Meath Vs Kerry

Meath were class today, great performance. Narrative will be all the Kerry injuries but we have Jones and flynn out for the year and costello and colon didn't play today due to injuries picked up this week. Absolutely died for every ball. Kinsella and Caulfield were immense and Kerry defence was terrified when Jordi was on the ball.

Hopefully the weeks break gets the lads back for the Q Final.

Well done all, huge progress made and more to come.

Media can't ignore us or pay lip service anymore.

Hon the Royals!

RoyalSteel (Meath) - Posts: 22 - 14/06/2025 20:48:02    2617478

Yes well done to all concerned .Major progress in just a few months. no question. Tougher games ahead,refreshing but it seems with the current attitude of training to meets needs anything is possible .With a couple of key injured players back with this recipe we don't have to fear anyone .No doubt the training plan for next session has been born already . Just improve for the next match and see where that leaves us

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1288 - 14/06/2025 20:53:30    2617481

What a day unreal.Fair play to the lads just so hungry for the ball.Rafferty did some job on Cliford.The half back line was super Keoghan and Coffey going about their business and Caulfield wow some engine on him reminds me of Geraghty with his running and fitness.Won the ball back near the corner we were defending and then lay it off and ran the pitch to get on the end of the move kick the score and this ar the end of the match.Menton and o neil solid as rocks in midfield.Kinsella is some player and delighted for Duke very good game.Morris lively as usual as well.Great to see lads stepping up when missing ig players shows that we have a bit of strength in depth and hopefully we can keep motoring.Dublin,Kerry and Cork beaten now and maybe we might take another scalp or two who knows.Great day and hopefully another one in 2 weeks cant wait.Hon the Royal.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 371 - 14/06/2025 21:54:30    2617514

A pleasure to watch that game today with a full 70min performance with really sharp passing, movement, tackling & scoring that shows how far we've progressed in the last 6 months.
Each player could get a paragraph of praise but special mention to Rafferty not giving Clifford a second to breath, Caulfield was everywhere, Kinsella was immense, Duke has his form back with 4 great scores.
Kerry may have been missing some big names but so we're we yet all the players have stepped up, we'll fear no one in the quarter finals!
2025 has been a cracking year so far, beat Dublin for the first time in 15yrs, beat Kerry for the first time in 24yrs, first quarter final in 15yrs, and we're not done yet!!!
An Mhí Abú

LowerHogan (Meath) - Posts: 76 - 14/06/2025 22:50:42    2617555

Unreal performance we have serious good young players coming through .
We showed today a level of fitness , toughness and belief that we haven't seen in a long time .
We made Kerry look very ordinary regardless who they were missing .
Just one worrying area that has been a problem all year and was there again today especially in the first half , Hogan's kickouts put us under pressure and kept Kerry in it in the first half.

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 306 - 14/06/2025 23:06:43    2617561

Replying To Proudroyal:  "What a day unreal.Fair play to the lads just so hungry for the ball.Rafferty did some job on Cliford.The half back line was super Keoghan and Coffey going about their business and Caulfield wow some engine on him reminds me of Geraghty with his running and fitness.Won the ball back near the corner we were defending and then lay it off and ran the pitch to get on the end of the move kick the score and this ar the end of the match.Menton and o neil solid as rocks in midfield.Kinsella is some player and delighted for Duke very good game.Morris lively as usual as well.Great to see lads stepping up when missing ig players shows that we have a bit of strength in depth and hopefully we can keep motoring.Dublin,Kerry and Cork beaten now and maybe we might take another scalp or two who knows.Great day and hopefully another one in 2 weeks cant wait.Hon the Royal."
Well done Meath. On the up and Leinster at last on the up! Keep it going !

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1728 - 14/06/2025 23:17:12    2617571

Is it an open draw for the quarter final or can we not be drawn against Kerry or Cork again as they were in our group? Does anyone know?

