Replacing Eamon O'Brien - who should it be?

People want to see this group of players progress and fulfill their potential.
Some people see value in their team perfroming to their best ability and putting fear back into their oponents. These people want McEnaney / Harnan and Grimely to get the job.
I actually have quite a fair bit of knowledge about the work that Paul Grimley did in Armagh. I also firmly believe that if it was not for Joe Kernans reluctance to go with Grimley's advice in two key games - Armagh would have at least one if not two more AIs in the last decade.
McEnaney made his Monaghan team hard to beat and also made an ordinary group of players into a cohesive unit of tough fighters.
Add to that Liam Harnan's standing in this county and his reluctance to settle for mediocrity (as displayed in the underage debacle earlier this year) and you have a team of mentors that want to win.
Is it any wonder the players are said to favour this team.

On the other hand you have lads like you atta - who settle for the status quo. Begrudge those that want to do better. Hang on to some misguided sense of parochial loyalty and probably even put value in performances like the leinster final last year because it ended with a trophy.#

Without being disrespectful to the Cooney, McEntee and Fay - can someone tell me how in Gods name can they compare to the experience, drive and potential of Mcenaney, Harnan and Grimley.

Either we want to progress - or we stay happy with what we've had to put up with for the past 8 years..

BRING_ON_GURTY! (Meath) - Posts: 712 - 01/11/2010 21:59:01    807641

its looking good for McEnaney for once the meath co board are going to do the right thing

1987 (Meath) - Posts: 95 - 02/11/2010 08:34:47    807654

Just a point on my last post - I meant to say:
How could Cooney, McEntee and Fay compare to the managerial expereince of McEnaney, Grimley and Harnan?

BRING_ON_GURTY! (Meath) - Posts: 712 - 02/11/2010 09:23:18    807665

now that it seems the co board have made the decision all over todays indo i would like to add my comments.

- Where is Banty's and his teams loyalty to meath his background team firstly armagh. kildare/ then all with monaghan then all apply for Laois job this year but were refused. So monaghan and both laois did not want them this year so Meath are his third choice.
- Who knows meath football best: Cooney/ fay/ Mc entee /Murtagh all are involved with senior teams all played for the county / at least 3 of them have all ireland senior medals playing for Meath all have meath football at heart.
- ok banty has trained a inter county team for six years which the other partnership has not but lets be honest two ulster finals in 6 years. EOB has a better record. and would the Co Boird appoint EOB again? Can anyone tell me what is the real difference about training a club team once the approach is professional and respected/ appreciated by the players and the only way you get an answer to that is ask the players who have played under both managers.-
- can anyone tell me what is the last county to win an All Ireland with an outside coach. Meath have never previously gone outside and have a good record in the All irelands. Sean Boylan was unknown when he was appointed and look what happened.

belladon (Meath) - Posts: 9 - 02/11/2010 10:12:43    807684

Easy on the smoke and mirrors there Beladon.

The last outside manager was John O'Mahony with Galway in 2001. I thought that one would stick out for all Meath supporters because we've pretty much been on a downward spiral since then.

Only 4 other counties have lifted SAM since then - so you're not really picking from a large sample to back up your argument either.
In relation to your comments on Sean Boylan's appointment. The man was one in a million, was and still is a very special individual and I don't think anybody else can really be compared to him.

I hate to be the one to tell you Belladon - but we're in the 21st century now and times are changing fast.
In actual fact - your own argument contradicts itself. Sean Boylan's appointment itself was a break from the mould - as he was fairly revolutionary for his time in relation to training, team selection, supplements and trips away. This shake-up under his stewardship was paramount in leading to a change in our fortunes. We're crying out now for another change to help us claw back ground on other counties who have progressed physically and tactically over the past decade.

Your suggestion to give the job to an "unknown" and let us hope for the best is an example of how we'll never progress like our rivals.
Not that I think you'll agree with me - that would be far too modern for your liking now wouldn't it?

BRING_ON_GURTY! (Meath) - Posts: 712 - 02/11/2010 10:43:04    807695

Surprise, surprise,
Board meeting postponed for another week
- wonder what solution is being considered now.
Cant help wondering that this seems kinda familiar in some way?

spillanesmeat (Meath) - Posts: 103 - 02/11/2010 11:14:52    807723

i actually find it laughable that meath people actually want a monaghan man to manage your intercounty team never mind the rest of his entourage , when i heard yous were giveing banty a interview never thought it would go this far .

mickduffy2009 (Monaghan) - Posts: 182 - 02/11/2010 11:57:27    807762

MICK DUFFY: i actually find it laughable that meath people actually want a monaghan man to manage your intercounty team never mind the rest of his entourage , when i heard yous were giveing banty a interview never thought it would go this far .

