Meath V Louth Minor Football Championship

ziggy32001

rocknroyal

Yeah I don't like saying it,but it did annoy me when people where saying we have a brilliant minor team this year.. Same old story,if they where brilliant they would be beating the likes of Louth..

Lol out loud. Beat the likes of Louth. What does that mean? Our schools team beat you this year and now are county team.give them some credit.

red.dragon (Louth) - Posts: 559 - 16/04/2011 18:27:43    912857

Yeah, your 'schools' team, plural.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 16/04/2011 18:47:37    912860

no surprizes with this result

flyer (Meath) - Posts: 815 - 16/04/2011 19:45:09    912886

Dalton is making the lads play a stupid system, he brings out the 2 half forwards into the middle, he brings a corner forward out to HF line so we only have 4 forwards. The half backs dont seem to be allowed to bomb forward which they look comfortable at. Managment needs to change things.
Mid Field is poor too.
Let the lads play a normal system and they should win a few games.

Meath2010 (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 16/04/2011 19:52:55    912892

sorry to the Louth man,what I'm saying if they had any ambitions of even winning a Leinster they need to beat Louth,I don't think Louth will win the leinster like.. My comment was more of a go at the Meath fans who where saying we had a brilliant team etc.. We here that every year at under-age level,and I am yet to see that...

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 16/04/2011 20:15:32    912912

MEATH2010

It's always the management's fault isn't it.. We haven't got the players that is the biggest problem..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 16/04/2011 20:16:30    912914

we should be pumping more money into underage coachung in meath, than ploughing it into the seniors..12k a month!!

maco (Meath) - Posts: 357 - 16/04/2011 20:18:19    912915

As for giving Louth credit?? I think your Minor lads are better than ours,that is my point,Meath haven't a great minor team.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 16/04/2011 20:25:14    912927

It is very easy to say 'we need proper underage structures in place' and 'look at what Cork/Dublin/Kilkenny/Tyrone did', but the bottom line is that these things take a lot of effort and (most importantly) money. On the meath minor teams this year the dual players were told that if they got gear with the footballers, they would get none with the hurlers. If the county board seem to not have enough money to pay for 2 or 3 extra tracksuits, where are the funds for this massive underage push going to come from? It is not like in Offaly, where many people think they neglected their underage structures to focus on funding their new stadium, we still have the dilapidated Pairc Tailteann. The funds simply must not be there, especially in the times we are in. Now after all that negativity i'll mention that hopefully the minors use their second chance wisely, Longford were trounced in their first round last year, then turned everything around to become Leinster champions.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1729 - 16/04/2011 20:39:24    912939

An exciting game today if not too pleasant to watch from a meath point of view. I am not going to critizise the young meath lads too much as they did give it their all. It was like men against boys at times out there today, Loud had huge men all over the field and it was obouious they had made a decision to form their team around these men (which I dont think is the way forward either).

Meath were completely out of the game in the first half and for the first ten mins of the second. They were bullied around the middle in the first half and any time they did get the ball they insisted on running with the ball instead of kicking it into the full forward line. The full forward line was also non existent in the first half, I lost count of the amount of times the full forward line was collecting the ball at mid-field turning round to run at a wave of Louth defenders which had gathered back.
It was like running up against a brick wall and they persisted on doing it.
Meath were living off scraps however there was some brilliant scores kicked to keep in touch. Meanwhile louts quick direct ball into young Byrne caused all sorts of problems for the meath defence.

They did launch a come back after Louth got a dose of their trademark JIDDERS mid way through the seccond half. Started playing quick ball into a young Oldcastle lad who came on at half time (cant remember his name) and this almost snatched the game for them they missed a few simple chances twords the end before Louth woke up again.

No complaints better team won, but why they persisted with the running ball game for so long I cant understand.
On the positive side, they refused to give in and really gave it a go in the second half, backs really tightened up, impressed with NO.3. mid field came into it a bit more along with the forwards but overall very disappointing performance and too many silly mistakes and also gave away too many needless frees right in front of goals.

