Meath V Roscommon

Place in the preliminary quarter final secured and most likely with home advantage so job done in many ways. Little disappointed not to win that but big picture to beat Cork and draw with roscommon in a week is very good progression. Matt Costello had a day to forget and nearly cost us at the end. Not sure why Frayne was subbed with 15 minutes to go, thought he played well and kicked 2 great points from play off his left foot. I'd be all for leaving your best shooter on the pitch in close games.

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 242 - 31/05/2025 21:12:51    2613825

Replying To Sheridan2010louth:  "Place in the preliminary quarter final secured and most likely with home advantage so job done in many ways. Little disappointed not to win that but big picture to beat Cork and draw with roscommon in a week is very good progression. Matt Costello had a day to forget and nearly cost us at the end. Not sure why Frayne was subbed with 15 minutes to go, thought he played well and kicked 2 great points from play off his left foot. I'd be all for leaving your best shooter on the pitch in close games."
I thought Frayne was lucky to last as long as he did Costello had an off day that last shot should have been down in the town buy thankfully we got away with it .
Hogan's kickouts are costing us great stop for the penalty and his 2 pointer was massive but his kickouts are poor he kicked 5 over the sideline today .
That was a tough game a lot of big hits Keoghan took a big one in the second half he's some man most other lads would have went off he left nothing out there today .
kinsella covered some amount of ground he gave away a few balls but he was outstanding as was conlon .
I think we were the better team overall but need to stop giving away soft goals .
Great result and well done to all the players and management.

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 305 - 31/05/2025 22:40:14    2613858

Delighted with the draw, lets be honest, we rode our luck today, Fair play to Billy, big save, big game changer too. We defended very well in second against the breeze. A win and a draw after 2 games, interesting to see how we compete against Kerry this year after last years hammering.

I presume it will be in either Limerick or Thurles ?

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1103 - 31/05/2025 23:13:57    2613865

Replying To Sheridan2010louth:  "Place in the preliminary quarter final secured and most likely with home advantage so job done in many ways. Little disappointed not to win that but big picture to beat Cork and draw with roscommon in a week is very good progression. Matt Costello had a day to forget and nearly cost us at the end. Not sure why Frayne was subbed with 15 minutes to go, thought he played well and kicked 2 great points from play off his left foot. I'd be all for leaving your best shooter on the pitch in close games."
Would take it as a positive result in the end given we are guaranteed knock out football and are in control of our destiny depending on Kerry performance. Also two weekends back to back when Roscommon had the extra week adds to the achievement. Disappointingly open for goal chances in first half but responded well and kicked ok. Lots of mistakes and things to work on no doubt. Think Frayne tired and lost a crucial ball after a sustained period of possession and was also booked before being taken off. Struggles for speed and agility and the defensive side of things. Kinsella was outstanding all through. He is so quick off the mark and elusive creating space and time for himself and seemed to handle the ball more than anyone else. Conlon was on fire again in first half. Again was glad management made the substitutions when they did and thought each one added energy to the team. Nice to see Gray back on the field again for Meath after Menton put in a good shift. Hopefully all fit and raring to go in two weeks versus Kerry.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 661 - 01/06/2025 00:09:10    2613879

Progression is evident lads. Tough game and battled for the draw. Unbeaten and guaranteed preliminary quarter final, hopefully in Navan. We beat Dublin, why not give Kerry a game? There's no outstanding teams this year and we're looking up so no reason not to be optimistic. Away games are hard won and the lads got a good point.

NYRoyal (USA) - Posts: 47 - 01/06/2025 00:22:10    2613881

Having a mighty season.

Leinster final aside, and a close fought loss against a deserving Louth team; beating Carlow, the comeback and win over a talented Offaly side, breaking the Dubs, and now a group campaign of 3 pts. and a Prelim. Qtr Final at minimum with a game in-hand... People would have taken that with both hands. This is a very strong panel of players and they are dangerous.

