Meath V Offaly - 4 Like(s)
All well and good reverting to a defensive style, but problems are up front as well - we can't score. We don't have a reliable scoring forward. Walsh could be the man but inconsistency and injuries still there.
Since Stephen Bray have we had a forward we can rely on? We just don't have natural footballers like we used to. And I'm not going back that far, we'd kill for a few forwards like a Brian Farrell, Joe Sheridan or Cian Ward right now.
NYRoyal (Meath) - 17/04/2023 16:36:37
Meath Vs Westmeath - Leinster SFC Quarter Final - 2 Like(s)
You would've said 3 weeks was a perfect break but our lads just seemed tired and leggy. Was it the pressure of expectation or what? But I guess that's the difference to the top, top teams.
We got going in the last 10 minutes but can't believe this run didn't start right at the start of the second half with a bit of fire in the bellies as we were in trouble since end of the first half. Or did they just not have it in the legs?
It's definitely very deflating today to see where we go from here with Leinster gone and facing down the barrel of a provincial winner on the road. If it's Kerry/ Donegal/Armagh we're completely cooked.
NYRoyal (Meath) - 20/04/2026 13:35:42
Meath V Cork - All Ireland R1 - 2 Like(s)
Replying To bert09: "Meath have had a very strong 2026 overall, even with a few warning signs emerging recently. The trajectory under Robbie Brennan is clearly upward: Division 2 champions, promotion to Division 1, high scoring outputs, and genuine belief back in the county setup.
## What's gone well
### 1. Attack has become elite-level
Meath's biggest improvement is their attacking identity.
They:
* Won Division 2 * Scored heavily across the league * Hit 10 goals in the campaign * Developed multiple scoring threats * Became dangerous from two-point range under the new rules
Players like:
* Jordan Morris * Eoghan Frayne * Jack O'Connor * Aaron Lynch * Ruairí Kinsella
have given Meath a varied attack that's difficult to defend. Brennan's system encourages quick transitions, runners from deep, and confidence shooting from distance.
### 2. Mentality has improved massively
This team now expects to beat good sides.
Beating:
* Derry * Tyrone * Louth * Cork
and handling big Croke Park games has changed the psychology of the squad.
That's a huge shift from previous Meath teams that often looked tentative against top opposition.
### 3. Squad depth is improving
The O'Byrne Cup and league rotation showed Brennan trusts more players than previous management teams did.
That matters heading into Division 1 next year because the athletic demands will rise sharply.
---
# Main problems holding Meath back
## 1. Defensive structure is still too open
This is the biggest issue.
Conceding:
* 2-22 to Tyrone * 2-17 to Cork * 4-18 to Westmeath
shows Meath are still vulnerable defensively.
The system is aggressive and front-footed, but:
* half-backs push too high, * transition defence can collapse, * and full-back isolation happens too often.
Against Division 1 teams, that gets punished badly.
### Recommendation
Meath need:
* a more disciplined defensive screen at midfield, * better recovery running from wing-forwards, * and a specialist man-marker for elite inside forwards.
At times they defend like a team assuming they'll simply outscore opponents.
That works in Division 2. It won't consistently work in Division 1 or Sam Maguire knockout games.
---
## 2. Game management still fluctuates
Brennan himself referenced this - maintaining standards for 70 minutes.
Meath have stretches where they look All-Ireland quality… then suddenly lose shape for 10-15 minutes.
Examples:
* letting Tyrone back into games, * conceding momentum swings, * emotional decision-making after turnovers.
Elite teams control tempo better.
### Recommendation
They need:
* calmer possession phases late in games, * stronger sideline control, * and more tactical fouling/cynical slowing when momentum turns.
A top defensive coach could help enormously here.
---
## 3. Reliance on chaos football
The attack thrives in open games.
But when matches become:
* tactical, * cagey, * possession-heavy, * or physically attritional,
Meath can lose rhythm.
