Meath v Wicklow

RossiesRock

No picking lads injured long term at midfield is having a laugh.
Regardless of what number is on his back Cian usually plays some part of most games at center forward. Nothing new there?

rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 03/05/2012 17:58:09    1165631

1. David Gallagher
2. Davy Dalton/Caomhin King
3. Kevin Reilly
4. Donal Keoghan
5. Mickey Burke
6. Shane McEnarney
7. Ciaran Lenihan
8. Bryan Menton
9. Eoin Reilly
10.Seamus Kenny
11.Cian Ward
12.Graham Reilly
13.Paddy Gilsenan
14.Joe Sheridan
15.Steven Bray

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 1015 - 03/05/2012 18:10:09    1165637

Is Harrington defonatly on the panel ?

seamusmac (Meath) - Posts: 379 - 03/05/2012 19:54:10    1165686

1 gallagher
2 obrien
3 reilly
4 burke
5 lenehan
6 menton
7 mcanarney
8 eoin reilly
9 walsh
10 kenny
11 bray
12 graham reilly
13 gilseanan
14 sheridan
15 ward

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 03/05/2012 20:17:50    1165702

is it true geraghty has left the panel and is just a selector now? got a text from a friend who lives out that way

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 06/05/2012 08:47:26    1166587

Don't think its anything new. As far as I know he de selected himself during the league

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/05/2012 11:45:51    1166634

My Team for the Wicklow match in three weeks

1.D.Gallagher
2.E.Harrington
3.K.Reilly
4.D.Keoghan
5.S.McAranery/Burke(would first choice hear position is made for him)
6.B.Menton
7.G.O'Brien/D.Tobin
8.C.Gillispe/B.Meade
9.T.Walsh
10.M.Burke/P.Byrne
11.P.Byrne
12.A.Forde
13.P.Gilensan
14.J.Sheridan
15.S.Bray
C.Ward is being left out because he hasn't played all year but maybe if he can get his form back he could play at CHF and put Peadar out on the wing I would drop S.Kenny for the same reason has been off form all year but again if he improves he will be worth his place on the team and G.Reilly dropped aswell.

ThickandTin (Meath) - Posts: 121 - 06/05/2012 13:06:24    1166672

D.Gallagher
2.E.Harrington
3.K.Reilly
4.D.Keoghan
5.S.McAranery/Burke(would first choice hear position is made for him)
6.B.Menton
7.G.O'Brien/D.Tobin
8.C.Gillispe/B.Meade
9.T.Walsh
10.M.Burke/P.Byrne
11.P.Byrne
12.A.Forde
13.P.Gilensan
14.J.Sheridan
15.S.Bray

just wondering if you could explain to me few things about this team thick and thin

1. why is alan forde in ahead of g reilly,
2. why do you think peader makes a good 11 when he has proven he isn't the best distributor of the ball
3. kenny and ward and reilly dropped for "haven't played at all" tell me what g. o brien or mcanarney have done to gain spots, our worst two players of the league?
4. why hasn't keogan been selected in the panel never mind the 15?

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 06/05/2012 16:56:23    1166782

Is Tom Walsh not out injured for 3 or 4 months?

Sheffchenko (Meath) - Posts: 14 - 06/05/2012 18:45:48    1166849

Thejoeshow first of all D.Keoghan is on the panel and was on the bench for the match against Louth and has been doing with Rathkenny from the reports I have read the Reason I think G O'Brien sud on the team although he hasn't been playing that well he has been played out of position like M.Burke in corner back and I think he has the ability to excel and do well at half back Next I think S.Kenny is slowing down and he would better used as an impact sub for Meath this year but could prove me wrong if his form improves as for C.Ward the chap is very talented player but needs to improve his form and by dropping him i think i will give the nesscary push for him to improve and if he does so he will be on the team because when on form he is one of the best forwards in the country.

ThickandTin (Meath) - Posts: 121 - 06/05/2012 18:49:16    1166854

shane kenny hasn't done anything wrong maybe he hasn't been as influential but compared to others he was solid in the league wasn't by any means shocking, and why alan forde?

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 06/05/2012 19:04:13    1166862

I still see a few people putting B.Meade in as a second or third choice at midfield . I realy hope Banty is not thinking the same way.

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 307 - 06/05/2012 21:12:17    1167023

I think Micky Burke cud have got droped!!He came on in the second half of the hurlers christy ring cup match against London.

TheRoyals94 (Meath) - Posts: 14 - 07/05/2012 10:33:18    1167103

I suppose its only a matter of opinion but strange team formats, would love to know what alan forde has done to warrant inclusion in championship team, nonsense including him in front of cian ward or graham reilly, and if ward plays he has to play in the full forward line hes an out and out scoring forward and our leading goal getter. Where in the modern game does the centre half forward have to be a great distributor of the ball nowadays his main attribute must be to win breaking ball of midfield and drop back and help the half back line neither of which cian would be prolific at, you must play him where he is at his most dangerous and that is close to goal. If all are fit then joe, c. ward ,s.bray,g.reilly,and gilsenan must start up front with the last place up for grabs probably s. kenny favourite to get it, Cannot see how anyone would consider including peader byrne on their team as he has shown in the past hes not a team player and in my opinion hes not up to intercounty standard and his discipline record is terrible. Bantys midfield options are even more limited now with ward out I suppose menton will have to go to the middle but not sure what he can put with him.

johnsee (Meath) - Posts: 389 - 07/05/2012 11:30:43    1167128

johnsee agree with all there but i think peader is good for winning breaking ball which we need, id say tom walsh with meade in the middle

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 07/05/2012 12:36:10    1167156

oh and about alan forde, he plays for navan....thats why a lot will put him in there

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 07/05/2012 12:36:44    1167158

Any update on the challenge game today?

Matthew (None) - Posts: 1084 - 07/05/2012 16:55:07    1167293

I would agree with most of that Johnsee, certainly you need to have a high workrate to play anywhere around midfield at intercounty level, even at 11 and in that sense Joe Sheridan and Cian Ward would be an expensive luxury at centre forward but you're forgetting that the reason Sheridan was so effective at 11 under O'Brien was because he had the trojan work rate of Peader Byrne and Seamus Kenny to compensate for his defensive game.

Peader mops up breaking ball and if we're going to keep driving kickouts down the middle we may as well play him around midfield plus he is a real athlete to boot. I hope John Evans really shakes things up. Everything should be up for review at this point, kickouts, positions, tactics... everything.

Ollie99 (Meath) - Posts: 442 - 07/05/2012 16:56:33    1167296

Wicklow at 5/2 just so all ye non banty believers know its money for jam. GET ON ! You dont have a hope unless Banty starts young guns like Dalton and Newman.

InTinoWeTrust (Wicklow) - Posts: 52 - 08/05/2012 18:09:24    1168057

yea Joe

lifebuoy (Cavan) - Posts: 628 - 08/05/2012 19:19:28    1168131