Connacht Championship - 4 Like(s)
This thread has gone nuts altogether.
Bashing, slating and criticising people would ye ever cop on.
Terry Hyland is going nowhere. If he had to manage Leitrim with a pick of Junior B players for the next 5 years I'd let him.
One bad result v a team light years ahead of us doesn't change the progress made.
Even if we end up one and done in the qualifiers what harm. Lads go back to clubs and the county gets ready to go again in October / November.
Times are bad when a Roscommon poster ( even if it is someone who always talks sense and is not a troll like TheAnalyser ) is talking more sense than Leitrim posters.
Emlyn has left the panel. Fair enough. His decision. Good luck to him. Owes us very little. Would happily have him back at any stage.
No confirmation as to whether Gary has left or not. I'm sure he's frustrated at a lack of game time but even still. His decision. Good luck to him. Owes us nothing. Gave unreal commitment for years.
Talk of any other younger players leaving is just conjecture. Tabloid doublespeak. Nonsense.
Should not be posted unless it's relatively verifiable as Emlyn's news was in a national paper yesterday ( albeit a tabloid )
Doesn't do the county set up any good at all.
Leave it off.
I'm disgusted to think all the progress and good feeling built up this year is in danger of being blown up in the space of a few days.
Will we ever learn?
Dodgy_Pass (Leitrim) - 16/05/2019 17:25:52
Leitrim GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Shane Ward is taking the Leitrim Colleges A Team this year.
New minor management has been chosen and is subject to ratification. Will be a good appointment.
Dodgy_Pass (National) - 19/10/2024 16:48:46
Leitrim GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Leitrim finally given four home games in the League in 2023.
Great start at home in round one but 8 points (7 at least) will be a necessity before the final three games.
Home v Waterford
Away v London
Away v Wexford
Home v Carlow
Away v Wicklow
Home v Laois
Home v Sligo
Dodgy_Pass (National) - 08/12/2022 17:28:34
County Panel 2019 - 2 Like(s)
Has indeed trialled with Roscommon in recent weeks.
Dodgy_Pass (Leitrim) - 10/12/2018 19:41:59
Qualifiers 2019 - 1 Like(s)
Correct me if I'm wrong but we played Clare in 2014 under Hagan and drew down there .. looked good for promotion that year too til we went down and lost to Waterford below in Waterford ..
Clare are climbing since.
Dodgy_Pass (Leitrim) - 10/06/2019 22:37:07
Leitrim v Waterford - 1 Like(s)
Some observations based on the game
A second ever qualifier win but doesn't feel like it, and didn't feel like it in Carrick today. No atmosphere or buzz in Pairc Seán. Standard akin to an NFL or even an FBD game. I think thats because despite the win, it does not indicate any progress. We are as we were.
As one article noted today, we are statistically the two worst teams on the island of Ireland. That hasn't changed after today.
€20 in a bit steep also.
We beat a very, very poor Waterford side who had only trained twice since their loss to Cork owing to club hurling commitments.
Waterford very poor in front of goal. Kicked a lot of wides, as did Leitrim. Five scores in the second half against them is a very poor return.
Had we lost Ward's position would have been completely untenable.
Full foward line minus Kennedy were ineffective. Croal offered nothing and Wrynn got little or no serviceable ball, so why was he left there? See Cavan's approach with long high ball today for how it should be done.
Widely known throughout the county that G Reynolds injured, he got it very hard to move out there today.
That said, the team did play relatively direct in the first half and it paid dividends. The lads did their best and deserved the win.
We can be drawn against losers of Dublin / Meath, losers of Cavan / Tyrone, Sligo or Clare.
Unless we get Sligo we will go no further, and even at that, do we have the stuff to keep Breheny, Hughes, Marren and co. quiet?
Unlikely.
Dodgy_Pass (Leitrim) - 19/06/2016 22:19:22
Leitrim GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
Senior Championship
Ballinamore, Mohill, Leitrim Gaels, St Mary's, Glencar Manor, Aughawillan, Fenagh, Gortletteragh, Melvin Gaels, Dromahair
Intermediate Championship
Ballinaglera, Allen Gaels, Kiltubrid , Annaduff, Aughavas, Drumkeerin, Drumreilly , Bornacoola, Aughnasheelin, Mohill
Carrigallen, Glenfarne Kilty, Eslin, Cloone the four 1st teams playing in the Junior A Championship
Dodgy_Pass (National) - 29/06/2022 18:37:22
Replying To TaytoFoley: "Anyone know when the club championship draws are being made?" First round being drawn in Páirc Seán after the Div 1 League Final 6th August, rounds 2-4 drawn every subsequent Sunday evening.
First Round starting Friday 12th.
Dodgy_Pass (National) - 28/06/2022 17:51:41
Replying To masseyferguson: "Have we any challenge games lined up does anyone know" We beat Longford in a challenge game last Saturday.