### Recommendation
Develop:
* a slower possession structure, * more kick-pass variation, * and a stronger high-fielding target option inside.
Right now they're devastating in transition, but less convincing in controlled attacking phases.
---
# Tactical improvements I'd make
## Defensive Midfielder Role
Meath need a true holding midfielder.
Someone whose first instinct is:
* protecting the D, * cutting kick-passing lanes, * screening counterattacks.
Currently too many midfielders are attack-first.
---
## Improve Kickout Strategy
Against top teams, kickouts decide everything.
Meath's athleticism is good, but they still allow opponents too many clean short exits.
### Recommendation
Use:
* more zonal presses, * trap presses on sideline kickouts, * and rotating midfield screens.
Division 1 teams will punish passive kickout defence.
---
## Bench Impact
The first 20 players are strong. After that the drop can still be noticeable.
### Recommendation
Develop 4-5 "specialist finishers":
* pace injection, * defensive closers, * aerial outlet, * free-winning runners.
Dublin and Kerry have mastered this over years.
---
# Long-term structural recommendations
## 1. Keep this attacking identity
Do NOT become ultra-defensive.
Meath's resurgence is tied to:
* speed, * bravery, * shooting confidence, * and aggressive football.
That identity reconnects supporters with the team.
---
## 2. Continue athletic development
Modern intercounty football is now extremely transition-based.
Meath look fitter than they did 2-3 years ago, but Division 1 will expose any weakness quickly.
Focus areas:
* repeat sprint ability, * recovery speed, * and physical durability.
---
## 3. Develop 2-3 elite defenders
This is the ceiling issue.
Meath currently have several very good footballers. But to become genuine All-Ireland contenders, they need:
* one lockdown full-back, * one dominant sweeper/reader, * and one elite defensive leader.
That's the difference between "dangerous" and "championship-winning."
---
# Overall assessment
Right now Meath are:
| Area | Rating | | --------------- | ------ | | Attack | 8.5/10 | | Fitness | 7.5/10 | | Squad depth | 7/10 | | Defence | 5.5/10 | | Game management | 6/10 | | Trajectory | 9/10 |
## Final verdict
Meath are ahead of schedule.
The county now has:
* belief, * identity, * scoring power, * and momentum.
But if they want to become a consistent top-6 side nationally, the next step is defensive maturity and game control - not more attacking expansion.
The exciting part is that most of the hard things (belief, style, scoring threat) are already in place." Did you send this to Robbie, Conor Gillespie and Aaron Kernan? Lol. Think everything excellently outlined here.
NYRoyal (Meath) - 14/05/2026 17:09:04
Meath Vs Tipperary - 2 Like(s)
Replying To Meathfor@life: "He's never going to be the forward who really pushes on like other teams have" I don't know, he needs a run of games in the team, if he got that I think he's so much better than what we have, he has physique and power which is crucial at inter county. We don't have anyone else who can put in a performance like he did against Cork in the league and take on a team. Jordy Morris has shown potential but he has seemed to stall on progress too. Need to play a system to suit theses guys as well. Morris seems to get frustrated easily against packed defenses. This weekend a good chance get confidence up and get the shooting boots on.
NYRoyal (Meath) - 18/05/2023 22:09:10
Meath Vs Westmeath - Leinster SFC Quarter Final - 2 Like(s)
Replying To latouche25: "Well in 25 they finished second in Leinster, in 26 they got knocked out in the first round. Beaten by a team that couldn't get out of div 3 and a team we beat last year in the league. So the facts would suggest we have not improved. If you are going to reply to a post stick to the facts and not get into the gutted and make personal attacks on me. Just because you don't agree with my assessment of the team does not give you the right to get personal." Fully agree, Louth didn't get promoted but I'd much rather be in their position. Who really cares about the league now? And by the way they weren't out of 2nd gear beating a Wexford team who beat Westmeath a few weeks ago. If anyone seen the Division 3 final, Wexford were way below average. What does that say about how bad we actually were on Sunday? We've messed up so bad here it's unbelievable, we would've had to beat a poor Kildare team to get back to a Leinster Final when Dublin aren't looking great and we lose in the first round to a Westmeath team who couldn't get out of division 3??
