Cavan Minors ----You made us proud

Shev, the fact that you don't agree with my post doesn't necessaraly make it stupid. This is my opinion based on fact and observation. You obviously have not read my previous posts on this subj so I'll answer your question. I'd row back on the expectations of the seniors and use their competitions for the next 4/5 years solely for the purpose of properly bringing on the emerging talent, assuming that the current trend and momentum continues to produce winners. When we have properly introduced enough of them, then I'd up the ante for the seniors and have a planned crack at Sam, possibly in 5/6 years depending on the progress of the young lads. It's not new, it just requires a strategic approach from minor to senior. It's what Tyrone did, what Cork did and what Dublin are currently attempting to do. Dampening our expectations for the current seniors is the easy piece. Willing as some of them are, they have no winning campaigns behind them, so statistically it's unlikely that they will win anything by hard work alone. They have missed the boat unfortunately, in my humble opinion.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 471 - 01/08/2011 10:20:15    1000340

game was lost on the sideline. If mccabe and Donoghue accepted praise for tactical accumen in the ulster final then they should accept criticism for this display in Longford. although the crowd didn't help . sometimes the crowd can be a hindrence, with constant shouts of let it in let it in. . however this tactic wasn't working. we just needed to get the ball out to the wings and drag the galway backs out from the centre we could have easily won that game. Finnegan did well but it was too crowded in there . we should have been trying to engineer points from in and around the 21 mark. our support play is just not up to scratch at any level in the county. We dont seem to be able to run at pace and offload to a man coming off the shoulder. Galway only seemed to have a couple of players who were running the show and also the top class freetaker. they did get one or two handy frees esp one near the end which ended up in a point indirectly. at least we wernt hammered like the under-21. but we should have beaten this galway team. they were no great shakes.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 01/08/2011 10:27:10    1000346

and40 good post!

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 01/08/2011 11:36:06    1000404

game was lost on the sideline. If mccabe and Donoghue accepted praise for tactical accumen in the ulster final then they should accept criticism for this display in Longford. although the crowd didn't help . sometimes the crowd can be a hindrence, with constant shouts of let it in let it in. . however this tactic wasn't working. we just needed to get the ball out to the wings and drag the galway backs out from the centre we could have easily won that game. Finnegan did well but it was too crowded in there . we should have been trying to engineer points from in and around the 21 mark. our support play is just not up to scratch at any level in the county. We dont seem to be able to run at pace and offload to a man coming off the shoulder. Galway only seemed to have a couple of players who were running the show and also the top class freetaker. they did get one or two handy frees esp one near the end which ended up in a point indirectly. at least we wernt hammered like the under-21. but we should have beaten this galway team. they were no great shakes.
s goldrick , 01/08/2011 at 10:27

Would you not place any blame on the players at all then.??? I agree about the side line the terrace but I think you need to point a finger also in another direction.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 01/08/2011 13:46:19    1000557

seanorinn
Would you not place any blame on the players at all then.??? I agree about the side line the terrace but I think you need to point a finger also in another direction.

I'm not sure what you are getting at Sean. I need some clues here . I don't want to start pointing the finger at individual players. but do you feel that there were certain individuals who's attitude was not what would be expected.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 01/08/2011 14:01:55    1000574

seanorinn

I'm not sure what you are getting at Sean. I need some clues here . I don't want to start pointing the finger at individual players. but do you feel that there were certain individuals who's attitude was not what would be expected.
s goldrick , 01/08/2011 at 14:01

Yes sadly it was frustrating to see this and it reminds off all that is bad going back since 97. I will not point a finger either on this forum but sadly many could be pointed. In reply YES sadly certain individuals who's attitude was not what would be expected.
I was so disappointed with what I saw and it just seemed all they wanted to do was get it over with. Management I can tell you are not above criticism either.??? What a shame we had the players to win this match easy and a few tactical changes early on could have solved this. The sooner we get management who want to use the full dimension of the pitch the better otherwise it will be many more barren years to come if we stick with it as it is.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 01/08/2011 14:24:22    1000594