Think they've something lined up for this weekend too.
Dodgy_Pass (National) - 05/04/2022 17:45:02
Shane Moran is not on the panel to the best of my knowledge, although I'm open to correction on that. Niall McGovern wasn't even called in for trials. Prior, D McGovern and Maxwell the only SOH reps on the panel going from match programs so far.
Also I believe there was an injury concern re Mark Plunkett hence the halftime substitution. He is perhaps our best all rounder outfield player, and we were worse round the middle in the second half for want of him.
RE the venues, there is far more parking at Bekan than at the Leitrim COE. Far far more. Also Bekan is far more easily accessible than Leitrim CoE in terms of catering for traffic volumes. Turning out onto a very narrow strip of the N4 with no proper lighting or roadmarkings indicating same is a disaster for catering to a crowd at Annaduff. There was pandemonium when an FBD game was played there a few years back. although it is a convenient excuse for the Co. Board not to have to play any club games etc there. While it's great to have it I always get the feeling it's a half finished job when you compare it to the Sligo CoE in Scarden in terms of amount of pitches, parking, final finish on the outside of the building etc etc.
While it is unfortunate that we have conceded H2H to London, we had 7 scores and as many if not more wides at HT to their two. In less equalising conditions we would have been able to absorb the hit their goals gave them and would have won. While London will improve as they go, they will likely lose to both Cavan & Sligo, and perhaps Tipp (who had a much stronger team named for their postponed game v Wexford than the one that started against us) which will help. Sligo will be heavy underdogs playing Cavan which would leave them with 10 points if they lose, before they play us (also providing they beat Tipp which is by no means a certainty)
Promotion may appear gone on paper but there will be a few more surprises in this Division yet. It isn't totally beyond the realms of possibility that the Round 7 game could decide who goes up along with Cavan. Far from being carried away like some others have suggested I would be of the opinion that Sligo are a better team than us, have better scoring forwards, and are a taller / more physical team down their spine / middle third. It would hard to argue otherwise. They're also further along their development with a year in the bag with McEntee. However I certainly wouldn't be afraid of them in a winner takes all game in Markievicz.
Despite the above, no more losses can be countenanced, even if it's just for the sake of building up momentum for Ruislip. Being in with a shout of promotion come round 7 with two losses and only 1 home game to come would be a colossal bonus.
Dodgy_Pass (National) - 22/02/2022 17:18:20
Waterford and Armagh are currently or may have recently completed the first two purpose built LGFA grounds in the country if I'm not mistaken.
Also to that recent poster, it's a scandal that Leitrim LGFA aren't allowed or have to play for use of the CoE especially when was a lot of onus put on clubs to raise money for that particular initiative and yet it was booked out solid for use by clubs in Sligo / Roscommon / Mayo for training during the club championship last year, and Leitrim clubs couldn't get a look in.
I'd be hoping somewhere in the region of 10-15% of the total raised goes to the LGFA. Can't see it happening.
Dodgy_Pass (National) - 14/02/2022 17:38:45
Replying To DontMindMe: "Fair play for taking the time to compile the list but you could've spent it much better by doing some proper research. Genuinely awful ball knowledge.
Named two lads from my own club that aren't guaranteed starters amongst several others that shouldn't be near a county set up as would rarely (if at all) be stand out for their clubs. In an ideal world, the county manager would go and watch the junior final, intermediate quarter/semi onwards and senior quarter/semi onwards and make their decision on players based off that. I also think selectors/representatives should attend early league games to spot talent throughout the year particularly in division 1 and division 2 and the panel should not be closed.
I am from a mid sized club and therefore do not have a "big-club" bias but feel If a team doesn't make it to the knockout stages, it is extremely unlikely they have a county grade player in their ranks particularly in intermediate or junior - never mind teams being relegated from their respective grades. It is also irrelevant if they were good underage players - it often doesn't translate up to senior as different distractions come into play and therefore players shouldn't be "invited" into county panels unless its on merit based off their performances for their senior club teams - I could think of a few named above for example.
A county team should be backboned by the senior championship finalists of which Mohill/Ballinamore easily harbour 15 county standard players between them as do Fenagh and St Mary's. Thereafter, you go through the most competitive teams and/or standout players in the different grades and fill in the panel accordingly or even have open trials that players can elect to attend opposed to being invited - you wouldn't be long halving the the above list and finding a few more worthy players too." For the sake of clarity, so as not to upset any more esteemed posters, I would draw attention to the first part of my offending post where I did say that those names would merit being called in for a few in house games like the recent interpros, not for automatic inclusion onto a panel or even an extended panel, and also that the idea of it would be that any young player early 20s etc would have to perform well on a good club footballer in a couple of trial games to see is he worth consideration long term?
