Minor Championship

Best a luck to both teams on Sunday should be a great game. Ignore the rubbish on this thread and go out and enjoy your day.
THE.FOX , 07/09/2011 at 12:46

AMEN

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 07/09/2011 13:50:10    1029108

Best a luck to both teams on Sunday should be a great game. Ignore the rubbish on this thread and go out and enjoy your day.
THE.FOX , 07/09/2011 at 12:46

Shouldn't it be best of luck to the 3 teams on Sunday?? ;)

bigcavanman (Cavan) - Posts: 49 - 07/09/2011 17:08:43    1029320

Best of luck to the 3 parishes involved sunday

legend 44 (Cavan) - Posts: 154 - 07/09/2011 17:52:42    1029366

I was in shercock this evening and was talking to a few people about the game sunday.The story is shercock had 16-17 players for the league this year...through injuries and suspension couldnt field a team for one of the games and for a couple others had no subs,so i think its unfair to have ago at them for joining up with another local team.Now i dont no why Kingscourt need to join with anyone after they won division 1,id be more worried about that.Any way best of luck to the shercock boy's sunday i wont get to it because we are in action sunday as well.

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 07/09/2011 21:54:15    1029616

Ah ye are some craic lads. Time to build a bridge and get over it;)

THE.FOX (Cavan) - Posts: 48 - 08/09/2011 08:33:06    1029640

kingscourt won the league with only 2 subs so if any players were to get injured they would not field a team .. shercock had to play 7 u16 players in one league game against shannon gaels due to lack of numbers... so i see no problems with the 2 of the teams joining together .. and besides cavan gaels still would have 3 or 4 times the pick of players that kingscourt/shercock have? so quit complaining ...

pMll (Cavan) - Posts: 3 - 08/09/2011 17:17:56    1030064

Firstly good luck to both teams in the final.
Secondly why are teams amalgamating? Didn't both Kingscourt and Shercock have plenty of players at u14 for this group, didn't Ramor or Killinkere or some of the other amalgamations. I believe Shercock and Kingscourt when they state that they haven't got the nos and that is typical of other clubs, this would indicate to me that we have to really address player drop off. From what I can see clubs have big panels at 14 and they tend to dramatically fall off after this. So the question is why and what do we need to do to address it. Is the two year age gap a factor, ie someone who scrapes onto this years U14 in his last year at that grade, will probably not get near the 16s next year and so may call it a day? What's causing it ?

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 08/09/2011 18:33:06    1030140

Sure kingscourt and shercock were allowed amalgamate as the a few of the members are from the shercock area and were able to get the amalgamation,,,and then they wanted the game moved forward a few weeks to suit themselves and again they got that aswell.....shows what state cavan football is in at the minute..

flakester (Cavan) - Posts: 20 - 09/09/2011 15:01:18    1030678

Sure kingscourt and shercock were allowed amalgamate as the a few of the members are from the shercock area and were able to get the amalgamation,,,and then they wanted the game moved forward a few weeks to suit themselves and again they got that aswell.....shows what state cavan football is in at the minute..

flakester

flakester, there are 100's (probably 1000's) games played in Cavan each year, I dont think ya can even slighty begin to blame the state of cavan football on one almagation and one game being changed, it has no effect on much really....god if that didnt happen, we could be all going up to croke next week like the kerry or dublin fans

fatbob (Cavan) - Posts: 11 - 09/09/2011 15:44:06    1030737

GRRRRRRRRR jaysus lads will ye quit going on about the bloody amalgamation! They were allowed into it and thats it. And talking about the state of Cavan football Cavan Gaels have won every minor champ bar two since 1997 so its about time there is some decent competition for them. Plus id love to what clubs you guys are from thats putting all these anti O Raghallagh Gaels posts up! If ye put more effort in like these guys have done instead of moaning maybe you could be in the final too. I doubt anyone from a successfull club like Cavan Gaels would have anything negative to say with their history in this competition? they will just go out and give it a rattle. Less a the sour grapes lads as i said before get over it and go see hopefully a great game with serious talent on show. Enjoy.

THE.FOX (Cavan) - Posts: 48 - 09/09/2011 15:47:15    1030738

Best of luck to O'Raghallagh Gaels in the final. Nobody was giving out them years yous joined up when yous had a weak team. Think it will be a good game and a very close one. The Gaels are very strong and you will be doing very well to beat them. Hope both teams put on a good game of ball

hp (Cavan) - Posts: 88 - 10/09/2011 10:36:58    1031102

Talk about making things up! The game was changed because of the Ladies All Ireland being on the 25th! What is your problem!

SS1 (Cavan) - Posts: 196 - 10/09/2011 13:14:29    1031170

Talk about making things up! The game was changed because of the Ladies All Ireland being on the 25th! What is your problem!
SS1 , 10/09/2011 at 13:14
CORRECT

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 10/09/2011 13:27:08    1031176

cop on! and just go and enjoy the game, and let the best team win!!!!!!

tie (Cavan) - Posts: 4 - 10/09/2011 15:32:52    1031228

as per usual it takes 2 teams to beat the gaels at minor level..

kingofkings (Cavan) - Posts: 16 - 11/09/2011 19:41:00    1031943

you must be from the gaels but i dont care cus your absolutely right!!!! cavan county board = pathetic... next thing bailiebrough will join up

Cavan211 (Cavan) - Posts: 5 - 11/09/2011 19:46:37    1031949

Cavan Gaels will b representing Cavan in ulster this year

gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 11/09/2011 20:05:32    1031976

Take your beating. Just like the Gaels captain in his speech, had to get a jobe in about the two teams joining together. Typical sore losers.
Everybody is whinging about all the players that are missing out becasue they amalgamated etc & how these players will subsequently drop off.
The gaels have been in something like the last 13 or so minor finals in a row & won the majority of those, so where have all these players gone to ??
If you look at the current gaels senior team you have elliott, rabbitte, chesty, king, & dominic reilly from the 98 minor team, add in cathal collins & a blow in lyng; that equals 7 of their starting team. So where have all the players from these winning minor teams gone ???
if anything its the gaels who are to blame for players quitting football, they have a huge turnover of players & need to look at their own house before they start complaining about others.
Well done today, better team won although it was poor enough football for alot of it

tony.montana (Cavan) - Posts: 179 - 11/09/2011 20:16:56    1031997

tony.montana how can you possibly suggest that the gaels cant be angry about kingscourt being allowed to amalgamate after winning the league on their own?

kingofkings (Cavan) - Posts: 16 - 11/09/2011 20:34:07    1032017

it has been posted here previously that kingscourt had 2 or 3 subs for the league & that shercock struggled in their division.
Whats the problem, everybody gives out that the gaels win it every 2nd year & they have no competition, once there is a bit of competition from an amalgamation team, people are crying. Then the Gaels minor team like the senior team lose in Ulster at early stages & everybody complains " ah sure there is nobody putting it up to them within their own county " . It's beneficial to whatever club wins, no matter if it's minor or senior that they are tested & don't just walk through their repspective grade without being tested. Gaels have the biggest pick of any club - FACT. At least O Raghallaigh Gaels is only made up of two clubs. How many players join cavan gaels from border clubs just becasue they are successful ???

tony.montana (Cavan) - Posts: 179 - 11/09/2011 20:45:50    1032032