O'Byrne Cup draw: O'Rourke's Meath reign begins with trip to Carlow

December 02, 2022

Meath manager Colm O'Rourke

Colm O’Rourke’s first competitive game in charge of Meath will see the Royals travelling to take on Carlow in the opening round of the O’Byrne Cup next month.

The Leinster pre-season competition’s groups and fixtures were confirmed yesterday, with Meath drawn into Group B and holders Dublin in Group C along with Oisin McConville's Wicklow and Offaly.

Glenn Ryan’s Kildare side are in Group A with Louth, Wexford and Dessie Dolan’s Westmeath.

The competition commences on Wednesday, January 4th (see fixture details below).

O’Byrne Cup draw:

Group A: Kildare, Louth, Westmeath, Wexford

Group B: Longford, Carlow, Meath, Laois

Group C: Dublin, Wicklow, Offaly


Wednesday, 4 January 2023: Wexford v Kildare; Louth v Westmeath; Laois v Longford; Carlow v Meath; Wicklow v Dublin; Offaly Bye

Saturday, 7 January 2023: Westmeath v Wexford; Kildare v Louth; Longford v Carlow; Meath v Laois; Offaly v Wicklow; Dublin Bye.

Wednesday, 11 January 2023: Wexford v Louth; Westmeath v Kildare; Laois v Carlow; Meath v Longford; Dublin v Offaly; Wicklow Bye.

Sunday, 15 January 2023: Semi-Finals, Winners A v Winners C, Winners B Bye to Final.

Friday, 20 January 2023: Final

Most Read Stories