I don't know where we go from here. We don't have a great defense no matter who we play there. No ruthlessness or street smarts that's needed to win a Leinster or go far in the All Ireland. Any team intent on winning sets up their defense and makes sure they are hard to beat. We don't have the guys set up solid at the back - still evident failings from last year, Leinster Final, Roscommon, Galway even when we beat them scored handy goals against us.
We're competing because we've big men winning ball around the middle with a lot of kick outs going out there and we have some really good forwards, which we always have had. But we will not win anything until we address our defensive Achilles heel.
NYRoyal (Meath) - 22/04/2026 18:40:34
Leinster Football Semi Finals 2022 - 2 Like(s)
So with the games not on TV, I'm guessing they won't be on GAAGo either? So if you're abroad no chance of seeing games live? Bit of a joke for a couple of big Championship games like this.
NYRoyal (National) - 06/05/2022 19:02:00
Sam Maguire Cup - 2 Like(s)
Replying To bert09: "Thats great news. Any word on Flynn?" Gray, Flynn and Lavin back would be a huge boost. Nothing to fear in any of the games, probably will be playing Kerry in senior and 20s championship. In 2019 when we played we were gone already but we'll have so much to play for so hoping PT will be rocking for that. This is what we fought for last year in the Tailteann so lads should be chomping at the bit.
NYRoyal (Meath) - 30/04/2024 22:02:34
Meath Vs Louth. Rd 3. - 1 Like(s)
Didn't see second half performance coming at all either. Work rate doubled. I think you seen that running game teams have to break down mass defenses was more effective as both teams played better against wind when running the ball. Been a lot of talk about centre back position on here, but I thought Campion was very good with excellent distribution. O'Neill looks to be developing into a big player for us. Frayne and Walsh stood up when scores were badly needed which showed they've character. Consistency is what's needed now and have them racking up 3/4 points from play every game.
NYRoyal (Meath) - 18/02/2024 17:49:15
League Final - 1 Like(s)
Replying To Sheridan2010louth: "Great win, this meath team are such a team of winners, wasn't looking great at times but they know how to grind it out. Thought Frayne's last 15-20 minutes were huge, between his free taking and his decision making he had a real impact on the outcome. Bench was brilliant. Killian Smyth, Ronan Ryan, Cathal Hickey and Banty really improved things.
Full back line struggled again, we seem to be winning games because of a good midfield and our firepower in attack rather than any sticky defending. Interesting that Robbie took both corner backs off, we looked steadier when the full back line was Ronan Ryan, Keoghan and Raff. Be interesting how we line up against Westmeath/Longford. Don't think Menton or Jack O'connor injuries are anything serious, possibly just cramp." Any chance we have O'Connor or a half forward to half back for Championship and Keoghan to corner back? Probably won't happen as team is settled but we're getting exposed there, like how did we concede the second goal and nearly throw it away? We're 5 points up with less than 10 left, you have to stop a goal like that.
The win is great no doubt but plenty to work on. Kicked our fair share of wides and decision making for unforced turn overs in first half wasn't good.
Flynn, Frayne, Coffey and Conlon top class in the 2nd half. Does Conlon start or is he a super sub now? It's a tough one. Lynch has been playing well and not sure he'd have same impact off bench as Conlon.
NYRoyal (Meath) - 29/03/2026 19:32:58
Offaly V Meath - 1 Like(s)
Replying To Sheridan2010louth: ""Jones will absolutely come into half back line should he return to play by championship"
I don't think he's ever played half back in his life for starters, maybe thats a typo and you meant half forward? He certainly hasnt played there for Meath. With Dunboyne he's nearly always midfield.
He seems to have a big following of fans on this forum who things he's a nailed on starter despite everything that has been achieved without him. I find it disrespectful to the current starters who are all outstanding.
