Non-Gaa Forum - 7 Like(s)
Replying To TheFlaker: "People are entitled to their beliefs but I find all religions mind boggling. They probably do in some sense keep a certain amount of order in the world but how any sane minded person thinks there is a higher power overseeing everything in the world is beyond me." I don't think that is what people believe to be honest.
I still practice my faith, but it's more the case of some sort of intelligent consciousness that lit the fuse so to speak.
I find it equally mind boggling that so many devout atheists (and I understand the irony of that term) seem so sure that it's not possible for there to be a God.
Anybody who claims anything they don't know to be absolute truth is arrogant regardless of their belief.
Doylerwex (National) - 03/12/2024 10:18:33
Non-Gaa Forum - 6 Like(s)
Replying To Freethinker: "Plenty of stats on here, it must be said. That query re "vetting" is interesting. It's one that's used quite regularly by people of a particular political persuasion. A question. How many Irish single males over the age of 18 are "vetted" ??" Why would they be? They're citizens? They commit crimes too, and I'm in favour of much tougher sentencing but that's a separate issue that has zero to do with immigration.
Doylerwex (National) - 14/10/2025 22:33:39
Non-Gaa Forum - 6 Like(s)
Replying To cluichethar: "This is a question for both sides on here about immigration. What would be an acceptable immigration percentage be every year? Or do you have an acceptable number in mind?" The number is unimportant. My own view is it needs to benefit us in the manner it does Australia and Canada. They important the skills they need. No more no less.
We need healthcare and construction workers so we should recruit them from abroad.
We do not need more social welfare recipients or criminals. We are well able to produce them ourselves.
Doylerwex (National) - 14/10/2025 22:38:21
Non-Gaa Forum - 5 Like(s)
Replying To Commodore: "Then we have religious organizations who practiced slavery with pregnant women in laundry houses, sold their children off the highest bidder and buried others in Septic tanks, and in the decades since that have passed, they have spent millions in donated money from the public to legally fight all chances for victims to ever get justice.
I struggle with that, how that was allowed and nobody from within could stop it. Not just in one Country, this seemed to be the way all over, yet nobody could stop it." All of that is true, and absolutely horrific, but equally, consider the value the church provided in humanitarian missions, doctors, lawyers, priests in the developing world.
Don't get me wrong, Irish people have good reason for turning away.
however, we would have had no education or healthcare system in our infant state without them.
How much influence have Christian values had on the west? The most Equal society in recorded history?
Certainly not perfect, but I would say the influence of Christianity on society was net positive. We're worse off without it now.
In the west in 2025, immorality, crime, community values, society at large are completely out of control. People don't know right from wrong any more. The correlation between this and the erosion of the church are not a coincidence.
Doylerwex (National) - 29/09/2025 15:33:16
Stories Of Unique GAA Camaraderie? - 5 Like(s)
Replying To yew_tree: "I agree on GAA but Catholic Church the one true religion? Don't make me laugh. I suppose all the other religions are wrong…fact is it's all fairytale No matter what code you follow." Probably moving away from the subject matter s bit but I'll bite.
All religions contain truth. Only the Catholic faith contains the entire truth. It's also full of hypocrisy but the truth is still preserved.
You shouldn't say it's all fairytale. That's disrespectful and mean spirited. By all means say you disagree.
You also shouldn't say it's a fact if you don't know it to be true.
I'm a believer. I wouldn't dream of saying it's a fact. I believe. I couldn't possibly know.
Doylerwex (National) - 09/12/2024 15:30:07
All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2024 - 4 Like(s)
You know for an organisation that's identity is so heavily rooted in tradition I think the new championship calender has ruined it.
For more casual supporters half of them don't even realise the championship has started nevermind at semi final stage.
Bring back the first Sunday in September please.
Doylerwex (National) - 05/07/2024 09:40:28
Stories Of Unique GAA Camaraderie? - 4 Like(s)
Replying To Canuck: "Good people are good no matter what their religion or if any at all. Or bad are bad. What has always bothered me through history is the amount of people killed and wars fought in the name of God. If he exists that would not make him so nice. Or is it organized religions and political operatives using his name to achieve their aims? Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, Happy Ramada or what ever you associate with spiritual. Or if not at all. You are probably a good person like the majority of people." It's perfectly reasonable for you to feel that way, but make no mistake, bad people will use whatever tools are available for them to achieve their aims.