I make no bones about it, there was jeopardy in that game in the Hyde yesterday for Roscommon and the Rossies now are staring down the barrel of a neutral venue armwrestle with Cork... for Meath to go there and come away with a point, condemning them to that fate is good going.

I know there is an inconsistency in the team, and they do give away goals too easily, but this is the best panel we have had since the late 00s/early 2010s, and there are more talents coming through in the next few years. They are big, athletic, physical up the spine and on both 40s, have a good few 2-pointer options, have tough backs, and have jinky forwards. Cut out the goals and we're in the money.

For the first time in years, I fear no one.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 598 - 01/06/2025 08:32:44    2613902

Not relevant to this game, but I find it very frustrating that the gaa has had a month to plan the neutral games. I have limited weekend availability, I couldn't go to Roscommon yesterday and I am unsure if I can travel to the next one. They're probably waiting out to see if they can get some double headers and mix it up.

Also as an organisation they should take the lead on full up front transparent documenting of what is available to watch. I am getting very fed up scowering sites to get this type of information.

Last non topic related point. I think they should just call 2 points; doubles and score boards should have goal -double-point 0-0-0 and the 3 v3 rule, just call it off side lads who cares if it's an English thing.

Up the Royals!

royalcounty1 (Meath) - Posts: 20 - 01/06/2025 11:13:41    2613943

Good game yesterday delighted to come away with a point. Been at the match at 60 mins I would have bit your arm for a draw. Personally before the game I thought we might lose. Shaky start goals kept Roscommon in it first half but we fought back, and never lost composure. during the week we I hoping for more out Kinsella Conlon Duke boy did we did. conlon was brilliant caused as sorts of trouble. We should have used him earlier, He did,nt decent ball until 25 minutes in. Kinsella was brilliant won a massive amount of ball, and scored also MOM. Duke got a 2 point but seems to playing a defensive roll which I dont think he is suited to.
We came under massive pressure in last 15 and we worked our socks off.
Rosscommon blew 3 chances at the end so we rode our luck defo. But we should have just kicked the ball out or dead after hooter. I just would have taken a draw and moved on. But by sheer luck we survived. For some reason our subs are not making a massive impact in the last 3 games this is worry. Al in all delighted with draw, and over all performance. Fair play to all in involved. And lets keep it going.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1273 - 01/06/2025 12:15:37    2613962

Left the 2pts behind us by conceding such soft goals in the first, 11pts lead would have knocked Roscommon well back. The wind at our backs yet we're pressed out on the arc leaving all the space inside letting them walk in two goals, O'Halloran & Rafferty need to be doing better in those situations. Costello not really in the game yet had a burst from our defence gaining about 50m and could have won it for us at the end, not a big fan of him having the free role think he falls out of games too much at times right when you need him in the middle of it. Can't really understand Morris playing most the game between the 45 & 65, he's very comfortable on the ball and links up play well but he's the very one you want on the end of those passes, missing out on his scoring ability. Conlon brilliant again, so elusive and composed when shooting. Keoghan was everywhere and put his body on the line. Good to see Grey getting some minutes, you can see the benefits of his defensive qualities. Not creating goal chances still a problem, we won't beat Kerry on points alone, Banty, Morris & Costello are best goal threats need to get them into the positions to do it.

LowerHogan (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 01/06/2025 13:14:41    2613980

Well that was one hell of a game. Great entertainment, end to end, some great scores and I was close to a heart attack on a few occasions. A draw probably a fair result and happy with that. We could've won, could've lost. Overall very pleased with the performance considering the opposition, away from home, the manner of coming back from behind late on, and holding out when it looked like Roscommon were going to steal it at the death.

The first half was like the Leinster final first half all over again. We were on top in midfield, kicking great scores but too open down the middle of defence. Rafferty was cleaned out twice in the first half but made up for it at the end with a superb tackle to prevent a Roscommon score to win. Keogan made a huge tackle to stop a goal in the first half too. I thought it was Keogan's best performance for a long time.