Meathman2025 (Meath) - Posts: 2 - 14/06/2025 23:44:10    2617580

What a day for Meath football. Just over a year ago when Meath rolled out the red carpet and got pictures with David Clifford pre game and then subsequently put in a limp display at home, the Meath manager stated we don't have the players and don't have any David Clifford's or Con O'Callaghans. This Meath team has all the characteristics that all Meath people want to see in our team. Hard work, aggression, a never say die spirit mixed with every player knowing their role inside out. Bring on Croke Park in two weeks time!

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 1014 - 15/06/2025 04:01:35    2617596

The narrative will indeed be kerry were missing 6 players. But don't forget, we were missing 4 starters, Flynn, Jones, Conlon, and our best player, Costello
We were a man down for 10 mins after the black card and Kerry only managed to claw back 1 point during that time.

Kerry assumed they'd bate us and once they realised we were the real deal, they didn't want to know. I'd be worried if I was a Kerry fan.

Some points:
If Ciaran Caulfield could take a score, we'd have the best wing back in the country, hands down.
We won so much breaking ball from kickouts. It was great to see. We were so hungry and determined. It was the platform for us winning the game.
Billy Hogan's kickouts are concerning, and have been for the last 3 games. He cost us us 2 or 3 scores directly from kickouts in the first half.
I was also shocked how innaffevtive Cian McBride was when he came on. Should have left O' Neil on. Or Gray should have been brought on.

Hopefully Louth lose today.
Can't wait for the quarter finals.

Football is back baby! Hon the royals

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 416 - 15/06/2025 08:18:02    2617605

Replying To Meathman2025:  "Is it an open draw for the quarter final or can we not be drawn against Kerry or Cork again as they were in our group? Does anyone know?"
Cannot draw Louth if they make it. Kerry and Cork avoided if possible, whatever that means.

Spoofer (Meath) - Posts: 54 - 15/06/2025 10:30:51    2617630

Replying To Selwyn:  "The narrative will indeed be kerry were missing 6 players. But don't forget, we were missing 4 starters, Flynn, Jones, Conlon, and our best player, Costello
We were a man down for 10 mins after the black card and Kerry only managed to claw back 1 point during that time.

Kerry assumed they'd bate us and once they realised we were the real deal, they didn't want to know. I'd be worried if I was a Kerry fan.

Some points:
If Ciaran Caulfield could take a score, we'd have the best wing back in the country, hands down.
We won so much breaking ball from kickouts. It was great to see. We were so hungry and determined. It was the platform for us winning the game.
Billy Hogan's kickouts are concerning, and have been for the last 3 games. He cost us us 2 or 3 scores directly from kickouts in the first half.
I was also shocked how innaffevtive Cian McBride was when he came on. Should have left O' Neil on. Or Gray should have been brought on.

Football is back baby! Hon the royals"
Why would u hope louth lose

thestrapper49 (Louth) - Posts: 353 - 15/06/2025 10:56:56    2617645

The new rules have revolutionised the game and we are one of the primary beneficiaries.

You must have 3 at the back and you must have 3 up front. That leaves the keeper, and 8 guys who have to fight like lions around the middle. It harkens back to the old days when we were always in the conversation, because in those halcion days - Meath never had a plan, it was about intensity, physicality and never say die. It was about emotion. Win the scrap, win the crowd.

That disappeared out of the game for 20 years but now its back. We have our identity back! We have our Meath steel back. It's back baby!

Genuinely believe the sky is the limit for this team. Great operators in the back, guys in the full forward line who can take their scores against anyone and 8 old-school Meath tigers in the middle who'll fight to the nub for every ball.

No matter what happens from here on in, this team has cemented their stamp in Meath football history. Toppling Dublin in Leinster (leading by 14 points at one stage), losing very narrowly to the best Louth team in generations, giving Kerry a historic licking, beating Cork in a scrap and drawing with Roscommon in the Hyde all in successive weeks... serious going. Did someone teleport the Meath of old to 2025?

Magic.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 603 - 15/06/2025 10:58:27    2617647

I know meath were missing a few bodies like Costello, Flynn and Conlon. Not counting Jones whos always injured. But they have already shown that some of their best wins this year have been without those players. Paudie Clifford, Seanie Ose, Diarmuid O'Connor, Brian O Beaglaoich and Paul Geaney are far more important losses to Kerry than what Meath had missing.