Even if there was no religion those wars would still have been fought. We're exceptionally talented at killing eachother.
Doylerwex (National) - 18/12/2024 20:37:01
Our Accents And Our Culture - 4 Like(s)
Replying To Cockney_Cat: "Why are you telling me this?" Why are you so snarky?
Doylerwex (National) - 02/09/2024 11:56:36
Non-Gaa Forum - 4 Like(s)
Replying To Breffni40: "The reality for young trans people is that "the current madness" is more likely to persuade them to take their own lives. "The current madness" is more likely to result in adult trans people being murdered. Statistically this is objectively true.
I'll use they/them, if that's what they prefer, in that context but I guess that's my woke agenda" All statistical data says they are more unhappy post op my friend
Doylerwex (National) - 11/02/2023 08:39:08
Galway Hurling thread - 4 Like(s)
Replying To baire: "Why are all these non-Galway posters spoofing here, on the Galway thread, about their own counties? A bit of manners wouldn't go astray!" Truthfully it's one of the busier spots for debate.
We're playing this weekend so normal to check in for discussion.
I didn't realize there was a bouncer on the door.
Doylerwex (National) - 02/05/2024 14:25:50
Galway Hurling thread - 3 Like(s)
Replying To ahsure.: "Looking forward to tomorrow, hopefully a nice day for hurling. All joking aside it's hard to call this one, I'd say Galway by 2 but we won't get anything soft here. Safe travels to those coming from the South East." It's very much a 50/50 game and nearly knock out championship to be honest. Very difficult to call.
Lads give out about salt hill but I love it personal. Hopefully we get a good game and fine weather anyway
Doylerwex (National) - 09/05/2025 18:15:06
Non-Gaa Forum - 3 Like(s)
Replying To Galway9801: "Okay well that seems to be a total contradiction.
You justify banks unreasonable policies by saying that their purpose is to make money. It is their mantra etc. Not customer satisfaction or loyalty.
Yet landlords could say the exact same thing about rental properties. Their purpose is to make money, not customer satisfaction or loyalty.
Yet you apply two completely different outlooks on both entities." They are different though.
Banking is unfortunately a necessary evil.
Landlords are not. Not all, but many are white collar criminals rubbing their hands while everyone becomes more and more hopelessly miserable.
That sarcastic post is over the top but honestly the lack of empathy you've shown has shocked me.
I don't know you. You might be a lovely fella, but I cannot wrap my head around how anyone could try to justify the state of our housing market.
There's no rationale. It's the darkest period in modern history and we're destroying our society.
By and large we're a really charitable people, but we're turning into greedy monsters.
What our own elites are doing to people now is a thousand times worse than 800 years of oppression we suffered.
Doylerwex (National) - 27/03/2024 19:51:58
Galway Hurling thread - 3 Like(s)
Replying To galway19: "Yes that it right. Wexford are 1/28 with PP and 1/25 with Boyles to be relegated which is basically an absolute certainty. Will come down to Clare or Galway to finish in bottom two also." Beat Kilkenny like and that all changes. Bookies aren't clairvoyant. They generate odds based on what people are betting on. That's it.
Doylerwex (National) - 03/02/2025 17:11:10
Anybody else think the media coverage of the boxers at the world championships is pathetic? Why do we seem so uncomfortable with the fact it's our most successful international sport and we'd rather hear about mediocre runners?
Doylerwex (National) - 15/09/2025 21:22:00
Is GAA, Or More Specifically It's Prominence, A Bad Thing For Irish Sport? - 3 Like(s)
Are you just talking about soccer?
Boxers, golfers and jockeys all seem to doing just fine.
Rugby aren't too bad either.
We're pretty small and can't do everything.
Our own sports are just better.
