Fermanagh v Cavan

kildareman_dave...lend you another??? ... yous wont even use the one yous got...

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 606 - 16/06/2013 19:55:15    1408144

Great fighting display at the end showing grit and composure. Thought we could have made more out of our superiority in the 2nd qtr and relied on the leadership of Keating and Mackey to drag us back into the game after a tough 3rd qtr. Great to see us holding our nerve and discipline to finish the stronger team. Congrats to all on a terrific achievement and to Martin Dunne for such a wonderful winning score.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 471 - 16/06/2013 20:38:11    1408188

Alan Clarke great game today, he proved me wrong, great win well done all. Thought the taking off of Mc Kiernan very harsh, he hadn't time to settle into the game I know he made a few mistakes but that could destroy a great player very hard to regain confidence after that. Martin Dunne was excellent, growing in confidence and Keatinggetting better with every game It looked like there was a good Cavan crowd there was the security thing as bad as the hype? Nothing to fear in Monaghan.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 16/06/2013 20:44:31    1408196

ponger

I know Mackey had a great first half but he tired a little in the second which was quite similar to the Armagh game. I though Alan Clarke had a savage game.

I don't think Mackey tired, he got a savage late hit which weakened him alot. I actually thought he would have to come off but fair play to him he kept going. Agree Alan Clarke was solid throughout and especially towards the end when we needed him most. felt sorry for Dec McK, I though he showed well for the ball and carried it forward well. I know he had 2 wayward shots a picked the ball off the ground (alledgedly) but I was surprised when he was called ashore. Martin Reilly again done well when introduced. Givney done better in the air today and got through alot of work but had 2 bad wides. what was the thinking of starting with James McEnroe in midfield and then taking him off. Thought Damian O' Reilly had another good game and kept his discipline well. fair play to Dunne for nailing that second last point. he scored a couple of good ones again today , also Keating and Mcdermott were very good. Also there were a few times when Gilsenan wanted to come up and take a free he was sent back by management. on the first occasion we didn't even attemt a shot at the posts and ended up losing the ball, the second time Dunne took it even though it was out of his comfort zone, I though this was wrong by mgmt . i know Conor missed one the last day but we need someone to kick long range frees and if neither Barry or Martin Reilly is on the pitch then they should let the keeper take them. Overall a very good performance by all the players, even if monaghan beat us next day we have improved a hell of a lot this year. I love the way the team don't panic when it gets tight and they would have every excuse to get nervous. Again today as in the Armagh game when Fermanagh got it back to level scores we kept playing our normal game and picked off the next 2 scores which won us the game. Not sure why Fermanagh chose to start without their best players but hey ! that's their problem. They will be a handful for anyone in the qualifiers.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 16/06/2013 21:21:52    1408249

well done lads!!!! done us proud again!

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 312 - 16/06/2013 21:28:25    1408256

Thought Mackey and Clarke were class. Two oldest on the Cavan team. Boys who got a lot of stick on this site. Remember they are at the age when they should be at their peak. Mackey showed glimpses and potential in the past but is giving consistent performances now. Lesson for us all with the lads coming through. They are going to have poor performances and make mistakes but they are still works in progress. How the two boys weren't considered good enough last year is beyond me and shows the inadequacy of the previous regime.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 16/06/2013 21:49:24    1408288

McEnroe appeared to be struggling with his leg after one hit. I noticed it on TV. Wasn't he struggling going into the game also?

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 16/06/2013 21:52:49    1408295

Well done to all, great to see heart and pride back in cavan , keep up the great work.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 17/06/2013 08:58:01    1408342

Well done Cavan, great spirit to dig in and get over the line and thats what counts.......should be a another battle against Monaghan...very tight to call

Shearer (Louth) - Posts: 927 - 17/06/2013 10:22:45    1408445

Well done on struggling to win against a terrible Fermanagh side and beating a poor Armagh team. Ye won't have it just as handy in Clones. I'd say Monaghan by 5 or 6.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1099 - 17/06/2013 11:18:46    1408547

we were blessed with nice neighbours when we got monaghan.. lovely people

sammaguire1 (Cavan) - Posts: 279 - 17/06/2013 11:33:22    1408578

supermon
County: Monaghan

1408547 Well done on struggling to win against a terrible Fermanagh side and beating a poor Armagh team. Ye won't have it just as handy in Clones. I'd say Monaghan by 5 or 6.

If you say so, then it must be right. Please go away now.

P.Mus (Cavan) - Posts: 386 - 17/06/2013 11:38:11    1408586

i know a lot of people in Monaghan and the "mature, genuine" Football supporter will acknowledge the progress of a young Cavan team. They are boyant frim their victory in Croke Park against Meath and their demolition of a very impressive title chasing Antrim side in the quarter final. The posts made here are obviously placed here by immature kids who know no diference and treat this game as a source of vedictive comments and a war.
It will be a tight game between two teams, - one aging team with talent, one young team with talent. There will only be a kick of a ball between them. i'm looking forward to it.

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 17/06/2013 11:58:47    1408620

Ah jaysus lads. It's called banter. Relax. If we can't have a bit of that before an Monaghan cavan ulster semi what's the point?

