Meath v Kildare - 1st July

And Suncroft stop talking about the League its all about Championship my friend! Ya havnt come within a sniff of Championship glory in years! Enjoy your end of year party with the league trophy cos its the only piece of silverware yous will have from this season

JulianstownBoyo (Meath) - Posts: 196 - 17/06/2012 21:45:17    1196496

I bet you had to go for the Iirish-English dictionary for that one. Anyway he didn't really deserve the title; PM might have suited him better. Look at at the posts under your own; your fans and ours are communicating in English and you can't even manage that.

Dingus (Kildare) - Posts: 271 - 17/06/2012 21:47:14    1196498

kildare never win anything so you have to remember this is a golden era for kildare football they have beaten the mighty meath now 5 times in a row so you can't really blame them for be so cocky

1987 (Meath) - Posts: 95 - 17/06/2012 22:01:07    1196522

Jesus Kildare lads - you are Div 1, great stuff, all I will say is, probably over a half a million spent(GAA NAMA bails u out) in the last 5 years and not a thing to show for it, not a medal in sight Thats all that counts and you havent a thing, and your bringing in a Cavan lad to help out. I am sure all the lads will welcome him on the panel, if we are a farce then you took over a month ago by bringing this lad in who has as much Kildare blood as Ronaldo. I suggest KIldare lads stop the bragging until there is actually a medal to be seen, thats success, not being Div 1 Nama team with Seanie 'Naas Road, I swear I live there' Johnson

14forward (Meath) - Posts: 39 - 18/06/2012 08:47:36    1196541

The pressure is on. 5 years 5 failures. And armagh looking more like they have bottle rather than the bottlers in kildare.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2012 09:10:46    1196553

Well said 14 forward

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 18/06/2012 09:55:46    1196577

Cill Dara 1-14 An Mhi 1-11.

kikfada (Louth) - Posts: 2091 - 18/06/2012 10:05:04    1196589

Kikfada

At least that's a more reasonable prediction

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 18/06/2012 10:16:38    1196608

Just thought for anyone interested to see the differences between our team now and last year. It is quite different. Just wondering do people think this is good, bad or what?

Leinster QF 2011: Meath 2-21 Carlow 1-09 (R.3 Qualifiers 2011: Meath 0-14 Kildare 2-11)

1. David Gallagher (Brendan Murphy)
2. Donal Keoghan (Gary O'Brien)
3. Kevin Reilly (Kevin Reilly)
4. Bryan Menton (Caomhin King)
5. Donnacha Tobin (Ciaran Lenehan)
6. Shane McAnarney (Shane McAnarney)
7. Mickey Burke (Eoin Reilly)
8. Conor Gillespie (Shane O'Rourke)
9. Brian Meade (Brian Meade)
10. Alan Forde (Paddy Gilsenan)
11. Damien Carroll (Joe Sheridan)
12. Graham Reilly (Seamus Kenny)
13. Brian Farrell (Stephen Bray)
14. Joe Sheridan (Paddy O'Rourke)
15. Cian Ward (Cian Ward)

Whereas the Kildare team is quite similar.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 18/06/2012 10:43:35    1196639

Indeed kikfada a lot more sensible prediction. Kildares achilles heel could still be the lack of goals in championship. Meath will have to score goals to beat kildare. That is where the difference may be. If kildare get there goal boots on then they will win if not meath just may have two 3 pointers that could see them scrape trough.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2012 10:45:06    1196640

The lilies on these forums are pathetic. I hope they took the chance yesterday to ask some of the Offaly supporters what it was like to hold sam as its only 30 years since they won it last.
With their history of transfers they have no credibility, absolutely none. Is anyone from Kildare really prepared to tell me that TJ has transferred to Kildare for purely footballing reasons? If he transferred to win trophies then why would he choose kildare???

CobraVengeance (Meath) - Posts: 46 - 18/06/2012 11:28:35    1196687

ClassApart ... I'd say we are marginally better (in the broadest sense of the word) than last year at the back, weaker in the middle and stronger in attack.

Looking at Kildare last night, if these four in particular (Kevin Reilly, Donal Keoghan, Bryan Menton and Donnacha Tobin) do there stuff we can avoid Kildare going on a points fest. They will have to go man to man, win ball or hassle the life out of their opponents without fouling. Then we need to do well at centrefield. We need Peadar here to win our fair share of ball and pose them problems going forward. Also Meath half forwards need to have pace and stamina to track back or prevent Kildare's half backs bombing forward at will. Thats why I think Damien Carroll and Alan Forde should start. They can do that but also make sure we give Kildare half-backs plenty of defensive duties for the afternoon. Then its a case of our FF line (and freetakers) being more ruthless than they were in Navan or Croke Park last time out. One of them dropping deeper at times to link up the play and also help HF's (and midfielders) supply plenty of direct ball to the other two.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 18/06/2012 12:29:04    1196769

CobraVengeance

1196687 The lilies on these forums are pathetic. I hope they took the chance yesterday to ask some of the Offaly supporters what it was like to hold sam as its only 30 years since they won it last.
With their history of transfers they have no credibility, absolutely none. Is anyone from Kildare really prepared to tell me that TJ has transferred to Kildare for purely footballing reasons? If he transferred to win trophies then why would he choose kildare???