BANTY IS A GREAT MANAGER AND REALIZES HES CAME AS FAR AS HE CAN WITH MONAGHANS GROUP A PLAYERS.
HE COULD BE THE MAN TO LAND SAM FOR MEATH,HED NEED A 3 YEAR STINT THOUGH!

the seal (Meath) - Posts: 583 - 02/11/2010 12:43:38    807807

well im not surprised the meeting has been postponed, i was told over the weekend that cooney would get it, and then to my surprise i read the paper this morning and i see they were impressed with the monaghan man, so i guess more thinking time is required to officially make their minds up, hence why the meeting is postponed

The.Rock (Meath) - Posts: 582 - 02/11/2010 13:43:14    807868

why do the county board have to drag out any decision process put in front of them, could it be that they are once again devided down the middle on this one, it appears that they allways have to make things difficult for themselves who ever gets the job lets hope they keep it for a good few years as no one wants to see a repeat of the muppet show every one or two years.

meathandproud (Meath) - Posts: 37 - 02/11/2010 14:05:19    807886

Looks to me like the selection committee are divided on it. One day Cooney is odds-on, next day its McEnaney.

According to the article on this website, both names could be put forward which is absolutely ridiculous and will be scandalous if it does happen. The committee was set up to findone man to manage the county and yet they can't even do that; once again, like two years ago, they can't make up their minds. It just serves to show that the whole process is flawed

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 2022 - 02/11/2010 14:42:50    807903

GURTY
I am not caught in a time warp and quite frankly i have no problem having a parochial attitude to
who should manage the meath team, it has served us well up until now. I heard a rumour about
the money involved in getting "the amazing banty" and his team of heros on board and honestly
i think any such money should be fed into the under age seen instead.
Finally if you can see nothing wrong with outside managers then would you feel the same if players
were free to line out for any county they liked for example if the dubs approached cian ward and made
it worth his while donning the sky blue jersey or if bernard brogan was paid to play for meath sure
dosent it work great in england

atta (Meath) - Posts: 711 - 02/11/2010 15:03:07    807928

I Think That Gettin Banty In Will Bring This Team To Where They Want To Be. And I Think That Getting An Outsider To Manage Us Will Only Prove Positive. . . . . . .Break The Rot . . . . .

Barmatt (Meath) - Posts: 7 - 02/11/2010 15:06:48    807931

im confused here, if the county board jumped into a decision here everyone would be complaining that the decision was made too quickly. and why exactly would it be rediculous if 2 men were put forward? would this not result in a poll of the delegates and end up with the people of the county getting the man they want? and if they are split down the middle so what, opions differ...and what earthly difference will one more week make, id understand all the complaining if it ended up being dragged out for weeks on end. it jus seems to me that people just come on here to b*t*h and moan about every single decision thats made or to slag and belittle other clubs who take a beating or have a poor year etcetc.....its sickening

frankthetank (Meath) - Posts: 134 - 02/11/2010 15:08:33    807933

Atta - the comparison to soccer is just plain riduclous and doesnt have any place in this debate.
Can't say I'm surprised though - as its just another wild claim in an attempt to defect from the hard facts.

Of course I (and most others) would like a Meath man to manage the Meath team. But this should not be at the expense of getting the best candidate from the options left available. Have you ever heard of cutting your nose off etc..?

Please think of what you're saying here. You reckon that staying inside the county has done us grand up till now. Sean Boylan was in charge over 4 AIs. What have we won since he left? I'll tell you. 1 x O'Byrne, 1 x Div2 and 1 x Leinster - that we should not have even won. BTW they all came from 3 different managers. Hardly an all inspiring haul of silverware.

Now if you think the last 8 odd years was Meath football "doing grand" - then you settle for mediocrity. And that says all it needs to about you.

I'd love Gerry McEntee to be interested in this job - unfortunately, he's not. Out of who is interested - the "outsider" as you call him is by far the best propostion.

If you have a proper argument against that - come back to me.
If you want to compare our national games to english soccer - then don't bother.

BRING_ON_GURTY! (Meath) - Posts: 712 - 02/11/2010 15:47:49    807965

Frankthetank

I agree with ya. I don't see what's so wrong with the co board not all agreeing. Some people come on here & blame them for being yes men. Now they aren't and people still aren't happy. If they disagree, so be it, put it to the clubs then. That's all they are doing.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 02/11/2010 16:01:50    807974

I hope it goes to a vote at the next Co Board meeting because the Meath supporters I feel will go with 'Banty'. The county board gave them a vote on EOB going or staying so I hope they do the same for this situation. But why, o why have they put the meeting back for another week. They have had nearly 3 months now to find a manager and we have known who the final 2 (Cooney and McEeaney) are for nearly 3 weeks now and still they keep stalling. The right man for the job is Banty and I hope the county board realise this.

12Royal (Meath) - Posts: 987 - 02/11/2010 16:08:14    807982

On another point Atta - has your club always had a manager from inside the Parish?
Or always from inside the county?

Probably not.

And is there a mass exodus of players transferring from your club as a result?
No - probably not either.

BRING_ON_GURTY! (Meath) - Posts: 712 - 02/11/2010 16:10:33    807988

Interesting Interview here with Martin McElkennon last year http://www.facebook.com/topic.php?uid=137140795413&topic=7599

spillanesmeat (Meath) - Posts: 103 - 02/11/2010 16:52:22    808053

The seal
Banty didnt realizes he had taken players as far as he could. Monaghan club delegates did and got rid.

Delly (Monaghan) - Posts: 13 - 02/11/2010 17:00:42    808060