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1099 - 17/06/2013 12:06:04    1408630

As the fella says, a win is a win. And nice to win 2 in Ulster games and the begrudgers can take a running jump for all I care. Yes we are a work in progress and a very young team overall. It was still great to see a few of the older lads like Mackey, Alan Clarke and Rory Dunne play so well and show leadership.
That said we are not the complete package. And our biggest problem is midfield I think. I thought Givney was going to have a stormer after an early monster catch. But he seems to drift in and out of the game and doesent seem to be able to win consistent high ball. The reason may be that he is on his own and neither Mc Kiernan or Corr got up to the speed of the game or won high ball. Seems strange playing McEnroe or Reilly who are wing backs out at mid-field. We really have to sort something out and soon. Just wonder would Killian Clarke be the answer. He is tall and rangy, got good hands and can attack at pace. The other option would be John McCutcheon but strangely he wasent even on the subs list yesterday. Very strange.
The backs tackled with great discipline and played really well as a unit with a bit of help from lads like Mackey and Flanagan. The forward line struggled to really click at times but still created enough scores. Maybe we are lacking a strong centre forward who can power through the middle and Jacks size and youth told against him a bit. Keating could do this role with maybe Kevin Tierney in with Dunne in the full forward line. Kevins size and scoring ability would be an asset.
Overall the lads played with great heart and spirit and should have been much further ahead at half time. I dont think Fermanagh would have came back but when they levelled it showed great resolve to come back and get the last 2 points. Dunnes lead point was a classic and really shows that he is a special talent.
We have to try and get more scores from the rest of our forwards and mid-field. I wouldent fear Monaghan and if the league game is a pointer then we should make the Ulster final.

Brownred (Cavan) - Posts: 229 - 17/06/2013 14:19:46    1408836

Brownred, some good points made there. i was dissappointed for dec McKeirnan yesterday as I had high hopes for him, but hopefully he will get another chance. It's nice to know that we have a few options like Kevin Tierney McCutcheon and Barry Reilly none of whom have seen any championship action so far but it is a panel of players now , not just a team and I think we will see some of these in action before we bow out of the championship. I was again impressed with Martin Reilly when he came on, he gives us something different at a time in the match when we need a fresh pair of legs.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 17/06/2013 15:39:57    1408945

Three Cavan men on the team of the week, congratulations to Alan Clarke (BBC MOTM) Cian Mackey (RTE MOTM) and Martin Dunne.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 17/06/2013 18:07:12    1409175

Hyland has shown that he won't play two attack minded midfielders, he always goes with a defensive player along with a more attacking player since the 2010 U21 Final. He prefers combinations like McKiernan/Marc Leddy, Packie Leddy/Killian Brady, McKiernan/Corr, Givney/Corr. The problem is that McKiernan is gone and Givney is looking more like a wing forward than a midfielder, his distribution into the forwards was sublime v Armagh and even yesterday he hit a few great searching passes but his fielding and shooting never got going and realistically he hasn't controlled midfield in many games for Cavan, he's talented but how to utilise him best seems to be proving a headache. What's even more worrying is how little breaking ball we won, fair enough if Givney is crowded he won't win much clean possession but there's no excuse for not winning a fair share of breaks in the middle.

We didn't stick to the plan to well in the first half, there were a few too many wild shots from defenders and we lost our patience in build up instead of waiting to get the ball to the right men. I'd say the management had a good word at half time and we found Dunne and Keating better in the second half. I expect Monaghan will do what Fermanagh did yesterday but will just hope to do it better, easier said than done though. Dunne showed that you can have all the physicality you want but pace, a turn and accuracy will still get you scores at county level, his point in the first half from almost the endline when he let the ball bounce past him and turned into it and knocked it over was pure class.

The most pleasing thing about this game was the manner in which it was won, sure we should have been ahead more at halftime but Fermanagh were making it hard for us, they were always going to put in a big second half playing at home against a close rival. But, just like the Armagh game, when they got within touching distance we never panicked, stuck to the plan and got the scores to close out the game. And it's not just the underage success that's to be thanked for this, the lads that really stepped up to the plate when the game was in the melting pot were Damien Reilly, Alan Clarke, Mackey, Keating and Dunne. Big credit has to go to The Management team for that.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 17/06/2013 18:07:27    1409176

s goldrick

Brownred, some good points made there. i was dissappointed for dec McKeirnan yesterday as I had high hopes for him, but hopefully he will get another chance. It's nice to know that we have a few options like Kevin Tierney McCutcheon and Barry Reilly none of whom have seen any championship action so far but it is a panel of players now , not just a team and I think we will see some of these in action before we bow out of the championship. I was again impressed with Martin Reilly when he came on, he gives us something different at a time in the match when we need a fresh pair of legs.

Agree with a lot of the previous posts. Martin Reilly gives a bit of dash and pace and maybe Keating could solve the c/forward slot also. I liked Chris Conroy for the u21's but he is probably a bit lithe yet for the rugged Farney boys. Just might need a year or two to strngthen up.Tierney has power alright but may lack a bit of pace. I remember his 2 goals last year in Pearse Pk in the s/final. We still are kicking too many bad wides and Martin Reilly kicked 3 into the goalies hands. Suicide against the better teams. Barry Reilly has never really kicked on but is capable of stepping up to the top table. Midfield is a problem and we havent replaced Gearoid. He was more than just a high fielder , he could chip in with 3 or 4 points as well. Givney really has to stand up and assume that mantle and with a change of luck or a wee bit of coaching from a Stephen King or some other great m/fielder he could really blossom. I really think he has it in him!!Just has to iron out a few little weaknesses.
The backs as stated above were superb but I think goalie Gilsenan has to get his kickouts right and find Givney a little better.
All in all it was a very good display even though we made it hard on ourselves by kicking aimless wides in the 1st half. Still lots to work on and a young team will gain in confidence. Well done to all concerned!!

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 17/06/2013 18:34:07    1409209

breffni blue have to ask what is your problem with conor no matter what he does you find some fault ,,,starting to look like sour grapes,. i was at the game and when midfield did get a hand it dropped it .the lad is doing a great job done everything asked of him common knowledge we are weak in the middle my suggestion is young killian clarke has the heightand a good pair of hands and caught plenty of conor kick outs the couple of times he did play in the middle

cavan.wanderer (Cavan) - Posts: 82 - 17/06/2013 20:14:28    1409338