Meath V Cork

Replying To royalproxy:  "Reading your last few posts I really cannot understand what you are trying to say. Particularly the Diamond system, how many players are in the diamond? What players are in it? I read a while back one of the pundits talking about a diamond shape to a team but he explained it a lot differently to you. Is this where you got it ? Most teams are now flooding the midfield area anyway, so nothing new .
Not having a go but can't see where you're coming from. Also , dropping the captain ???"
I'll try my best to explain it.10 and 12 drop into the middle third (you can have one of them playing just in front of 6 and the other one as an extra midfielder)If their men follow them then there is space on either wing for let's say Conlon and Morris.Kinsela at the half forward line Conlon one wing too himself and say morris the other wing with Costello or Frayne at full forward.So a quick ball to either wing I'd back either morris/Conlon to win a foot race v their marker.when they win the ball they can either take their marker on or lay it off to runners coming through.You could play Frayne at the top(the reason I left him out was you need pace for the wings so hands up probably wrong I'd play him on the full forward line)and put Costello at 10/12need to get him more on the ball.If the 2 players dont follow 10/12 well you have 2 extra men around the middle and should clean up at midfield and also strengthen your backline as one of 10/12 sits in front of six.Its just an idea not saying it will work but think at least it would give the other team something to think about.You basically have 4 attackers in kinsella,morris,Conlon and Frayne and Costello at 10 around the middle and maybe Duke or o'Neil at 12 in front of 6. As I've said having looked back probably wrong to not play Frayne and makes more sense to play Costello further out with his running ability.I hope you can grasp it would be easier if I had a magnet board lol.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 353 - 17/05/2025 12:07:22    2610194

Replying To thelutch:  "Big opportunity for RB and the lads to express themselves now after the numerous disappointments during the year - Missing out on Division football ( people saying we not ready, only way to find out and improve is to be in it ) , Departures of our coaching team and losing the leinster final.

HOWEVER I believe we have made progress as a team this year, beating the dubs will be the highlight of the season when we all reflect later on but first we have 3 games to look forward to and see where it brings us.

Cork are slight favourites in the bookies I see and rightly so, could have and maybe should have beat Kerry in Munster, have had longer to regroup and prepare than us. Have had a mixed bag of results in the league but championship is a different competition as we all know.

The more games we get as a group this year the more we can improve and learn , not overly confident but very hopeful as is the case most of the season.

Really need Ronan Jones fit and available, he has been a huge loss when not available."
Jones out for the season

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 986 - 17/05/2025 13:08:37    2610201

Roscommon don't look great, away game always going to be difficult for us but if we've anything about us we should put them to the sword. Cork going to be the tougher game for sure.

NYRoyal (USA) - Posts: 44 - 17/05/2025 16:14:45    2610242

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Jones out for the season"
Difficult to know it seems..one report says no not as bad as that .Maybe even back in couple of weeks as its reported he is in training ????? Agreed he is needed if fully fit no question

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1285 - 17/05/2025 18:18:48    2610277

Ronan jones is a massive loss but he should be given plenty of time to get himself right he was rushed back in against dublin and look where he now...
Gary breslin should be called back into the squad now he is back fit. Seen him against Oldcastle in the league last week and he stood out by a mile.. definitely worth looking at

Sallywebster (Meath) - Posts: 8 - 17/05/2025 19:47:05    2610334

Replying To Sallywebster:  "Ronan jones is a massive loss but he should be given plenty of time to get himself right he was rushed back in against dublin and look where he now...
Gary breslin should be called back into the squad now he is back fit. Seen him against Oldcastle in the league last week and he stood out by a mile.. definitely worth looking at"
Was Breslin in the squad earlier on and out with a long term injury up until recently? Was really good in club championship last year but intercounty different pedigree. Could be next years league before fringe players get their chance.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 645 - 17/05/2025 20:52:21    2610374

Replying To Sallywebster:  "Ronan jones is a massive loss but he should be given plenty of time to get himself right he was rushed back in against dublin and look where he now...
Gary breslin should be called back into the squad now he is back fit. Seen him against Oldcastle in the league last week and he stood out by a mile.. definitely worth looking at"
Agreed Breslin looks like a player who might suit the rules, he's explosive and can beat his man. I think he's better than Keith Curtis, Aaron Lynch and a few others who feature regularly.

But heard some rumours a while back that he choose to drop off the panel, was nursing an injury at the time after the club championship. And didn't want to commit to county. Can't see him coming back in this year, but let's see how he gets on in the Senior Championship against better players.

Cabbagepatch1667 (Meath) - Posts: 13 - 18/05/2025 02:40:33    2610474

That Breslin dropped himself off the panel pre season. Jones is unfortunately 100% OUT

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 986 - 18/05/2025 13:06:14    2610565

Jones out is a major loss indeed ,but we have no control over that for this match. We have all the control over dealing with the easily identifiable weaknesses in the Louth match If that is not clearly dealt with that would be concerning if we are trying to show continuous progress. ,Maybe i am wrong but i think we can beat Cork in Navan if team believes they can having dealt with those issues

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1285 - 18/05/2025 16:09:32    2610606