On another point, just because some lads don't start for the club doesn't mean the should be excluded from selection, in particular, Mohill, Ballinamore, and St Mary's have players who don't always make their starting 15 but have been on U20 teams this year and last, and others have the size / strength required to make it at inter county level. Naturally for the majority of cases starting for your club would be a prerequisite but in a county like ours with the numbers we're working off dismissing a player on that score is lowest common denominator stuff altogether.
It's all academic anyway, given Barry McWeeney and to a lesser extent Jones are providing continuity such exercises won't be needed, but Andy Moran cast a much wider net than that with 80+ players trialled over two nights when he was appointed first to get a good feel for what was in the county, and if a new appointment at senior level isn't a good time to restock the shelves, then you'd wonder what's the point?
As regards some of your own observations, - I also think selectors/representatives should attend early league games to spot talent throughout the year particularly in division 1 and division 2 and the panel should not be closed. - The "early league games" are in late May and early June, by which time Leitrim have already finished their main competition i.e. the NFL, and Connacht. Not sure what use bringing in players to the panel at that late stage of the inter county year would be.
- If a team doesn't make it to the knockout stages, it is extremely unlikely they have a county grade player in their ranks particularly in intermediate or junior - never mind teams being relegated from their respective grades. - Leitrim teams down the years have always contained representation from teams who were never in with a shout of winning a Senior
A county team should be backboned by the senior championship finalists of which Mohill/Ballinamore easily harbour 15 county standard players between them as do Fenagh and St Mary's. - I'd think you'd find my initial hypothetical situation would result in that anyways, but if Ballinamore are by your logic expected to contribute towards "15 county standard players", they only managed to contribute Tom Prior for the majority of 2024? You also have the case of players like the Harkins who are tailor made for the inter county game but are consistently happy to remain club players? Just because 2+ clubs have the ability to backbone a senior side, doesn't mean they will. Abbeylara won a championship over the border with 2 county players, and may only have 4 on next years panel so that doesnt hold much water?
open trials that players can elect to attend opposed to being invited - a lovely idea in theory, but I've never heard tell of it in any county at adult level, unless it's Masters.
As for my genuinely awful ball knowledge, I'm sorry if I left your name off my initial list!
Dodgy_Pass (National) - 04/11/2024 18:10:22
Leitrim Inter-County 2020 - 1 Like(s)
Think it's a bit early to be condemning the 20's lads.
First run out against a very good Fermanagh backboned by an All Ireland Colleges A winning team.
Hugely understrength today against a very good Longford team only short 2/3 players.
They haven't an easy task against Mayo I think, on 15th Feb so it's all about development and progression and performances from them at the minute.
Hard to get continuity with most of the starters being needed by the Senior team tomorrow but that's just the way it fell.
Dodgy_Pass (Leitrim) - 11/01/2020 17:19:34
New Leitrim Manager - 1 Like(s)
Replying To bananapublican: "Agree with previous poster, the suggested management team is window dressing. John O Mahoney didn't do a lot with Mayo last time around, Benny Gickian has an awful record, Colin Regan is unproven, Now give Moyles the job or at least a minor/U21 panel as he has pedigree and same with Rooney or Gary Donohoe. They have been parts of successful teams. Don't sell ourselves short again. That suggested team has too many chiefs to succeed, Cody puts quiet men around him as has all winning managers in the past. A consultation with Declan Darcy has to be done before any appointment is made." A consultation with Declan Darcy has to be done before any appointment is made
Why so?
Dodgy_Pass (Leitrim) - 20/08/2016 14:11:05
New Leitrim Manager - 1 Like(s)
Replying To Robroy1: "Think some of us need to get our heads out of our asses, dodgy_pass the major consensus in my home is that we want to win the lotto every Friday night, doesn't mean it will happen, do ye forget we are a poor division 4 team, yet we want an established inter county manager to step down levels to come in and sort out the mess.....not going happen ,,, Get real. Plus the fact Jim Mcguinees, Stephen Rochford, James Horan , Jim Gavin to name but a few ... None of these had previous intercounty senior management positions ... To write of any man that is interested in this headache is just disrespectful , time to get a bit realistic ... The best we can hope for is someone who has a good reputation in the county to head things up, a good young coach who understands the modern game and is respected by the players and set goals to get out of division 4 in two years.... Then and only then may we entice your big name managers who will wave their magic wands and sort everything" The best we can hope for is someone who has a good reputation in the county to head things up, a good young coach who understands the modern game and is respected by the players
That more or less sounds like Shane Ward ... and that appointment didn't exactly improve things.
