Fermanagh v Cavan

sorry meant breffni dub

cavan.wanderer (Cavan) - Posts: 82 - 17/06/2013 20:19:24    1409349

cavan.wanderer

breffni blue have to ask what is your problem with conor no matter what he does you find some fault ,,,starting to look like sour grapes,. i was at the game and when midfield did get a hand it dropped it .the lad is doing a great job done everything asked of him common knowledge we are weak in the middle my suggestion is young killian clarke has the heightand a good pair of hands and caught plenty of conor kick outs the couple of times he did play in the middle

Sorry I never critisised Conor ever before, dont know what posts you were reading. If you read what I said it was merely a little bit of advice but I suppose some guys like you probably dont take advice!!! Conor was very safe under the high ball, laid it off very intellegiantly but I thought some of his kick outs drifted away from Givney. A bit of practice will iron that out. (And by the way I havent seen a perfect goalie yet and I am a long time watching gaelic) I think it is a tight call between him and Alan and we are lucky to have such good options.

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 17/06/2013 20:48:37    1409385

Was at the game, and watched the highlights again on Sunday Game, and then the full match on BBC. Two boys who really stood out when you watch it again - Alan Clarke and Niall McDermott. As the BBC commentator said at one point, McDermott put his head in, where you normally wouldn't put a shovel ! ! Brilliant ! How brave is this guy ? and he does a lot of the donkey work for Keating and Dunne !
One thing I noticed when I was watching the BBC recording there was Jack Brady walking around after the game. Knee all strapped up and he was walking very gingerly ? God I hope he's ok for the Monaghan game.
Whatever happens for the rest of the year, this group of players have restored some pride in cavan football, BIG TIME !
Obviously we need to work on our finishing, be a bit more clinical, but I only want to concentrate on the positives after that game. Well done boys. So proud driving home to Sligo after that.

5allirelands (Cavan) - Posts: 90 - 17/06/2013 20:58:07    1409399

supermon
County: Monaghan

1408547 Well done on struggling to win against a terrible Fermanagh side and beating a poor Armagh team. Ye won't have it just as handy in Clones. I'd say Monaghan by 5 or 6.

Ha Ha like monaghan was class against a poor enough antrim team and looked no better than them either ,cavan wont be fearing that monaghan team. ,yous even had to get freeman back what a joke was rory woods not about ?? .we beat yous already this year and i dont even think it will be that tight either to be honest .check the used by date on your team you will find you soon need new stock .in a few years there will be night and day between cavan and monaghan yous have nothing coming through ,enjoy the next few years lads !

bisto kid (Cavan) - Posts: 492 - 17/06/2013 21:27:30    1409440

breffni dub
i can certainly take advice and stand corrected i was sure i seen negative remark before his debut so my apologies to you i cant comment on alan as have not seen him play since sligo game was working night of junior game .my only worry with alan previously to his injury was his ability to catch and hold onto a high ball also his kick outs not always make the distance but if you have seen him and think he is as good then we are blessed on a positive note good luck to the whole panel, managementand back room staff.next stop clones again my apologies to breffni dub

cavan.wanderer (Cavan) - Posts: 82 - 17/06/2013 21:30:13    1409448

Great to win but I would like to see us up against a decent team to really judge us , both Armagh and Fermanagh were very poor and judging by Monaghans performance against Antrim they could be as bad so we could land in an Ulster final without really being tested. Martin Dunne the hero waited his chances and took them well. The midfield situation is serious and an injured James Mc Enroe or an unfit half injured Thomas Corr is not the answer. Killian Clarke has to be tried and Keating may have to come outfield. The taking off of Mc Kiernan was unfair and shocking. I would have to question the managements decision, how was an unfit through injury Thomas Corr going to replace a fully fit Mc Kiernan? Wee touch of favouritism maybe? This is a problem this Cavan management are going to have to address , it is a mistake they make over and over and they will be punished for it. . You are doing good work lads, don't make a mess of it by keeping the blinkers on! Good game by Alan Clarke showed himself as captain.

