Cork v Cavan U21

fredflint

Humpty Dumpty - you were disgusted? Have you seen us play this year before yesterday as that's the way we won the ulster final. Were you disgusted that day too. Always has to be someone to blame with you lads. Could it not just be that two excellent young teams met one much physically stronger than the other and they were so well matched that only a point separated them. Why does there always have to be someone to blame?

Get over yourself, people are only pointing out their views on where we went wrong, as they are well entitled to do.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 21/04/2013 12:27:05    1370925

No sergeant. We all read your idiotic over the top reaction to the seniors last loss and now we have fools saying they are "disgusted" with the u21 performance. I hope none of them lads that bust their holes for months on end have to read their every mistake dissected in what was a one point game by keyboard warriors on here.. People are entitled to their opinion but exercising a bit of cop on wouldn't go astray would it. I thank our lads for a heroic attempt and I commiserate the team on the loss, I don't single out individuals as its a team effort - win or lose.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 21/04/2013 12:53:03    1370944

Was at the game myself yesterday. Lots of neutral around us were amazed how Cavan refused to give up after being bullied around the place by a Cork team that looked more like their seniors than their U-21s. They thought it was the most courageous display they had seen in years.

Can't say a word against the lads -they gave it all they had and just fell short. If Cork go on to win it then maybe we weren't that far away after all. Cork put us under all sorts of pressure all day because they were not only big enough but fast enough as well and there's not a lot you can do about that at under-age level.

Management got most things right all year and in fairness most of us didn't think at the start of the Ulster Championship that we had a team fit to win it -we were thinking that it would be another year till the minors of 2011 were mature enough to win Ulster again. Only one Ulster All-Ireland U-21 winner since 2002. Several near misses but maybe says something about where we're at in Ulster at the moment.

RoyalBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 21/04/2013 12:57:02    1370946

I watched you on tg4 yesterday and i must say im very surprised at some of the peoples comments on here. Clarke was super in full back??????perhaps i mised something.Your midfield was destroyed too,the cork no.8 destroyed you around midfield.When moynagh Came on he played well and number 25 was very good too as was mc veety who was very good against us earlier in the year too. the odd time direct ball was used or direct running you did damage yet you wasted all the time in the world passing laterally and static?why was that?
All in allcork were the better side but very unfortunate for you to lose after that comeback none the less,cork will have a few of them men in the senior squad soon,no.14,no.8 and no.11 at least.as for you guys how many will play senior?i hear jack brady will be in and despite looking good in patches yesterday he wasnt standout,then i heard people saying clarke will be cavan fullback?seriously?he'd have to improve a lot on yesterdays showing.was that number 7 from yesterday?flanagan?in the senior squad the past few years? gave away some amount of ball yesterday.

Another good year for cavan underage all the same and hopefully you guys can translate that to senior level in the coming years,as long as it isnt to our detriment

smallballs (Monaghan) - Posts: 151 - 21/04/2013 13:03:01    1370949

As usual, fair words Sergeant Slash. Yes, gutted that we lost by a single point. But Cavan can stand proud. Just looked at the game again, a couple of mistakes cost us the game, but that's the way it goes. I hope people don't start criticising individual players. These lads have given up their lives since before Christmas for this team. If we're feeling bad, just imagine how they are feeling. Some one said they would have taken off Jack Brady? Bizarre. He worked tirelessly, yes he missed a couple of frees, not like him.( I heard last night he has been carrying an ankle injury and has to take a long break now.) That player has sacrificed his normal position to take on the role of work horse all year, leading the team and working most of the scores in . One of our most intelligent players. Hopefully Terry will put him in his rightful position if he goes into the panel. Enda Reilly had a wonderful game yesterday, and was a brave lad to step up to the plate. The wind was very strong dwon on the pitch. Enda has had a great campaign and I think he will make an impact on our Senior team. Conor Moynagh made a good impact when he came on, what a shame he's been injured. Young MC Vitty impressed me yesterday also, as did Jason and many others. Everyone battled hard, but Cork were always going to punish any mistakes. It's just such a pity because this was their year. Thanks to the team and management for a great campaign, the county is proud of you all. Now lets get behind our Senior team in the same way and hope we can get over Armagh..
Looking back at the game, the referee wasn't as bad as I thought when at the game.

BreffniBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 278 - 21/04/2013 13:13:04    1370960

Everyone sayin clarke was super yesterday??? seriously what game where you all watchin? was very impressed mc veety nd jason mc loughlin... mc veety looks as if he could run all day long nd jason mc loughlin looks a tidy defender!!!!!! brave effort up against a better team

SonnyJim (Cavan) - Posts: 49 - 21/04/2013 13:46:21    1370974

Im outa the country long term but try to follow things as well as i can, just one question, everyone keeps mentioning about Conor Moynagh coming on and i did notice that he hasnt been starting?? whats the craic here??? injured or what??

thefuture (Cavan) - Posts: 18 - 21/04/2013 13:51:53    1370979

Just recovering from serious injury.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 21/04/2013 14:03:04    1370984

First of all a big Congrats to all the team and mgt on a wonderful display and a lot of people from other counties saw what football means to Cavan people with the excitement in the last 15 mins. It was a wonderful comeback and ye all did your county proud.
Yes some players dident play as well as they did in Ulster but show me the player who hasent had an off day in his career.
Somebody said we struggled at midfield. Yes we did but we were up against a big physical team and rememeber young Argue is only a few months overage for minor this year.
I was nervous before the game about a big team like Cork running through the middle and maybe Conor Moynagh might have started or come on earlier.
Also our full forward line are fabulous footballers but lacking a bit of power which Madden gives us. I also wonder at the great pace of Paul OConnor and could he be better utilised at wing forward. Killian Clarke showed what a super versatile footballer he is and his move to midfield got us going.
But these are all my opinions and remember every man is entitled to his point of view. Peter and his mentors have done a super job and has made it "proud to be a CAVAN man in Dublin" again.
As far as I'm concerned every man was a hero and no player exemplified this better than Darragh McVitty. What a bundle of talent and energy. Some of his runs were eleyctrifing as were his spirit and bravery. And Enda hold your head up high, nobody blames you, another day it would have sailed over. The same to you Conor nobody blames you.
Finally lads thanks for giving us a great 2 or 3 months of following a super bunch of Cavan men who were proud to wear their Blue jersey.
This is only the Start!!!

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 21/04/2013 14:08:24    1370987

Killian Clarke has had a poor year at full back. He didn't push on from last year when he was outstanding. However he did well yesterday when he was brought to midfield, he still has another year at this level and lots of time to regain his form and prove that he can fill that position at senior level. But it is too soon for him to be filling that role just yet.

Jack Brady and Jason McLoughlin showed yesterday why they are two for the future. Both very intelligent and skilfull footballers. Jack Brady is as good and as versatile a forward as we have in the county at the moment. He's not flashy but smart and consistent. I'd be shocked if McLoughlin wasn't tasked with marking Jamie Clarke in the first round. Conor Moynagh looked rusty but was the driving force behind our comeback. He was outstanding when he came on.

Both teams made mistakes in the final minutes. It was just unfortunate that our free was from such a tight angle. Absolutely no blame lies with Enda O'Reilly, or anyone else for that matter. The period when we lost the game was probably the first 10 minutes of the second half when Cork had their purple patch and we didn't stem the tide well enough.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 21/04/2013 15:27:09    1371030

Agree with you Jon Smith that McLoughlin should be given the task of marking Clarke in championship. There's certainly nobody in the senior panel that is up to it, and Jason has had a great two years filling that position, gets forward as well and his man marking is excellent. I also think Jack Brady should be started at corner forward for the Armagh game, gave everything to that u21 jersey over the past 3 years, bright future ahead for the lad. Flanagan might also be worth his place in the half back line. Enda Reilly and Paul O'Connor need a bit more time and experience before they make the step up, but two very good prospects. Killian Clarke, its hard to know where his best position is, thought he did ok at full back, was unfairly penalised at one stage in the first half and Cork were given a 21 yard free which put two between the teams. Ciaran Brady will be a solid defender in a few more years. Between now and the future, if we get these lads onto a proper gym programme we have the talent. Some will make the step up, some won't, that's the nature of football and young lads coming through. Either way, its time to concentrate on and build the senior team we know we're capable of having. Remember we have potential, nothing more, just potential. You have to realise that potential. Every young man has to realise his own potential, but he can be safe in the knowledge he has thousands of Cavan fanatics right behind him.

Breifne Abú!

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 21/04/2013 15:58:47    1371057

A lot of different opinions about Killian Clarke. He's a natural midfielder I think and looks more comfortable there and good going forward. I think Dermot McCabe used him as a big strong full-back on the 2011 minor team and it worked very well at the time but you wouldn't want him messed about from one position to another. Same is true of Brian Sankey - maybe a more natural No 3. David Givney comes to mind here - good enough to play midfield for Ulster but not for Cavan???? You wouldn't want really promising players messed about like this.

Really feeling sorry for Enda O'Reilly; had a great game and can't blame him for that free. Look how Cork struggled against that wind in the first half and kept trying to walk the ball in close enough to be sure. Enda didn't have that luxury and was told he had to score directly I think -otherwise he could have tried a short free to a runner. Never mind Enda - Michael Murphy missed a penalty to win the U-21 All Ireland for Donegal in 2010 in Breffni Park but look what he did since then, especially against Mayo.

RoyalBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 21/04/2013 16:14:22    1371070

The thing I will take away from this championship run is the work rate of these boys, no selfishness in their play, good support play and good defensive play. They played to a definite system and whether you like that style or not it worked well. Yesterday we were out-muscled by a bigger Cork team, having said that we could have had them, fought like lions to the end so no shame in that. Well done to Peter and the panel

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 164 - 21/04/2013 21:20:00    1371328

Seargeant Slash

Flanagan to start for the armagh game. What were you watching ? He gave away the ball numerous times throughout the game at vital times?

Mourinho688 (Cavan) - Posts: 45 - 22/04/2013 09:48:32    1371441

Despite the disappointment of losing, it was great to see them fight to the end. Yes, mistakes were made, which is the case in most games, win or lose. Our mistakes were cruelly punished, particularly towards the end. Hopefully, the experience will stand to them all, players and Mgnt. I thought the Mgnt team looked very composed throughout, and made changes in a considered way, rather than through panic.

If there's one thing I'd like to change it's our style of play in relation to the slow build-up. We always fare better, at U21 and Senior, when we attack early and with speed, and we always get caught out when we delay the delivery and pass it around far too much.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 471 - 22/04/2013 10:19:07    1371473

Well done to the lads & management team and very tough luck. Fought back well against a very strong Cork team. Would have liked to see some more confidence in taking shots - would prefer to hit wides than going over and back between the 14 and 21 eventually losing the ball. Also started going for goals very early in the second half when there was plenty of time to pick off points.

Surprised at the decision to bring back on Enda O'Reilly. Thought he shouldn't have gone off but when he was off it's very hard to come back in cold and take such an important free.

Also surprised at the accolades for Clarke above - didn't think he had a great game and gave away a couple of silly scoreable frees as well as a 45. Argue didn't reach his normal standards and Sankey was anonymous. Moynagh made a difference when he came on but all in all a great performance - just a shame we couldn't get that last point. The future's bright, the future's blue….

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 550 - 22/04/2013 10:53:45    1371498

Folks

A lot of debate on Clarkes performance, opinions differ, however, what is not in doubt is that when we turned things around in the last quarter he was leading the charge. He showed leadership! As regards his performance when playing in the full back line, you have to make allowances for the fact that Cork dominated at mid field, that puts any defender not matter how good on the back foot.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 22/04/2013 12:05:43    1371565

Would have to agree with a lot of the above and the lads gave a great display overall. Still I think we should have adressed the big weakness at midfield where we won no ball particularly in the first half. Also we were too slow getting the ball into the full forward line and allowed the big Cork men to get back and smother us out. O'Connor definately had the beating of the full back but time after time we passed the ball across the field.
Talk of Killian Clarke playing badly, I wouldent agree. He was the main impetus when moved out the field along with Moynagh who should have been on a lot earlier. Jason was very good all through along with Smith and McVitty.
Still it was a great campaign and the lads can be proud of their efforts. They were up against a big physical Cork team and were a kick of a ball away from drawing with them.
The lads who are overage can look forward to Senior football and the younger lads can try again next year. No reason why we cant get 4-in-a-row.

Brownred (Cavan) - Posts: 229 - 22/04/2013 14:26:34    1371720

fredflint

Humpty Dumpty - you were disgusted? Have you seen us play this year before yesterday as that's the way we won the ulster final. Were you disgusted that day too. Always has to be someone to blame with you lads. Could it not just be that two excellent young teams met one much physically stronger than the other and they were so well matched that only a point separated them. Why does there always have to be someone to blame?

Fred if you bothered to read what i said instead of crying you would have seen i was talking about the brand of football played... i never mentioned the performance which was decent but not great, i have no doubt WE would have won if everyone had been on top form but we werent! What peed me off most was the first half when we should have went man to man as cork number5 tore us apart and when we did attack it looked as if the lads were afraid to shoot, instead stood on the 45 line happy to pass over and back when everyone of them were capable of slotting the ball over the ball using that strong wind!! i also think the changing of the game was when clarke went to midffeild and added a bit of physicality which wasnt there...
And just to let you know fredflint, i have been to all the u21 championship games for the last 4 years......

humptydumpty1 (Cavan) - Posts: 92 - 22/04/2013 14:28:39    1371721

humptydumpty1

I believe Peter Reilly got it tactically right for if he had of played man to man against Cork it would have been a no contest. I could not loose either way but I do feel sorry for the lads and Peter Reilly they gave it their best shot it was not enough on the day so forget about it look forward to the senior campaign and the U21 doing 4 in a row in 2014. Commiseration's to all but a hearty congratulations on winning three in a row. I believe Cavan got beaten by the 2013 All Ireland champions.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 22/04/2013 15:42:28    1371792