Congratulations to Cavan and their stewards on the game yesterday. The pitch looked immaculate even with the heavy rain and the stewards were most informative and friendly. Special word to the stewards on the open seating at the car park end of the covered stand. They were helpful and welcoming and even brought some people cardboard from the shop to help with the wet seats. I can't believe there was only 22,000 at the game and looked more like 28,000. After the Donegal game v Tyrone serious questions were asked about the official attendance and likely that it was more than released too. The traffic issue is always and issue when you have this many people coming into any town and when you've travelled to games all your life you expect it and just accept it. Well done again to all the people involved with yesterdays game.
Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1686 - 24/06/2013 13:45:02
opa01 County: Cavan Posts: 147
1414011 Newstalk announced over 22k there yesterday but I was there and there wasn't much room to spare. We were late in due to traffic from Belturbet on and were blocked from getting in behind the town goals as was full. So if the capacity is 29k I'd say there was over 25k there.
I walked around the park yesterday and I was trying to estimate the crowed I thought there was around 24000 as there was ample space at the electronic score board end and the seated area to the right of that end plus on the left of that end as well. In 2008 Cavan V Armagh I think the match was we had a full house so we have the space. They said the south terrace was full but I could see loads of space. The traffic situation was well handled around Cavan Town the problems were the traffic coming from Derrylin through Belturbet meeting up with traffic coming from Enniskillen and Leggykelly but respect to the Gardai they handled it well. All foot supporters were gone from Breffni Park from what I could see in around 20 minutes so that was good. There was ample parking places as well. The atmosphere in the park was brilliant so keep these matches coming. :) It would be a shame if Cavan supporters were knocking the park and Cavan as not being able to take big matches. I know in Clones you have to walk miles to get to the pitch yesterday here in Cavan most did not have to do that. How far do people have to walk to get into Croke Park ??? I suppose the old saying leave home in time and you will make the venue in ample time.
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 24/06/2013 14:31:08
We were lucky the state of the pitch didn't cost us the Armagh game. Their goal was down to the ball bobbling around on the uneven and unkept surface.
BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 28/06/2013 16:04:50
Breffni guide I do agree with that the state of the pitch could have cost us the game and indeed it is to youyr credit that you expose the condition of our principal ground.
Sean O Rian,
Your post of the 26th June is regretable that a person with a communications course would take umbrage with someone expressing an opinion about the state of the ground. What is Hoganstand for but to have good debate with good opinions expressed by intelligent people ie Breffni Guide RHF , and Tomsmith all three have been the top posters for along number of years. Do we all have to be yes men like some selectors that some managers had in the past before it w as pointed out that some great players ie David Givney was out there and he would be agreat assit to the County panel.. RHF County: Cavan Posts: 361
1413665 seanorinn County: Cavan Posts: 2289
Not my area there is a full time maintenance man in Breffni so contact him if you don't mind.
What the hell does he spend his time at? . RHF Tomsmith here I feel RHF that you are correct I do hope that if the state of the field is not up to standard that we get get matters put inorder
tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4163 - 06/07/2013 20:58:13
Once again and from a previous post - well done John and team - facilities looked great and are a credit.
ExiledCuCu (Cavan) - Posts: 295 - 06/07/2013 21:30:09
tomsmith I have a degree in Communications and Creative and very proud of it having achieved it at the ripe age of 61. I am also very proud of the work I put in to the County pitch and having it in pristine condition for these big matches that our current chairman has got to our stadium. Off course I take exception to adverse views towards the pitch for none of you people know the efforts that is put in to having it right on the day. I suppose its an easy way to excuse ones inability to play at the higher level. Donegal Down were very happy with it but you being the knockers that you are will always find some little thing to moan about. When you listen to the complaints about Wimbledon and the grass so I expect one can expect the odd adverse opinion about your pitch. As for the yes men selectors with the county in the past I am not aware of these so you appear to be better informed than I so maybe let the forum know who they are ??
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 07/07/2013 08:57:04
tomsmith I have a degree in Communications and Creative Media and very proud of it having achieved it at the ripe age of 61. I am also very proud of the work I put in to the County pitch and having it in pristine condition for these big matches that our current chairman has got to our stadium. Off course I take exception to adverse views towards the pitch for none of you people know the efforts that is put in to having it right on the day. I suppose its an easy way to excuse ones inability to play at the higher level. Donegal Down were very happy with it but you being the knockers that you are will always find some little thing to moan about. When you listen to the complaints about Wimbledon and the grass so I expect one can expect the odd adverse opinion about your pitch. As for the yes men selectors with the county in the past I am not aware of these so you appear to be better informed than I so maybe let the forum know who they are ??