ny2013 (Cavan) - Posts: 28 - 17/06/2013 21:40:48    1409462

5allIrelands,

I noticed Jack Brady went up and fielded a kickout but he landed down very awkwardly on his knee, looked horrible, the sort of thing managers and fans hate to see happening players. Luckily he played on, but I can't help but feel he may have damaged something, and if you say he was strapped up after the game then maybe he has done something. Last thing we need is injuries to key players.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 17/06/2013 21:48:11    1409473

cavan.wanderer

Apology accepted and no hard feelings to a fellow Breffni fan. I saw Alan a few times against Monaghan and Meath in Navan and he done very well. But agree he will have his work cut out to unseat Conor, which is great.

Also Mackey was superb but Alan Clarke gave one of the most polished displays I saw from a Cavan defender in a long time. So onwards to Clones and sort them noisy neighbours out. Only joking lads, I think Monaghan are a fine team and play a good brand of football. So it will be a very good game and hopefully shut Spillane up.

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 17/06/2013 21:58:05    1409496

Sergeant_Slash,
I also noticed that and was talking to a Ramor man last nite who said it's his knee, bad injury.
That doesn't bode well for Ramor either. Mc Enroe is also carrying an injury.

BreffniBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 278 - 18/06/2013 08:33:46    1409504

Thought Alan Clarke was superb as was Mackey (in the first half when he got his hand in twice in succession to rob the ball and get his free was outstanding). Shame if Jack Brady is out but have the replacements in Martin Reilly (who did well when he came on) and Kevin Tierney. Does Hyland see Martin as an impact sub who's not able to last the game as he's been playing well enough to be in the mix for a start. Can't see why McCutcheon is not involved.

As for the shouts for Killian Clarke to midfield - I'm not convinced. He got forward out of defence and picked up some hand passes but his distribution was poor as was his shooting and he's still liable to give away silly frees although Fermanagh hit the post with the one in the first half.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 550 - 18/06/2013 10:14:32    1409582

Everyone saying they felt bad for Mc Kiernan. In fairness to the lad he didnt make any impact when he came on. He was specifically brought on to win ball around the middle and as far as I could see he didnt win one ball. I applaud the management for this instead of sitting back and doing nothing about it. Shows they have a bit of balls to do something like that. And before anyone says anything I think Mc Kiernan is a great footballer, I just feel he didnt do what was asked of him.

Givney looks very laid back, wonder if his legs are starting to go after been such a long year with the sigurdson cup and that. Serious serious player but been disappointed in him the last 2 games.

Anyone any word about Mc Cutcheon. Surely surely he is good enough to be in that squad. Start him in the corner and bring him out as the third midfielder. Hes destroying everyone in the league supposedly powering forward and scoring at ease from the middle which is just wat Cavan needs.

SwadMan11 (Cavan) - Posts: 50 - 18/06/2013 13:15:18    1409799

Another player that has gone off the radar this year is Niall Smith from the Gaels. A really talented wing forward who could do a Mackey role if he was ever injured or even when he runs out of steam. Great at carrying the ball up the wing and capable of scoring!! Anyone know his whereabouts or is he away or injured??? Was so impressed with him at u21 level.

Brownred (Cavan) - Posts: 229 - 18/06/2013 14:39:29    1409910

Swad Man. I don't think anyone on here criticised the mgmt team for their decision, all we were saying was that it was unfortunate for Dec.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 18/06/2013 15:14:28    1409940

Chatting to a young lad from near Cootehill yesterday evening,says Mc Cutcheons out injured

smallballs (Monaghan) - Posts: 151 - 18/06/2013 17:53:08    1410119

If McCutcheon is fit and good enough in the eyes of the management he will start, people shouldn't start doing the usual Cavan trick of making him into an All Star while he's on the bench. Hyland is obviously a fan of his after bringing him back into the squad a few months after he was dropped by Andrews.