As a previous poster mentioned it's horses for courses with Jones, if we are struggling for physicality around the middle or on breaking ball he would be a good option to bring on. It's not like Matthew Costello who is a certainty to start come championship." Jones will be doing well to make the bench no matter what level of fitness he's at. Robbie Brennan is correctly loyal to the guys who have the minutes under their belt from the league. Our championship team is going to be similar to yesterday. Would say maybe Matty Costello will be in and that's it. The 3 big men around the middle is a guarantee as well as we've had either Duke/O'Neill/McBride at wing forward since Brennan came in and that's been a clear, successful tactic. McBride slotted back in nicely yesterday. I know O'Connor has looked good but his pace and driving at defenses could be reason he'd be a great sub to bring in against tired teams late on.
NYRoyal (Meath) - 23/03/2026 18:36:05
Meath V Donegal - 1 Like(s)
Replying To LettuceBFrank: "Off the Ball were saying that Meath were pushing for the navy jersey but were told they had to wear the yellow one." Just don't see how that makes sense. One team wears a light coloured jersey and one team wears a dark coloured jersey, very simple. Donegal have a white jersey and we have a navy jersey, that's what the teams should wear. Not sure why this is even a conversation. Would love to hear the GAA's rationale on this. They might as well wear their home jerseys as there's more of a colour clash with the change to yellow for us.
NYRoyal (Meath) - 09/07/2025 12:37:56
Meath V Roscommon - 1 Like(s)
Progression is evident lads. Tough game and battled for the draw. Unbeaten and guaranteed preliminary quarter final, hopefully in Navan. We beat Dublin, why not give Kerry a game? There's no outstanding teams this year and we're looking up so no reason not to be optimistic. Away games are hard won and the lads got a good point.
NYRoyal (Meath) - 01/06/2025 00:22:10
Meath Vs Westmeath - Leinster SFC Quarter Final - 1 Like(s)
Replying To gwanyagudthing: "I do think we'll see a couple of changes from the starting 15 the last day - banty or Costello will start and someone will come into defence - one of Ryan/o'neill/smyth. Could also see some positional changes in defence. I'm not a fan of the "strongest 15" notion - any team with serious ambitions should have 20+ players they can use interchangeably based on form, opposition, tactics etc. Am I right in saying that the draw for the all-Ireland series will happen on the Monday after the last provincial final so Monday 18 May? That's d-day really in terms of when we're back in the game and can move on!" The draw for the All-Ireland is next Monday May 4th, I believe. If you remember from last year they did the same before the Leinster Final, and all provincial finals, with everyone complaining about why they did it so early. So who we'll playing will be narrowed down to 2 come Monday.
NYRoyal (Meath) - 28/04/2026 11:08:59
National League - 1 Like(s)
Getting walloped by a poor Louth team without Mulroy, what can you say. Defense so open.
NYRoyal (Meath) - 23/03/2025 14:11:05
Replying To winatallcost: "Looking back at the Westmeath defeat, it was very similar to defeat in a Leinster final quite a few years ago against Offaly in 97 where Meath were All Ireland Champions and after taking out Dublin and Kildare (after 2 replays). The difference then though was that Meath were missing the All Ireland winning fullbackline through suspension (Darren Fay and Mark O'Reilly) and injury (Martin O'Connell). Enda McManus was moved to fullback for cover but Meath were totally open and Offaly hit 3 goals against them, 2 of which came in first half. The problem for Meath now is that there isn't obvious personnel changes so Meath are likely to by and large stick with what they have a coach improvement. With a bit of improvement in the backs, Meath are strong enough at midfield and forwards to be a match for most." Yes, the difference is our supposed first choice full back line played against Westmeath a couple weeks ago! If we had players like O'Reilly, Fay and O'Connell as our full back line now, we'd be All-Ireland contenders as the rest of the guys up the field are top quality. These guys were tigerish, persistent markers. O'Reilly would borderline foul his man every time he got the ball, but you have to play on the edge like that and push the rules to their boundaries.