I just want to offer my heartiest congratulations to our minors on winning the Ulster Championship. Some of the comments expressed on this forum since last Saturdays defeat are overly negative and I sincerely hope none of our minors have read them. The defeat to Galway was very disappointing but we must remember that this years minor team and managment have achieved alot more than any county minor team since 1973. Well done lads and feck the begrudgers!
I hope that the pick of these young lads combined with the best of the 2011 and 2010 Under 21's can come together and work hard to make Cavan at least a top 8 county within the next 3 years. Mayo showed last Sunday what can be achieved when modest ability is combined with hard work and a team ethic. The objective for next year should be getting promoted out of Division 3 so that our emerging talent can begin to get some experience of playing intercounty football of a decent standard and to try and to at a minimum retain the Ulster Under 21 title.

Breffniman1 (Cavan) - Posts: 25 - 03/08/2011 15:40:57    1002557

Breffniman1

1002557 I just want to offer my heartiest congratulations to our minors on winning the Ulster Championship. Some of the comments expressed on this forum since last Saturdays defeat are overly negative and I sincerely hope none of our minors have read them. The defeat to Galway was very disappointing but we must remember that this years minor team and managment have achieved alot more than any county minor team since 1973. Well done lads and feck the begrudgers!
I hope that the pick of these young lads combined with the best of the 2011 and 2010 Under 21's can come together and work hard to make Cavan at least a top 8 county within the next 3 years. Mayo showed last Sunday what can be achieved when modest ability is combined with hard work and a team ethic. The objective for next year should be getting promoted out of Division 3 so that our emerging talent can begin to get some experience of playing intercounty football of a decent standard and to try and to at a minimum retain the Ulster Under 21 title.

You should get the dates and facts right first.. 1974 not 1973. yes i agree the main objective should be get out of div3 and raise the standard for this emerging young talent to learn and compete with..That has to be top priority.. If Andrews cant produce promotion well he HAS to walk even before the Championship..
7 GAMES HE HAS GOT TO PROVE HIS WORTH

sheva7 (Cavan) - Posts: 498 - 03/08/2011 17:06:38    1002660

Cavan were far too predictable in the way they played , a 3 man full foward line , not a county team in the country plays with a 3 man full foward line and wins anything. Look at the likes of Kerry they have gouch and donaghy.

drumalee11 (USA) - Posts: 388 - 03/08/2011 17:23:28    1002681

ondforty

Shev, the fact that you don't agree with my post doesn't necessaraly make it stupid. This is my opinion based on fact and observation. You obviously have not read my previous posts on this subj so I'll answer your question. I'd row back on the expectations of the seniors and use their competitions for the next 4/5 years solely for the purpose of properly bringing on the emerging talent, assuming that the current trend and momentum continues to produce winners. When we have properly introduced enough of them, then I'd up the ante for the seniors and have a planned crack at Sam, possibly in 5/6 years depending on the progress of the young lads. It's not new, it just requires a strategic approach from minor to senior. It's what Tyrone did, what Cork did and what Dublin are currently attempting to do. Dampening our expectations for the current seniors is the easy piece. Willing as some of them are, they have no winning campaigns behind them, so statistically it's unlikely that they will win anything by hard work alone. They have missed the boat unfortunately, in my humble opinion.

We have to win a game in the championship before we can start talking about all-irelands , u are jumping way ahead of yourselves, some teams like kerry dont win that much at underage but yet there thereabouts come september every year, so underage might not mean much at all

drumalee11 (USA) - Posts: 388 - 03/08/2011 17:34:25    1002700

You should get the dates and facts right first.. 1974 not 1973. yes i agree the main objective should be get out of div3 and raise the standard for this emerging young talent to learn and compete with..That has to be top priority.. If Andrews cant produce promotion well he HAS to walk even before the Championship..
sheva7 , 03/08/2011 at 17:06

sheva7 ???? you will not want to play with him OR WILL YOU being as disrespectful towards him as you are.?? Put the senior players that were there before the U21 players arrived on the pitch and get your U21 team together and you will not beat them? This let me tell you is sending you and everyone else on the U21 team you are not good enough yet YES and this includes Geroid McKiernan. It will be at least 3 years of hard grafting to mould you fellows into anything near a senior team/player. I know I watch you all week after week.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 03/08/2011 18:51:53    1002791

