Ballymac' ladies complete 41-in-a-row

October 03, 2022

Waterford's Eimear Fennell and Michelle Ryan celebrate. ©INPHO/Bryan Keane.

Ballymacarbry's remarkable dominance of the Waterford ladies football scene continued yesterday when they were crowned senior champions for a 41st consecutive year.

Goals from Sadhbh Hallinan (two), Michelle Ryan, Sinead Kenrick and Aoife Barron helped Mike Guiry's side to a 5-11 to 2-6 victory over Comeragh Rangers, who they've now beaten in nine of the last 10 county finals. Ryan won her 24th county medal, while it was a 23rd for captain and full back Michelle McGrath.

Hallinan and Geraldine Power traded goals early on before Ballymac' scored 1-4 without reply to take a 2-5 to 1-3 lead into the break. Power's second green flag reduced the deficit to the minimum after the restart, but Ballymac' responded like champions to run out comfortable winners.


Most Read Stories