Mayo Kerry League Final - 4 Like(s)
Replying To Vish: "The sun shiner mayo fans will show up for the game 10/15 mins before kick-off,
The footballing fans without rose tinted specs will be in croke park already with 1 eye on the Galway/Ross game," You can slag off Mayo about plenty of stuff, but they have the best support in the country bar none. Strange comment.
Backheel (National) - 03/04/2022 14:06:51
Dublin V Kerry - 3 Like(s)
Replying To Peadarw: "genuine question
how did sean o se escape a card of any sort there
other teams getting straigh red for dangerous shoulders but he didnt try toe poke that in he went for it full pelt ...dangerous in my opinion ..thoughts ?" I agree. He went for man an ball. Wreckless and dangerous play which is at least a yellow. No skin in the game. The better team won. But O Shea shouldn't have been on the pitch at the end picking up yellow in the second.
Backheel (National) - 10/07/2022 18:08:07
Leitrim GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Replying To joeman123: "Congratulations to Leitrim GAA on getting the management appointments concluded and n record time in the case of the senior appointment.
I am delighted with all of the appointments.Despite the despair following Mickey Graham's shock departure I believe there is excellent young talent,particularly class forwards emerging.
We really have to applaud the CB on how they have reacted to the crises. Upwards and onwards." The problem is Leitrim have more talent in the forward line than the backs. Poacher is known for his defensive football. The new rules will not suit his brand of football. I hope I am wrong but this ain't going to be pretty I fear.
Backheel (National) - 26/10/2024 14:08:40
Monaghan GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Replying To Mickod88: "Here here, someone told me that Galway beat Tryone in the pub and it dawned on me - for someone that'd consider himself a huge fan of the GAA, I didn't even realise the game was on and whats worse is that I honestly didn't care?
This craic of putting on a hape of meaningless games and putting them behind a paywall is absolutely turning my stomach. They're absolutely flogging the players for financial gain
The worst thing about the whole setup is that Mayo, Dublin and Kerry can be beat 2 or 3 times in the championship and we'll still have to look at one or both of them on All-Ireland day. The whole thing is a hiding to nothing for the likes of ourselves, Kildare, Roscommon, Derry, Armagh, Cork, Westmeath, Down, Meath, Etc... Gone are the days of a team getting on a good run and a big dog getting caught on the hop. The All-Ireland in now just like the champions league in soccer (By Design) where unless something goes drastically wrong, you'll be seeing Madrid v Barca v Bayern v EPL v PSG year in year out..
I personally couldn't care less about an All-Ireland of Kerry v Dublin this year, yeah great footballers but whats the fun in it? It'd be great for the likes of Armagh or Roscommon to win it for a change - they'd actually savour it.
But no, this new money grab setup has killed the whole ethos of the game and has ensured that no matter what - the big money counties will be there on the big day. Puke." Such nonsense this format is based on feedback and in response to players and supporters complaining about the previous format some people never happy.
Backheel (National) - 30/05/2023 09:08:23
Late County Finals - Split Season - 3 Like(s)
Maybe I am missing something, but does the split season not offer the opportunity to play off club championships earlier. The most important club matches in almost all counties are being played in appalling conditions. Surely the opportunity to finish most championships by Mid September is a possibility.
Backheel (National) - 14/10/2022 17:05:06
Fermanagh GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Replying To AuldGussie: "Thank you Sean, Ryan and Conall for your years of service to our Fermanagh team. It's great to see the wisdom within them to know when to graciously bow out and make way for others to follow in their footsteps. However, a few of their teammates have yet to wake up to the fact that their best days are over having put self ego or misled loyalty as their rational for keeping their place on the gravy train." The gravy train :)? Are you joking? You clearly have no idea what it takes to be a senior intercounty player. It certainly isn't a gravy train. Your comment is very disrespectful to the lads and ladies who put the time and commitment into pulling on the county jersey. Wise up.
