Meath v Kildare - 1st July

Best of luck to the lads today!Give it 100% and who knows what might happen!COME ON YOU BOYS IN GREEN!

MeathMan09 (Meath) - Posts: 152 - 01/07/2012 11:09:42    1206002

Have a bad feeling about this one, hopefully the young lads can step up and make a game of it, but if we get a hiding it could set them back a lot.

Best of luck lads, give it your all!

NAIL_BAR (Meath) - Posts: 457 - 01/07/2012 11:52:43    1206042

Well done lads .. Delighted for ye , said before and after Wicklow game I've yet to see a bad Meath team .. Good , big strong natural footballers.

Hope ye win Leinster

Square_Ball_15 (Wicklow) - Posts: 2662 - 01/07/2012 15:39:16    1206231

Well, You did it and deserved it. I'm gutted but you stepped up to the mark and did the job.

Dingus (Kildare) - Posts: 271 - 01/07/2012 15:44:28    1206239

Meath are on the way back. Some very impressive natural footballers on display today. Kildare should stick to the hurling.

Leixonian (Laois) - Posts: 20 - 01/07/2012 15:50:43    1206257

Lets call a spade a spade lads.......banty had a stormer

juniordangerous (Meath) - Posts: 21 - 01/07/2012 15:50:48    1206259

Many thanks Dingus, very sporting of you, and bad luck today. I am as astonished as I am delighted by the result. I predicted a hammering from Kildare today - 10 pt plus! Clearly the sending off of Flynn and the instantaneous reply to Kildare's goal through Peader Byrne were pivotal moments, but I would have expected Kildare to have been out of sight at the stage of the match anyway.

There was huge pressure on Kildare today and it was a game that they could only lose. Meath, given the League, and given the recent spate of defeats to Kildare, would have been driven by an incredible a hunger to win. But you have to be good enough to turn that hunger and the hurt of previous defeats to your advantage, and Meath certainly did that.

Kildare will pick themselves up, and Meath will see this game as potential turning point. I hope it is. After enjoying today, the next thing for Meath will be to ensure that they prove that this was not a flash on the pan. In order to do that they will need to put it to Dublin in the Leinster final. In particular they need to play well enough in that game for the result to be in doubt with ten minutes to go. If they can do that, then anything is possible in the Leinster final.

Meath1986 (Dublin) - Posts: 247 - 01/07/2012 15:56:09    1206273

@juniordangerous, credit where it's due, the right substitutions at the right time, especially lenehan in the 1st half - there was a bad situation developing there (no disrespect to lenehan) and it was nipped in the bud.

That was a performance with a bit of the traditional spine about it!!

NorthernRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 9 - 01/07/2012 15:58:16    1206279

could there be championship next weekend now????

123anmhi123 (Meath) - Posts: 22 - 01/07/2012 15:59:25    1206280

Whoooooo get it Kildare seriously underestimated Meath Thinking That we just where a one trick pony ie Graham reilly and Caroll and Forde ran amuck which i predicted on this forum ...Kildare where poor in fairness ...i hope this isn't "our All-Ireland final " great to get that Kildare who do of our Backs aaahh..

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1286 - 01/07/2012 16:03:09    1206284

Poor old Kildare always the Bridesmaid never the bride. They need to introduce young players and the older ones should hang up their boots. Dublin needed to win the all-ireland last year but based on their first 15 mins of Wexford match it could be a Wexford meath final.

murphyire (Meath) - Posts: 1 - 01/07/2012 16:15:00    1206298

Lads you were so hungry for it today, WELL DONE.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 3010 - 01/07/2012 16:22:12    1206308

Fair play dingus.
Well done lads And. Management. I always belived. I'm ecstatic

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/07/2012 16:28:19    1206321

Congratulations to the meath team and management! very well deserved win

flyer (Meath) - Posts: 815 - 01/07/2012 16:31:04    1206331

Meath1986, like I said, gutted, but very sporting of you to acknowledge my post. What can I say, well done; you did yourselves proud; we didn't.

Dingus (Kildare) - Posts: 271 - 01/07/2012 16:32:25    1206333

And no 1986, Darly Flynn being sent off didn't change the game really; obviously it was going to make it harder for us but when Mikey Conway scored that goal you replied with a brilliant goal of your own and in fairness bossed midfield and were better all over. What can I say, only well done.

Dingus (Kildare) - Posts: 271 - 01/07/2012 16:45:54    1206347

from management to players today was exceptional stuff, banty made the perfect changes and each change helped seal the win, huge win for the meath panel and well deserved, was proud to be in croker today, tobin didn't give john doyle a sniff

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 01/07/2012 16:47:29    1206351

the joe show
you mean Donal Keoghan didnt give john doyle a sniff, outstanding performance from the number 2

flyer (Meath) - Posts: 815 - 01/07/2012 17:06:27    1206375

well done royaldunne you called it well

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 01/07/2012 17:16:22    1206388

ive followed meath all my life and watched them win 4 all irelands but ive never been as proud to be a meath man as i was in croke park today.well done lads

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 01/07/2012 17:20:01    1206393