Dodgy_Pass (Leitrim) - 08/08/2016 14:15:29
Leitrim Hurling 2018 / League / Meagher Cup - 1 Like(s)
Just to give a bit of praise to the lads at the small ball, a great win today vs Fermanagh and one that should see them into the League final if they beat Cavan
It'd be great to see the hurlers building on the Meagher Cup Final appearance last year by getting promotion after losing out by a puck of a ball a few years ago.
Hopefully we can have a bit of discussion / positive vibes about them on this forum as their season ticks on
I'm sure they'll have the late Paddy Phelan in their thoughts in their pursuit of success this year too.
Best of luck to them.
Dodgy_Pass (Leitrim) - 18/02/2018 22:50:43
National League 2018 - 1 Like(s)
@Leitrim1234 You've hit on another thing I had neglected to mention. Leitrim is small. Everyone knows everyone. Smaller again in GAA circles. Part of the reason nobody speaks up, nobody wants to upset anyone else. Now while some may say ' well you do it so ' the point I'm making is the same as you. That 'softly softly' mentality contributes to our bad decision making, RE management, finances etc etc. Clubs guilty of it too Remember the proposal to reduce leagues to 10 teams? Defeated because clubs too focused on worrying they would be one of the 4 or 6 teams relegated from Div 2 & 3? The mind boggles.
@Thisisit I've said that going back a while. Target getting out of Div 4 in a two year period, then staying in Div 3. Give new man in a chance to implement structures. A head first charge for promotion can leave a sour tinge if it doesn't work out for whatever reason. Not an excuse for poor results in Year 1 though and if it came then all the better. I'd agree with your post for the most part. Still though, don't trust the Co. Board to source and appeal to managers of that calibre on their own. Hence the recommendation and approach through someone like Declan Darcy.
Dodgy_Pass (Leitrim) - 12/02/2018 13:48:11
National League 2018 - 1 Like(s)
Replying To ThisIsIt: "To be fair to the current county board they have annaduff up and running and 2 new coaching officers in james clancy and Enda Lyons who are starting at grass roots with the acadameys. Although I agree the appointments of county mangers has been bad. Yes the current manger is doing his best and I doubt any of us are having as many sleepless nights as Benny is having, trying to come up with a solution. Unfortunately the only solution is for him and his backroom staff to step aside. No way we will beat New York like this. I have no doubt if we picked out 15 players who are not playing for leitrim and put them against the starting 15 today the non county players would win and win easy.
1. C. Maguire
2. Alan Wynne
3. Ronan gallagher
4. Gary Renoylds
5. Wayne McKeown
6. Paul Brennan
7. Paddy Maguire
8. Shane Moran
9. Pearse Dolan
10. Kevin Conlon
11. Mark Plunkett
12. Fergal Clancy
13. Ronan Kennedy
14. Conor Beirne
15. Gary Plunkett
Now granted some of these players have messed about with leitrim and maybe are the reason we are where we are but that 15 would beat the current 15 handy. I'm prob missing a few players as well." Not all those players are unavailable due to an issue with the management. Sadly being from Leitrim has a lot to do with it. Jobs and Careers necessitate moving away and football becomes less of a priority.
It is an issue I have often had with the mentality of our Co. Board in the last 10 years along with their seeming inability to source funds from places like London, NY etc for the funding of our teams, and yes that is a reference to attracting managers of a high calibre. Not just big names but managers of pedigree. Crazy to think clubs in Leitrim and neighbouring counties can afford managment teams that far surpass ours in terms of pedigree.
Make no mistake about it if Conlan, Brennan, The Beirne Brothers, Fergal Clancy etc could have sourced work in or close to Leitrim they would be in a position to commit to county football
Co. Board need to be proactive in this, make the phone calls that need making etc etc. to ensure lads are staying around.
They've never gone out of their way to ensure the best 25-30 lads in the county were in a position to give their lives to the cause of playing for Leitrim for a consistent period i.e. 3-4 years.
Pulling 15 players names off the top of your head who aren't around / interested / available and saying they'd beat what's there doesn't contribute to the debate or address the issues at hand in any meaningful way.
Dodgy_Pass (Leitrim) - 04/02/2018 23:52:14
Club Players Association - 1 Like(s)
Would certainly agree with you there. All of the players you mentioned good candidates, possibly some of the more recent inter county retirees who are still active at club level such as Danny Beck, Enda Lyons, Cathal McCrann along with someone with more of a proflie such as Colin Regan would be good men to lead the charge with the CPA in Leitrim
Dodgy_Pass (Leitrim) - 10/01/2017 10:33:04
Leitrim panel 2017 - 1 Like(s)
The fact of the matter is that there is players such as Paul Brennan, Wayne McKeon, Cathal McCrann who are still head and shoulders above who has been on last years panel. They will all be called up, whether or not they go is another thing but having them in an extended training squad will allow for the younger players to measure up and lift themselves to get to that standard.
Dodgy_Pass (Leitrim) - 07/10/2016 11:09:44