Meath v Wicklow

Thanks for the info guys. I have never seen the guy never mind seen him kick a ball.
And I agree same sentiments were applied to a few others too and never emerged to be true. I just wanted to know abit more about him from guys who have seen him play. The way some people hype up players is ridicules. Btw what age is he?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/05/2012 10:40:49    1180174

royaldunne

Think he turns 21 this year, but not 100% sure.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 25/05/2012 11:13:16    1180212

hope gillespe will shine, egar to see how this develops !

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 25/05/2012 11:23:38    1180217

Jinxie

I agree,but If you look at any of the teams I picked I didn't have Collins or Forde in them,plus I suggested often on this forum that Forde was very raw,and whereas Collins has potential,he has no experience of playing for Meath at all.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 25/05/2012 12:10:17    1180253

good chance theres an element of a "dummy" team to this 15 lads, very rare these days the 15 named midweek line out on the sunday!

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 25/05/2012 12:16:33    1180258

Alan Forde is the new Tommy Dowd I was told
Mark Collins the new Giles or Geraghty??

This kind of talk does not help young players in this county...

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 25/05/2012 12:19:09    1180261

lads.....your boys should be well up for this game............ye have taken it easy in your last 5 league games, sacrificed you status in division 2 all for having a real good go at the championship............everyone knows meath are a championship team and that the league is only a prep competition for the big one........with all the fresh legs meath have going into sundays game they should have no bother in disposing of wicklow.....my prediction therefore is meath 2-17 0-12 wicklow

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 25/05/2012 14:48:37    1180396

the truth is..none of us knows which meath team will turn up..the one dat asked stephen cluxton to pick 5out of the net, and louth 4 in cavan last year hope...its belief..and i agree team could be the 'dummy one' due to niggles still being assessed. either way, maybe kohn evans, trevor giles and joe all beimg introduced since louth does the trick

RoyalSt.Pat (Meath) - Posts: 333 - 25/05/2012 15:58:31    1180463

The team looks weak enough but maybe it's the start of a long term project? (Collins , Forde)

Good Luck to Meath and especially the new lads!

seamusmac (Meath) - Posts: 379 - 25/05/2012 16:15:48    1180477

I went to school with Mark Collins and have played with him many times so I would say I know a good bit about him.

He is a bit of an enigma, but he genuinely has unbelievable natural talent with a football. Thats not saying he is going to make it as an intercounty footballer however, as I know there are some who would doubt his attitude. He has the ability to amount to anything as a footballer, but at the same time he mightn't make it at all, although hopefully he will become more mature and serious about fulfilling his potential. Anyway, I'm looking forward to seeing him on Sunday and I would love to see him do well. Also its great for the little parish of Bellewstown where he's from, I know lots of people up there wouldn't like to see him described as a Duleek footballer as many are doing!

boynesider1 (Meath) - Posts: 84 - 26/05/2012 14:51:04    1180871

boynesider

Great what Meath need another player with an attitude problem...

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 26/05/2012 17:53:34    1180971

The last few years we clearly were not good enough now banty brings in some of the best up and coming footballers in the county and if you were attending club games you would know this. young collins and forde are exceptional young players and a lot of yous are going to be eaten humble pie .do you forget 96 when gerathy was 19 and the impact he had. my perdiction is we see the start of a new era in meath football tomorow

hoopfan (Meath) - Posts: 30 - 26/05/2012 19:21:17    1181009

Best of luck today boys.

Con (Louth) - Posts: 511 - 27/05/2012 09:40:21    1181090

I fear for Meath football today,last week in may and we starting 4 newcomers,how brian farrell has got his place is beyond me.2 midfielders are not good enough,they are around a good few years now and have never won a battle in the middle,the day of the 6 5 and 6 4 mid fielders are gone.Hope im wrong but i predict meath to loose and banty to walk away after the qualifiers !

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1113 - 27/05/2012 10:19:58    1181103

A space left on buses in Navan area?

PutItOver (Meath) - Posts: 23 - 27/05/2012 10:26:50    1181110

Dont think brian farrell should be started! but who else have we?

RossiesRock (Meath) - Posts: 369 - 27/05/2012 10:45:13    1181124

By the way GG was not 19 in 96,he was in the team since 93/94 and was about 23/24 in 96....

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/05/2012 10:52:12    1181135

thelutch

I would have put Gillespie ahead of Meade as the latter has been very poor and given more chances,but my partner would have been Byrne or Tobin.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/05/2012 10:53:31    1181137

Rossierock

Yeah no Gilsenan or Bray so... It was between Farrell and Queeney

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/05/2012 10:54:22    1181138

gerathy was 26 when he lifted sam in 99 so would av been 23 in 96

lifebuoy (Cavan) - Posts: 628 - 27/05/2012 11:21:46    1181150