Senior championship

Castlerahan are a young team. Nigel duignan is around 30 and Sean brady 27. After that Ronan Flan and Mackey 25 then the rest around 21. Two minors in Fergal Reilly and Enda Flanagan and Cian McEnroe 19. That is young. however they were very disapointing. The only player that impressed was the minor Fergal reilly but the forwards got terrible delivery. Oisin O Connell has being one of the best players in this years champ but the hail marys delivered to him were a joke. He had to come out to get ball and scored an absolute cracking goal albeit too little too late. Any other team with that full forward line would have utilised it much better. Kingscourt on the other hand knew Castlerahans game plan and played accordingly. What an impressive outfit and it will be interesting to see how they do in Ulster.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 19/09/2012 11:47:25    1268830

Castlerahan may be a young team.
But i read on the Meath page the other day that, 9 of the 18 players that played for Kingscourt against Castlerahan were 22 or under. I know they have a few lads around 31 or so, but that is a pretty young team with a few years left in it. Yet they have a championship & league medal in their cupboards.
So maybe its more of a pyschological thing with them. When they come up against the better teams, they just cannot get across the line.

Ritz (None) - Posts: 199 - 19/09/2012 11:54:48    1268832

19/09/2012 11:47:25
doratheexplorer

Castlerahan are a young team. Nigel duignan is around 30 and Sean brady 27. After that Ronan Flan and Mackey 25 then the rest around 21. Two minors in Fergal Reilly and Enda Flanagan and Cian McEnroe 19. That is young. however they were very disapointing. The only player that impressed was the minor Fergal reilly but the forwards got terrible delivery. Oisin O Connell has being one of the best players in this years champ but the hail marys delivered to him were a joke. He had to come out to get ball and scored an absolute cracking goal albeit too little too late. Any other team with that full forward line would have utilised it much better. Kingscourt on the other hand knew Castlerahans game plan and played accordingly. What an impressive outfit and it will be interesting to see how they do in Ulster.

Oh I'm sorry, I didn't realise that Kingscourt had already won the final... Wait until the final is over before talking like that, there's a good lad

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2487 - 19/09/2012 12:12:28    1268853

Loughduff Lad

Oh I'm sorry, I didn't realise that Kingscourt had already won the final... Wait until the final is over before talking like that, there's a good lad

these are not kingscourt posters who are mentioning ulster. kingscourt people know better than that and have the utmost respect for Mullahoran.
in fact it's probably Gaels supporters who are doing it.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 19/09/2012 12:21:35    1268860

@Dorathexplorer, Paddy Power have Kingscourt at 50/1 to win Ulster, so thats how interesting they think it is.

All this talk of Kingscourt , and winning Ulster, and dominating for years to come, and 10 point winning margins, I'm sorely tempted to have a cut at those wily old dogs from Mullahoran at 9/4 to win the final.

Godhimself (Cavan) - Posts: 64 - 19/09/2012 12:30:35    1268866

Castlerahan need to get in Line. Don t land into Breffni armed with excuses of young players & bad delivery to exceptional inside forwards! Some poster earlier stated the facts three years in a row you ve been tossed out of Breffni with a royal kick in the behind.

12 point quater final beating
24 point final hammering in the final
last week against a team who are younger than ye another drubbing.

Would yis stop embarrassing yourselves . You have 3-4 county experienced men lads players who played sigerson playing Div 1 just stop posting. No 7 the last day was good as he played it as he seen it. Tough & fair. The rest ran in & out of position hiding ..

You have not beat any of the top or tougher championship teams since ye landed up from Intermediate 12/13 years ago. Not even once!

Denn Man (Cavan) - Posts: 413 - 19/09/2012 12:36:26    1268873

Kingscourt to win by 6+ in the county final.

lifebuoy (Cavan) - Posts: 628 - 19/09/2012 12:38:21    1268877

Your always gonna have these wind up merchants (probably from a team already defeated) saying one team is gonna win by 10+ points etc.
A load of BULL.
There will be shag all between them in the final. Ulster my arse, if either team wins a game in it, it will be brilliant. Don't hold your breath though.
Its a county final. Everyone thought the Gaels would win in 2010, that the Gaels would beat Killygary in 1/4 final, that Galway had no chance in the Leinster hurling final, script was torn up on the day.
60 minutes of football, anything can happen, a red card, a sloppy goal, could swing the match in either teams favour.
Remember the kids are back at school & college, so they obviously have internet access now again after being deprived off it all summer. So i'm guessing it is them who are spouting pure dung on here.

