Get behind the team

I think people get the message slasher you don't like the manager

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 04/12/2011 10:04:06    1079608

Jaysus lads every manager has the right intentions or he shouldn't even look for the job !!
Good intentions do not make good managers though !!
Good managers have a plan and don't make it up as they go along so that neither supporters nor players know it !!
He had no plan in Louth and he has none in Cavan !!

Ochie,

I actually do like the man, I don't like his management skill or lack of it !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 04/12/2011 11:50:46    1079627

Agree 100% slasher

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 04/12/2011 13:56:38    1079671

Considering you live in the Britain and have trouble getting the Celt and Slasher's insights or lack of them ( to paraphrase the great man) is your main source of information, it goes with out saying that you agree 100 cement with him.

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 04/12/2011 16:39:13    1079754

Ochonlir. I've no problem getting the Celt or any other info I need despite not living in Cavan. I'm more informed that you care to realise!

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 04/12/2011 17:06:19    1079772

So signs on ya Richj

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 04/12/2011 17:10:16    1079775

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/football-rankings-martin-breheny-gives-his-verdict-on-the-state-of-play-2959844.html

I see Martin has us at number 26 now so we are gone down two places from last year. Yes things are improving !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 11/12/2011 11:41:33    1082762

I see Martin has us at number 26 now so we are gone down two places from last year. Yes things are improving !!
Cavan_Slasher , 11/12/2011 at 11:41

would you say he has got it right then. ???

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 11/12/2011 12:09:22    1082768

I would say he's being a tad optimistic Sean !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 11/12/2011 13:18:45    1082794

I would say he's being a tad optimistic Sean !!
Cavan_Slasher , 11/12/2011 at 13:18

my opinion he has 11 teams ahead of us that we Cavan can beat so yes a slight bit over the top but hey what does he know ??

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 11/12/2011 14:34:51    1082829

Sean o Rinn name the 11 teams. This should be interesting!!

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 11/12/2011 19:40:05    1082970

Sean o Rinn name the 11 teams. This should be interesting!!
richiej , 11/12/2011 at 19:40

I made my post in my opinion so I don't have to name any teams to appease you or anyone

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 11/12/2011 19:53:44    1082979

No you don't Sean but you also don't need to pick numbers out of a hat without any substance or fact to back them up. Actually if you look at the ratings you will see that Fermanagh and Waterford have both beaten us in the recent past. So 26th place is a fair rating because in my opinion there maybe 2 ahead of us that we might beat on a good day

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 11/12/2011 20:19:26    1082994

No you don't Sean but you also don't need to pick numbers out of a hat without any substance or fact to back them up. Actually if you look at the ratings you will see that Fermanagh and Waterford have both beaten us in the recent past. So 26th place is a fair rating because in my opinion there maybe 2 ahead of us that we might beat on a good day
richiej , 11/12/2011 at 20:19

Irrespective of past results I personally believe that we will be rated a lot higher come this time next year. Its my opinion and it does not matter who beat whom its were we are at is all I am interested in.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 11/12/2011 21:14:58    1083020

Sean o Rinn what you fail to grasp is that these rankings are based on the level we are at NOT where you or I think we will be next year. Now as we all know rankings are result based over a period of time. Despite what you say or even think. We are ranked 26th and to me that's a fair reflection on our current form. Last year we were ranked 24th maybe that was because we won a qualifier but as you can see we have got worse with only 3 competitive wins out of 9. So no matter what way you want to dress it up results don't lie. At present we are worse than last year. Stop talking about where you think we will be next year because you were at the same craic last year. And as we all know by now " talk is cheap"

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 12/12/2011 08:37:19    1083049

richiej
County: UK

Sean o Rinn what you fail to grasp is that these rankings are based on the level we are at NOT where you or I think we will be next year. Now as we all know rankings are result based over a period of time. Despite what you say or even think. We are ranked 26th and to me that's a fair reflection on our current form. Last year we were ranked 24th maybe that was because we won a qualifier but as you can see we have got worse with only 3 competitive wins out of 9. So no matter what way you want to dress it up results don't lie. At present we are worse than last year. Stop talking about where you think we will be next year because you were at the same craic last year. And as we all know by now " talk is cheap"

No matter what you say or think the teams that are ranked above us Cavan can beat 11 if not 12 of them and its your prerogative what ever way you think. I say we are better than the seeding and this will not change you say what ever you like. 26th don't make me laugh.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 12/12/2011 11:57:27    1083138

Sean o Rinn don't make me laugh. Results DON'T lie and on our results last year we might beat 2 that's above us. The reason Kilkenny footballers are last is they can beat nobody. The reason Dublin are first is they went through the championship unbeaten. See there a reason for all the teams ratings. Our reason is we are crap and getting worse!

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 12/12/2011 13:27:40    1083244

seanorinn

No matter what you say or think the teams that are ranked above us Cavan can beat 11 if not 12 of them and its your prerogative what ever way you think. I say we are better than the seeding and this will not change you say what ever you like. 26th don't make me laugh.

Sean , so you reckon we would beat Roscommon,galway,meath wexford and monaghan. Well good luck with that.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 12/12/2011 13:37:15    1083252

Sean , so you reckon we would beat Roscommon,galway,meath wexford and monaghan. Well good luck with that. 
s goldrick , 12/12/2011 at 13:37
Sean o Rinn don't make me laugh. Results DON'T lie and on our results last year we might beat 2 that's above us. The reason Kilkenny footballers are last is they can beat nobody. The reason Dublin are first is they went through the championship unbeaten. See there a reason for all the teams ratings. Our reason is we are crap and getting worse! 
richiej , 12/12/2011 at 13:27

I am naming the teams we can beat and I will not waver from that at this moment in time.
We will have John back for our league campaign so we will prevail. We do let me add have the beating of Meath as well.

11 laois (21)
13 wexford (17)
17 antrim (20)
18 louth (16)
19 westmeath (22)
20 limerick (15)
21 sligo (13)
22 offaly (25)
23 tipperary (19)
24 longford (27)
25 wicklow (29)

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 12/12/2011 14:02:00    1083295

11 laois (21) no chance
13 wexford (17) no chance
17 antrim (20) no chance
18 louth (16) maybe
19 westmeath (22) maybe
20 limerick (15) no chance
21 sligo (13) no chance
22 offaly (25) maybe
23 tipperary (19) maybe
24 longford (27) no chance
25 wicklow (29) no chance

imo we only can hope to win 4 out of them 11 games!

jinky15 (Cavan) - Posts: 271 - 12/12/2011 14:17:57    1083315