Costello unfortunately was well off what he's capable of. He should have kicked the winner with the hooter gone or at least kick it dead. Conlan also guilty of a bad miss in that crazy closing period but was super in the first half. Pleasing to see the forward unit do well without Costello firing. Kinsella was brilliant and Morris seems to have matured a lot, much better decision making in the last two games.

Great progress this year and we have at least two more big championship games in us. Why not go on and give Kerry a rattle. Up the Royals.

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 2015 - 01/06/2025 14:57:04    2614003

We looked absolutely gassed towards the end with players going down all over with cramp but still managed to grind out a result, which is a good thing. Rafferty's last ditch tackle at the death was exceptional and was very nice to see the players put their bodies on the line to get the result.

Goals were disappointing. Costello completely lost his man for the first while I think it was Rafferty that failed to stay goal side of his man when going for a ball he was never going to win. Could have easily conceded another two in the first half along with the penalty in the second.

Could, probably should, have won it. But we seemed to want to walk the ball over the bar in the second half. Kerry will be interesting. Do we go for a win to get a quarter final or try and keep the score down to guarantee a home preliminary quarter final?

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1387 - 01/06/2025 15:06:29    2614005

Fair play to the lads for the guts they showed especially 2nd half.They dug in and kept plugging away.We could've won it in the end but could also have lost it.With the Wind and crowd behind Roscommon I didnt think 5 point lead would be enough for the 2nd half.I thought Kinsella was brillant along with Conlon.Menton and o neil won the midfield battle and Keoghan,Coffey and caulfield win a few breaks and full of energy.Keoghan took some hit in the 2nd half hopefully he is alright(didnt see him on the pitch at the end signing autographs)my young lad always wants to shake his hand.An off day for Costello but still some of his runs were brillant ran the pitch at one stage but didnt finish it.What a tackle by Rafferty at the end unreal.Hogans kickouts,I think he is trying to find menton on the sideline as Menton caught 2 yesterday and was done for carrying it over the line (although thought he caught it before he did and probably shouldve been a mark.Thats the only explanation I can see as to why he kicks some over the line in nearly every game so its maybe a tactic hes been told to do or maybe I'm completely wrong.In fairness he kicked some 2 pointer against that wind in the 2nd half and the peno save as well.The soft goals are hard to take but in fairness we have responded well to every goal we have conceded.Its great to see a bit of belief and Robbie and his team should take some credit for that

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 365 - 01/06/2025 16:36:20    2614030

Replying To Young_gael:  "Having a mighty season.

Leinster final aside, and a close fought loss against a deserving Louth team; beating Carlow, the comeback and win over a talented Offaly side, breaking the Dubs, and now a group campaign of 3 pts. and a Prelim. Qtr Final at minimum with a game in-hand... People would have taken that with both hands. This is a very strong panel of players and they are dangerous.

I make no bones about it, there was jeopardy in that game in the Hyde yesterday for Roscommon and the Rossies now are staring down the barrel of a neutral venue armwrestle with Cork... for Meath to go there and come away with a point, condemning them to that fate is good going.

I know there is an inconsistency in the team, and they do give away goals too easily, but this is the best panel we have had since the late 00s/early 2010s, and there are more talents coming through in the next few years. They are big, athletic, physical up the spine and on both 40s, have a good few 2-pointer options, have tough backs, and have jinky forwards. Cut out the goals and we're in the money.

