Intermediate Championship

Yea its 100% at 7 saturday evenin. Wat time is da first game at

Kr7688 (Cavan) - Posts: 43 - 11/10/2012 12:13:58    1281556

Yea its 100% at 7 saturday evenin. Wat time is da first game at
Kr7688 , 11/10/2012 at 12:13

5-15 the first match is but if the rain that we are having right now was to continue will any matches be played the week end ???

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 11/10/2012 12:57:16    1281586

I tink its only govin da rain today tink its clear from 2mra thru to sunday. Suppose ta b anyway

Kr7688 (Cavan) - Posts: 43 - 11/10/2012 14:01:21    1281640

@seanorinn
5-15 the first match is but if the rain that we are having right now was to continue will any matches be played the week end ???

What is the pitch like now sean do you think it will be able for all the games?

Dud_Gfc (Cavan) - Posts: 30 - 11/10/2012 14:25:48    1281661

@seanorinn

What is the pitch like now sean do you think it will be able for all the games?
Dud_Gfc , 11/10/2012 at 14:25

As this if it comes to it is the referees call it's not my call BUT right now very wet I can tell you. Forecast not too bad I hear for the next few day's

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 11/10/2012 15:33:16    1281725

Sean any word wat state the pitch is in

Kr7688 (Cavan) - Posts: 43 - 12/10/2012 11:02:49    1282041

Well done lacken

HandPass1 (Cavan) - Posts: 129 - 13/10/2012 20:30:42    1282659

Great game of football last night, Lacken management and team had clearly done there homework and learned from the drawn game . Cootehill ran them close scoring five unanswered but when Jason Reilly made the changes necessary Cootehill mentors had no reply. Shanaughy, and moynagh were excellent but Mc Kiernan for Lacken was magnificent, a county prospect surely, expected to see more out of Cootehills county men Hayes and mc Cutcheon , tho I heard after that Hayes played the whole game with a dead leg he got in first few minutes and is on crutches ? What about Cootehills C athal Mc Cabe how come he hasn't been playing is he injured?, Cootehill had a few passengers on that team last night Lacken's no 5 and 7 did some damage . Cootehills half back line worked at great intensity some very good tacklin and blocking in the last quarter but it wasn't enough to counteract the route one ball to the lacken full forward line. The Crowes Trevor and joe have been great servants to Cavzn football good to see joe going out on a high note , hear this will be his last season, say there's another season or two in Trevor. Cootehills 2 full forwards are a talented pair but why did cootehill play the ball out to the corners to them , both were able to beat their men but by the time they got back in scoring range the Lacken defence had all filtered back in and closed them down When Lacken played direct ball it was straight into mc Kiernan and Galligan on edge of squre in front of goal, it was great to watch . Well done Lacken, and fairPlay Cootehill ye gave us one of the best games all year.

ny2013 (Cavan) - Posts: 28 - 14/10/2012 16:08:21    1282891

It was great to see Joe Crowe go out if his way to have a word with some of the young Cootehill players who were obviously upset as they made their way back to the dressingrooms during the presentation. He has been a great servant of lacken football and I wish him well in his retirement.

marita (None) - Posts: 469 - 14/10/2012 18:17:25    1282960

Congratulations to Lacken and both teams on two wonderful games.. Niall Mckiernan is a real handful. I thought John MCutcheon worked ferociously for his side and kicked some wonderful scores on both occasions. Best of luck to Lacken in Ulster

cabhan123 (Cavan) - Posts: 2 - 15/10/2012 11:20:01    1283226

lacken deserved it on the night but id like to see cootehill play senior soon. hard to believe joe crowe played in the 94 final

westcavankid (Cavan) - Posts: 83 - 15/10/2012 14:07:40    1283349

Not a nice thing to see.

A CavaN GAA club has claimed one of its players was racially abused at a game, with the allegation discussed at a meeting of the county's Competitions Control Committee (CCC) last night.

Cootehill Celtics, who lost the county intermediate football final replay to Lacken last week, formally made the complaint by letter on Friday last.

They claim a racist remark was made against one of their players by an opponent, which was also heard by one of his Cootehill colleagues.

Cavan PRO Declan Woods confirmed that a complaint had been made and would be dealt with by the Cavan CCC.

"This will be investigated thoroughly by our board. There are specific guidelines to follow in these matters and we will be following them," he said.

The Cavan CCC are awaiting the referee's report to see if there is any reference to the alleged incident before launching the investigation.

Cootehill Celtics chairman Larry McCluskey said the decision to lodge a formal complaint to Cavan County Board came after a club meeting that followed discussions with the player in question and his family.

"We're satisfied that we have grounds for taking this action to ask Cavan County Board to investigate," he said.

"There is a lot of disquiet in our club about it," he added.

Earlier this year, two Wexford club players were suspended for two months each for alleged racist remarks made to inter-county star Lee Chin, who was playing for Sarsfields in a Senior Football Championship match.

The alleged remarks were raised in the report of referee Brendan Martin and subsequently acted upon.

Chin later testified that he had brought the matter to the attention of the referee after he himself had been yellow carded.

"It's becoming more of an issue for me, and it's not just me having to put up with this. There are younger people of mixed races coming up against this too. Some of them may just listen to some of the things being said to them and think, 'Is it worth this at all? I'm not going to bother'," Chin said at the time.

The issue of 'sledging' came to light during this year's Allianz football league when Armagh claimed in an initial statement after their match with Laois that "alleged racist and personal abuse directed at our players is apparently going unpunished."

That initial stance was diluted later in the week when a joint statement issued through the GAA press office from Armagh and Laois claimed Armagh's statement "did not accurately reflect" what occurred at O'Moore Park.

Meanwhile, a man in his 30s has been charged with a public order offence, which took place during the Ulster club championship preliminary round tie between Cavan champions Mullahoran and their Tyrone counterparts Errigal Ciaran.

The man, understood to be from Northern Ireland, is due to appear before Cavan District Court on November 15.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 891 - 23/10/2012 19:31:32    1287288

is this what GAA is coming too..that there can't be a bit of slagging during a game with all forgotten afterwards over a pint? Next they'll be wearing shin pad's and diving

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1750 - 23/10/2012 20:21:09    1287315

So you think racism is a joke?

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 891 - 23/10/2012 20:35:08    1287322

where did i say racism was a joke?

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1750 - 23/10/2012 21:41:02    1287362

wishfulthinkin

where did i say racism was a joke?

You implied that the article posted by RHF made the GAA look soft and that we should all enjoy a bit if a 'joke' at the expense of anyone who might suffer racist abuse . This is a sickening development and one I am confident Cavan County Board will deal with swiftly. A bit of old racism with our football on a Sunday ? No thank you.

ny2013 (Cavan) - Posts: 28 - 23/10/2012 21:57:15    1287376

learn what Racism is first lads before accusing anyone of it.

milhouse (Cavan) - Posts: 469 - 24/10/2012 11:58:26    1287463

milhouse

learn what Racism is first lads before accusing anyone of it.

Who has accused someone of racism here?

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 891 - 24/10/2012 12:31:42    1287489

ive heard the so called remark that was directed at the cootehill player and it can in no way be classed as racism. if thats the case the CCC will have to deal with at least 5 cases each week

westcavankid (Cavan) - Posts: 83 - 24/10/2012 14:02:13    1287565

Well its good that you are not on the CCC and i dont think it is common in the GAA although there was the case in wexford earlier this year.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 891 - 24/10/2012 17:22:37    1287740