Loughduff Lad, what is mullahorans 2nd jersey ?? Only ever saw them wearing the usual blue & yellow one.

Ritz (None) - Posts: 199 - 19/09/2012 12:44:42    1268889

Don't know to be honest. Might be yellow and blue, instead of blue and yellow. Anyone know what is the standard protocol from the county board for this? I don't remember it being too much of an issue during league games, but the championship final could be different

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2487 - 19/09/2012 12:53:31    1268898

Loughduff Lad

1268853 19/09/2012 11:47:25
doratheexplorer

Your in the minority there sonny, all the talk from kingscort is if they will be allowed by the Ulster council or not to host the game against the tyrone winners in kingscourt or will they have to play it in Breffni. I heard they have signs up in the town for the Ulster game already.

P.Mus (Cavan) - Posts: 386 - 19/09/2012 12:54:04    1268899

Any need for anyone to change colours? They don't really clash do they?

Can't remember but did either Mullahoran or Gaels change for all those county finals they contested?

Godhimself (Cavan) - Posts: 64 - 19/09/2012 12:56:57    1268904

Ritz

Your always gonna have these wind up merchants (probably from a team already defeated) saying one team is gonna win by 10+ points etc.
A load of BULL.
There will be shag all between them in the final. Ulster my arse, if either team wins a game in it, it will be brilliant. Don't hold your breath though.
Its a county final. Everyone thought the Gaels would win in 2010, that the Gaels would beat Killygary in 1/4 final, that Galway had no chance in the Leinster hurling final, script was torn up on the day.
60 minutes of football, anything can happen, a red card, a sloppy goal, could swing the match in either teams favour.
Remember the kids are back at school & college, so they obviously have internet access now again after being deprived off it all summer. So i'm guessing it is them who are spouting pure dung on here.

Ritz surely to God, the Kids would have internet access all summer, given that they were off school.

lifebuoy (Cavan) - Posts: 628 - 19/09/2012 13:34:38    1268947

Denn Man. I wasn't making excuses for their display last Saturday or any other day for that matter, if you read my post properly you would have seen that. I was mearly arguing against the notion that some people were saying that they would be relegated, a nonsense statement made from a bitter rival I can only assume. Its all right Denn Man division 2 is a dark place but you will get used to it, considering how poor Denn are they will be there for some time but there is no need to go around looking to insult better teams than yours. Castlerahan were very bad and maybe they did bottle it but Kingscourt were very good and I fancy them to win it out. I guarantee you Castlerahan will be at the very least in the quarter finals next year alongside the other top teams in the county. Consistency is the first step towards success.

Fr.LarryDuff (Cavan) - Posts: 24 - 19/09/2012 14:08:35    1268996

I agree totally with the posters on Castlerahan having to change their style. This defensive set up doesn't suit a fast footballing team. Maybe new management is needed. Heavy defeats to the top teams cannot become the norm if this team is aiming for a title in the next couple of years. The final will be interesting though. I think Kingscourt have a bit more style and organisation than the Drednaughts, but it would be foolish to write them off completely as I always think of them as a championship team

Fr.LarryDuff (Cavan) - Posts: 24 - 19/09/2012 14:13:32    1268999

Godhimself

@Dorathexplorer, Paddy Power have Kingscourt at 50/1 to win Ulster, so thats how interesting they think it is.

What odds are Mullahoran?

HandPass1 (Cavan) - Posts: 129 - 19/09/2012 15:37:23    1269053

60/1

lifebuoy (Cavan) - Posts: 628 - 19/09/2012 15:57:04    1269092

Mullahoran aren't quoted Handpass. Sure only the county champions are allowed enter.!!

Godhimself (Cavan) - Posts: 64 - 19/09/2012 17:30:47    1269156

Is it on Paddy? Kingscourt at 50 might be decent value with an each way bet, be great if they won Ulster after Gaels failing for so many years. How did Kingscourt do in Ulster last time round?

HandPass1 (Cavan) - Posts: 129 - 19/09/2012 17:32:19    1269158

Bet in the first round in Ulster in Oct 2010, by Naomh Conaill (Glenties) by 4 points

lifebuoy (Cavan) - Posts: 628 - 19/09/2012 18:03:43    1269187

seanorinn you say yourself and a trainer, who would you bring in as a trainer if you took over the Castlerahan team to make them a better team and to win something. Why would you get rid of the back room team that is there at present.

theforgottenman (Cavan) - Posts: 234 - 19/09/2012 20:32:47    1269259