Backheel (National) - 02/12/2023 14:46:26
Tailteann Cup Attendances - 2 Like(s)
Replying To Galway9801: "Why would it mean everything tho?
You can call it the "hallowed turf" etc but when kids get to play their little blitzes there as you mentioned you just know there's nothing special about it anymore." Big county privilege. Just because it means nothing to you. It smacks of arrogance. Do you you think it's possible that other people feel differently than you about the experience of playing in croker. Leitrim senior footballers played there in 2019 division 4 final. It drew a huge crowd (relative to our population). It was a fantastic occasion for us with old friends meeting up and supporting our county there. Perhaps your attitude is indicative of why your senior team playing in a croke park with no atmosphere.
Backheel (National) - 10/06/2022 11:56:36
Leitrim GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Replying To howdareu: "Not negative at all. What makes you say that?" I thought you were ratty too.
Backheel (National) - 29/05/2022 10:21:52
Replying To MarysMan123: "Anyone find it a bit ridiculous that Ballinamore will have home advantage in the county final this year? I think it is completely unfair on other teams that have trained all year for this occasion to have this disadvantage going into the biggest games of their lives!
Home advantage was the only reason they got over the line against St Mary's yesterday. Mary's would've bet them off the park in any other venue." I presume this a joke. Ballinamore is the second pitch in the county so while pairc Sean is out the biggest games should be played there. Or do you suggest that semi finals and finals that involve Mary's should be played outside Carrick. As Mary's play all their big games in their home town. Pairc Sean has always been a de facto home ground for ye.
Backheel (National) - 23/09/2024 16:11:43
I see Ryan O Rourke posting video for 50 mile challenge. Bodes well for his participation with the squad this year despite what many of the Anti Andy brigade have been saying.
Backheel (National) - 12/12/2023 21:47:31
It's all doom and gloom here. If Poacher can get 25 or thirty committed lads and sets higher standards for what is potentially a really good crop of young players coming through in the next few years. I think it will be the best thing we do. Delighted we got promoted last year but the reality is it was more through luck than design. The worst that can happen is we get relagated and completely flop in the championship which I think would have happened with any of our previous managers.
Backheel (National) - 08/01/2025 21:23:42
Replying To TJH: "Dreadful performance tonight. Only 4 Ryan in the 1st half we were bet out d gate. Shouldn't be happening against a poor Waterford side" I think you're having something of an identity crisis there sunshine. We? Unusual for a Sligo supporter to refer to Leitrim as we. Or are you mixing up your user names. But in to the match. Job done should have won by far more. Hopefully we can get revenge on Longford who must be at a low ebb after the pasting they got from Kildare.
Backheel (National) - 12/05/2024 11:02:24
Ulster Club Football Championship - 2 Like(s)
Replying To Saynothing: "Dromore won championship and fair play but Errigal would have beat Derrygonnelly. If Errigal could win next year they'll not be far off Ulster. A lot of fire power up front." Mayo beat Dublin but Dublin would have beat Tyrone in All Ireland Final. So what. Fair play to Derrygonnelly. You sound bitter.
Backheel (National) - 19/12/2021 12:38:57
Sad news on the passing of John O Mahoney a gentleman who instilled badly needed belief into Leitrim players. While he was working with a fantastic group. I am not sure anyone else could have got us over the line. RIP Jonno.
Backheel (National) - 07/07/2024 12:08:52
Leitrim GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
Replying To sparkie: "100% favourites
Are the 3 jones living in the village?" Don't know they're hard to keep up with.
Backheel (National) - 29/01/2025 21:20:30
Sky Sports To Stop Showing GAA - 1 Like(s)
Replying To MesAmis: "BBCNI GAA coverage is excellent. As others have said you can get it in Britain if you so wish." Bbc NI coverage is like hurling coverage can't say a bad word about the games. A bit delusional.