seanorinn

1002791 You should get the dates and facts right first.. 1974 not 1973. yes i agree the main objective should be get out of div3 and raise the standard for this emerging young talent to learn and compete with..That has to be top priority.. If Andrews cant produce promotion well he HAS to walk even before the Championship..
sheva7 , 03/08/2011 at 17:06

sheva7 ???? you will not want to play with him OR WILL YOU being as disrespectful towards him as you are.?? Put the senior players that were there before the U21 players arrived on the pitch and get your U21 team together and you will not beat them? This let me tell you is sending you and everyone else on the U21 team you are not good enough yet YES and this includes Geroid McKiernan. It will be at least 3 years of hard grafting to mould you fellows into anything near a senior team/player. I know I watch you all week after week.

SEAN O RINN what are you talking about?? Andrews has 7 games to save his Cavan Managerial career. I Expect him to use at least 10 of the past two years under 21s... Remember to mould players together you have to play them together. The National League is the place to mould at least 10 of the past two years under21... Give them the 7 National league games not just 20 minutes in the heat of the Senior Championship.
THEY WILL BE GOOD ENOUGH WITH PLENTY OF MATCH PRACTICE, PLAYING TOGETHER.
GET OUT OF DIV3.. RAISE THE STANDARD, BUILD THE WINNING MENTALITY THAT GIVES PLAYERS CONFIDENCE, CONFIDENCE IN THEIR OWN ABILITY AND CONFIDENCE IN THEIR TEAMATES...

sheva7 (Cavan) - Posts: 498 - 03/08/2011 19:27:41    1002819

I EXPECT.. MURRAY, MCKIERNAN,N SMITH.MCDERMOTT.GIVNEY,B REILLY,J MCENROE,P LEDDY,MEEHAN,O MINAGH, R DUNNE,C MC CLAREY..... ALL TO FEATURE IN THE CAVAN PANEL FOR THE NEXT TWO YEARS IF THEY ARE INTERESTED...THATS AT LEAST 12 OF THE LAST TWO YEARS...

sheva7 (Cavan) - Posts: 498 - 03/08/2011 19:38:40    1002826

Drumalee 11, Kerry won the 2008 All Ireland which included some of this year's seniors. I take your point though, underage success isn't always necessary, Galway won two SAMs from nowhere. Very rare though. In our case I'd say highly unlikely without several major underage successes.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 471 - 03/08/2011 20:34:34    1002856

I EXPECT.. MURRAY, MCKIERNAN,N SMITH.MCDERMOTT.GIVNEY,B REILLY,J MCENROE,P LEDDY,MEEHAN,O MINAGH, R DUNNE,C MC CLAREY..... ALL TO FEATURE IN THE CAVAN PANEL FOR THE NEXT TWO YEARS IF THEY ARE INTERESTED...THATS AT LEAST 12 OF THE LAST TWO YEARS...
sheva7 , 03/08/2011 at 19:38

SEAN O RINN what are you talking about?? Andrews has 7 games to save his Cavan Managerial career. I Expect him to use at least 10 of the past two years under 21s... Remember to mould players together you have to play them together. The National League is the place to mould at least 10 of the past two years under21... Give them the 7 National league games not just 20 minutes in the heat of the Senior Championship.
THEY WILL BE GOOD ENOUGH WITH PLENTY OF MATCH PRACTICE, PLAYING TOGETHER.
GET OUT OF DIV3.. RAISE THE STANDARD, BUILD THE WINNING MENTALITY THAT GIVES PLAYERS CONFIDENCE, CONFIDENCE IN THEIR OWN ABILITY AND CONFIDENCE IN THEIR TEAMATES...
sheva7 , 03/08/2011 at 19:27

You are very lucky then that I don't have anything to do with picking the senior team for the players you mention if they are all part of the next senior set up then Val Andrews may walk tonight then. 10 of them you have got to be talking nonsense surely maybe two at the very most three, You may well be right that they will be there making up numbers of the senior panel but being part of the present team going forward way to young maybe in three years time when they get some strength. I watched James McEnroe the other night and he played very well and he is strong so he will be there.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 03/08/2011 21:10:26    1002886

Sean O Rinn, I beg to inform you that I have read your posts over a period and I feel that you are 100% behind the team manager should it be Val or Tommy in all, decision when the appear correct or not.
But I do recall that when Donal Keogan was manager that a lot of people were against him.
I did not hear you support Donal?

