Monaghan Forum

Popular Posts from Monaghansclown

Was Joey Barton Correct When He Said Woman Should Not Discuss Mens Sport - 4 Like(s)
I think you'll find the vast majority of people will agree with him but will be afraid to say it in case they get cancelled. As he said himself, not one man professional soccer player has called him out as being wrong. It's not sexist to say that men's soccer and women's soccer are two completely different games so both genders should just stick to analysing their own is it? If that's considered sexist then we are in trouble. Surely it should just be an all female panel for women's soccer and an all male panel for men's soccer? GAA panels should be no different.

Monaghansclown (National) - 08/12/2023 11:35:56

Monaghan Club Football - 3 Like(s)
Truagh put up a good fight yesterday but unfortunately ran out of steam in the second half. All neutrals including myself were hoping for a Truagh win to add some life to our senior championship but hats off to Scotstown. They are the undisputed best team in the county, the challenge for others now is to get up to that level but that won't be easy because the gap is the width of a runway at the minute. Carrick got out of jail and deservedly so on Friday night, think they will want to put this year behind them and regroup. Talking to some of the Carrick players that work for me and watching a few trainings myself from the ditch I can tell the men involved need shaking up. Have to say I was one of those who thought it was a formality for Toome to win JFC. Spoke to Toome men last week and they told me they would do no drinking after the game as they would have ulster in two weeks. Always a dangerous mindset to have going into a final, hope they aren't holding off on the hot toddies now. Shoutout to Malachy O'Rourke who delivered first ever Derry SFC for Glen yesterday. A true gentleman and a class manager regardless of some of the stick he got on this platform.

Monaghansclown (National) - 08/11/2021 15:20:54

Banning Supporters For Threatening Behaviour - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Ashrules:  "It was only a shove. Often got worse trying to get on a luas.Ref went down acting the drama queen. The root cause of this is that for years the Leinster council appointed referees as favours even with scant knowledge of the game and no experience of playing themselves. The same referee stopped Ratoath getting back into a semi last year with frees for nothing all against them every time they went on a late attack.He was respected that day but was looking to be at the centre of an incident."
You are everything that is wrong with the GAA, a shameful post.

Monaghansclown (National) - 23/10/2023 14:22:07

National League 2017 - 3 Like(s)
Think it was a point gained rather than a point lost yesterday, going 21 minutes in the second half without scoring was worrying but finding a way to get back into the game shows the resolve this team has. McCarron was a different class again and although mansy hasn't hit top form yet, if he does we will be a dangerous outfit this year. Can we beat the Dubs? Most people wouldn't give us a chance and understandably so, but a shoot-out in Clones with a league final at stake why not go for it? We should have beaten them in Croke Park in the league last year and now we have home advantage so lets try and end that unbeaten run and let the country sit back and take notice. Grand job there was no customs between here and Ballyshannon, looks like it'll be the Green Scene for another while!

Monaghansclown (Monaghan) - 27/03/2017 08:53:53

All Ireland Finals Staying In July - 3 Like(s)

Replying To realdub:  "We're traditionalists here in the GAA, 3rd Sunday in September or nowhere :D"
Only the people like yourself who just follow the boys on the tele and never went to a club game or even know who their local club is has the opinion that it should be 3rd Sunday in September. Anyone involved in the grassroots with their clubs, all players etc. agree that it is find the way it is.

Monaghansclown (National) - 13/09/2023 09:19:31

Monaghan V Kerry - 2 Like(s)
Proud monaghan man and will defend our boys until the cows come home but I can't defend the indefensible. What Barry Kerr done today was nothing short of a disgrace and I truly hope he gets what he deserves for it. No place for that in the GAA whatsoever. If Connolly had done that it would be front page news. Kerr has the potential to be an excellent player but will go nowhere with that carry on in his locker.

Monaghansclown (National) - 18/02/2018 22:54:00

Monaghan GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Bantysbabes123:  "On the sub keeper issue Ryan Farrelly was the sub keeper last year and as good as he is in that position I can only presume that Banty have realised his potential is on the edge of the square like he does for his club magheracloone. Looking forward to seeing him in action over the national league"
How did Magheracloone do last year?