Also, I'm surprised by people saying how well Martin Reilly played. He was excellent when he came on against Armagh but I wasn't impressed with him on Sunday, he kicked 3 shots into the goalkeepers hands and had one blocked down. That's not good enough for a forward over the course of the game, to do it in a 25 odd minute spell is very wasteful.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 18/06/2013 18:24:14    1410153

JonSmith

If McCutcheon is fit and good enough in the eyes of the management he will start, people shouldn't start doing the usual Cavan trick of making him into an All Star while he's on the bench. Hyland is obviously a fan of his after bringing him back into the squad a few months after he was dropped by Andrews.

Also, I'm surprised by people saying how well Martin Reilly played. He was excellent when he came on against Armagh but I wasn't impressed with him on Sunday, he kicked 3 shots into the goalkeepers hands and had one blocked down. That's not good enough for a forward over the course of the game, to do it in a 25 odd minute spell is very wasteful.

Well in fairness John, he did take the responsibility to have a go when chances were extremely limited. We were in dire need of a score when he hit them. He was simply unlucky with them dropping short, they were difficult shots, one was even over his shoulder with his back to goal. If JB isn't fit to start the next day we have to capable replacements in McKeever and Martin Reilly, and maybe even Declan McKiernan could start there, and thats what operating a panel is all about.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 18/06/2013 18:51:53    1410180

Don think it was unfair to take mc Kiernan off.he didn't win anything in the middle,kicked two wides,was blocked down twice and was blew for a pick up which led to a score.lads can't afford to be off the pace in championship and management have to take action.unlucky for the lad but hard decisions have to be taken

kanu (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 18/06/2013 19:07:53    1410202

Sergeant_Slash

Well in fairness John, he did take the responsibility to have a go when chances were extremely limited. We were in dire need of a score when he hit them. He was simply unlucky with them dropping short, they were difficult shots, one was even over his shoulder with his back to goal. If JB isn't fit to start the next day we have to capable replacements in McKeever and Martin Reilly, and maybe even Declan McKiernan could start there, and thats what operating a panel is all about.

Credit to him for taking on the responsibility, his shot technique looked awkward though? He seemed to be keen on slicing the ball over the bar. But that's beside the point, the fact is that 3 shots into the Goalkeepers hands is as bad as 3 misplaced passes, Declan McKiernan got taken off for little more than that. It hands back possession, deflates us and lifts the opposition, kill the ball at least. It worked out in the end for us in the end but I'm just saying I thought it odd that people were talking so positively about his performance.

We have lots of solid options. Niall Murray is another, he seems a little forgotten about but he can play ball and he's a real workhorse. Has Championship experience too.

Also a mention must go to Niall McDermott, frequently left out of people's teams when named here but he was excellent, again. Fergal Flanagan too, involved in so many of our turnovers.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 18/06/2013 20:23:22    1410271

JonSmith

Also a mention must go to Niall McDermott, frequently left out of people's teams when named here but he was excellent, again. Fergal Flanagan too, involved in so many of our turnovers.

Correct, McDermott isn't getting enough plaudits for his performance, a real workhorse who tracks back and does a serious amount of the dirty work, and chips in with the odd score too. His point in the first half on the break when he cut inside was one of the scores of the game. And he won us the free which won the game. Was in the running for MOTM in my view. Flanagan is brilliant at what he does, his block in the first half which led to McDermotts point was the type of stuff that lifts a whole team, great to see it.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 18/06/2013 20:47:24    1410292

JonSmith

Credit to him for taking on the responsibility, his shot technique looked awkward though? He seemed to be keen on slicing the ball over the bar. But that's beside the point, the fact is that 3 shots into the Goalkeepers hands is as bad as 3 misplaced passes,

I actually don't recall him dropping THREE shots in to the goalkeeper's hands. That would mean that he had 5 attempted shots in total. 1 point, 3 dropped short and 1 blocked.. are you sure ? , Have you got a tape of the match ?

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 19/06/2013 15:41:23    1410829