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 07/07/2013 09:55:38
s goldrick County: Cavan Posts: 2141
1388267 StirringIT and sceptical. I am not having a go and I agree, the pitch did LOOK in great nick but as pointed out above there is a difference in looking good and playing good. It is very dead and I am well aware of the recent weather thank you. I was just wondering if we could have an expert opinion on it, thats all, as it definitely effected the bounce of the ball in my opinion.
Sean, tomsmith here, you seem to take my comments about the state of the park in a personal manner. Perhaps if you would relax and look at what we experienced posters are saying that is that you are doing a good job in the park but the Park has run its course and as one poster stated it was laid in 1996 , so it is due to be relaid. I feel that experienced posters who are prepared to tell the Cavan Gaa about the state of the park should be commended and not berated as if these knowledable people knew nothing. So rather than an apology to Mr Goldrick who raised the issue just relax and say another great year for Cavan Gales (Club and County) is ahead of us. That concludes my free opinions/advice on this post unless I see more balderdash written about this and I can not stand idlylebye .
tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4163 - 07/07/2013 21:41:04
tomsmith County: Cavan Posts: 1805
Tom in times of recession certain things have to be put on hold, the resurfacing of the county grounds at a cost of 150000 is not a priority. I have completed a course on the care and maintenance of our pitch and in my humble opinion Tom if taken care off we will get a few more years. About six weeks prior to the Cavan V Armagh match several truck loads of sand were put on the pitch and millions of seedlings so as a result has extended its life. If however you have 150000 to spare and are willing to sponsor the resurfacing of the pitch I am sure the county board and every club in the county would be delighted with your contribution. If as you say a bounce of a ball or words to that effect can decide a match well the same applies to both teams.
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 08/07/2013 09:13:05
seanorinn County: Cavan Posts: 2313
If as you say a bounce of a ball or words to that effect can decide a match well the same applies to both teams.
It does apply to both teams but i pray that it does not cost Cavan any game i would not be bothered if it cost Fermanagh this weekend. If the pitch needs to be sorted the money should be got and not have teams playing on a sub standard surface.
RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 891 - 08/07/2013 19:07:01
RHF
The county pitch is in great condition why don't you ask the seniors I am sure they will confirm this. Take no notice of the arm chair critics they have nothing better to do.
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 08/07/2013 19:33:27
Ok Sean i take you're word for it.
RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 891 - 08/07/2013 20:31:40
"If the pitch needs to be sorted the money should be got"
Are you for real!? Or are you LITERALLY deluded!? Where do you propose this money comes from!? Have you yourself played on this 'sub standard surface'?! Because I have and I can assure you it's perfect.
And I can also assure you, as a young person, that I would rather see €150,000 put towards an employment scheme to get us back into ANY kind of job rather than unnecessarily resurfacing what is a perfectly fine surface already.
So unless you're volunteering €150,000 of your own money from your own pocket then i'd suggest you take a deep breath, step back, and look at the bigger picture around you where forced emigration due to lack of employment is a far bigger threat to your own club team and the county as a whole than a couple of divots and bumps in one of the goals in breifne.
#priorities
clonee (Cavan) - Posts: 68 - 09/07/2013 09:20:59
I think u should calm down i said IF.
And i don't think Cavan County board will put any money into creating jobs, there are Government agencies who (are supposed) do that.
Contact a TD for more information.
RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 891 - 09/07/2013 13:23:30
we can count on the pitch being in great condition on saturday i reckon
drumavigo (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 09/07/2013 18:35:30
Just finished lining the park its look brilliant. If either team cannot play football on this pitch well questions will have to be asked of the players and not the pitch thats for sure. Its in pristine condition. My main concern is the heath 30 degrees on the pitch this evening so advise for all drink plenty fluids for if you don't you will suffer big time. Sean
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 12/07/2013 21:00:18
Fair play for all your hard work. It's obvious you take great pride in your role and rightly so.
Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 12/07/2013 21:24:17
Weather dictates the bounce ?. I tried a size 5 last night and it bounced very well. I would say if anything they need to get into the ball/bounce otherwise the ball will go over their heads. People need to ask and I will tell them if the bounce will be soft/flat medium/knee to waist high or hard high bounce. Both teams will be on the pitch 15 minuets so any management worth their salt will suss out the bounce before the match. I stopped watering the park Thursday afternoon and the pitch was cut yesterday morning so all should be fine.
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 13/07/2013 16:08:40
I was talking to a Fermanagh man after the game and he said he heard the Fermanagh lads were poor because of the state of the pitch.
BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 13/07/2013 21:57:41
BreffniGuide County: Cavan Posts: 175
Well were you happy with the pitch the Cavan players were very pleased with it and that will do me. By the way did the ball bounce to your liking. ???
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 14/07/2013 11:39:08