest. But in game on sat he was organising the lads around him all the time. Farrell is having a field day off him. He set up first goal that turned the game and could have had 2 goals himself. His leadership and organising is worth 5 points alone. If he is to be a non scoring forward ala kildares 14 then so be it, his passing and vision is superb. Even on sunday game they said he was magnificent same in irish times. So where is all this talk of dropping him coming from? If joe does not start v kildare we will lose. royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2012 17:58:57 1197233 Link 0 |
RoyalDunne lazy journalism is the norm in much of the media so I would take what they say or write with a pinch of salt. I don't think Joe did anything in the lead up to Peadar's first goal that many other players couldn't do. For me, that goal was mostly down to Peadar, nobody else. While Joe played a one-two with Farrell (short free) which was very good most of Farrell's efforts/success was his own hard work. The bottom line is we all like Joe, he was our talisman for years but he needs to be much sharper than he has been recently if we are to really test Kildare. Because he will find it very tough going if he doesn't. And I don't think we should settle for him playing a (non-scoring) support role like Kildare's full forward. That wouldn't be getting the best out of him or maximising his ability or the teams potential. GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 18/06/2012 20:59:24 1197416 Link 0 |
Its typical, some people cannot go one game without asking for someone to be dropped. Joe is one of the most feared forwards in the game, as I explained on previous thread, if he does anything he will feed the forwards off him well and draw the best defender in every game. Give him a break, he came home to help the county out, despite what people may think. tackleberry (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 19/06/2012 14:14:22 1197812 Link 0 |
The Joe I saw was incisive, decisive, and strong all-round in creating the scores of those team-mates around RoyalSt.Pat (Meath) - Posts: 333 - 19/06/2012 14:43:55 1197848 Link 0 |
yeah but RoyalSt.Pat the same could be said about Kildare FF O'Connor. Scored nothing on Sunday but was still excellent in providing for team mates around him. JulianstownBoyo (Meath) - Posts: 196 - 19/06/2012 15:43:50 1197911 Link 0 |
nothing to lose and all to gain..the media dont give meath a hope..who knows.. could be just the game Meath needs to regain some confidence! sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 19/06/2012 19:14:20 1198082 Link 0 |
Looked on kildare site ..Johnny Doyle article that he fears Meath / RoyalSt.Pat (Meath) - Posts: 333 - 19/06/2012 20:05:52 1198108 Link 0 |
You wouldn't know what to make of Doyle's comments. Meath players said they had respect for Carlow when clearly they didn't the first day. Lets hope Doyle & Co. have an eye on Dublin and are a bit complacent, but its unlikely. ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 19/06/2012 20:23:39 1198118 Link 0 |
To be fair,Johnny Doyle respects a lot of teams ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 19/06/2012 20:38:26 1198134 Link 0 |
my main concern is midfield ,we caught a grand total of 1 clean kickouts on saturday night,thats it the rest were breaking balls .maybe this is how the monaghan man wants midfield to work ,but this was our weak point at the last encounter in navan.i do believe we will beat kildare ,as the banty must win, as its not only is his job on the line with meath but what intercounty team would want him if he doesn`t reach at least a leinster final so ,his nemises mc geeney he must beat .giles and evans have done such great work and hopefully bray is back ,biggies on form and byrne wants to make a name for himself . royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 19/06/2012 20:46:32 1198136 Link 0 |
Yeh management team seemed to have their work done on Carlow in the replay, hopefully the same will be done on Kildare. All those heads especially Geraghty, Giles and Evans better come up with some good tactics. During the league we were all over the shop with no real gameplan in any game, in particular there was no real background work done on the opposition, so hopefully the introduction of Evans and Giles will change this. We need to try and curtail the influence of some of Kildare's key men, except not like the way Carlow tried to put Biggy on a stretcher! ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 19/06/2012 21:09:41 1198153 Link 0 |
was banty at the kildare game does anyone know? bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 19/06/2012 21:14:04 1198159 Link 0 |
I think I remember hearing on the radio that he was there, I'm not 100% sure. Anyway there better have been someone from the management there to suss them out. ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 19/06/2012 21:37:57 1198187 Link 0 |
the offaly manager was full of praise for kildares fitness and conditioning.........ominous sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 20/06/2012 08:29:54 1198216 Link 0 |
In fairness i think the meath team are looking a lot fitter then we did this time last year bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 20/06/2012 09:39:53 1198243 Link 0 |
It's so pointless you Meath lads comparing our team last year to our team this year!! Our team this year is much stronger than previous years!! The likes of Peter Kelly (All Star Winner), Dermot Earley (All Star Winner) and Mikey Conway have all returned from injury and none of these 3 played any bit of Championship football last season!! suncroft_abu (Kildare) - Posts: 298 - 20/06/2012 10:26:58 1198273 Link 0 |
our forward line is 10 times better than the one Meath have!! We will know whether this is true next Sunday week. ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 20/06/2012 10:41:20 1198281 Link 0 |
God i used to think the dublin fans were hard to listen too but in fairness they are all ireland champs and have a hat full of leinsters but we now have kildare preaching to us with there 2 obyrne cups bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 20/06/2012 10:50:54 1198288 Link 0 |