Backheel (National) - 25/10/2022 10:37:31
Replying To realdub: "Hi folks, hope to relocate to Dromahair in the next few years, maybe I can teach the wee St Patrick's lads how to beat Galway/Mayo etc : D
Which pub should be my local?" Stanfords lovely pub. But it won't take you too long to check them all out.
Backheel (National) - 18/07/2022 18:47:31
Replying To eoinog: "I'm always amused when people complain about the county board like as if they are a completely different identity. The Co Board is made up of club delegates and sub cttees at co board level is also made up of club volunteers. So when the Co Board need money of course it falls back to the club's. It may not be popular but that's how it works." The point is that the county board shouldn't be going to clubs looking for money. If the JP money wasn't there they would raise the money. The financial management of the county board is being questioned and how spending is prioritised. It isn't even February and they are going back to the same people looking for money.
Clubs are also struggling and need to prioritise investing money to grass roots and not only the intercounty scene where a large percentage of the boards money goes. It is felt by many that the resurfacing on the county pitch should have been prioritised over county team expenses.
Backheel (National) - 20/02/2024 20:25:45
Replying To Willies24: "Longford won 19-10 on Saturday afternoon. Very poor performance from Leitrim. Keith Beirne and Cillian Gaffey both injured and didn't feature. From accounts coming from within the setup the atmosphere and set up is very poor and unorganised. We can blame Mickey all we want but all we know is that Mark Plunkett and Pearse Dolan were the only definite departures from the squad. How has a manager allowed the following list of players to depart the setup.
Open to correction on this but are the following players not back this year?
Nevin O Donnell
Aidan Flynn
Conor Reynolds
Radick Oberwan
Arek Oberwan
Jack Gilheaney
Jamie Mcgreal
Tom Hughes
Paul Moran
Oisin McLoughlin
Jack Casey
Darragh Rooney
Niall Walsh
Donal Rynn
Paul Moran
Jake Tobin
Jordi Reynolds
18 Players and they would probably beat the current Leitrim team.
Rumour abound that Ryan wont be committing as-well this year and Shane Quinn will departing in February. Donal Casey will be missing for the first 4 rounds of the league. Alot of people were not happy with Andy Morans term and im still on the fence but the now i'm beginning to think he did a good job. Got promoted out of a league where Wexford, Laois, Longford(bar a bad run last year) are better than us and Tipperary and Carlow are on par with us. Im not sure with the current squad that we would have won many games in Division 4 never mind Division 3. There was consistency within the team and always positive messages coming from the players within the setup. I would question as to how Poacher has let this happen during his term. Alot of the negativity that is mentioned with his name seems to be coming to fruition. Announcing Barry McWeeney in the management team was a brilliant move as he is Leitrim football and would carry through he continuity from the last 3 years but he was allowed to setup away and take the 20's job. Great for the 20's but he should have been kept in the senior setup A big blow to the management team. Again how has poacher allowed this to happen. We announced a new goalkeeping coach but my understanding is the guy involved (Sharkey) the last two years was back in training the lads but left the management setup. Again why?
I fear for the year ahead, we seem to be regressing and the other teams seem to be moving forward. No good having the recent success underage if we cannot provide a pathway to a good senior setup." How did Poacher let this happen? You're blaming the man for the problems in Leitrim football before he even starts. There are loads of players on that list that wouldn't be near a Leitrim first team.
Backheel (National) - 23/12/2024 13:12:24
Mayo GAA Thread - 1 Like(s)
Replying To Gleebo: "DOC broke through to the senior team in 2015, Paddy Durcan in 2016, they're hardly new additions in fairness! Ruane would probably have joined them back then but for injuries.
None of those players can match Keith Higgins for sheer pace, and IMO we lost a bit of power around the middle when Donie Vaughan and Colm Boyle retired/became squad players.
McLaughlin has speed but his poor distribution often negates it.
At the moment, we are definitely lacking some pace in our forward line, though ROD coming back would improve that situation." Lack of intercounty standard forwards rather than pace problem in your forwardline at the minute.
Backheel (National) - 16/06/2022 12:57:15