Replacing Eamon O'Brien - who should it be?

...who would be the main contenders to take over?

I was thinking about it this morning and, maybe I'm wrong, but there seems to be a lack of proven, successful managers within the county. Damien Sheridan is the only one who springs to mind.

However there is an abundance of former players with pockets full of medals but lack the experience of inter-county management. The likes of Darren Fay and Gerry McEntee been mentioned on this site but would they do a good job? Would we not be better off with an old head who knows all about the inter-county management scene, especially when you consider the stage of development that this current team is at?

Or is it time to look outside the county?

P.S. I know this thread is extremely premature given that Eamon has not signalled his intentions for next year as yet but please give your opinions as if he has decided to call it a day.

kennys_rath (Meath) - Posts: 80 - 25/08/2010 11:21:20    755722

i said it when he got the job that he was the wrong man. Luke Dempsey should have been given the chance. Granted we have a Leinster yet correct me if im wrong but i feel meath looked better last year

10theyear (Meath) - Posts: 58 - 25/08/2010 11:51:41    755770

I'd like to see the Pillar Caffrey given a shot.
He brought a professionalism to Dublins training and preperation that i feel is lacking in Meath.They won Leinster every year under him and should have won an all ireland only Kerry and tyrone were a lot stronger back then.The Dublin team are physically strong but also have pace,Our physically strong players are slow(Cian ward,Joe,Moyles) or are fast players are just a bit too weak(Chris o connor,Bray,Biggie).
Just a suggestion

BlackKettle (Meath) - Posts: 66 - 25/08/2010 12:39:26    755832

Looks like its not going to happen but I get the idea of the thread all the same. I wouldn't be totally against looking outside the county if a decent manager becomes available. Someone like Pete McGrath or Joe Kernan who have a proven track record and know what it takes to be successful.

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 2022 - 25/08/2010 12:56:07    755845

Jesus not Joe Kernan look what he did at Galway!

omahonys_man (Meath) - Posts: 229 - 25/08/2010 13:06:45    755859

BlackKettle

Please tell me your joking! Even Eamonn O'Brien would have won all those leinsters with the Dublin teams he had, Meath and Kildare were in transition during these years and it was Laois, Wexford and Westmeath who they were competing with them for Leinster.

And they should have won an All Ireland but Kerry and Tyrone were better. Thats like saying Meath should have won the All Ireland this year but Louth, Kildare, Dublin, Kerry, Cork, Tyrone, Monaghan and Down were better.

The Meath manager won't be an outside man while the lads at the top table are anyway involved. Luke Dempsey pretty much had the job after Coyle left and then the lads decided that they wanted to have another look and got their own man in.

Personally I wouldn't like to see an outside man come in right now. We need a manager who's familiar with the club scene, Senior, Intermediate and Junior. If an outside man came in, Im afraid he wouldn't know enough about club level and would probably stick with near enough the same panel. The current panel needs a serious shake up. There is far too much complacency in the squad with nearly all the same faces bar a few new panel members each year. Bring in some new blood, let the lads know that their place isnt guaranteed and make them work for their spot on the panel.

I'd also like to see Damien Sheridan, Gerry McEntee or Sean Kelly go for the job.

But it looks like we'll have to wait another year for any progress.

Fabio Capello (Meath) - Posts: 174 - 25/08/2010 13:22:55    755875

if were talking about an inside man ill suggest one name that will never happen for obvious reasons but hed be brilliant in the job imo.martin barry!!

stamullenman (Meath) - Posts: 392 - 25/08/2010 14:15:00    755976

Can we please stop the talk of "If Eamon goes.....".

At present, he is the manager until decided otherwise, therefore we should give him our backing. This talk of ousting the manager and tabloid drivel should be left to the Englsih premiership and the Jackeens, not a respected footballing county like Meath. Only when the County Board or manager decide a change is required should we be having this discussion.

I think a debate about a new manager is worthwhile, but only when the position bcomes open. Until then, we shoudl give our support to the current regime.

DowdtoFoleyGoal (Meath) - Posts: 292 - 25/08/2010 14:39:26    755999

He made it very clear that it was purely a hypothetical question. A lot of Meath supporters feel that EOB should be replaced and while it is still an outside bet it is definitely a topic which is appropriate and relevant to Meath GAA. And not once was there any suggestion of geting rid of Eamon.

I agree with the point that there is a shortage of managers within the county who could do a better job than the current manager. I would be against introducing a novice like Fay/Dowd/McEntee. My preference would be an outsider, someone who has been there and has the CV to prove it, with perhaps somone like Fay as his right hand man to provide an insight into the club scene.