Monaghansclown (National) - 09/01/2022 20:06:29

Casement Park - 2 Like(s)

Replying To OpenStand:  "I seem Damien Duff questioning Casement park funding , not the first time the same man coming up with anti gaa comments."
Great to see the soccer crew annoyed when the GAA get funding, they would obviously get similar funding if they could be trusted with money. Looking at the FAI soccer chief executive explaining funds that have gone missing in the FAI today, some things will never change in that organisation.

Monaghansclown (National) - 22/02/2024 16:37:53

Monaghan GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Monaghansclown:  "Scotstown to beat Latton by 5 Truagh to beat Ballybay by 1 Donaghmoyne to beat Blayney by 10 Aughnamullen to beat Carrick by 15 Corduff to be Sean's by 4 Emyvale to beat Blackhill by 4 Cremartin to beat Tyholland by 4 Doohamlet to beat Harps by 7 Sorry lads can't see many upsets this weekend. Truagh Ballybay the pick of the games outside of that results should be straightforward. Carrick manager quit during the week so the players are taking over themselves for the rest of the year. Think Aughnamullen will give them a hiding this weekend. Scotstown to limp to the final but lose to Truagh on the day. Carrick and Blayney relegated this weekend. Magheracloone to beat Corduff in the final in Intermediate. Harps finish bottom of championship group. Blackhill beat Tyholland in league play off. Harps Tyholland to Junior. Clones to beat Killanny in Junior final."
That's why paddy powers drives a BMW and I drive a berlingo van

Monaghansclown (National) - 26/09/2022 08:45:36

Group Draws - 2 Like(s)

Replying To mick2007:  "I counted 202 at the toome and drumhowan game.."
Chanced my arm going to Inniskeen yesterday afternoon, had the book of excuses ready to throw at them but didn't need any. Once you had a ten pound note in your pocket they didn't care about what diseases you were carrying. Tried staying 2 yards from everyone but the women kept coming up to me for a chat. Mind you I did get my first post lockdown haircut last Friday and was looking well so couldn't blame them for trying.

Monaghansclown (Monaghan) - 27/07/2020 13:53:55

Banning Supporters For Threatening Behaviour - 2 Like(s)
What possible extenuating circumstances would justify running onto the field and assaulting a referee? That is a rhetorical question before any of his club mates jump on me with the sob stories. Also, I see that the other club member had his ban reduced to 8 weeks from 48 weeks. The policy of having friends in high places within the GAA is obviously alive and well. The GAA can run respect the referee campaigns all they like but let's be honest, the GAA couldn't care a less about match officials.

Monaghansclown (National) - 20/11/2023 13:16:03

Ulster club - 2 Like(s)
Was getting the hair cut today, .5 skin fade and just a little bit off the top, and the barber said that the priest told him that he was talking to the postman who delivers the post out to Corduff and he was talking to a lad out there who's father is a first cousin of a lad who works in Quinn's who is good friends with a man in Lough egish who overheard in the pub that the Carrick chairman said the O'Hanlons are definitely away. Lump on Moy, says the barber.

Monaghansclown (Monaghan) - 27/10/2017 20:39:18

Club Championship - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Frederick:  "Have Killaney any chance against Scots town. Their county lads will be certainly taking the game for granted which may leave them vulnerable"
lol they could literally go on the beer every night from now until Sunday and still beat Killanny out the gate

Monaghansclown (Monaghan) - 09/08/2017 09:37:39

Martin McGuinness RIP - 2 Like(s)
RIP Martin. If the boys up in the Dail today ever done half as much as he done for peace and for his country, they'd be doing well. A true Gael.