For the first time in years, I fear no one."
Warts and all…..we are the next breakthrough team……somebody put a package together to keep the Armstrong lad from Duleek/Bellewstown at home…you need EVERYBODY on board nowadays to bring home the bacon.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1106 - 01/06/2025 23:40:42    2614193

Replying To MillerX:  "Warts and all…..we are the next breakthrough team……somebody put a package together to keep the Armstrong lad from Duleek/Bellewstown at home…you need EVERYBODY on board nowadays to bring home the bacon."
That's great news. Time to push on. There's a massive opportunity now for counties to grasp the chance to reach new levels. Football was in the doldrums for 15 years but its now back nearly better than ever. Meath have young talent and it appears we have a management setup with the smarts to build a real force again. Other counties will think they also have a great chance now so we have to move fast and ensure our best young players are available and looked after. County board needs to work hard with clubs too.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 661 - 02/06/2025 11:39:46    2614254

Replying To MillerX:  "Warts and all…..we are the next breakthrough team……somebody put a package together to keep the Armstrong lad from Duleek/Bellewstown at home…you need EVERYBODY on board nowadays to bring home the bacon."
Someone should put a package together?
Or someone has put a package together?!

Kingroyal (Meath) - Posts: 62 - 03/06/2025 06:28:52    2614461

Niall Higgins injured from this game and is likely to miss the group stages of the champ for NOM. Should be back in time for Q Final or relegation playoffs.

RegionalsGuru (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 03/06/2025 09:54:12    2614485

Replying To Kingroyal:  "Someone should put a package together?
Or someone has put a package together?!"
Expectations need to be tempered on Armstrong. He's a brilliant athlete with a great engine which is why I think he'll do very well in AFL where that's one of the most valuable attributes. He was a breath of fresh air last year with his late runs from half back. This year with the 20s he has struggled to impress though. There were 6 or 7 players on that u20 team that are better football players than him. His downfalls are skills and tactical awareness like many players at the same age. That's not to say he won't develop his skills but it's going to be very difficult developing those skills in particular playing another sport. There were high expectations of McBride coming back, Madden with Dublin who are both very impressive athletes but when you've been away for the game for a few years it's hard to pick it back up. I hope he goes well in Australia, brings over a few O'Neills and keeps watching the lads back home.

royal11 (Meath) - Posts: 110 - 03/06/2025 13:03:55    2614547

Replying To RegionalsGuru:  "Niall Higgins injured from this game and is likely to miss the group stages of the champ for NOM. Should be back in time for Q Final or relegation playoffs."
Thanks for the well needed update guru. It's great to see this Meath team thriving again. You must think orourke is behind this success and has his hands all over this project. I heard he's still giving Brennan tips on how to manage the team and to be honest, that's just brilliant. What's your thoughts guru?

Meathboyos86 (Meath) - Posts: 73 - 03/06/2025 14:43:46    2614586

Replying To Meathboyos86:  "Thanks for the well needed update guru. It's great to see this Meath team thriving again. You must think orourke is behind this success and has his hands all over this project. I heard he's still giving Brennan tips on how to manage the team and to be honest, that's just brilliant. What's your thoughts guru?"
It's no surprise Meath are performing so well this year, given the foundations laid by Colm. Against Roscommon, you could clearly see the lads were giving their all for him, as he was the one who personally discovered and developed this young group of talent. I'd expect RB to give Colm huge credit for how the season has gone so far.

No doubt the players on the panel from junior and intermediate clubs will be eagerly anticipating the Regionals this year. I'd say some of them are looking forward to it more than anything else this season.

Does anyone know when the new jerseys will be released for it? I'd love to get my hands on one early if possible.

RegionalsGuru (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 04/06/2025 09:59:07    2614746

Replying To RegionalsGuru:  "It's no surprise Meath are performing so well this year, given the foundations laid by Colm. Against Roscommon, you could clearly see the lads were giving their all for him, as he was the one who personally discovered and developed this young group of talent. I'd expect RB to give Colm huge credit for how the season has gone so far.

No doubt the players on the panel from junior and intermediate clubs will be eagerly anticipating the Regionals this year. I'd say some of them are looking forward to it more than anything else this season.

Does anyone know when the new jerseys will be released for it? I'd love to get my hands on one early if possible."
Thanks Colm

LobinstownMan (Meath) - Posts: 128 - 04/06/2025 13:04:05    2614812