The John Deere dealers was also closed :(

NAIL_BAR (Meath) - Posts: 457 - 16/04/2011 20:54:48    912951

Coylers Elbow

912860 Yeah, your 'schools' team, plural.

haha classic :) next it will be every school in louth together beat you. why don't you just keep the same team for the minor championship and the schools.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 16/04/2011 21:41:05    913000

can someone explain how the back door system works for the minors

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 16/04/2011 21:44:46    913003

What I saw in Haggardstown yesterday was an interesting first round of the Leinster Minor Championship where Louth outplayed and from the line completely outwitted my beloved Meath. Happy days for Louth football but so sad for ourselves here in the Royal County. Although I hasten to add that the Meath team on display was no reflexion on the available under 18 players within our county. Fact is that this Meath team was mainly selected from a few neighbouring parishes in South Meath surely I don't have to ask why and if I did I wouldn't get an honest answer. Since 2001 Meath football has had many more dark days than bright ones, mainly because our under age structure is a shambles. WHY ? ? ?

scarraboy (Meath) - Posts: 70 - 17/04/2011 08:01:36    913023

ziggy32001

As for giving Louth credit?? I think your Minor lads are better than ours,that is my point,Meath haven't a great minor team.

You think!!!!!!!!!!!!!! is it not obvious (given Louth's win) that the Louth minors are better than their Meath counterparts. Maybe you're believe Meath had an off day or something and that Louth played above themselves given that it was Meath they were playing. Lads it's no shame really for your Meath minors to get beaten by Louth, cause everyone knows (deep down) that your seniors suffered a similar fate in the Leinster SFC final only a few months back. You need to realise that ye are not a far superior breed of footballers than your wee neighbours cause if ye don't ye will continue to suffer many more disappointing days out at the hands of Louth.

Best of luck in the back door.

BallsMcQ (USA) - Posts: 941 - 17/04/2011 10:41:45    913048

Balls mcQ. What are you like, i have never heard such sour grapes in my life. Yes the better team won and fair play to the Louth minors, i hope they do well. But seriously will you ever get over the Leinster final?! look if your hurting that badly im sure we can arrange for you and some of your friends to come across the border and see the Delany cup, heck i cant see any problem even letting you hold it if you want! GO ON THE ROYALS!!!!

Mike Hunt (Meath) - Posts: 70 - 17/04/2011 11:02:01    913063

Mike Hunt

Balls mcQ. What are you like, i have never heard such sour grapes in my life. Yes the better team won and fair play to the Louth minors, i hope they do well. But seriously will you ever get over the Leinster final?! look if your hurting that badly im sure we can arrange for you and some of your friends to come across the border and see the Delany cup, heck i cant see any problem even letting you hold it if you want! GO ON THE ROYALS!!!!

I kills me to say it but I do have to commend ye for putting the Delaney cup well and truly in cold storage this past 10 months. The fact that ye haven't paraded the trophy around the county in schools, pubs and other venues is clear testament of your utter embarrassment at having it. A pity ye didn't feel the same embarrassment in the immediate aftermath of last years final as it would have spared ye much of the shame of this past 10 months or so.

BallsMcQ (USA) - Posts: 941 - 17/04/2011 11:32:34    913083

your seniors suffered a similar fate in the Leinster SFC final only a few months back.

A few months ago? We all suspected you were stuck in some weird time-warp but thanks for confirming it. Maybe you shouldn't post anymore until you join the rest of us in the year 2011...

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 17/04/2011 11:33:28    913085

The Delany cup, or as its known in Louth "The holy Grail".

Mike Hunt (Meath) - Posts: 70 - 17/04/2011 11:59:30    913101

After the game yesterday I had a couple of minutes to spare so I decided to visit the Louth GAA museum. I really love what you've done with the place BallsMcQ, that whole 'Minimalist Look' where 'less is more' really seems to work for you. As I sat there in the solitude and emptiness surrounded only by the bare walls and empty cabinets, with nothing but the ticking of the clock and the distant whining of the local natives to disturb the peace, I was really able gather my thoughts and sit there with my eyes closed in peaceful bliss as I reflected on the long and glorious heritage and tradition that is Meath football....

Ex_Pat (USA) - Posts: 186 - 17/04/2011 12:15:52    913115

same old story in meath football player just back in panel a few weeks walks into team at expense of shane melia one of the best minor players in county other players playing out of position to make way for favourites .its a case of having past players relations to get on team sheet politics of meath football is rotten

blockrock (Meath) - Posts: 8 - 17/04/2011 12:19:42    913117