Two things can be true. Meath were brilliant yesterday and Kerry were extremely hurt by injuries. As Darragh Ose has said all year Kerry have no bench, they can't function with this many key players missing.

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 244 - 15/06/2025 11:15:15    2617657

Replying To Spoofer:  "Cannot draw Louth if they make it. Kerry and Cork avoided if possible, whatever that means."
Let's wait and see after today. Is the draw for the q final also made Monday or not until following week? Hopefully a really tough game next weekend for whoever we play and injury situation improves. Would give Meath a great chance against whoever we get after building great momentum.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 680 - 15/06/2025 11:30:51    2617668

Hell of a victory yesterday lads. Very well done.

Goes to show the win over the Dubs was no flash in the pan.
But begs the question - how the hell did ye not win Leinster and beat Louth.????

Meath are motoring well and Robbie is doing a great job.
The mix of experience and youth in that well balanced squad.

I thought Caulfield was excellent - some engine on him.
Menton was imperious at times.

Would not be surprised to see Meath make an All Ireland Semi Final now.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4304 - 15/06/2025 12:26:11    2617681

Congrats to Meath on a great victory against Kerry. Not too many teams beat Kerry and Dublin in the same year.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 1070 - 15/06/2025 12:29:04    2617682

Replying To thestrapper49:  "
Replying To Selwyn:  "The narrative will indeed be kerry were missing 6 players. But don't forget, we were missing 4 starters, Flynn, Jones, Conlon, and our best player, Costello

Some points:

Football is back baby! Hon the royals"
Why would u hope louth lose"
I just don't particularly want to see yis doing well. Simple as that really.

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 416 - 15/06/2025 13:56:07    2617704

Replying To Sheridan2010louth:  "I know meath were missing a few bodies like Costello, Flynn and Conlon. Not counting Jones whos always injured. But they have already shown that some of their best wins this year have been without those players. Paudie Clifford, Seanie Ose, Diarmuid O'Connor, Brian O Beaglaoich and Paul Geaney are far more important losses to Kerry than what Meath had missing.

Two things can be true. Meath were brilliant yesterday and Kerry were extremely hurt by injuries. As Darragh Ose has said all year Kerry have no bench, they can't function with this many key players missing."
Costello and conlon were massive losses, don't be Codding yourself, meaths brilliant performance made them look like they weren't needed, they were and will be needed. Kerry have a great panel of players that should be able to cope with all injures bat Paidi, he's the man that makes them tick

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 1004 - 15/06/2025 14:27:59    2617715

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Costello and conlon were massive losses, don't be Codding yourself, meaths brilliant performance made them look like they weren't needed, they were and will be needed. Kerry have a great panel of players that should be able to cope with all injures bat Paidi, he's the man that makes them tick"
Kerry do not have a great panel that's the problem for them, they are very reliant on their best players. Paudie Clifford is as important as David. Sean O'Shea is one of the best forwards in the country, Even Diarmuid O'Connor and brian o beaglaoich are hugely important to Kerry and killed meath in last years game, The players that came into them replace aren't on the same level and really struggled yesterday.

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 244 - 15/06/2025 15:14:47    2617727

Amazing win. Sensational performance and very well deserved. I got a sense early on we meant business and once we got over the dodgy spell with our kickouts we motored on in the second quarter. This team has something about it. Fearless and confident but well grounded and ultra hard working.

Too many great performances to get into individually but have to call out Rafferty, Caulfield and Kinsella. Immense. Some of our scores yesterday were top, top class.

Midfield depth and kickouts remain a worry but that's for another day. O'Neill took a knock in the first half, assuming that's why he was taken off. Hope it's not serious. With Costello and Conlan to come back there is much to be optimistic about. Let some of the big guns take lumps out of each other next weekend while we rest the bodies.

Great Meath support there yesterday. Are the quarter finals in Croke Park?

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 2018 - 15/06/2025 15:29:57    2617732