Doylerwex (National) - 22/09/2023 16:12:33
Replying To Cuhullain: "82,300 packed into croke park yesterday to see leinster play northampton saints in the champions league semi- final, had the 11 year old with me, huge amount of youngsters around the same age there, tickets sold out in about 35 minutes and the deny that there is a big swing to the oval ball game, without the small ball game the gaa would be in big trouble. 82,300 packed into croke park yesterday to see leinster play northampton saints in the champions league semi- final, had the 11 year old with me huge amount of youngsters around the same age there, tickets sold out in about 35 minutes and the deny that there is a big swing to the oval ball game, without the small ball game the gaa would be in big trouble." Not so sure about that. A big occasion but in my experience the rugby bandwagon is made up of people that don't play sports.
Doylerwex (National) - 05/05/2024 16:37:38
2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread - 3 Like(s)
Replying To bloodyban: "GAA fans can be as big a sickeners as football or rugby supporters. This big all able to mix together is just navel gazing. Some GAA supporters think they are gods gift to sport like the Irish football supporters think of themselves as a cut above the rest of the soccer countries. Its typical Irish rubbish..ego stuff. In my experience Iv always liked Cork supporters most...very magnanimous in victory and defeat. Iv liked Tipperary supporters the least. That's my experience..Im always open to having my mind changed. The best supporters of them all are Limerick city rugby supporters who go to the hurling in the summer. Fine bunch" For real?
GAA is God's gift to sport. Particularly hurling.
It's managed to remain authentic, honest and community based in a world where everything else is corrupted.
As an organisation, the GAA isn't perfect, but they're excellent at investing in grass roots and have never lost touch with their role in the birth of our nation and nurturing our identity when we needed it most.
It's so much more than sport.
Irish soccer fans are a cut above most.
Doylerwex (National) - 07/05/2022 09:08:02
How Do We Take Hurling On From Here - 3 Like(s)
Replying To ExiledInWex: "There is no doubt yesterday was one of the greatest hurling spectacles in the history of the game. A phenomenal game and credit to all. But how can the GAA take the game in to counties outside the top handful of counties? I don't for a second believe you can get hurling taken seriously in every county in Ireland (and when I say seriously, I mean by county boards and on equal footing to football) but the biggest travesty in the GAA is that there were children in Uganda who had played more hurling than children in 20 counties in the country. Jarlath Burns has talked about hurling and extending its reach, but he is from a club with no hurling himself. Not an easy answer and GAA can gloat about the game yesterday all they want, the lack of hurling in so many counties is a stain on their administration. I grew up in a county with unfashionable hurling and now live in a county where it is fashionable with limited success but it is not down to a lack of effort on the part of GAA administrators in the county. Donal Og has long talked fanciful notions about hurling but is there any way the gospel can be spread? The GAA has no new hurling winner in 43 years and likely goes another 43 with no new hurling winner. I do not have the answer, but no harm to start a discussion." The likes of the all Stars and tsg team of the year don't help.
Silly to only chose from 3 teams and totally dominated by the final.
There was a time the likes of laois got all stars for league games which probably kept them going. Literally no carrots for developing counties. Why even bother?
Doylerwex (National) - 22/07/2024 11:15:58
Dublin Hurling - 3 Like(s)
What an unbelievable result that was. Congratulations to all Dublin hurling people!
Doylerwex (National) - 21/06/2025 19:26:30
Replying To slayer: "I disagree Zinny. I thought Viking66 got it pretty spot on. Perhaps it is you who has let yourself down by adding the 'racist' part to your post? You also did this by adding the word 'right' in close proximity. To your credit you don't say 'far right'.
But again you are taking us back to the point where asking questions is deemed racist and I do not think that is fair. Suggesting people who don't look like us are the reasons people on the right ask questions is bizarre and in my opinion very lazy thinking.
As for going the Nazi route - when anyone invokes that, I think they've lost the argument." I agree with you but I see the point zinny is making too. It's extremely easy to scapegoat "the foreigners" when our own ruling class have created or contributed to the social issues we're facing.
My original point was about having a reasonable conversation about immigration. It has already descended into accusations of racism.
Doylerwex (National) - 14/10/2025 11:03:00