Cavan Gaels can hardly complain about other teams Amalgamation, Cavan Gaels is made up of players from several different clubs. CavanAgain (Cavan) - Posts: 196 - 13/09/2011 13:53:27 1033455 Link 0 |
as I said before... it is ok to amalgamate as long as you don't win the thing and especially as long as you don't beat the gaels in the final. Anyone would think this is the first time Kingscourt and shercock amalgamated. It clearly is not. The only problem this time is that they were better than the gaels and that's what wrankles. s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 13/09/2011 14:40:52 1033503 Link 0 |
william14 2 teams were fightin not just cavan gaels!!! Cavan211 (Cavan) - Posts: 5 - 13/09/2011 15:35:15 1033548 Link 0 |
Only someone from either kingscourt or shercock could argue that that amalgamation was anything other than a joke. In its present form amalgamations are for small teams who are unable to field a competitive team!! This my friends looked like a group of coaches desperate to put their mugs on the map sacrifice some fringe players from both teams in order to create an unbeatable outfit for their own glory. I believe that a forced amalgamation of all teams at minor level to create a say 10 team competition with individual clubs then competing in a seperate competition would benefit the county set up by allowing all the top players to access a high standard of football! But what the above two clubs did this year is still wrong. sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 13/09/2011 16:24:38 1033607 Link 0 |
s goldrick there is nothing wrong with amalgamations as long as its not stupid amalgamtions like o raghallaigh gaels this year. if kingscourt struggled this year and were relegated to division 2 you might just have an argument but they actually won the division 1 league which makes it laughable that they would even dream of amalgamating for championship, dont mind a decent division 2 team!!! if they had any bottle they would have tried to win the championship on their own. kingofkings (Cavan) - Posts: 16 - 13/09/2011 16:44:02 1033619 Link 0 |
@sceptical s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 13/09/2011 17:19:40 1033662 Link 0 |
Everyone says Kingscourt and Shercock gave up alot of players to ammalgumate but sure the subs bench had more than half u-16's on it . . Through the league Kingscourt played at least 2 fifteen year olds in each game. PatBurns (Cavan) - Posts: 17 - 13/09/2011 19:19:05 1033802 Link 0 |
Its not a bit of wonder that Cavan football is in the state it is in when people complain that a team is too good. It's ok to be a decent side but god forbid you would have a really good team. Unless your Cavan Gaels. Then its fine to be way ahead of everyone else. I have never witnessed such a crowd of sore losers in my entire life. You were beaten by a better team. Yes, TEAM! The way the Gaels behaved after the game was nothing short of disgraceful. Not too much being said about that by the Gaels supporters on here. O Raghallaigh Gaels are not the only amalgamation in Cavan Underage football but as long as no one else gets too good, there will no complaints about them. Once the Gaels can still beat you, its fine. You have to love the so called "Football People" in this county. SS1 (Cavan) - Posts: 196 - 14/09/2011 10:06:32 1033985 Link 0 |
I have a Minor league and Championship to look back on and be proud off and i'm even happier to know i won them with the same team. Holdonasecond (Cavan) - Posts: 17 - 14/09/2011 11:22:44 1034059 Link 0 |
SS1 i genuinely dont understand how you can possibly say a message like that? have you not read the past comments? can you read? the gaels and every other club have no problem with amalgamtions unless they are comical ones such as o raghallaigh gaels seeing as kingscourt on their own won the league? unless you have absolutly no idea about football it is clear that the o raghallaigh gaels amalgamtion was nothing short of disgraceful and during the year when i heard that kingscourt and shercock could be joining up for championship i chatted to a few lads from kingscourt and we joked about the thought of shercock joining kingscourt after winning the league. it just makes absolutly no sense!!!! kingofkings (Cavan) - Posts: 16 - 14/09/2011 13:00:07 1034165 Link 0 |
I don't think im the one that cant read if you think some of what has been posted on here is for the good of Cavan football. It has been stated quite clearly here many times that when the decision was made to amalgamate, it was FEBRUARY! Kingscourt had not yet won the league. Shercock had one nothing either and didn't in the end. In Fact, they forefitted a game and travelled to another with 15 players in total. No subs at all. How is that good for football. From all accounts, Kingscourt won the league with 17 players on the panel and if they had to have any injuries throughout the league, may not have been able to field a team either. That didn't happen and fair play to them. I think its grossly unfair to continue to take away from there win by slating them. From all accounts, they are a great bunch of lads and don't deserve to be told that their win was any less deserved because it was an amalgamation. SS1 (Cavan) - Posts: 196 - 14/09/2011 14:02:16 1034249 Link 0 |
SS1 , 14/09/2011 at 14:02 The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 14/09/2011 14:14:23 1034273 Link 0 |
well said sean, s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 14/09/2011 14:33:10 1034307 Link 0 |
At last sense been talked on this tread! Fair play SS1 and Sean! THE.FOX (Cavan) - Posts: 48 - 14/09/2011 14:36:18 1034311 Link 0 |
SS1 it doesnt matter what month it was decided that they would amalgamate because that very same team reached an u16 final and were beaten in a very competitive match in cootehill against the gaels and were always a very competitive team through the years so why they would dream of amalgamating is beyond me. then theres the argument of them not having enough players during the league as you say. in division 1 and sometimes 2 when a team at a particular age group has small numbers, it simply means that you just bring up more younger fellas to fill up the panel. its what the gaels and every club in the county have always done and everybody knows that. you are clearly more likely to have a weak team but thats life! im sure they are a great bunch of lads and i dont deny for a second that they didnt work hard but the amalgamation should not have happened and everybody knows that. kingscourt on their own would have had an extremely good chance of winning it. kingofkings (Cavan) - Posts: 16 - 14/09/2011 15:48:27 1034411 Link 0 |
I think the gaels supporters on this thread should just let it go. Beaten by the better team on the day. Shercock couldnt field a team on their own with little more than 12 or 13 players so it made sense to join with a nearby club i.e Kingscourt. They played well as a group and deserved their win Fr.LarryDuff (Cavan) - Posts: 24 - 14/09/2011 16:36:27 1034493 Link 0 |
I was bewildered to hear that no.5 got man of the match, never mind all the fighting and biting craic, but when a substitute comes on and scores 3 major pointson you, then you know you're not having a good day. And to all the sour Cavan gaels grapes, its just a bit of a pity that the yous couldn't draft in any Drumalee lads this year to give you that extra edge. Congrats to O'Raghallaigh Gaels, yous showed more heart in the end and deserved every bit of it. AreYaComfy (Cavan) - Posts: 2 - 14/09/2011 21:24:13 1034828 Link 0 |
AreYaComfy gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 15/09/2011 08:22:57 1034880 Link 0 |
Sportsmanship, Respect, Humility. ????? The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 15/09/2011 10:52:08 1034958 Link 0 |
Just in cast you didn't know gaelsutd, Cavan Gaels are a club formed through an amalgamation of Cavan Slashers and Cavan Harps. With the population that you have to pick from in Cavan town, you should be well able to compete with a team amalgamated from Kingscourt and Shercock. CC1 (Cavan) - Posts: 65 - 15/09/2011 12:48:52 1035094 Link 0 |