just as a lot of the royals are PATHETIC WHY? ye live in the past glory days of Meath football. YES the whole of Ireland knows ye were a force to reckon with but the word there is PAST. look at the post by the meath fan that done the breakdown on the kildare v Meath match 2011 he is a fan who knows his football thats the team of today not the team in the glory days regardless of what or what not kildare didnt win they are a better side at the minute than meath and thats fact not fiction the fiction is the way Meath fans see things and with a lot its through rose tinted glasses.

get out of the past and look at the present SIMPLES!!!!

lillymadfan (Kildare) - Posts: 1085 - 18/06/2012 12:41:24    1196787

lillymadfan....I see your point but I really don't think we are all living in the past, we just know the players aren't reaching their full potential, thats all we want to see. Any of the fans who have been to all the Meath matches this year know they haven't been playing as a unit and are not reaching their potential. Signs of unity started to show in the replay against Carlow so hopefully they can build on this, because we know what they are capable of and its a bit more than what has been on show all year. They may not be All Ireland contenders but I think what some of the fans are getting at is that they have not been playing as well as they can so we are just trying to be optimistic.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 18/06/2012 13:21:48    1196844

Either way this is gonna be a mouth watering match come july 1st, will be close match, great to see brian farrel back to form and biggy is to hot to handle at the moment, a throw in big joe and c.ward wil be great, forde another great addition he just needs a a improvement on his decision making but he's oldskool meath DIRECT FAST AND TOUGH

AnyCraicBuck (Meath) - Posts: 49 - 18/06/2012 13:23:24    1196846

ClassApart

1196844 lillymadfan....I see your point but I really don't think we are all living in the past, we just know the players aren't reaching their full potential, thats all we want to see. Any of the fans who have been to all the Meath matches this year know they haven't been playing as a unit and are not reaching their potential. Signs of unity started to show in the replay against Carlow so hopefully they can build on this, because we know what they are capable of and its a bit more than what has been on show all year. They may not be All Ireland contenders but I think what some of the fans are getting at is that they have not been playing as well as they can so we are just trying to be optimistic.

first meath fan that speaks a bit of scence. I do think that meath team have potential but injury wise its not working out so far.Joe sheridan was very quiet in the carlow replay although ye ranked up a big score he didnt get on the score sheet I think he hasnt been as on the game since he came back from Boston. anyway will look forward to the game on the 1st July.every game is different and its always I feel in the bounce of a ball the way some goes on the day.

lillymadfan (Kildare) - Posts: 1085 - 18/06/2012 14:10:51    1196917

Class apart thats the posts we need to be writing I wrote on another thread kildare and meath posters need to discuss the football. I know little digs and that are thrown in thats part of the rivalary..but surely we can discuss who posters would like to see start who should mark who tactics etc..
There does seem by your list class apart a lot of changes in the meath team with lads dropping off the panel or injuries like kildare last year hampered by injuries I dont agree with your suggestion though the kildare team are similar.This time round mikey conway,dermot earley and peter kelly are back from injury both mikey and kelly are starters for kildare now then kildare have Eoin doyle and podge fogarty to call on in the forwards..rob kelly played midfield yesterday and daryl flynn then came on hugh lynch great midfielder has yet to come back aswell for midfield and so does eamon callaghan half forward.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 18/06/2012 14:34:55    1196941

Start Menton and Reilly as our two full-backs, on Kavanagh and O'Connor respectively. Kildare have used the high-ball to unsettle us in the past. Can't risk playing a dedicated sweeper in front of O'Connor, Bolton and co. will just eat into the space. Our wing-backs will need to give the full-backs lots of support. Keoghan can follow Conway around.

Keep McAnarney at centre-back, he's needed here, especially considering that Banty prefers runners on the wings. We need someone with distribution here. He initiates most of Meath's attacks from the back, great vision even if the ball's being played through the hands. As long as the half-forwards work hard enough then we should be able to repel the Kildare waves.

Joe's doing okay, it's a new role for him, similar to what O'Connor does for Kildare, use your physique to hold up the ball and lay it off to the supporting forwards. Very unselfish. Hope Bray starts at 11, he'll keep play fast and direct.

Ollie99 (Meath) - Posts: 442 - 18/06/2012 14:37:34    1196944

Yes lillymadfan Joe doesn't seem to be up to full fitness, and is very sluggish looking, can't see a huge improvement coming for 2 weeks time but we'll have to wait and see. His only advantage at the minute is his strength for winning ball and then laying it off, doesn't have the speed to get by his man. He does seem to give great encouragement to younger players and never gives up. However, he will need to step up his game for Kildare. It doesn't look like Banty will have him sitting on the bench. There are a few players in which Banty is showing great loyalty to regardless of form and Joe is one of them.

Regarding injuries, its not good and would be great to have the likes of O'Rourke, Gilsenan, Bray, M Ward, McGuiness, O'Brien, D. Bray, etc available for selection. If all players were available this would of course put us in a better position. But it will be good to see how the rest of the team can step up to the mark on a big day in Croke Park, now is their chance. There will probably be 8/9 players starting that didn't start against Kildare last year, should be interesting.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 18/06/2012 14:48:24    1196950

Ollie99

Have you watched Meath/Kildare games? The biggest issue is Kildare running through our half-backs,and they have exposed us down the middle,by running at us,be it from midfield or their half--backs

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 18/06/2012 15:13:59    1196977