Givney Stars as Ulster wins

Jasus lads give the lad a bit of praise. With Joe Kernan praising him and lots of lads from other counties enquiring about him , he cant be a mug. Typical begrudgers, never happy. I suppose when Ray Caroolan, Stephen King and Dermot Mc Cabe started off as young lads they were no good either. Go back to your Tellys and watch Man Utd lads !!!!!

Brownred (Cavan) - Posts: 229 - 06/11/2012 16:53:18    1293538

Brownred nobody here said he was no good, go back and read again if ya can good lad!

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 482 - 06/11/2012 17:15:25    1293565

jesus lads i hope david givney doesnt look on this site because if he left the game the other night with any bit of confidence use will have it well shot off him.. too be fair use cant say "see if he does it against the likes off cork and kerry and he'll get praise".. im not saying he's at there level yet , but he didnt just mix it with the all ireland champs , he beat them at mid-field and yes donegal were under strength and it was a charity game , but this was also an ulster team that met for the 1st time saturday.. he has a long way too go before he's the best midfielder in the country.. but lets give the chap some credit he done us proud saturday..

cavanman10 (Cavan) - Posts: 78 - 06/11/2012 18:11:30    1293629

Well said Cavanman. he put in a good performance and definetly one to be proud of. just shows cavan footballers can mix it with the best of them. even look at the amount of cavan players involved in the siegorson and one of them captain of DCU in Josh Hayes. Futures of Cavan footballs bright

graveyardshift (Cavan) - Posts: 45 - 06/11/2012 18:39:52    1293665

I am glad that the majority of Cavan fans are starting to give the lad a bit of praise (as well as the great Joe Kernan) and the few "begrudgers" will be shown up for what they are. I would be ashamed to be at a Cavan match with these so called supporters. When was the last time a young Cavan lad showed a bit of high fielding and football ability on an Ulster team? God be with the days when Cavan had 5 or 6 players playing for Ulster in the Railway Cups. Those days are long gone but with young proud Cavan men like David Givney they might some day return. Yes David we are proud of you and ignore the few morons on this site.

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 06/11/2012 19:24:21    1293701

Josh Hayes is captaining the UCD Sigerson team this year, a side with the likes of Rory O'Carroll, Cian O'Sullivan, Kevin McLoughlin, John Heslin etc. A great honour for him. He should be the first name on the Cavan team sheet, a very solid corner back.

It was great to see Givney hold his own against Ulster's finest too, hopefully he can produce that form for us next year.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 06/11/2012 19:44:20    1293726

Out of a panel of 24- 2 cavan player's and 1 only came of the bench? Thats facts.... David Gibney played well however!

70mins (Cavan) - Posts: 67 - 06/11/2012 20:53:19    1293781

Josh Hayes is captaining the UCD Sigerson team this year, a side with the likes of Rory O'Carroll, Cian O'Sullivan, Kevin McLoughlin, John Heslin etc. A great honour for him. He should be the first name on the Cavan team sheet, a very solid corner back.

It was great to see Givney hold his own against Ulster's finest too, hopefully he can produce that form for us next year.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 07/11/2012 09:35:11    1293861

Yes as the one that first discovered David and took his fine talents to the notice of the Cavan team managers, I feel that I am correct in a number of points.
No 1 That it was I who discovered him.
No 2 He is a great footballer.
No 3 Against Donegal in the Championship he ruled midfield against Donegal ( Neil gallagher did not even start that day)
No 4 He had agreat game against Donegal in Casement Park
No 5 He come from a small club
No 6 He never sought a transfer to the Gaels as far as I know

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4163 - 07/11/2012 18:26:32    1294276

The way ye say Neil Gallagher did not start that day, you would swear Donegal were running scared of the juggernaut that is David Givney!! Stop dramatising things Tom, you did not discover him end of. PS Please stop posting

lifebuoy (Cavan) - Posts: 628 - 07/11/2012 19:02:17    1294299

jaysus DCU are the quar shneaky boys havin josh hayes as there captain.. he doesnt even go to school there...

onthemove (Cavan) - Posts: 37 - 07/11/2012 19:17:43    1294315

This forum is going even further to the dogs. On one hand we have people talking about young givney being one of Ireland's best based on a charity game in pre season. On the other we have the bitter nasty (non) fans pointing out every bad thing he did as if no one ever made a mistake. Then we have the wum tomsmith who amazingly can still get the rise out of eejits on here. Givney played well, has a lot of potential (which he has had for years, long before this game) and with hard work he could be a very important player for us. Now leave the lad alone and stop talking shite about him.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 07/11/2012 19:53:04    1294356

Nobody said he was one of Irelands best. They had good things to say about him even if it was a charity game, encouraging as Cavan football is low. Team packed with Top players in Ulster. whats the problem. Few other idiots didn't thats natural. Maybe the thread should be closed.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2936 - 07/11/2012 21:01:55    1294399

Fred Flint of 233 posts,

I do agree with you we need to support this lad that I feel I discovered when seeing him progrees over the years.
I have been singing his praises for ever so Long
As regards FoolsGold of 160 posts, I feel Fred he is very negative about David.
It we had 14 other Davids we would be away looking towards an Ulster title.Again David well done and I hope that your progess continues despite the begruders.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4163 - 12/11/2012 10:30:55    1296325