Senior championship

Fear is a terrible thing

Denn Man (Cavan) - Posts: 413 - 27/08/2012 16:37:15    1253249

What lavey did makes complete sense. Fair play to them for giving the junior lads who have trained just as hard all year a chance and not wasting them in a dead rubber game. Lavey do have an injury crisis and are missing 6 senior starters, this is a fact. Ramor and redhills also underlined the flaw in this years championship (i know it is a transition year to move to 10 senior teams for next year) by playing just 20mins a half. The county board could at least give some kind of incentive not to finish bottom of a group, or in the gaels and kingscourts case, to finish top, i.e, play a team that is second in a different group.

galoping gazele (None) - Posts: 174 - 27/08/2012 17:15:29    1253315

You're some joker Denn man. What would Lavey have to fear from Denn? Lavey are near the top of Division 1, a division Denn can't even get into. Lavey have injuries and didn't see the point in playing a pointless game against a team that definitely won't be senior next year.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 27/08/2012 20:40:16    1253549

very funny denn man, have lavey not won the last 3 or 4 times ye've played each other?
You should be happy ye avoided another defeat

Overlord (USA) - Posts: 46 - 27/08/2012 20:55:04    1253564

what a difference a year makes. lavey pulling out of a competition !!! killygarry got some abuse from lavey about that last year in the minor championship!!!!!!!!!

iheardthat (Cavan) - Posts: 89 - 27/08/2012 21:45:26    1253640

Dont buy dat seanorinn different rules for different people as far as i can see

bigass12 (Cavan) - Posts: 13 - 27/08/2012 21:51:10    1253649

Ur a funny man denn man

bigass12 (Cavan) - Posts: 13 - 27/08/2012 21:54:01    1253658

Id rather be funny than fearfull!

Lavey your Senior now & Div One a while & you ve nether won anything nor took big scalps.

Mediocre at best Lavey . The day we d call off a Senior champ game esp a local derby yee have no ambition..

Run along now. You ll hardly win this one!!

Denn Man (Cavan) - Posts: 413 - 28/08/2012 09:48:06    1253707

Have to agree with dennman. lavey have nothing to play for in league or championship and it would have been a great opportunity to blood young players into senior championship for next but instead they want to keep them for junior championship were the standard is terrible and most team through a team together on the day. Denn are in tough battle to stay at the top of div2 so they can play the playoff to stay senior championship and they wanted to play the game because they have pride in the jersey

hoy (Cavan) - Posts: 307 - 28/08/2012 10:24:59    1253729

Lavey are only senior two years Denn Man. Won intermediate in '09. Lavey beat Denn in 2010. Is that not a big enough scalp for you? They've also beat Kingscourt two years running in the league and have beaten Mullahoran and Gowna this year.

People talk about pride in the jersey. Why play a pointless game and waste players when there was an actual competitive game that meant something to play that evening?

Gowna juniors are probably better than Denn anyway.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 28/08/2012 10:40:23    1253746

have they not been blooding young players all year?

sammaguire1 (Cavan) - Posts: 279 - 28/08/2012 10:41:51    1253749

Lavey will you ever give it up. You ve no players id go to watch & come away saying god hes a great player or they play good stuff.

Your punching above your weight. Don t lose those intermediate medals because its all you ll ever win. Also please don t compare yourselves to Denn ever again.

Theres only one lavey & its up in Derry!

Denn Man (Cavan) - Posts: 413 - 28/08/2012 11:02:48    1253773

Breffini

"People talk about pride in the jersey. Why play a pointless game and waste players when there was an actual competitive game that meant something to play that evening?"

Are you for real... thats not pride, that called ducking and diving..... that's not GAA

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 606 - 28/08/2012 12:09:54    1253844

Denn man.

So you wouldn't go to watch Christopher Conroy who was on the U21 Ulster winning county team this year? And the junior Leinster winning Cavan team? Or Gerard Smith, who won an Ulster minor medal with Cavan last year? Let's not forget, Lavey provided 12 of the starting 15 that won the U21 club championship last year.

That you run down these great young players shows your attitude.

I wouldn't compare Lavey to Denn. Lavey are a club on the way up who are senior. Denn are an intermediate club on the way down. They had their chance against Lavey on 2010 and lost on their way to relegation.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 28/08/2012 13:35:47    1253934

Agree with BreffniGuide.. I mean at the end of the day all Denn have is Mossie Corr on the county, and there is no certainty he will be there next yr.. I would put good money on Denn to be relegated within the next two years.. If it doesnt happen this yr, it will happen nxt yr..

lifebuoy (Cavan) - Posts: 628 - 28/08/2012 14:23:57    1253988

put your mind to it lifebouy.

You could name the full Denn team . very experienced bunch of lads. very good team in their day. Good Guys!!

As for this Chris lad im sure id have seen him sunday. But Lavey must have went ta bettystown for the day or something as they called game off.

I ll have to wait untill next year to see yis. ok untill next year

Bye

Denn Man (Cavan) - Posts: 413 - 28/08/2012 14:37:51    1254011

What a sham and a scam!

The County Board charges GENUINE GAA SUPPORTERS €10 into dead rubber matches last weekend, in the case of one match Belturbet v Ballinagh the referee blew the FINAL whistle with 14 minutes remaining when the teams were level.

Why should this match be considered completed rather than abandoned?

Abandoned matches are usually replayed

Breffnisbest (Cavan) - Posts: 475 - 28/08/2012 15:10:00    1254042

You wouldn't have seen him Sunday. He's one of several players that Lavey are missing and hence couldn't field a team. That you haven't seen him play until now shows how much attention you give to our underage county teams. He was minor in 2011, junior this year and last, and U21 this year.

Off you run with your tail between your legs Denn man. You lost this one badly.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 28/08/2012 15:15:47    1254050

What a sham and a scam!

The County Board charges GENUINE GAA SUPPORTERS €10 into dead rubber matches last weekend, in the case of one match Belturbet v Ballinagh the referee blew the FINAL whistle with 14 minutes remaining when the teams were level.

Why should this match be considered completed rather than abandoned?

Abandoned matches are usually replayed
Breffnisbest , 28/08/2012 at 15:10

Did I read that Redhills played 20 minuets a side so whats the difference ???

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 28/08/2012 15:18:45    1254052

Redhills/ramor only played 20mins a half, but supporters were still charged 10e. It was disgraceful.

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1750 - 28/08/2012 15:56:06    1254091