Monaghansclown (National) - 22/03/2017 10:36:05

The state of the game - 2 Like(s)
So I decided to write this post to see what the story about club football and the commitments that is being looked for from club players around the country? In my own club, we had a meeting on the 30th December this year. A code of conduct was handed out with strict guidelines as to what you can/can't do this year. No drinking for 5 days before games. Training 3 nights a week and 2 gym sessions to be done in our own time outside of these 3 nights. No holidays, stag dos during on season. No player to miss any trainings unless the circumstances are absolutely exceptional and in that case the player must do a training session in his own time. Training started on the 6th of January and we have trained 3 nights a week ever since for 2 hours. No drinking on the weekends because there is training on Friday and Sunday. We're a junior club with a community spirit but have two 'outsiders' taking 10k each a year and the club is seriously struggling to pay so one has to ask - is the word 'community' existent in the gaa anymore? The enjoyment is gone, 10 men have left the panel since last year because of the amount of commitment that is looked of us but still the mantra is roared out at every training "THIS IS THE LEVEL OF COMMITMENT NEEDED IF YOU WANT TO ACHIEVE ANYTHING". 5 injuries already this year. Amateur sport? I don't think so. Didn't the GAA used to be part of a healthy lifestyle where you only played to have a bit of craic with the local lads? Now it shapes your life, both on and off the field. A line has to be drawn. The game is being ruined by a load of bluffers with no experience of GAA in some cases, taking massive bucks out of rural clubs and leaving them in disarray with little success to show from it. Is there any way back for our once great game?

Monaghansclown (National) - 08/03/2017 11:17:25

Group Draws - 1 Like(s)
Absolute cheek of Scotstown to charge great GAA people €5 to see the game tonight v Carrick. An absolute disgrace that a club would try to profiteer from the tough times we are currently in. I for one will not be paying. Is Sean McCaffrey and the Northern Sound crew showing it can someone tell me?

Monaghansclown (Monaghan) - 08/08/2020 15:20:41

Monaghan GAA thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To farneygael3:  "There won't be a team down there that will come within 6/8 points of them and blackhill next year. Emyvale will fancy a run in Ulster and once the disappointment of relegation passes after the 4th pint I'm sure that's what they'll be talking about………maybe even Croke Park?"
Emyvale have been flirting with Senior for the last few years but seeing their collapse this year makes you wonder about the attitude of the club. A couple of losses and things not going their way in Junior and they will likely collapse on the big day again. On a side note and I'm not suggesting Emyvale will do this but any club happy enough to get relegated on the basis of winning a championship or doing a run in ulster/all-Ireland the following year is a club in dire state.

Monaghansclown (National) - 08/10/2024 17:54:34

Monaghan GAA thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To HB245:  "My dream management ticket, out of all the ones that are somewhat realistic, would be John McEntee and Oisin McConville. Although, not sure how realistic it would be to get McConville. I'd say McEntee knows the Monaghan club scene better than the Armagh club scene at this rate, having been involved with either Clontibret/Inniskeen for 6 of the last 7 years I believe. McConville also would be familiar with loads of the Monaghan players from his time in DKIT and his time with Inniskeen."
What has Oisin McConville achieved in management that puts him on the dream ticket for the Monaghan job? The Gary Neville of gaelic football. Two years with Armagh U20, put out in the first round of Ulster each year. 3 years with Inniskeen, couldn't get them to one final, John McEntee took them to two finals and won a league in his first year. The only thing McConville won with Wicklow was the wooden spoon final against Limerick in Division 3 this year. If talking rubbish on tv is the only qualification that a candidate needs to take our Senior job then we are in a worse place than I thought.

Monaghansclown (National) - 23/08/2024 13:36:04

Ulster Championship 2021 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Bantysbabes123:  "Anything to be said for Monaghan playing Kerry in AI semi-final? Jason foley wouldn't know what to do with Ryan Farrelly in full-forward"
You'd have to know nothing about football to actually think Monaghan might play Kerry next week instead of Tyrone. Do people honestly think the county boys will turn up to train this week and then go out and beat Kerry in Croke Park in an All-Ireland semi next week? Baffles me that people seriously think it could happen!

Monaghansclown (Monaghan) - 14/08/2021 17:12:31

Club Games Cancelled Already - 1 Like(s)
This happens every year and if you ask me its getting worse by the year. In monaghan, there is only 4 'star' games (games in which county players cant play a year) so when these 4 games are used up if the county is still going there might not be a club game played for months on end. In 2015, after Monaghan won Ulster there was still Senior league games being played at the start of December. God forbid if we ever got to an All-Ireland final (Luckily, we probably never will). Club football has taken a back seat in the GAA in the last few years but now it seems its hanging on to the towbar. In my opinion, its inevitable before there is a split in the GAA and eventually there will be semi-pro inter county players who only play county football and then chums like us, the amateurs who keep the whole thing ticking over but the GAA are too money-crazed to realize that.

Monaghansclown (National) - 10/03/2017 10:08:17