I have just read the Barry Reilly interview in the Gaelic life. Some interesting things were said... Just curious if anyone else read it and what their thoughts might be? blue1947 (Cavan) - Posts: 85 - 30/08/2011 12:08:06 1022724 Link 0 |
http://www.gaeliclife.com/2011/08/22/barry-reilly-says-cavan-should-have-beaten-donegal/ SantaClaus (Cavan) - Posts: 108 - 30/08/2011 12:56:38 1022781 Link 0 |
That interview could open a right big can of worms with regard to the Senior set up ..Looks like he opted out with good reason.. There could be more following him if you read between the lines of what he is saying.. sheva7 (Cavan) - Posts: 498 - 30/08/2011 12:59:22 1022786 Link 0 |
Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 30/08/2011 13:28:43 1022810 Link 0 |
Con, blue1947 (Cavan) - Posts: 85 - 30/08/2011 14:11:57 1022866 Link 0 |
I wonder was that interview done before or after his performance last Sunday night. Yet another young Cavan footballer who knows it all. Holdonasecond (Cavan) - Posts: 17 - 30/08/2011 14:27:43 1022894 Link 0 |
Don't think that will help his chances of playing for Cavan in 2012 laflour (Cavan) - Posts: 528 - 30/08/2011 14:35:44 1022905 Link 0 |
Lads hes a young fella not long out of school. He has a lot to learn in life and in football and he centanly hasnt been doing his talking on the field in a while. But hopefully he`ll settle down and come good. Serious talent. THE.FOX (Cavan) - Posts: 48 - 30/08/2011 15:29:40 1022978 Link 0 |
blue1947 Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 30/08/2011 15:32:09 1022984 Link 0 |
if you read the full article, he states that he will only play in the age group that he is in, that being U 21. So he has no intention of going into the senior set up next year. Who would blame him after the debacle we saw this year. Although his performance's this year would not warrant a call up Ritz (None) - Posts: 199 - 30/08/2011 16:01:56 1023023 Link 0 |
Ritz Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 30/08/2011 16:07:07 1023032 Link 0 |
Probably not the smartest comments to be making. But if a player is good enough, then whoever is in charge can ill afford not to have him involved based on some comments made. We're not blessed with outstanding performances at present & it would be different if Cavan was achieving some success at senior level, then a manager could freeze out a player & hold the higher ground. Ritz (None) - Posts: 199 - 30/08/2011 16:34:44 1023065 Link 0 |
Con, blue1947 (Cavan) - Posts: 85 - 30/08/2011 16:49:00 1023088 Link 0 |
Don't get me wrong, I think he's a great talent and I hope this doesnt affect his progress. Theres a fair chance he got screwed but I think he'll be mad with himself 2-3 years down the line. Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 30/08/2011 16:56:29 1023099 Link 0 |
It really was a naive article to give because once it is in print it can never be taken back, Donegal's system proved effective enough to get them to an All Ireland semi final beating teams like Tyrone, Derry and Kildare along the way who are considered superior teams to Cavan and they also nearly beat Dublin who were in their fourth consecutive semi final. They have only lost two games this season and have a national league title so saying Cavan should have or could have beaten them is a bit much. Cavan are way behind these teams in terms of physical development and attitude. I would think the current management would overlook this mistake by a young man and I hope he doesnt recieve too much criticism from his peers. redcelt (Cavan) - Posts: 5 - 30/08/2011 17:00:28 1023108 Link 0 |
Look, this county is full of people who are not honest enough, on the field and off it, and throughout this interview, barry is being honest and giving his opinion. I was talking to a young lad from my club, who knows barry and i showed him the interview, and he agreed with what barry was saying and could see where he was coming from. No matter what way we look at it, there ARE players in there who are dictating and need to be turfed out before they infect the u21s. I can tell ya, barry has wisedom beyond his years for not going in this or next year, and if this year is like last, val wont be there for when barry is going to go in. galoping gazele (None) - Posts: 174 - 30/08/2011 17:59:39 1023199 Link 0 |
Would agree that it was a naive article but the disgrace that is the county Senior team needs to be addressed. Full of egos and players who know it all and have no interest in putting in the effort required to win championship matches. On the morning of matches all some players are worried about is the session after the match. Fair enough they are amateurs but its still a disgrace when you pay 20-30 quid to see a match. I can see why many players wont commit to the panel. Crash Bang Wallop (None) - Posts: 268 - 30/08/2011 19:13:16 1023283 Link 0 |
I have read the full interview and to be honest there is not much controversy in it. He only said what most people on here were saying. only difference is he was brave enough to put his name to it. fair play to him. s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 30/08/2011 20:12:11 1023374 Link 0 |
I wouldn't say thats necessarily true galloping gazelle, niall mcdermott in my opinion has been the player of the championship so far. Gearoid McKiernan too is in good form. Barry looks (and sounds) like he probably is a bit burnt out. Hes had a poor year and theres prob a touch of frustration in his comments. Theres no doubt it was ill advised, he will have to play with them sometime and he may have isolated himself. I heard of lyng having a similar problem a few years ago. Rightly or wrongly it hasn't turned out the best for him either. Navscan (Cavan) - Posts: 58 - 30/08/2011 21:50:04 1023517 Link 0 |
mcdermott and mckeirnan, are both cul camp coaches this summer blue1947 (Cavan) - Posts: 85 - 31/08/2011 10:59:11 1023659 Link 0 |