10. A.Forde
11. M.Collins
12. G.Reilly
13. B.Farrell
14. J.Sheridan
15. C.Ward

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 24/05/2012 19:18:00    1179923

Subs: J.Carry-Lynch, C.King, E.Harrington, C.O'Connor, E.Reilly, B.Sheridan, J.Queeney, P.Byrne, D.Carroll, D.Keogan, C.Lenehan

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 24/05/2012 19:22:57    1179925

Team looks good, Cant wait for sunday!

How many chances are they going to give B. Farell?? Has never done it when it matters!

greenrow (Meath) - Posts: 44 - 24/05/2012 19:45:35    1179938

With that midfield and FF line, our half forwards will have some workload ahead of them, if we are to win this match. Good luck to one and all!

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 24/05/2012 19:58:06    1179946

That team carries all our hopes 1 to 15. Best wishes we are counting on yous to bring pride back to meath football. We can do it. Good luck lads.
C'mon the royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/05/2012 20:20:25    1179956

Best of luck to the lads on Sunday! We're all behind ye! Go out and show everyone what Meath football's all about!

MeathMan09 (Meath) - Posts: 152 - 24/05/2012 20:36:42    1179962

Surprised at half forward line ,full forward line very tall but slow,will it be more direct ,Wicklow full back line small!should be interested

curnew (Wicklow) - Posts: 449 - 24/05/2012 21:01:54    1179979

A lot of problems with that team,but what can you do..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 24/05/2012 21:03:47    1179983

A lot of problems with that team,but what can you do..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 24/05/2012 21:05:03    1179987

Burke still corner back...
McAnarney moved to corner back...
Lenihan not in...
Meade (somehow) in the team
Collins first ever game for Meath,and at 11???
Forde (who is very raw) starts
Farrell well....

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 24/05/2012 21:14:39    1179999

one of the weakest ever meath teams ive seen in my years. Im not sure its the correct team either, i think we will see some changes announced before throw in.bantys trying some mind games me thinks... interesting times ahead. couldnt be confident of a win either im afraid...please prove me wrong!!

edd (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 25/05/2012 08:29:43    1180063

Lads - just on the subject of Brian Farrell.

Irrespective of what the team for Sunday looks like overall - I really do not understand th hard time that Brian Farrell gets on this forum.

He has not performed any more badly over the past 3 years than any of the other forwards. On game aside and I actually think Cian Ward has offered less than Farrell given the constant amount of opportunities he is given.

Have you all forgot 2007 when we beat Roscommon down in Cavan to win Div2 and Farrell was by far and away our best scoring forward up to his sending off against Kildare in the championship After that he could not get back into the team following the two games against Dublin? That league campaign was the last time he got a constant run of games.

Forwards like hime thriv on confidence and being thrown on at the end of games (in most times when we are being well beat) does not do a whole lot for that. As far Banty taking him off early against Louth - there was 13 other lads he could have taken off with him.

Anyways - I'm not saying that he is the answer to our problems but I will say that he deserves more credit than he gets here.

BRING_ON_GURTY! (Meath) - Posts: 712 - 25/05/2012 09:17:41    1180089

Is it just me or have we a VERY strong bench with exception to one or two?? Definately not our strongest team we have had out but best of luck all same

tackleberry (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 25/05/2012 09:23:37    1180091

In fairness to the managment, its only about 6 weeks ago since a lot of people on here were saying that enough young lads werent been tried. Examples of Forde and Collins were given.
Now those lads are starting and some people are now questioning putting them lads on.

Cant please everyone.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 25/05/2012 09:28:13    1180094

Our hand has been forced by injuries but as that infamous cliche goes "we are where we are" I think it good to see new faces getting championship action, we want to do well this year of course but we are also a long term project and Collins, Gillespie etc getting championship game time is no harm at all. This will be tough but I think we could do well, some good lads on the bench too, expect to see Peader charging up the field at some point :-)

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3750 - 25/05/2012 09:54:43    1180120

the full forward line looks 2 have goals in it . also ive never seen collins ,but the two wing forwards love to carry the ball and run at defenders could be dangerous if they get the space.

northsidegael (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 25/05/2012 10:11:17    1180144

Lads could someone give me some information on mark collins. The only thing I know of him is the rumors about him been the next big thing , I was told that he will be better than giles and geraghty and a few lads at half time during a league match saying he has the potential to be as good as gooch or brogan. Is any of this accurate? Or is it nonsense ? I know he has been injured but has anyone seen him play?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/05/2012 10:16:22    1180149

royaldunne

Collins is a very good young player with huge potential. But thats it. It should be left as just that and let him fulfill his own potential.

The exact same comparisons were thrown around about Alan Nestor and Jamie Queeney in early 08.
The be comparing young lads to the like of Giles and Geraghty, 2 of the greatest players of an entire generation across ALL counties, and eveb to Gooch, probably the greatest of all, is just madness.
Those lads are once in a lifetime players. Let Collins make his name for himself as a very good player himself.

BTW, I know your not the one making that comparison RD, just relaying what youve been told.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 25/05/2012 10:23:47    1180160

Mark collins is small, fast and not a bad footballer when fit. Rare that he's fit though. Would not be in my starting 15 but best of luck to him. Queeny or B Sheridan for me would have been a better choice. Defo not the new TG or GG.

aces (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 25/05/2012 10:27:02    1180164

Maybe since Evans has arrived, Banty is more open to the idea of introducing more pace (and youth if necessary) into the attack. I would have thought Peadar Byrne was more likely to start given our injury problems (four certain starters at midfield and the forward line out), but I'm sure he will make an impression as an impact sub at the very least. In many ways, it's good to see Forde and Collins start. It shows an eye to the future and how work ethic and stamina are valued, possibly ahead of experience (now if it was a match up with Kildare would we be so progressive or daring). Otherwise the team would look like another permutation of the ones that have failed to deliver consistently over the past number of years. If the team starts as selected, both the midfield pairing and full forward line have plenty to prove (not just the newbies), as past reputations doesn't win matches. Hopefully they will all do their bit and thrive on Sunday.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 25/05/2012 10:33:08    1180169