Ok Squid, given your vast knowledge of Meath football explain to me how this team went from giving your team an absolute mauling 9 months ago to what we witnessed in Navan on Sunday? How we went from appearing in 2 All-Ireland semi finals and a quarter final between 2007 and 2010 when we have always been an "average team at best"..? Meath were quite a decent outfit under Eamon O'Brien and were always in and around the top 8 counties between 2007-2010.
So now enlighten us on how we went from sparring with the country's elite teams under Eamon O'Brien & Colm Coyle to being relegated to Division 3 with Banty if the manager is not the issue here? Obviously the players take a large fraction of the blame for their performances.. but if they are being trained to play a certain way which is leading to drastically poor performances such as the Derry, Tyrone & Louth games then surely the manager at the helm has to shoulder a lot of the blame.
I believe you're making this Meath team out to be a lot worse then its been over the years by using the past couple of weeks as an example but in all honesty, it doesn't fill the whole picture. Whatever has hit this team, whether its a psychological thing I don't know but its been a catastrophe for them. We should've beaten Kildare and it could've gone either way with Galway. I firmly believe that if those 2 results had gone our way we wouldn't have witnessed last Sunday's tragedy.
RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 10/04/2012 21:36:48
Gaelic football is a simple enough game. You certainly dont need to be a rocket scientist to play it.
Any half decent fit athlete should be able to play Gaelic football with very little to do.
Knowledge of the basics and fitness, not much to it after that, I'm afraid to say lads.
It's only when you try to over complicate the thing that you start to see things going down hill.
Go back to the basics, and up the fitness levels and/or ditch those lads who are not prepared to break into a sweat, these measures should see an immediate turnaround.
Meath would appear to have an awful lot of big men with no pace or power, ditch most if not all these guy for the more traditional types.
squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 10/04/2012 21:46:34
There seems to be something lacking in Meath football recently. Listening to Kevin McStay on sunday evening, they are "gone soft". Now this is not an attribute that you would associate with Meath football. Just looking at the leagues for next year, six Leinster counties in D 1&2. Meath & possibly Wicklow in D3 with Offaly and Carlow in D4 (Disregarding Kilkenny as they do not participate in the championship)/ The future is alarming unless something is done to halt the slide.
Jack L (None) - Posts: 3182 - 10/04/2012 21:57:51
Your analysis is lazy and completely nonconstructive. If you've played the game at senior level in the last few years you'll come to see that a manager's influence and how he prepares his team has a massive effect on how his player's play and how they adapt to the system they've been trained to. You only have to look to Kildare, Dublin, Tyrone to see this..
RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 10/04/2012 21:59:45
It's pretty easy to maul a team who looking back at it now were just going through the motions. Louth were beaten by Carlow the week before and frankly losing to Carlow had actually a worse effect on the team than the loss to Meath in the Leinster final 10 months previous.
No team not even Meath becomes a bad team over night, anybody will tell you that. The writing has been on the wall for some time and that's the truth of the matter whether you want to believe it or not.
Times out, I post tomorrow.
squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 10/04/2012 22:01:10
squid
Was the writing on the wall when Cian Ward was banging 4 into the back of your net last year.. Yes Meath are a bad team and if You believe then Louth are much better I pity you.. Neither Meath or Louth have a hope in hell of getting anywhere this year!!! Still id rather follow the Royals than be one of your whinging fans!! You had a great day on sunday,just like us against Dublin in 2010..Does not mean One team is far better than the other Your Holy Grail is if you Can beat us or not..Most Meath fans could not care less if Louth win or lose So dont be coming over here on your high horse giving football advice to us after one win in a blue moon!! Meaths record speaks for itself against you Boys!
grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1176 - 11/04/2012 10:00:37
Lads honestly why with the responses, I don't get it? if it was left up to me that 'thing' would disappear within the week, don't feed the monster.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 11/04/2012 10:18:39
squid your dead right its easy to beat a team going through the motions after a mauling the week before,
what was meaths last game before louth? oh yes an absolute demolition vs tyrone? football is most certainly not that simple to be a successful inter county team, you need players and a system to suit and get the scores needed!
Meath football has been improving in last few years as your results would tell you, its easy to try bury a team after a big loss and big up your own in the process, short memory forgetting last summer squid, meath football is not in as bad a shape as people make it out to be, problems at county board level and underage yes but the current panel is not the shower of below average players your making it out to be, bare in mind you did beat us on sudnay without joe,shane o rourke and kevin reilly and our stand out performer in the league paddy gilsenan, this hasn't been mentioned anywhere i see? take keenan and 3 of your best forwards out of the game and see do you rack up 2-14 or whatever it was?
Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 11/04/2012 10:24:58
Shane Lennon, JP Rooney and Mick Fanning took no part for Louth. Brian White came on near the end Andy McDonnel also, John O'Brien absent also. Louth have a strong enough panel, made up of both youth and experience.
To beat Meath by nine points in Navan and it should have been more quite frankly without some of Louth's more established campaigner's was not a bad day at the office, I would say.
PS Do you also post under the name of RoyalDunne by any chance?
squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 11/04/2012 11:13:07
i don't why would you say that?
Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 11/04/2012 11:22:57
Is that an attempt of humour..? No I very much assure you, this is my only account..
RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 11/04/2012 17:04:01
This was posted as a new thread but since the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.
sticksandstones Posts: 31 Meath 16/04/2012 14:06
Meath V Wicklow! First Round!
seems people are forgetting about the most important aspect of the year so far, the game against wicklow is the next competitive outing, at the start of the year i would put my house on meath to win, but i wouldnt rate louth much higher then wicklow! it could be a tricky game under the circustances which face the team!
Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 16/04/2012 14:25:50
great to be in div 3 with meath BUT we play like we did yesterday against meath in dcp ,we wil be beaten banty r not
curnew (Wicklow) - Posts: 449 - 16/04/2012 14:36:07
Royalclass. Don't worry about squid his basic lack of knowledge re football is entertaining at times and when its pointed out to him he tries to use something else to divert attention from it. Ill tell you a good one about squid. He wanted us to go to outskirts slane and hand over the leinster trophy hahahaha. Also his backing of the louth supporters after 10 final has been very ferocious
Yes last sunday was very bad squid. But do you know what I did to cheer myself up? I went home and put on sky+ and watched nigel crawford raising leinster trophy. It made me feel so much better and knowing no one in louth would ever have that feeling made it even more special. Lol.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/04/2012 16:42:01
Royaldunne
"It made me feel so much better and knowing no one in louth would ever have that feeling made it even more special. Lol.''
You make yourself to be somehow above squid - who is surely annoying - and then you come out with a statement like that. That last post is sad, small, pathetic, needless and embarrassing. Also if you look on the '10 title with gushing pride, you need to get out more
rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 16/04/2012 16:52:29
squidword County: Louth Posts: 2744
1148659 Shane Lennon, JP Rooney and Mick Fanning took no part for Louth. Brian White came on near the end Andy McDonnel also, John O'Brien absent also. Louth have a strong enough panel, made up of both youth and experience.
To beat Meath by nine points in Navan and it should have been more quite frankly without some of Louth's more established campaigner's was not a bad day at the office, I would say.
Squid you should apologise to Royalclass for that. He is a genuine fair poster. You're obviously getting mixed up with Jinxie and Joeblogs in relation (like that..in relation) to Royaldunne.
St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1733 - 16/04/2012 16:59:08
Rath togh getting a little tired of your posts towards me. Is school back or something? What has your rag up now? I will respond to squid in the same way as he has been goading on hear for past 3 years. And if you did not take sarcasm from my post of for that fact irony then you are one who needs to get out more. Try to post something inventive yourself rath or at least let others give what certain posters deserve on hear. I have had massive craic with squid over the years and in fairness he gives as good as he gets. Unlike you or st conleth from kildare. So take a chill pill end of term is not that far away and you will look back on these days as the best of your life.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/04/2012 17:55:41
St.Conleth County: Kildare Posts: 66
You've made a but if a fool of urself on a few other threads with that embarrassing claim.
You appointed you judge of character on hoganstand to say who's fair and who's using more than one profile? You of all people whos a member for so many years.
Anyone who's a regular on this site, squid included, will know that I am now any of those people you are making your false claims about.
Save yourself more embarrassment coming on Here to a thread that doesn't concern you spouting you uneducated idiotic nonsense.
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 16/04/2012 18:41:24
JERRY! JERRY! JERRY!
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 16/04/2012 18:57:56
Htaem County: Meath Posts: 3532
1153505 JERRY! JERRY! JERRY!
Ha ha. Tell us apart by DNA results just like Jerry would do. Ha
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 16/04/2012 19:07:12