I wouldn't mind having big Joe Kernan in charge. Galway haven't the players anymore so you can't blame him completely for their poor year. I also like the sound of Pete McGrath who I have always admired as a manager. Micko would do a good job but is not a long term solution as we would not get more than two years out of him and I doubt very much that he would be interested. Seamus McEnaney did a great job in transforming Monaghan into a team just outside the top tier. Would he be the man to bring us into the top bracket?

royal_green (Meath) - Posts: 96 - 25/08/2010 15:30:06    756086

We have a good manager as it is lads

leinsterchamps (Meath) - Posts: 4 - 27/08/2010 11:42:26    757633

Gerry McEntee who is very highly regarded in Dublin and who has the force of personality required to jolt the current squad out of their torpor and re-acquaint them with the never say die values of the teams of the 1980s and 1990s; qualities that became synonymous with Meath football more than any other county in the land for over fifteen years. That quality is in danger of being lost to Meath for good under the current management. There is a vapid show boating quality about the current squad not present in the great teams of the past, and a palpable lack of steel and inner strength, and it screams of weak management.

In truth though, I would like to Colm O'Rourke to get off the fence of punditry, abandon the excuse that he does not want to be involved with Meath while his Shane is trying to make his way in the team, and offer up his services for three years. I am sure that he does not want to do that because it would mean temporarily sacrificing his RTE job. I wholly understand why he would not want to do that but let us be clear, there is no one in the country with a better footballing brain or a better understanding both of the tactics and mentality needed at the highest level of inter-county football than the peerless Colm O'Rourke.

Success is an organic and self-perpetuating thing. It is perhaps the one and inexplicable failing of the great team of 1986-1991 that so few players on a team that had so many natural leaders on the field have gone on to lead Meath football off it. I hope that after Eamon O'Brien's time is done that that will change.

Meath1986 (Dublin) - Posts: 247 - 27/08/2010 14:50:15    757902

Was there an upheaval last night?

Where to now then?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 07/09/2010 08:07:29    767131

o brien was voted out 32-29 surprised in once sense cause thought he was gonna be kept but happy he is gone no offence to the man but 2 subs in a leinster final wit 7 mins 2 go and 2 mins in an all ireland quater final wit 10 mins 2 go not good enough,sean kelly to take the job hopefully

Cattleplayer (Meath) - Posts: 123 - 07/09/2010 09:33:46    767176

Yea it looks as if his lack of speed to act on the line has cost him. I don't buy into the theory that it was a rebellion against the County Board for not granting Louth a replay. Now lets hope they handle the next appointment with a bit more professionalism and not make us a laughing stock again.

What about appointing a young man with fresh ideas in the Down or Kildare mould? It's definitely an attractive job right now with the current squad we have.

Dickie (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 07/09/2010 09:45:55    767188

This was started as a new thread and has been moved here to keep all relevant discussion in the one place.

Jinxie

767140 So who do people want?

Who'll be the front runners?

Is there enough within the county?

From outside the county I'd go for Pete McGrath.
07/09/2010 09:36:53
Cattleplayer

767179 Sean kelly even tho i know he said he was taking a year out but i dont think he expected EOB to be gone id defo ave him as manager

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 07/09/2010 09:55:15    767203

sean kelly is a top manager he should be given a chance

sam1996 (Meath) - Posts: 436 - 07/09/2010 10:08:13    767223

Why is Sean Kelly being mentioned left, right and centre when he's already ruled himself out of the camp for the year?

Dickie (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 07/09/2010 10:12:21    767230

give it to an ousider dear god can they not see thats what is needed. oh wouldn micko do some job

10theyear (Meath) - Posts: 58 - 07/09/2010 10:18:04    767238

Will the CB look outside the county with the real intention of actually hiring someone or will they do their usual trick of interviewing lads just to look like they're doing something.

They'll probably hire someone from Meath so candidites at the moment would be.

Damien Sheridan (Would he go for it given he could have 3 sons on the panel and possibly nephews as well? )
Sean Kelly (Would of left the "books" for another year if he'd known what would happen last night)
Gerry McEntee
Graham Geraghty
Darren Fay

Fabio Capello (Meath) - Posts: 174 - 07/09/2010 10:30:21    767257

there will be a load of names thrown around like seamus mcananey, micko, pilar caffery, joe kiernan but lets face it the county board wont go outside the county so that really only leaves a small numer of men for the job kearney or sheridan would probably be front runners on this list but id like to see finian murtagh be given a shot at the job

late_and_high (Meath) - Posts: 130 - 07/09/2010 10:39:46    767268