Keogan has those traits so would consider moving him back. Rafferty gone off the boil a bit, doesn't have the same intensity he had last year. And still think he's really more of a centre back than a full back. So we'll see what Robbie does come the Cork game as something needs to be adjusted there. I think he will name same team as Westmeath to give nothing away but could see changes come game time.
NYRoyal (Meath) - 06/05/2026 18:39:51
Replying To southmeathgael: "Football isn't as linear as that lad, you know that surely, we lost to them who lost to a worse team who didnt play well at all on the day in qs etc etc, come on. I agree with you bigtime, defence need sorting, we should be beating westmeath, simple as that, but we weren't at it on the day and got punished, we weren't at it for long spells in the league too but outscored teams thanks to, as you said, winning balls in midfield and having scorers. Regards last year, roscommon galway etc are very good teams, its extremely hard to keep these teams out, we should be working to improve that...but complaining about anything from that Galway game last year is ridiculous, it was a 20 year highlight against all ireland favourites at the time." No I get that it's not linear but I don't think Westmeath are a good team. If they were, they would've got out of Division 3. Think we were so bad on Sunday and played at their level. The first 2 goals were calamitous and the last goal was a good finish but don't know where you start with the defending. You've got to be cutting off danger.
My point on the sloppy goals is we continue to give away these chances, if the coaches are looking at this and we're trying to fix it surely we'll see that plan implemented whereby there is clear evidence we're trying to do something. And maybe there is a plan and our defenders are just not at it?
It's not just the goals either. If you notice Loughlin's 2 pointer at the start of the 2nd half, all the Westmeath players are around the 2 point arc with zero danger inside but all our defenders standing inside with no pressure on the ball and it's sign posted that Loughlin is going for the 2 pointer. What are we actually doing there?
NYRoyal (Meath) - 23/04/2026 11:29:42
Meath V Down TC Final. - 1 Like(s)
BTW, I think we might of solved our goalkeeper problems. Brennan looks top notch. Solid, composed and good kick outs. Flynn taking plaudits and rightly so with the 4 points but my god, Conor Gray is some prospect. Thought he took game by scruff of neck and made it his.
NYRoyal (Meath) - 16/07/2023 13:25:29
The Andy Mc Factor - Tailteann Cup - 1 Like(s)
A win is a win and we're in a final but we should've destroyed them when we got 6 or 7 up. It was 2 on 2 in our FF line every time, if we'd used the head a bit more would've won by 10. Feel like we've some really good athletes and conditioning improving but need to improve game management and know how on the field. FB line was in major trouble until Keogan went back. Still hard to tell where we're at. Final against probably Down will tell.
NYRoyal (Meath) - 25/06/2023 15:53:24
Meath V Derry: All Ireland Round 2 - 1 Like(s)
Kinsella gone with an ACL. Massive blow. Going to be honest here lads, I don't see how we win without him on the road. He's our playmaker, 2 point threat and scores 5/6 points every game.
He was the one who kept trying in the 2nd half when Cork had momentum. How do we replace that? Unless Morris or Costello really step up with the leadership to drive the team forward, we could get a hiding. Kinsella is that big a player for us.
NYRoyal (Meath) - 09/06/2026 18:45:37
Limerick V Meath - 1 Like(s)
Replying To Meathfor@life: "Kildare are just as bad as Limerick" And we are as bad as Limerick and Kildare. We will lose our last 2 games and be in Tailteann Cup, relegation or not. Kildare look bad but honestly can't see us beating them away.
Is Walsh still not 100% fit or he just can't put a string of performances together? He needs to step up and start scoring points, we're seriously lacking up front. Lacking intelligence on the field as well. As bad as we are, we were in winning positions against Louth and today and game management wasn't there.
NYRoyal (Meath) - 05/03/2023 16:59:51