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4163 - 03/08/2011 21:15:16    1002892

Sean O Rinn, I beg to inform you that I have read your posts over a period and I feel that you are 100% behind the team manager should it be Val or Tommy in all, decision when the appear correct or not.
But I do recall that when Donal Keogan was manager that a lot of people were against him.
I did not hear you support Donal?
tomsmith , 03/08/2011 at 21:15

What a shame tom I was 100% behind Donal Keogan I can tell you I thought he was doing a great job and had a great program of work going on so you are wrong, however he had one person what shall we call him the spy in the sky who was a bad issue for sure. I suggest you talk with Donal for he and I are good friends and we chat in the stand regular. I can tell you now if Val was to walk I would be very happy to see Donal back so sorry tom you are wrong this time. I was sorry to hear he stood down in the first place. Donal Keogan gave Cavan Football more than thousands of people in Cavan that is how good Donal Keogan was and still is to Cavan Football. John

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 04/08/2011 12:11:30    1003185

Is someone pretending to be Sean O'Rinn. Some of the comments posted don't fit very well with what was posted on the Cavan Minor Football Manager discussion a few weeks ago when Sean said "Just bringing this post to the front for those who knocked the appointments of the minor set up to refresh their memories.
Goes to show that you can do it when you have the right people about you.
Congratulations to Tom Reilly for having the balls to do it his way. Cavan to win Ulster and please god the All Ireland as well."
I think there is something fishy going on here.

Breffniman1 (Cavan) - Posts: 25 - 04/08/2011 15:13:48    1003445

Is someone pretending to be Sean O'Rinn. Some of the comments posted don't fit very well with what was posted on the Cavan Minor Football Manager discussion a few weeks ago when Sean said "Just bringing this post to the front for those who knocked the appointments of the minor set up to refresh their memories.
Goes to show that you can do it when you have the right people about you.
Congratulations to Tom Reilly for having the balls to do it his way. Cavan to win Ulster and please god the All Ireland as well."
I think there is something fishy going on here.
Breffniman1 , 04/08/2011 at 15:13

Thank you for bringing this forward. I stand by what I said in my posts its me don't worry about that.
As I stated I was very disappointed by what went down last Saturday and by what was going on both on and off the pitch.
Where you at the match if yes you will know why I am unhappy if not well then I suggest you ask or get a video if possible.
I am not knocking let me tell you but to those of us that have followed the minor progress will understand where I am coming from.
The impression that I got from the attitude in Longford was, we got what we set out for and that this match is just a bonus.
I hope next year when they ask the minors what they would like to win I hope they reply the minor All Ireland.
Am I asking too much I don't think so?

Is Mise Sean O'Rinn

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 04/08/2011 18:11:43    1003676

Sean o Rinn
What a shame tom I was 100% behind Donal Keogan I can tell you I thought he was doing a great job and had a great program of work going on so you are wrong, however he had one person what shall we call him the spy in the sky who was a bad issue for sure. I suggest you talk with Donal for he and I are good friends and we chat in the stand regular. I can tell you now if Val was to walk I would be very happy to see Donal back so sorry tom you are wrong this time. I was sorry to hear he stood down in the first place. Donal Keogan gave Cavan Football more than thousands of people in Cavan that is how good Donal Keogan was and still is to Cavan Football. John

Sean a Cara Ta bron orm nil tu ceart, Sean I have to say that I stand over my comments about Donal and your lack of support for him.
I have in the past and at present been a supporter of Donal keogan who I feel did give 100% to Cavan football. I do not recall you giving any support to Donal when the vultures circled over him. If I now remember correctly I was his only supporter on H/S . As is a common saying those that are not with me in my hour of need are against me.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4163 - 06/08/2011 11:50:23    1004804